White Rose Black Forest

📒White Rose Black Forest ✍ Eoin Dempsey

✏Book Title : White Rose Black Forest
✏Author : Eoin Dempsey
✏Publisher : Lake Union Publishing
✏Release Date : 2018-03
✏Pages : 270
✏ISBN : 1503954064
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏White Rose Black Forest Book Summary : An Amazon Charts bestseller. In the shadows of World War II, trust becomes the greatest risk of all for two strangers. December 1943. In the years before the rise of Hitler, the Gerber family's summer cottage was filled with laughter. Now, as deep drifts of snow blanket the Black Forest, German dissenter Franka Gerber is alone and hopeless. Fervor and brutality have swept through her homeland, taking away both her father and her brother and leaving her with no reason to live. That is, until she discovers an unconscious airman lying in the snow wearing a Luftwaffe uniform, his parachute flapping in the wind. Unwilling to let him die, Franka takes him to her family's isolated cabin despite her hatred for the regime he represents. But when it turns out that he is not who he seems, Franka begins a race against time to unravel the mystery of the airman's true identity. Their tenuous bond becomes as inseparable as it is dangerous. Hunted by the Gestapo, can they trust each other enough to join forces on a mission that could change the face of the war and their own lives forever?

✏Book Title : The White Rose and the Black Lion
✏Author : Rikako Tsuji
✏Publisher : Harlequin/SB Creative
✏Release Date : 2020-03-24
✏Pages :
✏ISBN : 9784596071354
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The White Rose and the Black Lion Book Summary : In order to search for her missing father, Lady Elesia transforms herself into a man and finds employment at the castle of the Duke of Bristol, near where her father was last seen. Having grown up admiring the Black Lion, a vigilante who protects the innocent, Elesia displays her mastery of the sword and quickly wins the Duke’s favor—until one day when he discovers her secret! The historical drama in the Kingdom of Aldun is about to begin!

✏Book Title : Lonely Planet Munich Bavaria the Black Forest
✏Author : Lonely Planet
✏Publisher : Lonely Planet
✏Release Date : 2019-03-01
✏Pages : 613
✏ISBN : 9781788685412
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Lonely Planet Munich Bavaria the Black Forest Book Summary : Lonely Planet’s Munich, Bavaria & the Black Forest is your passport to the most relevant, up-to-date advice on what to see and skip, and what hidden discoveries await you. Explore Munich’s famous art and beer scene, tour hilltop castles in the fairy tale Black Forest and wind your way along the Romantic Road – all with your trusted travel companion.

📒Toward The Midnight Sun ✍ Eoin Dempsey

✏Book Title : Toward the Midnight Sun
✏Author : Eoin Dempsey
✏Publisher : Lake Union Publishing
✏Release Date : 2020
✏Pages : 270
✏ISBN : 1542008425
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Toward the Midnight Sun Book Summary : From the bestselling author of White Rose, Black Forest comes a page-turning epic of adventure, suspense, and romance set against the rich and ruthless backdrop of the Klondike gold rush. Seattle, 1897. Anna Denton is not like the other prospectors traveling to the Yukon on the promise of riches. It's duty--not profit--that calls her into the wild unknown. With her family nearing financial ruin, Anna has agreed to marry Henry Bradwell, the wealthy King of the Klondike. She meets Will and Silas, childhood friends, on the steamer north. After the ship docks in a lawless Alaska town, Anna's chaperones run afoul of local criminals, leaving her stranded. Will and Silas agree to escort her the hundreds of treacherous miles to Dawson City--the gateway to the goldfields--and her betrothed, a man she doesn't know. Upon their arrival, Bradwell warmly welcomes them all. But as a brutal winter sets in, relations sour, and Anna is caught between the promise her family made to the power-hungry Bradwell and her feelings for Will. Anna and her companions soon find themselves in a deadly game where few can be trusted and where the greatest danger in the frozen wilderness of the Klondike is man himself.

📒Black Thorn White Rose ✍ Ellen Datlow

✏Book Title : Black Thorn White Rose
✏Author : Ellen Datlow
✏Publisher : Open Road Media
✏Release Date : 2014-09-30
✏Pages : 248
✏ISBN : 9781497668591
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Black Thorn White Rose Book Summary : “Enchanting, witty” fairy tales for adults from Peter Straub, Daniel Quinn, Nancy Kress, Patricia C. Wrede, and other modern-day Grimms and Andersens (Publishers Weekly). World Fantasy Award–winning editors Ellen Datlow and Terri Windling return with another superb collection of wonders and terrors. In Black Thorn, White Rose, the magical tales we were told at bedtime have been upended, turned inside out, reshaped, and given a keen, distinctly adult edge by eighteen of the most acclaimed storytellers ever to reinvent a fairy tale. Our favorite characters, from Sleeping Beauty to Rumpelstiltskin to the Gingerbread Man, are here but in different guises, brought to new life by such masters as Nancy Kress, Jane Yolen, Storm Constantine, and the late, great Roger Zelazny. These breathtaking tales of dark enchantments range from the tragic and poignant to the humorous to the horrifying to the simply astonishing. The story of an aging woodcutter persuaded to help a desperate prince make his way through the brambles to save a sleeping beauty twists ingeniously around like the thorny wall that impedes them. The fable of an all-controlling queen mother who faces her most fearsome adversary in a sensitive princess who appears mysteriously during a storm is a dark, disturbing masterpiece. And readers will long remember the exquisite tale of Death, his godson, football, and MTV. Anyone who has ever loved or even feared the old tales of witches and trolls and remarkable transformations will find much to admire in this extraordinary collection—happily ever after or not.

📒How We Disappeared ✍ Jing-Jing Lee

✏Book Title : How We Disappeared
✏Author : Jing-Jing Lee
✏Publisher : Harlequin
✏Release Date : 2019-05-07
✏Pages : 352
✏ISBN : 9781488051302
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏How We Disappeared Book Summary : LONGLISTED FOR THE 2020 WOMEN’S PRIZE A LIBRARY JOURNAL EMERGING STARS PICK A mesmerizing novel of World War II Singapore, “a story about memory, trauma, and ultimately love” (New York Times)—for fans of Pachinko and We Were the Lucky Ones Singapore, 1942. As Japanese troops sweep down Malaysia and into Singapore, a village is ransacked, leaving only two survivors and one tiny child. In a neighboring village, seventeen-year-old Wang Di is strapped into the back of a troop carrier and shipped off to a Japanese military brothel where she is forced into sexual slavery as a “comfort woman.” After sixty years of silence, what she saw and experienced still haunts her. In the year 2000, twelve-year-old Kevin is sitting beside his ailing grandmother when he overhears a mumbled confession. He sets out to discover the truth, wherever it might lead, setting in motion a chain of events he never could have foreseen. Weaving together two timelines and two very big secrets, this stunning debut opens a window on a little-known period of history, revealing the strength and bravery shown by numerous women in the face of terrible cruelty. Drawing in part on her family’s experiences, Jing-Jing Lee has crafted a profoundly moving, unforgettable novel about human resilience, the bonds of family and the courage it takes to confront the past.

📒The White Rose ✍ George John Whyte-Melville

✏Book Title : The White Rose
✏Author : George John Whyte-Melville
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 1872
✏Pages : 357
✏ISBN : PRNC:32101065601096
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The White Rose Book Summary :

✏Book Title : The White Rose of Stalingrad
✏Author : Bill Yenne
✏Publisher : Bloomsbury Publishing
✏Release Date : 2013-02-20
✏Pages : 336
✏ISBN : 9781782009122
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The White Rose of Stalingrad Book Summary : Of all the major air forces that were engaged in the war, only the Red Air Force had units comprised specifically of women. Initially the Red Air Force maintained an all-male policy among its combat pilots. However, as the apparently invincible German juggernaut sliced through Soviet defenses, the Red Air Force began to rethink its ban on women. By October 1941, authorization was forthcoming for three ground attack regiments of women pilots. Among these women, Lidiya Vladimirovna “Lilya” Litvyak soon emerged as a rising star. She shot down five German aircraft over the Stalingrad Front, and thus become history's first female ace. She scored 12 documented victories over German aircraft between September 1942 and July 1943. She also had many victories shared with other pilots, bringing her possible total to around 20. The fact that she was a 21-year-old woman ace was not lost on the hero-hungry Soviet media, and soon this colourful character, whom the Germans dubbed “The White Rose of Stalingrad,” became both folk heroine and martyr.

✏Book Title : Munich Bavaria the Black Forest
✏Author :
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 2008-05
✏Pages :
✏ISBN : STANFORD:36105132308573
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Munich Bavaria the Black Forest Book Summary :

📒The Storm Beyond The Tides ✍ Jonathan Cullen

✏Book Title : The Storm Beyond The Tides
✏Author : Jonathan Cullen
✏Publisher : Independently Published
✏Release Date : 2019-08
✏Pages : 384
✏ISBN : 1079524878
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Storm Beyond The Tides Book Summary : For fans of The Nightingale, Orphan Train, and Sarah's Key, comes a timeless novel about love and loss on an island in Maine at the onset of World War Two."...Cullen delivers a novel that's fast-moving, fresh, and imbued with the best of old-fashioned storytelling, too. Let him take you back in time to that moment when the future of the world and every life in it hung in precarious balance."― William Martin, New York Times bestselling author of Cape Cod and Bound for Gold"Well-written and touching saga of life in Maine during the Second World War."― Eoin Dempsey, Amazon bestselling author of Finding Rebecca and White Rose Black ForestJuly 1939. War is on the horizon but on Monk Island, Maine life goes on as usual. As the daughter of a lobsterman, Ellie Ames' future seems limited until a mysterious German couple comes off the ferry with their nineteen-year-old son. From the moment she meets Karl Brink, the two become inseparable and not everyone approves because locals are suspicious of outsiders. Ellie ignores their scorn, however, and the secret she learns about Karl's family makes her even more determined to be with him. The magical summer ends when the Brinks suddenly have to go home. And although Karl promises to return in the fall, by then Europe is at war. Two years pass and Ellie has all but given up hope when she gets a letter in the mail that will change her life forever.The Storm Beyond The Tides is the story of the unlikely romance between a small-town girl and a German on the eve of the Second World War and explores a frightening time in America's past-when U-Boats prowled the East Coast and put small, coastal communities on the frontline of a global conflict.