Under The Big Black Sun

✏Book Title : Under the Big Black Sun
✏Author : John Doe
✏Publisher : Hachette UK
✏Release Date : 2016-04-26
✏Pages : 336
✏ISBN : 9780306824098
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Under the Big Black Sun Book Summary : Under the Big Black Sun explores the nascent Los Angeles punk rock movement and its evolution to hardcore punk as it's never been told before. John Doe of the legendary band X and co-author Tom DeSavia have woven together an enthralling story of the legendary West Coast scene from 1977-1982 by enlisting the voices of people who were there. The book shares chapter-length tales from the authors along with personal essays from famous (and infamous) players in the scene. Through interstitial commentary, John Doe "narrates" this journey through the land of film noir sunshine, Hollywood back alleys, and suburban sprawl. Illustrated with 50 rare photos, this is the story of the art that was born under the big black sun.

📒Creating The Future ✍ Michael Fallon

✏Book Title : Creating the Future
✏Author : Michael Fallon
✏Publisher : Counterpoint
✏Release Date : 2014-08-18
✏Pages : 400
✏ISBN : 9781619024045
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Creating the Future Book Summary : Conceived as a challenge to long-standing conventional wisdom, Creating the Future is a work of social history/cultural criticism that examines the premise that the progress of art in Los Angeles ceased during the 1970s—after the decline of the Ferus Gallery, the scattering of its stable of artists (Robert Irwin, Ed Kienholz, Ed Moses, Ed Rusha and others), and the economic struggles throughout the decade—and didn’t resume until sometime around 1984 when Mark Tansey, Alison Saar, Judy Fiskin, Carrie Mae Weems, David Salle, Manuel Ocampo, among others became stars in an exploding art market. However, this is far from the reality of the L.A. art scene in the 1970s. The passing of those fashionable 1960s-era icons, in fact, allowed the development of a chaotic array of outlandish and independent voices, marginalized communities, and energetic, sometimes bizarre visions that thrived during the stagnant 1970s. Fallon’s narrative describes and celebrates, through twelve thematically arranged chapters, the wide range of intriguing artists and the world—not just the objects—they created. He reveals the deeper, more culturally dynamic truth about a significant moment in American art history, presenting an alternative story of stubborn creativity in the face of widespread ignorance and misapprehension among the art cognoscenti, who dismissed the 1970s in Los Angeles as a time of dissipation and decline. Coming into being right before their eyes was an ardent local feminist art movement, which had lasting influence on the direction of art across the nation; an emerging Chicano Art movement, spreading Chicano murals across Los Angeles and to other major cities; a new and more modern vision for the role and look of public art; a slow consolidation of local street sensibilities, car fetishism, gang and punk aesthetics into the earliest version of what would later become the “Lowbrow” art movement; the subversive co-opting, in full view of Pop Art, of the values, aesthetics, and imagery of Tinseltown by a number of young and innovative local artists who would go on to greater national renown; and a number of independent voices who, lacking the support structures of an art movement or artist cohort, pursued their brilliant artistic visions in near-isolation. Despite the lack of attention, these artists would later reemerge as visionary signposts to many later trends in art. Their work would prove more interesting, more lastingly influential, and vastly more important than ever imagined or expected by those who saw it or even by those who created it in 1970’s Los Angeles. Creating the Future is a visionary work that seeks to recapture this important decade and its influence on today’s generation of artists.

📒Rock Song Index ✍ Bruce Pollock

✏Book Title : Rock Song Index
✏Author : Bruce Pollock
✏Publisher : Routledge
✏Release Date : 2014-03-18
✏Pages : 704
✏ISBN : 9781135462963
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Rock Song Index Book Summary : First Published in 2005. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.

📒Phoenix Noir ✍ Patrick Millikin

✏Book Title : Phoenix Noir
✏Author : Patrick Millikin
✏Publisher : Akashic Books
✏Release Date : 2009
✏Pages : 298
✏ISBN : 9781933354859
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Phoenix Noir Book Summary : Presents a collection of short stories featuring noir and crime fiction about Phoenix by such authors as Diana Gabaldon, Luis Alberto Urrea, Lee Child, and Don Winslow.

📒Soft Money ✍ Ken Wishnia

✏Book Title : Soft Money
✏Author : Ken Wishnia
✏Publisher : PM Press
✏Release Date : 2013-03-01
✏Pages : 288
✏ISBN : 9781604868500
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Soft Money Book Summary : Officer Filomena Buscarela has traded in her uniform for the many joys and trials of being a single parent, but her passion for justice burns as hot as ever in this second installment of the critically acclaimed mystery series set in 1980s New York City. When the owner of Filomena’s neighborhood bodega is murdered and falls into the overcrowded category of just another “ethnic” crime that will probably go unsolved and unavenged, she doesn’t need much prodding from the dead man’s grieving sister to step in. Secretly partnered with a rookie cop, she hits the Washington Heights streets to smoke out the trigger-happy punks who callously ended an innocent life. In a town big enough to hold every kind of criminal, crackpot, liar, and thief, from ruthless gangsters to corporate executives drunk on greed and power, Filomena tracks a killer through the city’s danger zones. This is dark, humorous storytelling that also offers a recap of the social and economic horrors wrought by the Reagan era.

✏Book Title : The A to X of Alternative Music
✏Author : Steve Taylor
✏Publisher : A&C Black
✏Release Date : 2006-09-27
✏Pages : 320
✏ISBN : 0826482171
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The A to X of Alternative Music Book Summary : Covers those bands and artists who have rejected the mainstream in favor of innovation, originality and the pursuit of their own unique musical identity.

📒Prozac Nation ✍ Elizabeth Wurtzel

✏Book Title : Prozac Nation
✏Author : Elizabeth Wurtzel
✏Publisher : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
✏Release Date : 2014-11-04
✏Pages : 317
✏ISBN : 9780547524146
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Prozac Nation Book Summary : Elizabeth Wurtzel's New York Times best-selling memoir, with a new afterword "Sparkling, luminescent prose . . . A powerful portrait of one girl's journey through the purgatory of depression and back." —New York Times "A book that became a cultural touchstone." —New Yorker Elizabeth Wurtzel writes with her finger on the faint pulse of an overdiagnosed generation whose ruling icons are Kurt Cobain, Xanax, and pierced tongues. Her famous memoir of her bouts with depression and skirmishes with drugs, Prozac Nation is a witty and sharp account of the psychopharmacology of an era for readers of Girl, Interrupted and Sylvia Plath’s The Bell Jar.

✏Book Title : The Guinness Encyclopedia of Popular Music
✏Author : Colin Larkin
✏Publisher : Guinness World Records Limited
✏Release Date : 1995
✏Pages : 4991
✏ISBN : 0851126626
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Guinness Encyclopedia of Popular Music Book Summary :

✏Book Title : The new Rolling stone record guide
✏Author : Dave Marsh
✏Publisher : Random House
✏Release Date : 1983-10-12
✏Pages : 648
✏ISBN : 0394721071
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The new Rolling stone record guide Book Summary : This comprehensive reference rates and describes albums released in the United States

✏Book Title : The Trouser Press Guide to 90s Rock
✏Author : Ira A. Robbins
✏Publisher : Touchstone
✏Release Date : 1997
✏Pages : 846
✏ISBN : 0684814374
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Trouser Press Guide to 90s Rock Book Summary : Provides coverage of 8,500 records released since 1990 from 2,300 artists, including critical analysis