The Short And Tragic Life Of Robert Peace

✏Book Title : The Short and Tragic Life of Robert Peace
✏Author : Jeff Hobbs
✏Publisher : Simon and Schuster
✏Release Date : 2015-07-28
✏Pages : 432
✏ISBN : 9781476731919
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Short and Tragic Life of Robert Peace Book Summary : Traces a young man's effort to escape the dangers of the streets and his own nature after graduating from Yale, describing his youth in violent 1980s Newark, efforts to navigate two fiercely insular worlds and life-ending drug deals. 75,000 first printing.

✏Book Title : Summary the Short and Tragic Life of Robert Peace
✏Author : Summary Station
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 2016-06-08
✏Pages : 52
✏ISBN : 1533677395
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Summary the Short and Tragic Life of Robert Peace Book Summary : The Short and Tragic Life of Robert Peace: A Brilliant Young Man Who Left Newark for the Ivy League | SummaryBook Preview:In The Short and Tragic Life of Robert Peace, Jeff Hobbs' seamlessly weaves the socioeconomic and racial realities of the residents of Newark, New Jersey while highlighting the story of a mother and son, Jackie and Robert Peace. Hobbs' research and intimate writing style provides the reader with an in-depth view of what Jackie endured to give her son a chance at a better life. It also effectively demonstrates how someone like Robert Peace, who is given every chance at a better life, can still make the choices that ultimately leads to their demise. For those who have been blessed, or lucky, to live above poverty it can be difficult to understand just how difficult it can be to be truly poor. The struggles are not limited strictly to a lack of funds but also to location, education, and family demands, among other things. To provide a greater opportunity for her son, Jackie Peace, did her best to overcome each of these limitations. While working she sought higher education so as to further her career prospects. To pay for private school she had to work long hours at multiple jobs and in turn was given less time to spend with her son. This is a summary and analysis of the book and NOT the original book This Book Contains: * Summary Of The Entire Book * Chapter By Chapter Breakdown * Analysis Of The Reading Experience Download Your Copy Today

📒Breakaway Learners ✍ Karen Gross

✏Book Title : Breakaway Learners
✏Author : Karen Gross
✏Publisher : Teachers College Press
✏Release Date : 2017
✏Pages :
✏ISBN : 9780807775776
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Breakaway Learners Book Summary : This powerful book explores how institutions of higher education can successfully serve “breakaway” students—first-generation, low-income students who are trying to break away from the past in order to create a more secure future. The gap between low-SES and high-SES students persists as efforts to close it have not met with great success. In this provocative book, Gross offers a new approach to addressing inequities by focusing on students who have succeeded despite struggling with the impacts of poverty and trauma. Gross draws on her experience as a college president to outline practical steps that postsecondary institutions can take to create structures of support and opportunity that build reciprocal trust. Students must trust their institutions and professors, professors must trust their students, and eventually students must learn to trust themselves. “A must-read for academics, policymakers, teachers, social service providers, police chiefs, and government officials.” —Martha Kanter, former under secretary, U.S. Department of Education “We need to pay attention to what Karen Gross says. Read this book, then share it.” —Mark Huddleston, president, University of New Hampshire “Karen Gross offers practical ideas based on her research and, more importantly, on her substantial leadership in assisting our nation’s colleges and universities serving at-risk students.” —Marybeth Gasman, University of Pennsylvania

📒Wolf Boys ✍ Dan Slater

✏Book Title : Wolf Boys
✏Author : Dan Slater
✏Publisher : Simon and Schuster
✏Release Date : 2016-09-13
✏Pages : 352
✏ISBN : 9781501126628
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Wolf Boys Book Summary : The tale of two American teenagers recruited as killers for a Mexican cartel, and the Mexican-American detective who realizes the War on Drugs is unstoppable. “A hell of a story…undeniably gripping.” (The New York Times) In this astonishing story, journalist Dan Slater recounts the unforgettable odyssey of Gabriel Cardona. At first glance, Gabriel is the poster-boy American teenager: athletic, bright, handsome, and charismatic. But the ghettos of Laredo, Texas—his border town—are full of smugglers and gangsters and patrolled by one of the largest law-enforcement complexes in the world. It isn’t long before Gabriel abandons his promising future for the allure of juvenile crime, which leads him across the river to Mexico’s most dangerous drug cartel: Los Zetas. Friends from his childhood join him and eventually they catch the eye of the cartel’s leadership. As the cartel wars spill over the border, Gabriel and his crew are sent to the States to work. But in Texas, the teen hit men encounter a Mexican-born homicide detective determined to keep cartel violence out of his adopted country. Detective Robert Garcia’s pursuit of the boys puts him face-to-face with the urgent consequences and new security threats of a drug war he sees as unwinnable. In Wolf Boys, Slater takes readers on a harrowing, often brutal journey into the heart of the Mexican drug trade. Ultimately though, Wolf Boys is the intimate story of the lobos: teens turned into pawns for the cartels. A nonfiction thriller, it reads with the emotional clarity of a great novel, yet offers its revelations through extraordinary reporting.

📒Cook Up ✍ D. Watkins

✏Book Title : COOK UP
✏Author : D. Watkins
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 2016
✏Pages :
✏ISBN : 1455588652
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏COOK UP Book Summary : Reminiscent of the classic Random Family and The Short and Tragic Life of Robert Peace, but told by the man who lived it, THE COOK UP is a riveting look inside the Baltimore drug trade portrayed in The Wire and an incredible story of redemption. The smartest kid on his block in East Baltimore, D. was certain he would escape the life of drugs, decadence, and violence that had surrounded him since birth. But when his brother Devin is shot-only days after D. receives notice that he's been accepted into Georgetown University-the plans for his life are exploded, and he takes up the mantel of his brother's crack empire. D. succeeds in cultivating the family business, but when he meets a woman unlike any he's known before, his priorities are once more put into question. Equally terrifying and hilarious, inspiring and heartbreaking, D.'s story offers a rare glimpse into the mentality of a person who has escaped many hells.

📒The Tourists ✍ Jeff Hobbs

✏Book Title : The Tourists
✏Author : Jeff Hobbs
✏Publisher : Simon and Schuster
✏Release Date : 2008-08-12
✏Pages : 336
✏ISBN : 9780743290968
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Tourists Book Summary : Wandering the streets of Manhattan while thinking about the lives of his three former Yale classmates, a disaffected professional considers how their respective quests for happiness have remained unfulfilled in spite of their financial successes. A first novel. Reprint. 20,000 first printing.

📒Standing Our Ground ✍ Lucia Kay McBath

✏Book Title : Standing Our Ground
✏Author : Lucia Kay McBath
✏Publisher : Simon and Schuster
✏Release Date : 2018-09-11
✏Pages : 256
✏ISBN : 9781501187803
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Standing Our Ground Book Summary : From the national spokesperson for Everytown for Gun Safety and leading gun violence prevention advocate comes the riveting memoir of a mother’s loss and call to action, as well as a faith-based exploration of how the nation’s gun laws put a deadly target on American lives. Lucia Kay McBath knew deep down that a bullet could one day take her son. After all, she had watched the news of countless unarmed black men unjustly gunned down. Standing Our Ground: Putting Faith in God Over Faith in Guns is McBath’s memoir of raising, loving, and losing her son to gun violence, and the story of how she transformed her pain into activism. After seventeen-year-old Jordan Davis was shot by a man who thought the music playing on his car stereo was too loud, the nation grieved yet again for the unnecessary loss of life. Here, McBath goes beyond the timeline and the assailant’s defense—Stand Your Ground—to present an emotional account of her fervent fight for justice, and her awakening to a cause that will drive the rest of her days. But more than McBath’s story or that of her son, Standing Our Ground keenly observes the social and political evolution of America’s gun culture. A must-read for anyone concerned with gun safety in America, it harkens back to such bestsellers as The Short and Tragic Life of Robert Peace and Nobody.

📒While The City Slept ✍ Eli Sanders

✏Book Title : While the City Slept
✏Author : Eli Sanders
✏Publisher : Penguin
✏Release Date : 2016-02-02
✏Pages : 336
✏ISBN : 9781101634677
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏While the City Slept Book Summary : “Binged Making a Murderer? Try . . . [this] riveting portrait of a tragic, preventable crime.” —Entertainment Weekly Edgar Award finalist for Best Fact Crime A Pulitzer Prize–winning reporter’s gripping account of one young man’s path to murder—and a wake-up call for mental health care in America On a summer night in 2009, three lives intersected in one American neighborhood. Two people newly in love—Teresa Butz and Jennifer Hopper, who spent many years trying to find themselves and who eventually found each other—and a young man on a dangerous psychological descent: Isaiah Kalebu, age twenty-three, the son of a distant, authoritarian father and a mother with a family history of mental illness. All three paths forever altered by a violent crime, all three stories a wake-up call to the system that failed to see the signs. In this riveting, probing, compassionate account of a murder in Seattle, Eli Sanders, who won a Pulitzer Prize for his newspaper coverage of the crime, offers a deeply reported portrait in microcosm of the state of mental health care in this country—as well as an inspiring story of love and forgiveness. Culminating in Kalebu’s dangerous slide toward violence—observed by family members, police, mental health workers, lawyers, and judges, but stopped by no one—While the City Slept is the story of a crime of opportunity and of the string of missed opportunities that made it possible. It shows what can happen when a disturbed member of society repeatedly falls through the cracks, and in the tradition of The Other Wes Moore and The Short and Tragic Life of Robert Peace, is an indelible, human-level story, brilliantly told, with the potential to inspire social change.

📒The Tragic Life ✍ Cecil Anthony Abrahams

✏Book Title : The Tragic Life
✏Author : Cecil Anthony Abrahams
✏Publisher : Africa World Pr
✏Release Date : 1990
✏Pages : 131
✏ISBN : 0865431760
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Tragic Life Book Summary :

📒A Separate Peace ✍ John Knowles

✏Book Title : A Separate Peace
✏Author : John Knowles
✏Publisher : Holt McDougal
✏Release Date : 1999
✏Pages : 251
✏ISBN : 0030554640
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏A Separate Peace Book Summary :