The Short And Tragic Life Of Robert Peace

✏Book Title : The Short and Tragic Life of Robert Peace
✏Author : Jeff Hobbs
✏Publisher : Simon and Schuster
✏Release Date : 2015-07-28
✏Pages : 432
✏ISBN : 9781476731919
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Short and Tragic Life of Robert Peace Book Summary : Traces a young man's effort to escape the dangers of the streets and his own nature after graduating from Yale, describing his youth in violent 1980s Newark, efforts to navigate two fiercely insular worlds and life-ending drug deals. 75,000 first printing.

📒Breakaway Learners ✍ Karen Gross

✏Book Title : Breakaway Learners
✏Author : Karen Gross
✏Publisher : Teachers College Press
✏Release Date : 2017
✏Pages :
✏ISBN : 9780807775776
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Breakaway Learners Book Summary : This powerful book explores how institutions of higher education can successfully serve “breakaway” students—first-generation, low-income students who are trying to break away from the past in order to create a more secure future. The gap between low-SES and high-SES students persists as efforts to close it have not met with great success. In this provocative book, Gross offers a new approach to addressing inequities by focusing on students who have succeeded despite struggling with the impacts of poverty and trauma. Gross draws on her experience as a college president to outline practical steps that postsecondary institutions can take to create structures of support and opportunity that build reciprocal trust. Students must trust their institutions and professors, professors must trust their students, and eventually students must learn to trust themselves. “A must-read for academics, policymakers, teachers, social service providers, police chiefs, and government officials.” —Martha Kanter, former under secretary, U.S. Department of Education “We need to pay attention to what Karen Gross says. Read this book, then share it.” —Mark Huddleston, president, University of New Hampshire “Karen Gross offers practical ideas based on her research and, more importantly, on her substantial leadership in assisting our nation’s colleges and universities serving at-risk students.” —Marybeth Gasman, University of Pennsylvania

✏Book Title : Learned Helplessness Welfare and the Poverty Cycle
✏Author : Kristina Lyn Heitkamp
✏Publisher : Greenhaven Publishing LLC
✏Release Date : 2018-12-15
✏Pages : 176
✏ISBN : 9781534504035
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Learned Helplessness Welfare and the Poverty Cycle Book Summary : Between 1996 and 2017, the number of families on welfare declined to less than a quarter of its former rate of coverage, yet nearly twice as many households live in extreme poverty and nearly 25 percent of American children live in poverty. What can be done to help these children and families escape poverty? Are government programs like welfare the best solution, or are there other ways to pull families out of poverty? This volume looks at the issue of poverty, the various theories about why it proliferates, and a number of proposed strategies to fight it.

📒The Tourists ✍ Jeff Hobbs

✏Book Title : The Tourists
✏Author : Jeff Hobbs
✏Publisher : Simon and Schuster
✏Release Date : 2008-08-12
✏Pages : 336
✏ISBN : 9780743290968
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Tourists Book Summary : Wandering the streets of Manhattan while thinking about the lives of his three former Yale classmates, a disaffected professional considers how their respective quests for happiness have remained unfulfilled in spite of their financial successes. A first novel. Reprint. 20,000 first printing.

📒While The City Slept ✍ Eli Sanders

✏Book Title : While the City Slept
✏Author : Eli Sanders
✏Publisher : Penguin
✏Release Date : 2016-02-02
✏Pages : 336
✏ISBN : 9781101634677
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏While the City Slept Book Summary : “Binged Making a Murderer? Try . . . [this] riveting portrait of a tragic, preventable crime.” —Entertainment Weekly Edgar Award finalist for Best Fact Crime A Pulitzer Prize–winning reporter’s gripping account of one young man’s path to murder—and a wake-up call for mental health care in America On a summer night in 2009, three lives intersected in one American neighborhood. Two people newly in love—Teresa Butz and Jennifer Hopper, who spent many years trying to find themselves and who eventually found each other—and a young man on a dangerous psychological descent: Isaiah Kalebu, age twenty-three, the son of a distant, authoritarian father and a mother with a family history of mental illness. All three paths forever altered by a violent crime, all three stories a wake-up call to the system that failed to see the signs. In this riveting, probing, compassionate account of a murder in Seattle, Eli Sanders, who won a Pulitzer Prize for his newspaper coverage of the crime, offers a deeply reported portrait in microcosm of the state of mental health care in this country—as well as an inspiring story of love and forgiveness. Culminating in Kalebu’s dangerous slide toward violence—observed by family members, police, mental health workers, lawyers, and judges, but stopped by no one—While the City Slept is the story of a crime of opportunity and of the string of missed opportunities that made it possible. It shows what can happen when a disturbed member of society repeatedly falls through the cracks, and in the tradition of The Other Wes Moore and The Short and Tragic Life of Robert Peace, is an indelible, human-level story, brilliantly told, with the potential to inspire social change.

📒Standing Our Ground ✍ Lucia Kay McBath

✏Book Title : Standing Our Ground
✏Author : Lucia Kay McBath
✏Publisher : Simon and Schuster
✏Release Date : 2018-09-11
✏Pages : 256
✏ISBN : 9781501187803
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Standing Our Ground Book Summary : From the national spokesperson for Everytown for Gun Safety and leading gun violence prevention advocate comes the riveting memoir of a mother’s loss and call to action, as well as a faith-based exploration of how the nation’s gun laws put a deadly target on American lives. Lucia Kay McBath knew deep down that a bullet could one day take her son. After all, she had watched the news of countless unarmed black men unjustly gunned down. Standing Our Ground: Putting Faith in God Over Faith in Guns is McBath’s memoir of raising, loving, and losing her son to gun violence, and the story of how she transformed her pain into activism. After seventeen-year-old Jordan Davis was shot by a man who thought the music playing on his car stereo was too loud, the nation grieved yet again for the unnecessary loss of life. Here, McBath goes beyond the timeline and the assailant’s defense—Stand Your Ground—to present an emotional account of her fervent fight for justice, and her awakening to a cause that will drive the rest of her days. But more than McBath’s story or that of her son, Standing Our Ground keenly observes the social and political evolution of America’s gun culture. A must-read for anyone concerned with gun safety in America, it harkens back to such bestsellers as The Short and Tragic Life of Robert Peace and Nobody.

📒The Tragic Life ✍ Cecil Anthony Abrahams

✏Book Title : The Tragic Life
✏Author : Cecil Anthony Abrahams
✏Publisher : Africa World Pr
✏Release Date : 1990
✏Pages : 131
✏ISBN : 0865431760
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Tragic Life Book Summary :

✏Book Title : The short sharp life of T E Hulme
✏Author : Robert Ferguson
✏Publisher : Allan Lane
✏Release Date : 2002
✏Pages : 313
✏ISBN : UOM:39015051915083
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The short sharp life of T E Hulme Book Summary :

📒Napoleon ✍ Andrew Roberts

✏Book Title : Napoleon
✏Author : Andrew Roberts
✏Publisher : Penguin
✏Release Date : 2014-11-04
✏Pages : 976
✏ISBN : 9780698176287
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Napoleon Book Summary : The definitive biography of the great soldier-statesman by the New York Times bestselling author of The Storm of War—winner of the Los Angeles Times Book Prize for Biography and the Grand Prix of the Fondation Napoleon Austerlitz, Borodino, Waterloo: his battles are among the greatest in history, but Napoleon Bonaparte was far more than a military genius and astute leader of men. Like George Washington and his own hero Julius Caesar, he was one of the greatest soldier-statesmen of all times. Andrew Roberts’s Napoleon is the first one-volume biography to take advantage of the recent publication of Napoleon’s thirty-three thousand letters, which radically transform our understanding of his character and motivation. At last we see him as he was: protean multitasker, decisive, surprisingly willing to forgive his enemies and his errant wife Josephine. Like Churchill, he understood the strategic importance of telling his own story, and his memoirs, dictated from exile on St. Helena, became the single bestselling book of the nineteenth century. An award-winning historian, Roberts traveled to fifty-three of Napoleon’s sixty battle sites, discovered crucial new documents in archives, and even made the long trip by boat to St. Helena. He is as acute in his understanding of politics as he is of military history. Here at last is a biography worthy of its subject: magisterial, insightful, beautifully written, by one of our foremost historians.

✏Book Title : Memorial Services
✏Author :
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 1968
✏Pages : 289
✏ISBN : UOM:39015002641929
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Memorial Services Book Summary :