Wolves Of Eden

📒Wolves Of Eden A Novel ✍ Kevin McCarthy

✏Book Title : Wolves of Eden A Novel
✏Author : Kevin McCarthy
✏Publisher : W. W. Norton & Company
✏Release Date : 2018-11-06
✏Pages : 304
✏ISBN : 9780393652055
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Wolves of Eden A Novel Book Summary : The Civil War may be over, but in this thrilling historical novel, the battle for the West is only just beginning. Dakota Territory, 1866. Following the murders of a frontier fort’s politically connected sutler and his wife in their illicit off-post brothel, Lieutenant Martin Molloy and his long-suffering orderly, Corporal Daniel Kohn, are ordered to track down the killers and return with “boots for the gallows” to appease powerful figures in Washington. The men journey west to the distant outpost in a beautiful valley, where the soldiers inside the fort prove to be violently opposed to their investigations. Meanwhile, Irish immigrant brothers Michael and Thomas O’Driscoll have returned from the brutal front lines of the Civil War. Unable to adapt to life as migrant farm laborers in peacetime Ohio, they reenlist in the army and are shipped to Fort Phil Kearny in the heart of the Powder River Valley. Here they are thrown into merciless combat with Red Cloud’s coalition of Native tribes fighting American expansion into their hunting grounds. Amidst the daily carnage, Thomas finds a love that will lead to a moment of violence as brutal as any they have witnessed in battle—a moment that will change their lives forever. Blending intimate historical detail and emotional acuity, Wolves of Eden sets these four men on a deadly collision course in a haunting narrative that explores the cruelty of warfare and the resilience of the human spirit.

📒Wolves Of Eden ✍ Kevin McCarthy

✏Book Title : Wolves of Eden
✏Author : Kevin McCarthy
✏Publisher : Thorndike Press Large Print
✏Release Date : 2019
✏Pages : 598
✏ISBN : 1432862324
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Wolves of Eden Book Summary : "A saga of loyalty and survival in the vast, severe American West. Irish immigrant brothers Michael and Thomas O'Driscoll have returned from the brutal front lines of the Civil War. Unable to adapt to life as farm laborers, they reenlist in the army and are thrown into ferocious combat with Red Cloud's coalition of Indian tribes in the heart of Montana's Powder River Valley. Thomas finds love amidst the daily carnage--which leads to a moment of violence that will change the brothers' lives forever. Meanwhile, following a double murder in an illicit brothel, Lieutenant Martin Molloy sets off to track down the killers. As he journeys to a remote outpost, he meets Irish nationalist rebels and anti-immigrant nativists who prove to be violently opposed to his investigations. Wolves of Eden blends intimate historical detail and emotional acuity in a haunting narrative that explores timeless themes of morality, the resilience of the human spirit, and the injustice implicit in warfare"--

✏Book Title : Neanderthals and the Garden of Eden
✏Author :
✏Publisher : RW Richard
✏Release Date :
✏Pages :
✏ISBN : 9780980080407
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Neanderthals and the Garden of Eden Book Summary :

📒Engineering Eden ✍ Jordan Fisher Smith

✏Book Title : Engineering Eden
✏Author : Jordan Fisher Smith
✏Publisher : Crown
✏Release Date : 2016-06-07
✏Pages : 384
✏ISBN : 9780307454287
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Engineering Eden Book Summary : The fascinating story of a trial that opened a window onto the century-long battle to control nature in the national parks. When twenty-five-year-old Harry Walker was killed by a bear in Yellowstone Park in 1972, the civil trial prompted by his death became a proxy for bigger questions about American wilderness management that had been boiling for a century. At immediate issue was whether the Park Service should have done more to keep bears away from humans, but what was revealed as the trial unfolded was just how fruitless our efforts to regulate nature in the parks had always been. The proceedings drew to the witness stand some of the most important figures in twentieth century wilderness management, including the eminent zoologist A. Starker Leopold, who had produced a landmark conservationist document in the 1950s, and all-American twin researchers John and Frank Craighead, who ran groundbreaking bear studies at Yellowstone. Their testimony would help decide whether the government owed the Walker family restitution for Harry's death, but it would also illuminate decades of patchwork efforts to preserve an idea of nature that had never existed in the first place. In this remarkable excavation of American environmental history, nature writer and former park ranger Jordan Fisher Smith uses Harry Walker's story to tell the larger narrative of the futile, sometimes fatal, attempts to remake wilderness in the name of preserving it. Tracing a course from the founding of the national parks through the tangled twentieth-century growth of the conservationist movement, Smith gives the lie to the portrayal of national parks as Edenic wonderlands unspoiled until the arrival of Europeans, and shows how virtually every attempt to manage nature in the parks has only created cascading effects that require even more management. Moving across time and between Yellowstone, Yosemite, and Glacier national parks, Engineering Eden shows how efforts at wilderness management have always been undone by one fundamental problem--that the idea of what is "wild" dissolves as soon as we begin to examine it, leaving us with little framework to say what wilderness should look like and which human interventions are acceptable in trying to preserve it. In the tradition of John McPhee's The Control of Nature and Alan Burdick's Out of Eden, Jordan Fisher Smith has produced a powerful work of popular science and environmental history, grappling with critical issues that we have even now yet to resolve.

📒Losing Eden ✍ Sara Dant

✏Book Title : Losing Eden
✏Author : Sara Dant
✏Publisher : John Wiley & Sons
✏Release Date : 2016-08-29
✏Pages : 240
✏ISBN : 9781118934319
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Losing Eden Book Summary : Losing Eden traces the environmental history and development of the American West and explains how the land has shaped and been shaped by the people who live there. Discusses key events and topics from the Beringia migration, Columbian Exchange, and federal territorial acquisition to post-war expansion, resource exploitation, and climate change Structures the coverage around three important themes: balancing economic success and ecological protection; avoiding "the tragedy of the commons"; and achieving sustainability Contains an accessible, up-to-date narrative written by an expert scholar and professor that supplements a variety of college-level survey or seminar courses on US, American West, or environmental history Incorporates student-friendly features, including definitions of key terms, suggested reading sections, and over 30 illustrations

📒Chernobyl S New Eden ✍ Ashley Ulrich

✏Book Title : Chernobyl s New Eden
✏Author : Ashley Ulrich
✏Publisher : CreateSpace
✏Release Date : 2013-09-12
✏Pages : 64
✏ISBN : 1491226811
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Chernobyl s New Eden Book Summary : Will wolves survive the harsh elements of the Chernobyl fallout? In this 3 part series, the tale of two wolf packs is told.

📒The Dome Of Eden ✍ Stephen H. Webb

✏Book Title : The Dome of Eden
✏Author : Stephen H. Webb
✏Publisher : Wipf and Stock Publishers
✏Release Date : 2010-01-01
✏Pages : 374
✏ISBN : 9781630874223
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Dome of Eden Book Summary : What would biology look like if it took the problem of natural evil seriously? This book argues that biological descriptions of evolution are inherently moral, just as the biblical story of creation has biological implications. A complete account of evolution will therefore require theological input. The Dome of Eden does not try to harmonize evolution and creation. Harmonizers typically begin with Darwinism and then try to add just enough religion to make evolution more palatable, or they begin with Genesis and pry open the creation account just wide enough to let in a little bit of evolution. By contrast, Stephen Webb provides a theory of how evolution and theology fit together, and he argues that this kind of theory is required by the internal demands of both theology and biology. The Dome of Eden also develops a theological account of evolution that is distinct from the intelligent design movement. Webb shows how intelligent design properly discerns the inescapable dimension of purpose in nature but, like Darwinism itself, fails to make sense of the problem of natural evil. Finally, this book draws on the work of Karl Barth to advance a new reading of the Genesis narrative and the theology of Duns Scotus to provide the necessary metaphysical foundation for evolutionary thought.

📒Elizabeth Eden ✍ Maria Catherine Bishop

✏Book Title : Elizabeth Eden
✏Author : Maria Catherine Bishop
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 1878
✏Pages :
✏ISBN : OXFORD:600021964
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Elizabeth Eden Book Summary :

📒The Wolves At Evelyn ✍ Harold Rhenisch

✏Book Title : The Wolves at Evelyn
✏Author : Harold Rhenisch
✏Publisher : Brindle and Glass
✏Release Date : 2006
✏Pages : 314
✏ISBN : 1897142102
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Wolves at Evelyn Book Summary : The Wolves at Evelyn is a hybrid of creative non-fiction, autobiography, historical narrative, and philosophical treatise. As such, it focuses on the experience of immigrant families travelling to B.C., while providing a context for their lives derived from their European roots and the chaotic history of several generations. The book's philosophical linchpin is the uniquely Canadian obsession with the idea of land. Citing - and critiquing - the colonial definitions of this idea as presented by such "literary aristocrats" as Robertson Davies and Margaret Atwood, Rhenisch attempts to defy, or at the very least expand, the conventional notions of place through the lens of his family's experience. Rhenisch posits that the whole concept of "Canada" is an illusion, and insists upon the destructiveness inherent in the idea that one can ever have title to land. His refusal to be - as he describes it - colonized by this traditional view provides an iconoclastic take on the history of a people living in the Canadian wilderness. The book is at the same time a searing autobiographical look at Rhenisch's family's Nazi roots, and he describes the personal fallout from such a shameful legacy. He links these elements within the framework of a unique vision of the history of the founding of B.C.

✏Book Title : Wolves in Sheep s Clothing
✏Author : Clark Jensen
✏Publisher : ELDERBERRY PRESS, INC.
✏Release Date : 2009
✏Pages : 250
✏ISBN : 9781934956182
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Wolves in Sheep s Clothing Book Summary :