The Truman Presidency

📒The Truman Presidency ✍ Michael James Lacey

✏Book Title : The Truman Presidency
✏Author : Michael James Lacey
✏Publisher : Cambridge University Press
✏Release Date : 1991-06-28
✏Pages : 458
✏ISBN : 0521407737
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Truman Presidency Book Summary : Written by leading authorities in the fields of the contemporary social, political, and diplomatic history of the United States, the essays in this volume provide a wide-ranging overview of the intentions, achievements, and failures of the Truman administration. Divided into sections on domestic politics and issues, and foreign policy and national defence, the volume gives an authoritative appraisal of some of the major events and problems of the time in the light of recent scholarship. The essays make clear the overriding importance of the wartime experience for the Truman era.

📒Harry S Farewell ✍ Richard Stewart Kirkendall

✏Book Title : Harry s Farewell
✏Author : Richard Stewart Kirkendall
✏Publisher : University of Missouri Press
✏Release Date : 2004
✏Pages : 381
✏ISBN : 0826264220
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Harry s Farewell Book Summary :

✏Book Title : Documentary History of the Truman Presidency
✏Author : Dennis Merrill
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 2001
✏Pages : 600
✏ISBN : 1556556993
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Documentary History of the Truman Presidency Book Summary :

✏Book Title : Saving International Capitalism During the Early Truman Presidency
✏Author : Kevin M. Casey
✏Publisher : Psychology Press
✏Release Date : 2001
✏Pages : 252
✏ISBN : 0815339542
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Saving International Capitalism During the Early Truman Presidency Book Summary : This work argues that the college choices of ethnic Chinese in Korea changed in relation to their political and legal status within Korean society and examines the reasons behind the changing educational trends within the context of majority-minority relations in Korea.

✏Book Title : The Constitution and the American Presidency
✏Author : Martin L. Fausold
✏Publisher : SUNY Press
✏Release Date : 1991-01-01
✏Pages : 323
✏ISBN : 0791404676
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Constitution and the American Presidency Book Summary : In this unusual and provocative volume, historians examine the presidencies of Jefferson, Jackson, Lincoln, Theodore Roosevelt, F. D. R., and Truman, while political scientists assess the contemporary presidency and suggest a range of reforms, from modest to radical, including fundamental alterations to the balance of power between the presidency and the Congress.

✏Book Title : Documentary History of the Truman Presidency The Truman scandals the president confronts a political crisis 1951 1952
✏Author :
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 1995
✏Pages :
✏ISBN : LCCN:95032561
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Documentary History of the Truman Presidency The Truman scandals the president confronts a political crisis 1951 1952 Book Summary :

📒Harry S Truman ✍ E Ray Canterbery

✏Book Title : Harry S Truman
✏Author : E Ray Canterbery
✏Publisher : World Scientific
✏Release Date : 2014-03-19
✏Pages : 212
✏ISBN : 9789814541855
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Harry S Truman Book Summary : Harry S Truman is best remembered as the President who witnessed the swift arrival of the Cold War in the tumultuous years after World War Two. Little however has been written to show that he was also the populist President who set the political economic course for the United States to win it merely 40 years later. In this timely biography, E Ray Canterbery captures the spirit of the man, who first and foremost, was a politician who crafted political progams such as the Fair Deal program, full-employment program, New Deal program, reconversion, stabilization, and agriculture progams through the lens of progressiveness. He focuses on Truman's populist economics by charting Truman's early years, the makings of his populist character, his beginnings in Washington, Communism and the Truman Doctrine, the campaign of 1948, the Marshall Plan, the firing of General MacArthur, and the Korean War. While the economic aspects of his term were fundamentally that of war and peace, Canterbery analyses in great depth Truman's economic policies and instruments, such as the Employment Act of 1946 and the President's Council of Economic Advisers (CEA) — results of Truman's presidency that other authors of books on Truman have largely ignored. Harry S Truman: The Economics of a Populist President shows how Truman should be remembered: As a progressive politician whose populist policies rank him among the “near great” Presidents in the tradition of William Jennings Bryan, Theodore Roosevelt, and Woodrow Wilson. Contents:IntroductionThe Early YearsThe Political Making of a PopulistMr Truman Goes to WashingtonThe Economics of War and PeaceThe Employment Act of 1946 and the President's Council of Economic AdvisersCommunism and the Truman DoctrineThe Populist Campaign of 1948The Marshall PlanTruman's Defining Test: The Korean WarAfterward Readership: Economic historians, researchers, students and members of the public who are interested in American history and the early origins of the Cold War. Keywords:Harry S Truman;Bessie Wallace (Mrs Truman);the Whistle-Stop Campaign;President's Council of Econmics Advisers (CEA);Employment Act of 1946;Progressive populist;Progressivism;McCarthyism;War and peace;Democrats;Republicans;Keynesian economics;Communism;Iron Curtain;Stalin;New Deal;Truman Doctrine;Marshall Plan;Korean Warl Cold War;George C Marshall;Dwight D Eisenhower;Gerhard Colm;World War One;World War Two;Great Depression;Roaring TwentiesKey Features:Devotes much attention and detail to the economic aspects of Truman during his time in OfficeTruman's lasting legacy was that of his populism and his ability to connect with the common American man; this is explained in detail in this bookThis book will show how political economic strategies early on in the Cold War helped the United States eventually win it by the 1990s; it will show how Truman led the way in laying a good foundation for America's Cold Warrior stance

📒Harry S Truman And The News Media ✍ Franklin D. Mitchell

✏Book Title : Harry S Truman and the News Media
✏Author : Franklin D. Mitchell
✏Publisher : University of Missouri Press
✏Release Date : 1998
✏Pages : 277
✏ISBN : 0826211801
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Harry S Truman and the News Media Book Summary : Based upon extensive research in the papers of President Harry S. Truman and in several journalistic collections, Harry S. Truman and the News Media recounts the story of a once unpopular chief executive who overcame the censure of the news media to ultimately win both the public's and the press's affirmation of his personal and presidential greatness. Franklin D. Mitchell traces the major contours of journalism during the lifetime and presidency of Truman. Although newspapers and newsmagazines are given the most emphasis, reporters and columnists of the Washington news corps also figure prominently for their role in the president's news conferences and their continuing coverage of Truman and his family. Broadcast journalism's expanding coverage of the president is also explored through chapters dealing with radio and television. President Truman's advocacy of a liberal Fair Deal for all Americans and a prudent and visible role for the nation in world affairs drew fire from the anti-administration news media, particularly the publishing empire of William Randolph Hearst, the McCormick-Patterson newspapers, the Scripps-Howard chain, and the Time-Life newsmagazines of Henry R. Luce. Despite press opposition and the almost universal prediction of defeat in the 1948 election, Truman was victorious in the greatest miscalled presidential election in journalistic history. During his full term, Truman's relations with the news media became contentious over such matters as national security in the Cold War, the conduct of the Korean War, and the continuing charges of communism and corruption in the administration. Although Truman's career in politics was based on honesty and the welfare of the people, his early political alliance with Thomas Pendergast, Kansas City's notorious political boss, provided the opportunity for a portion of the press to charge Truman with subservience to Pendergast's own agenda of corrupt government. The history and the dynamics of the Truman presidency and the American news media, combined with biographical and institutional sketches of key individuals and news organizations, make Harry S. Truman and the News Media a captivating and original investigation of an American president. Well written and researched, this book will be of great value to Truman scholars, journalists, and anyone interested in American history or presidential studies.

✏Book Title : Documentary History of the Truman Presidency
✏Author :
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 1995
✏Pages :
✏ISBN : LCCN:95032561
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Documentary History of the Truman Presidency Book Summary :

✏Book Title : Leadership in the Modern Presidency
✏Author : Fred I. Greenstein
✏Publisher : Harvard University Press
✏Release Date : 1988
✏Pages : 430
✏ISBN : 0674518551
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Leadership in the Modern Presidency Book Summary : Nine political scientists and historians evaluate the leadership qualities of presidents Roosevelt, Truman, Eisenhower, Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon, Ford, Carter, and Reagan