The Short And Tragic Life Of Robert Peace

✏Book Title : The Short and Tragic Life of Robert Peace
✏Author : Jeff Hobbs
✏Publisher : Simon and Schuster
✏Release Date : 2015-07-28
✏Pages : 432
✏ISBN : 9781476731919
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Short and Tragic Life of Robert Peace Book Summary : Traces a young man's effort to escape the dangers of the streets and his own nature after graduating from Yale, describing his youth in violent 1980s Newark, efforts to navigate two fiercely insular worlds and life-ending drug deals. 75,000 first printing.

📒The Tourists ✍ Jeff Hobbs

✏Book Title : The Tourists
✏Author : Jeff Hobbs
✏Publisher : Simon and Schuster
✏Release Date : 2008-08-12
✏Pages : 336
✏ISBN : 9780743290968
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Tourists Book Summary : Wandering the streets of Manhattan while thinking about the lives of his three former Yale classmates, a disaffected professional considers how their respective quests for happiness have remained unfulfilled in spite of their financial successes. A first novel. Reprint. 20,000 first printing.

📒Untitled ✍ Jeff Hobbs

✏Book Title : Untitled
✏Author : Jeff Hobbs
✏Publisher : Scribner
✏Release Date : 2020-04-07
✏Pages : 352
✏ISBN : 1982116331
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Untitled Book Summary : The bestselling, critically acclaimed, award-winning author of The Short and Tragic Life of Robert Peace presents a brilliant and transcendent work that closely follows four Los Angeles high school boys with vastly different backgrounds and resources as they apply to college. Four teenage boys—Tiofilo Cortez, Carlos Rodriguez, Owen Lloyd, and Sam Schwartz—are high school seniors at two very different schools within the city of Los Angeles, the second largest school district in the nation with nearly 700,000 students. Author Jeff Hobbs, writing with heart, sensitivity, and insight, stunningly captures the challenges and triumphs of being a young person confronting the future – both their own and the cultures in which they live – in contemporary America. Combining complex social issues with the compelling experience of the individual, Hobbs takes us deep inside these boys’ worlds. The foursome includes Tiofilo, a nonchalant skateboarder harboring serious ambitions to attend an elite college despite a father who doesn’t believe in him; Carlos, son of undocumented delivery workers, who aims to follow in his older brother’s footsteps and attend Yale; Owen, ambivalent about high school in general but still yearning to fulfill the expectations of his successful and loving parents; and Sam, devoted member of the academic decathalon team who lives in a tiny cramped apartment with his Chinese mother and Jewish father and cannot wait to have some independence. Filled with portraits of secondary characters including friends, peers, parents, teachers, and girlfriends, this masterwork of immersive journalism is both intimate and profound and destined to ignite conversations about class, race, expectations, cultural divides, and even the concept of fate. Hobbs’s portrayal of these young men is not only revelatory and relevant, but also moving, eloquent, and indelibly powerful.

📒Breakaway Learners ✍ Karen Gross

✏Book Title : Breakaway Learners
✏Author : Karen Gross
✏Publisher : Teachers College Press
✏Release Date : 2017
✏Pages :
✏ISBN : 9780807775776
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Breakaway Learners Book Summary : This powerful book explores how institutions of higher education can successfully serve “breakaway” students—first-generation, low-income students who are trying to break away from the past in order to create a more secure future. The gap between low-SES and high-SES students persists as efforts to close it have not met with great success. In this provocative book, Gross offers a new approach to addressing inequities by focusing on students who have succeeded despite struggling with the impacts of poverty and trauma. Gross draws on her experience as a college president to outline practical steps that postsecondary institutions can take to create structures of support and opportunity that build reciprocal trust. Students must trust their institutions and professors, professors must trust their students, and eventually students must learn to trust themselves. “A must-read for academics, policymakers, teachers, social service providers, police chiefs, and government officials.” —Martha Kanter, former under secretary, U.S. Department of Education “We need to pay attention to what Karen Gross says. Read this book, then share it.” —Mark Huddleston, president, University of New Hampshire “Karen Gross offers practical ideas based on her research and, more importantly, on her substantial leadership in assisting our nation’s colleges and universities serving at-risk students.” —Marybeth Gasman, University of Pennsylvania

✏Book Title : Learned Helplessness Welfare and the Poverty Cycle
✏Author : Kristina Lyn Heitkamp
✏Publisher : Greenhaven Publishing LLC
✏Release Date : 2018-12-15
✏Pages : 176
✏ISBN : 9781534504035
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Learned Helplessness Welfare and the Poverty Cycle Book Summary : Between 1996 and 2017, the number of families on welfare declined to less than a quarter of its former rate of coverage, yet nearly twice as many households live in extreme poverty and nearly 25 percent of American children live in poverty. What can be done to help these children and families escape poverty? Are government programs like welfare the best solution, or are there other ways to pull families out of poverty? This volume looks at the issue of poverty, the various theories about why it proliferates, and a number of proposed strategies to fight it.

📒While The City Slept ✍ Eli Sanders

✏Book Title : While the City Slept
✏Author : Eli Sanders
✏Publisher : Penguin
✏Release Date : 2016-02-02
✏Pages : 336
✏ISBN : 9781101634677
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏While the City Slept Book Summary : “Binged Making a Murderer? Try . . . [this] riveting portrait of a tragic, preventable crime.” —Entertainment Weekly Edgar Award finalist for Best Fact Crime A Pulitzer Prize–winning reporter’s gripping account of one young man’s path to murder—and a wake-up call for mental health care in America On a summer night in 2009, three lives intersected in one American neighborhood. Two people newly in love—Teresa Butz and Jennifer Hopper, who spent many years trying to find themselves and who eventually found each other—and a young man on a dangerous psychological descent: Isaiah Kalebu, age twenty-three, the son of a distant, authoritarian father and a mother with a family history of mental illness. All three paths forever altered by a violent crime, all three stories a wake-up call to the system that failed to see the signs. In this riveting, probing, compassionate account of a murder in Seattle, Eli Sanders, who won a Pulitzer Prize for his newspaper coverage of the crime, offers a deeply reported portrait in microcosm of the state of mental health care in this country—as well as an inspiring story of love and forgiveness. Culminating in Kalebu’s dangerous slide toward violence—observed by family members, police, mental health workers, lawyers, and judges, but stopped by no one—While the City Slept is the story of a crime of opportunity and of the string of missed opportunities that made it possible. It shows what can happen when a disturbed member of society repeatedly falls through the cracks, and in the tradition of The Other Wes Moore and The Short and Tragic Life of Robert Peace, is an indelible, human-level story, brilliantly told, with the potential to inspire social change.

📒Cook Up ✍ D. Watkins

✏Book Title : COOK UP
✏Author : D. Watkins
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 2016
✏Pages :
✏ISBN : 1455588652
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏COOK UP Book Summary : Reminiscent of the classic Random Family and The Short and Tragic Life of Robert Peace, but told by the man who lived it, THE COOK UP is a riveting look inside the Baltimore drug trade portrayed in The Wire and an incredible story of redemption. The smartest kid on his block in East Baltimore, D. was certain he would escape the life of drugs, decadence, and violence that had surrounded him since birth. But when his brother Devin is shot-only days after D. receives notice that he's been accepted into Georgetown University-the plans for his life are exploded, and he takes up the mantel of his brother's crack empire. D. succeeds in cultivating the family business, but when he meets a woman unlike any he's known before, his priorities are once more put into question. Equally terrifying and hilarious, inspiring and heartbreaking, D.'s story offers a rare glimpse into the mentality of a person who has escaped many hells.

📒The Tragic Life ✍ Cecil Anthony Abrahams

✏Book Title : The Tragic Life
✏Author : Cecil Anthony Abrahams
✏Publisher : Africa World Pr
✏Release Date : 1990
✏Pages : 131
✏ISBN : 0865431760
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Tragic Life Book Summary :

📒A Separate Peace ✍ John Knowles

✏Book Title : A Separate Peace
✏Author : John Knowles
✏Publisher : Holt McDougal
✏Release Date : 1999
✏Pages : 251
✏ISBN : 0030554640
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏A Separate Peace Book Summary :

✏Book Title : The Continental Edition of World Masterpieces
✏Author : Maynard Mack
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 1974
✏Pages :
✏ISBN : UOM:39076006640879
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Continental Edition of World Masterpieces Book Summary :