The Small Place Pdf Novel

📒A Small Place ✍ Jamaica Kincaid

✏Book Title : A Small Place
✏Author : Jamaica Kincaid
✏Publisher : Macmillan
✏Release Date : 2000-04-28
✏Pages : 81
✏ISBN : 0374527075
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏A Small Place Book Summary : The author of such books as At the Bottom of the River and My Brother returns to Antigua, the ten-by-twelve mile Caribbean island where she grew up, to explore the effects of colonialism. Reprint.

📒Lucy ✍ Jamaica Kincaid

✏Book Title : Lucy
✏Author : Jamaica Kincaid
✏Publisher : Farrar, Straus and Giroux
✏Release Date : 2002-09-04
✏Pages : 164
✏ISBN : 9781466828858
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Lucy Book Summary : Lucy, a teenage girl from the West Indies, comes to America to work as an au pair for a wealthy couple. She begins to notice cracks in their beautiful façade at the same time that the mysteries of own sexuality begin to unravel. Jamaica Kincaid has created a startling new heroine who is destined to win a place of honor in contemporary fiction.

📒Annie John ✍ Jamaica Kincaid

✏Book Title : Annie John
✏Author : Jamaica Kincaid
✏Publisher : Farrar, Straus and Giroux
✏Release Date : 1997-06-30
✏Pages : 160
✏ISBN : 9781466837782
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Annie John Book Summary : Annie John is a haunting and provocative story of a young girl growing up on the island of Antigua. A classic coming-of-age story in the tradition of The Catcher in the Rye and A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man, Kincaid's novel focuses on a universal, tragic, and often comic theme: the loss of childhood. Annie's voice—urgent, demanding to be heard—is one that will not soon be forgotten by readers. An adored only child, Annie has until recently lived an idyllic life. She is inseparable from her beautiful mother, a powerful presence, who is the very center of the little girl's existence. Loved and cherished, Annie grows and thrives within her mother's benign shadow. Looking back on her childhood, she reflects, "It was in such a paradise that I lived." When she turns twelve, however, Annie's life changes, in ways that are often mysterious to her. She begins to question the cultural assumptions of her island world; at school she instinctively rebels against authority; and most frighteningly, her mother, seeing Annie as a "young lady," ceases to be the source of unconditional adoration and takes on the new and unfamiliar guise of adversary. At the end of her school years, Annie decides to leave Antigua and her family, but not without a measure of sorrow, especially for the mother she once knew and never ceases to mourn. "For I could not be sure," she reflects, "whether for the rest of my life I would be able to tell when it was really my mother and when it was really her shadow standing between me and the rest of the world."

✏Book Title : Food and Development
✏Author : E.M. Young
✏Publisher : Routledge
✏Release Date : 2013-06-19
✏Pages : 432
✏ISBN : 9781135999407
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Food and Development Book Summary : The relationship between food and development has always been controversial. Over the last thirty years, development in the north and south has failed to deliver people a decent diet. While some people have too little food and die as a consequence, some people have too much food and die from associated diseases. Furthermore, some methods of food production create social dislocation and deadly environments where biodiversity is eroded and pollution is rampant. While guaranteeing enough food for the world’s inhabitants continues to be a serious challenge, new issues about food have emerged. Food and Development is a lively and lucidly written text which provides a clear and accessible introduction to these complex and diverse food related problems. It explores the continued prevalence of mass under nutrition in the developing world; acute food crises in some places associated with conflict; the emergence of over nutrition in the developing world and the vulnerability of the contemporary global food production system. The text identifies the major problems and analyzes factors at international, national and local scales to understand their continued prevalence. The book concludes by evaluating the potential of some oppositional forces to challenge the hegemony of the contemporary food system. This timely and original text will be invaluable to undergraduates interested in the challenges surrounding food and development. The text is richly filled with case studies from the Global North and South to illustrate the nature and extent of these urgent issues and their interrelated nature. Each chapter contains a range of features to assist undergraduate learning, including: learning objective, key concepts, summaries, discussion questions, further reading and websites, and follow up activities.

📒It ✍ Stephen King

✏Book Title : It
✏Author : Stephen King
✏Publisher : Simon and Schuster
✏Release Date : 2016-01-05
✏Pages : 1168
✏ISBN : 9781501142970
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏It Book Summary : They were seven teenagers when they first stumbled upon the horror. Now they were grown-up men and women who had gone out into the big world to gain success and happiness. But none of them could withstand the force that drew them back to Derry, Maine to face the nightmare without an end, and the evil without a name.

📒Any Small Goodness ✍ Tony Johnston

✏Book Title : Any Small Goodness
✏Author : Tony Johnston
✏Publisher : Scholastic Inc.
✏Release Date : 2003-06
✏Pages : 128
✏ISBN : 0439233844
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Any Small Goodness Book Summary : A touching novel filled with love, hope, and fellowship follows a loving Mexican-American family that resides in East L.A. as they immerse themselves in the warmth of their close-knit community. Reprint.

✏Book Title : The Goddess of Small Victories
✏Author : Yannick Grannec
✏Publisher : Other Press, LLC
✏Release Date : 2014-10-14
✏Pages : 472
✏ISBN : 9781590516379
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Goddess of Small Victories Book Summary : An internationally best-selling debut novel about the life, marriage, and legacy of one of the greatest mathematicians of the last century Princeton University 1980. Kurt Gödel, the most fascinating, though hermetic, mathematician of the twentieth century, has just died of anorexia. His widow, Adele, a fierce woman shunned by her husband’s colleagues because she had been a cabaret dancer, is now consigned to a nursing home. To the great annoyance of the Institute of Advanced Studies, she refuses to hand over Gödel’s precious records. Anna Roth, the timid daughter of two mathematicians who are part of the Princeton clique, is given the difficult task of befriending Adele and retrieving the documents from her. As Adele begins to notice Anna’s own estrangement from her milieu and starts to trust her, she opens the gates of her memory and together they travel back to Vienna during the Nazi era, Princeton right after the war, the pressures of McCarthyism, the end of the positivist ideal, and the advent of nuclear weapons. It is this epic story of a genius who could never quite find his place in the world, and the determination of the woman who loved him, that will eventually give Anna the courage to change her own life.

✏Book Title : House of Day House of Night
✏Author : Olga Tokarczuk
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 2003
✏Pages : 293
✏ISBN : UVA:X004704167
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏House of Day House of Night Book Summary : Richly imagined, weaving in anecdote with recipes and gossip, House of Day, House of Night is an epic of a small place. In Nowa Ruda, a small town in Silesia, Poland, the narrator learns that the history of one's house is limitless - one can feel at home everywhere.

✏Book Title : A Fireproof Home for the Bride
✏Author : Amy Scheibe
✏Publisher : St. Martin's Press
✏Release Date : 2015-03-10
✏Pages : 384
✏ISBN : 9781466869707
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏A Fireproof Home for the Bride Book Summary : Emmaline Nelson and her sister Birdie grow up in the hard, cold rural Lutheran world of strict parents, strict milking times, and strict morals. Marriage is preordained, the groom practically predestined. Though it's 1958, southern Minnesota did not see changing roles for women on the horizon. Caught in a time bubble between a world war and the ferment of the 1960's, Emmy doesn't see that she has any say in her life, any choices at all. Only when Emmy's fiancé shows his true colors and forces himself on her does she find the courage to act—falling instead for a forbidden Catholic boy, a boy whose family seems warm and encouraging after the sere Nelson farm life. Not only moving to town and breaking free from her engagement but getting a job on the local newspaper begins to open Emmy's eyes. She discovers that the KKK is not only active in the Midwest but that her family is involved, and her sense of the firm rules she grew up under—and their effect—changes completely. Amy Scheibe's A FIREPROOF HOME FOR THE BRIDE has the charm of detail that will drop readers into its time and place: the home economics class lecture on cuts of meat, the group date to the diner, the small-town movie theater popcorn for a penny. It also has a love story—the wrong love giving way to the right—and most of all the pull of a great main character whose self-discovery sweeps the plot forward.

📒The Stolen Marriage ✍ Diane Chamberlain

✏Book Title : The Stolen Marriage
✏Author : Diane Chamberlain
✏Publisher : St. Martin's Press
✏Release Date : 2017-10-03
✏Pages : 384
✏ISBN : 9781250087294
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Stolen Marriage Book Summary : Steeped in history and filled with heart-wrenching twists, The Stolen Marriage is an emotionally captivating novel of secrets, betrayals, prejudice, and forgiveness. It showcases Diane Chamberlain at the top of her talent. One mistake, one fateful night, and Tess DeMello’s life is changed forever. It is 1944. Pregnant, alone, and riddled with guilt, twenty-three-year-old Tess DeMello abruptly gives up her budding career as a nurse and ends her engagement to the love of her life, unable to live a lie. Instead, she turns to the baby’s father for help and agrees to marry him, moving to the small, rural town of Hickory, North Carolina. Tess’s new husband, Henry Kraft, is a secretive man who often stays out all night, hides money from his new wife, and shows her no affection. Tess quickly realizes she’s trapped in a strange and loveless marriage with no way out. The people of Hickory love and respect Henry but see Tess as an outsider, treating her with suspicion and disdain. When one of the town’s golden girls dies in a terrible accident, everyone holds Tess responsible. But Henry keeps his secrets even closer now, though it seems that everyone knows something about him that Tess does not. When a sudden polio epidemic strikes Hickory, the townspeople band together to build a polio hospital. Tess knows she is needed and defies Henry’s wishes to begin working at there. Through this work, she begins to find purpose and meaning. Yet at home, Henry’s actions grow more alarming by the day. As Tess works to save the lives of her patients, can she untangle the truth behind her husband’s mysterious behavior and find the love—and the life—she was meant to have? A Library Reads Top Ten Book of October 2017 Praise for The Stolen Marriage: "[A] well-crafted crime-tinged tale." —Publishers Weekly "The Stolen Marriage is the kind of story that will grab you and refuse to let you go until you turn the last page." —All About Romance "Readers will be sucked in immediately...you just can't go wrong with a book with [Chamberlain's] name on the cover." —Southern Pines Pilot