Woman In The Shadows

📒Women In The Shadows ✍ Ch. S. Chiu

✏Book Title : Women in the Shadows
✏Author : Ch. S. Chiu
✏Publisher : Peter Lang
✏Release Date : 2008
✏Pages : 203
✏ISBN : 0820488569
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Women in the Shadows Book Summary : "Women in the Shadows" discusses the biographies of five brilliant and talented women born in the Austro-Hungarian Empire: Mileva Einstein-Marić, Margarete Jeanne Trakl, Lise Meitner, Milena Jesenska, and Margarete Schutte-Lihotzky. Charles S. Chiu creates -a narrative against forgetting, as a small step out of darkness- by writing about these women's accomplishments, which were overshadowed by those of the famous men in their lives. Edith Borchardt's translation brings this narrative to a wider audience. "Women in the Shadows" will interest scientists and scholars in the humanities as well as the general reader. The women portrayed represent various fields - mathematics, physics, music and literature, journalism, and architecture - making "Women in the Shadows" suitable for courses on the history of science, German and Austrian studies, as well as women's studies."

📒Woman In The Shadows ✍ Jane Thynne

✏Book Title : Woman in the Shadows
✏Author : Jane Thynne
✏Publisher : Ballantine Books
✏Release Date : 2016-09-06
✏Pages : 480
✏ISBN : 9780553394412
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Woman in the Shadows Book Summary : Perfect for fans of Kristin Hannah’s The Nightingale and Jacqueline Winspear’s Journey to Munich, here is the next exciting historical novel featuring Clara Vine, the actress and British spy in prewar Germany who maneuvers through the treacherous Nazi society gathering intelligence—and discovering a deadly secret. Berlin, 1937. Clara Vine’s star is on the rise. The British-born, half-German actress is about to take her first leading role in a movie produced by the Nazis’ official film studio. Even as she moves through the upper echelons of the Third Reich, Clara never stops acting. At cocktail parties hosted by Joseph and Magda Goebbels, she collects key information for Britain, risking her life for the cause. But soon it is another young woman’s life, and its abrupt end, that draws her attention. Clara knew Anna Hansen as a dancer and artist’s model in the heady days of the cabaret scene. But Anna left that all behind when she became engaged to an SS officer. Attending one of Hitler’s notorious Bride Schools, she was being groomed as the perfect Nazi wife. When she is found murdered on the school grounds, her death is hushed up, one casualty among many in the lead-up to war. But Clara cannot fathom why Anna’s death would be concealed. Was it simply an embarrassment to the regime, or did Anna know something that hastened her demise? Clara must tread carefully to unravel the truth—for the Gestapo is one step behind. Previously published in the U.K. as The Winter Garden Praise for Jane Thynne’s first Clara Vine novel, The Scent of Secrets “A brilliant tale of spies and secrets, of intense psychological drama, of edgy climax and one extraordinary heroine.”—Beatriz Williams, New York Times bestselling author of A Hundred Summers “A compelling story of love and betrayal in Hitler’s Berlin . . . Peppered with real-life characters, this series offers a fascinating glimpse of the extraordinary world of the Nazi wives.”—Daisy Goodwin, author of The American Heiress “An alluring blend of thrills, suspense, historic detail, and seduction.”—Susan Elia MacNeal, author of the Maggie Hope series “An extraordinary, absorbing read with an array of characters so real you’re there with them as war looms, and a pace that sweeps you from page to page. This is indeed a winner!”—Charles Todd, author of Inspector Ian Rutledge Mysteries Find your next book club pick, read special features, and more. Join the Random House Reader’s Circle. From the Trade Paperback edition.

📒A Woman In The Shadows ✍ Maria Pia Oelker

✏Book Title : A Woman In The Shadows
✏Author : Maria Pia Oelker
✏Publisher : Litres
✏Release Date : 2019-12-04
✏Pages :
✏ISBN : 9785041646950
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏A Woman In The Shadows Book Summary : A historical novel set in Tuscany in the 18th century, during the enlightened government of Pietro Leopoldo of Hapsburg Lorraine. Autobiographical memories of the Grand Duchess Maria Luisa, his wife and confidante.“Vienna 1792. Maria Ludovica of Bourbon, the Spanish Infanta, for many years Grand Duchess of Tuscany and now Empress of the Holy Roman Empire, watches impotently the sudden death of her beloved consort, Pietro Leopoldo of Hapsburg, and from that moment begins almost frenetically to rekindle, one after the other, her innumerable memories of a life, still short, but intensely lived, beside the man who, since their first meeting had fascinated and conquered her, and to whom she had been a discrete and faithful companion. Public facts are weaved together with private feelings, with joys and suffering, in a sequence of urgent events. The Empress unconsciously knows, has always known, that she cannot survive for long (Editor’s note: she will in fact die just two months later) after the death of her husband and therefore must hurry to organise her memories, to finally manage to give an answer to the most important question for her: what did she really mean to him? Only a political and dynastic link, the mother of his children, friend and confidante or the woman he loved notwithstanding everything?”

📒Women In The Shadows ✍ Jennifer Goodlander

✏Book Title : Women in the Shadows
✏Author : Jennifer Goodlander
✏Publisher : Ohio University Press
✏Release Date : 2016-10-31
✏Pages : 216
✏ISBN : 9780896804944
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Women in the Shadows Book Summary : Wayang kulit, or shadow puppetry, connects a mythic past to the present through public ritual performance and is one of most important performance traditions in Bali. The dalang, or puppeteer, is revered in Balinese society as a teacher and spiritual leader. Recently, women have begun to study and perform in this traditionally male role, an innovation that has triggered resistance and controversy. In Women in the Shadows, Jennifer Goodlander draws on her own experience training as a dalang as well as interviews with early women dalang and leading artists to upend the usual assessments of such gender role shifts. She argues that rather than assuming that women performers are necessarily mounting a challenge to tradition, “tradition” in Bali must be understood as a system of power that is inextricably linked to gender hierarchy. She examines the very idea of “tradition” and how it forms both an ideological and social foundation in Balinese culture. Ultimately, Goodlander offers a richer, more complicated understanding of both tradition and gender in Balinese society. Following in the footsteps of other eminent reflexive ethnographies, Women in the Shadows will be of value to anyone interested in performance studies, Southeast Asian culture, or ethnographic methods.

📒Flowering In The Shadows ✍ Marsha Smith Weidner

✏Book Title : Flowering in the Shadows
✏Author : Marsha Smith Weidner
✏Publisher : University of Hawaii Press
✏Release Date : 1990
✏Pages : 315
✏ISBN : 0824811496
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Flowering in the Shadows Book Summary : For well over a thousand years Chinese and Japanese women created, commissioned, collected and used paintings, yet until recently this fact has scarcely been acknowledged in the study of East Asian art by Westerners.

✏Book Title : Out of the Shadows
✏Author :
✏Publisher : CTPI (Edinburgh)
✏Release Date : 2001*
✏Pages : 66
✏ISBN :
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Out of the Shadows Book Summary :

✏Book Title : A Woman in the Shadow of the Second World War
✏Author : Helena Hall
✏Publisher : Pen and Sword
✏Release Date : 2014-11-30
✏Pages : 256
✏ISBN : 9781473823259
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏A Woman in the Shadow of the Second World War Book Summary : Helena Hall's daily diary of the war years, from 1940 to 1945, is one of the most vivid, detailed and evocative personal records of the Second World War as it was experienced by people living in an English village. In her journal she describes her everyday activities alongside momentous national and international events. The war overshadows her narrative. Each daily entry gives us an insight into the extraordinary impact of the conflict on local lives, and shows how much energy and commitment ordinary people put into the war effort. This edited edition of her previously unpublished diary, written without embellishment or hindsight, shows how she heard about the war and how she reacted to it, and how it was reported and understood. It allows the reader today to connect directly with the wartime past and to see events clearly, as they were seen at the time.

📒Women In The Shadows ✍ Ann Bannon

✏Book Title : Women in the Shadows
✏Author : Ann Bannon
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 1959
✏Pages : 176
✏ISBN : OCLC:33148801
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Women in the Shadows Book Summary :

📒The Woman In The Shadows ✍ Carol McGrath

✏Book Title : The Woman in the Shadows
✏Author : Carol McGrath
✏Publisher : Accent Press Ltd
✏Release Date : 2017-08-04
✏Pages : 400
✏ISBN : 9781786152282
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Woman in the Shadows Book Summary : An evocative new novel by the critically acclaimed author of The Handfasted Wife, The Woman in the Shadows presents the rise of Thomas Cromwell, Tudor England's most powerful statesman, through the eyes of his wife Elizabeth. When beautiful cloth merchant’s daughter Elizabeth Williams is widowed at the age of twenty-two, she is determined to make herself a success in the business she has learned from her father. But there are those who oppose a woman making her own way in the world, and soon Elizabeth realises she may have some powerful enemies – enemies who also know the truth about her late husband. Security – and happiness – comes when Elizabeth is introduced to kindly, ambitious merchant turned lawyer, Thomas Cromwell. Their marriage is one based on mutual love and respect...but it isn’t always easy being the wife of an independent, headstrong man in Henry VIII’s London. The city is filled with ruthless people and strange delights – and Elizabeth realises she must adjust to the life she has chosen...or risk losing everything.

📒Out Of The Shadows ✍ Deirdre Beddoe

✏Book Title : Out of the Shadows
✏Author : Deirdre Beddoe
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 2000
✏Pages : 201
✏ISBN : STANFORD:36105110006462
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Out of the Shadows Book Summary : This work reveals the story of women's lives in Wales during the 20th century. The areas of women's lives explored include: education; health; home life; leisure; politics; and waged work. The regional variations and differing linguistic and cultural traditions are also investigated.