The Professor And The Madman

📒The Professor And The Madman ✍ Simon Winchester

✏Book Title : The Professor and the Madman
✏Author : Simon Winchester
✏Publisher : Harper Collins
✏Release Date : 2009-10-13
✏Pages : 288
✏ISBN : 0061807605
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Professor and the Madman Book Summary : New York Times Bestseller Simon Winchester’s classic about the making of the Oxford English Dictionary—soon to be a major motion picture starring Sean Penn and Mel Gibson. The making of the Oxford English Dictionary was one of the most ambitious projects ever undertaken. As definitions were collected, the overseeing committee, led by Professor James Murray, was stunned to discover that one man, Dr. W. C. Minor, had submitted more than ten thousand. But their surprise would pale in comparison to what they were about to discover when the committee insisted on honoring him. For Dr. Minor, an American Civil War veteran, was also an inmate at an asylum for the criminally insane. Masterfully researched and eloquently written, The Professor and the Madman is an extraordinary tale of madness, genius, and the incredible obsessions of two remarkable men that led to the making of the Oxford English Dictionary—and literary history. “The linguistic detective story of the decade.... Winchester does a superb job of historical research.”—William Safire, New York Times Magazine

✏Book Title : The Professor and the Madman Movie Tie in
✏Author : Simon Winchester
✏Publisher : Harper Perennial
✏Release Date : 2019-09-15
✏Pages : 288
✏ISBN : 0062692291
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Professor and the Madman Movie Tie in Book Summary : New York Times Bestseller Simon Winchester’s classic about the making of the Oxford English Dictionary—soon to be a major motion picture starring Sean Penn and Mel Gibson. The making of the Oxford English Dictionary was one of the most ambitious projects ever undertaken. As definitions were collected, the overseeing committee, led by Professor James Murray, was stunned to discover that one man, Dr. W. C. Minor, had submitted more than ten thousand. But their surprise would pale in comparison to what they were about to discover when the committee insisted on honoring him. For Dr. Minor, an American Civil War veteran, was also an inmate at an asylum for the criminally insane. Masterfully researched and eloquently written, The Professor and the Madman is an extraordinary tale of madness, genius, and the incredible obsessions of two remarkable men that led to the making of the Oxford English Dictionary—and literary history. “The linguistic detective story of the decade.... Winchester does a superb job of historical research.”—William Safire, New York Times Magazine

✏Book Title : Summary and Analysis of The Professor and the Madman A Tale of Murder Insanity and the Making of the Oxford English Dictionary
✏Author : Worth Books
✏Publisher : Open Road Media
✏Release Date : 2017-03-07
✏Pages : 30
✏ISBN : 9781504044233
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Summary and Analysis of The Professor and the Madman A Tale of Murder Insanity and the Making of the Oxford English Dictionary Book Summary : So much to read, so little time? This brief overview of The Professor and the Madman tells you what you need to know—before or after you read Simon Winchester’s book. Crafted and edited with care, Worth Books set the standard for quality and give you the tools you need to be a well-informed reader. This short summary and analysis of The Professor and the Madman by Simon Winchester includes: Historical context Chapter-by-chapter summaries Detailed timeline of key events Important quotes Fascinating trivia Supporting material to enhance your understanding of the original work About The Professor and the Madman by Simon Winchester: Simon Winchester’s The Professor and the Madman is the remarkable tale of two Victorian-era scholars, the English language, and the making of the Oxford English Dictionary. Recounting the unlikely bond between a criminally insane American Civil War veteran and the renowned Scottish editor of the OED, the enchanting story of their relationship illuminates the decades of the dictionary’s compilation—from A to Z. Wittily eloquent and historically incisive, The Professor and the Madman is the portrait of a friendship and, by extension, of the greatest dictionary ever created in the English language. The summary and analysis in this ebook are intended to complement your reading experience and bring you closer to a great work of nonfiction.

📒The Meaning Of Everything ✍ Simon Winchester OBE

✏Book Title : The Meaning of Everything
✏Author : Simon Winchester OBE
✏Publisher : Oxford University Press
✏Release Date : 2018-04-13
✏Pages : 335
✏ISBN : 9780192545671
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Meaning of Everything Book Summary : 'The greatest enterprise of its kind in history,' was the verdict of British prime minister Stanley Baldwin in June 1928 when The Oxford English Dictionary was finally published. With its 15,490 pages and nearly two million quotations, it was indeed a monumental achievement, gleaned from the efforts of hundreds of ordinary and extraordinary people who made it their mission to catalogue the English language in its entirety. In The Meaning of Everything, Simon Winchester celebrates this remarkable feat, and the fascinating characters who played such a vital part in its execution, from the colourful Frederick Furnivall, cheerful promoter of an all-female sculling crew, to James Murray, self-educated son of a draper, who spent half a century guiding the project towards fruition. Along the way we learn which dictionary editor became the inspiration for Kenneth Grahame's Ratty in The Wind in the Willows, and why Tolkien found it so hard to define 'walrus'. Written by the bestselling author of The Surgeon of Crowthorne and The Map That Changed the World, The Meaning of Everything is an enthralling account of the creation of the world's greatest dictionary.

📒The Meaning Of Everything ✍ Simon Winchester

✏Book Title : The Meaning of Everything
✏Author : Simon Winchester
✏Publisher : Oxford University Press, USA
✏Release Date : 2004
✏Pages : 260
✏ISBN : 019517500X
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Meaning of Everything Book Summary : Traces the history of the Oxford English Dictionary from its earliest inception through its long path to completion, describes the process of creating a dictionary, and includes anecdotes about its creators and their work.

📒Oxford English Dictionary ✍ Oxford University Press, Incorporated

✏Book Title : Oxford English Dictionary
✏Author : Oxford University Press, Incorporated
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 2004-09-01
✏Pages : 22256
✏ISBN : 0195222512
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Oxford English Dictionary Book Summary : From the best-selling author of The Professor and the Madman, The Map That Changed the World, and Krakatoa comes a truly wonderful celebration of the English language and of its unrivaled treasure house, the Oxford English Dictionary. Simon Winchester's supple, vigorous prose illuminates this dauntingly ambitious project-a seventy-year odyssey to create the grandfather of all word-books, the world's unrivalled uber-dictionary.

✏Book Title : A Crack in the Edge of the World
✏Author : Simon Winchester
✏Publisher : Harper Collins
✏Release Date : 2013-02-05
✏Pages : 512
✏ISBN : 9780062277459
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏A Crack in the Edge of the World Book Summary : Unleashed by ancient geologic forces, a magnitude 8.25 earthquake rocked San Francisco in the early hours of April 18, 1906. Less than a minute later, the city lay in ruins. Bestselling author Simon Winchester brings his inimitable storytelling abilities to this extraordinary event, exploring the legendary earthquake and fires that spread horror across San Francisco and northern California in 1906 as well as its startling impact on American history and, just as important, what science has recently revealed about the fascinating subterranean processes that produced it—and almost certainly will cause it to strike again.

📒Atlantic Enhanced Edition ✍ Simon Winchester

✏Book Title : Atlantic Enhanced Edition
✏Author : Simon Winchester
✏Publisher : Harper Collins
✏Release Date : 2010-11-09
✏Pages : 528
✏ISBN : 9780062060396
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Atlantic Enhanced Edition Book Summary : "Variably genial, cautionary, lyrical, admonitory, terrifying, horrifying and inspiring…A lifetime of thought, travel, reading, imagination and memory inform this affecting account." —Kirkus Reviews (starred review) Blending history and anecdote, geography and reminiscence, science and exposition, New York Times bestselling author Simon Winchester tells the breathtaking saga of the Atlantic Ocean. A gifted storyteller and consummate historian, Winchester sets the great blue sea's epic narrative against the backdrop of mankind's intellectual evolution, telling not only the story of an ocean, but the story of civilization. Fans of Winchester's Krakatoa, The Man Who Loved China, and The Professor and the Madman will love this masterful, penetrating, and resonant tale of humanity finding its way across the ocean of history.

📒Krakatoa ✍ Simon Winchester

✏Book Title : Krakatoa
✏Author : Simon Winchester
✏Publisher : Harper Collins
✏Release Date : 2013-02-05
✏Pages : 464
✏ISBN : 9780062277466
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Krakatoa Book Summary : Simon Winchester, New York Times bestselling author of The Professor and the Madman, examines the legendary annihilation in 1883 of the volcano-island of Krakatoa, which was followed by an immense tsunami that killed nearly forty thousand people. The effects of the immense waves were felt as far away as France. Barometers in Bogotá and Washington, D.C., went haywire. Bodies were washed up in Zanzibar. The sound of the island's destruction was heard in Australia and India and on islands thousands of miles away. Most significant of all -- in view of today's new political climate -- the eruption helped to trigger in Java a wave of murderous anti-Western militancy among fundamentalist Muslims, one of the first outbreaks of Islamic-inspired killings anywhere. Krakatoa gives us an entirely new perspective on this fascinating and iconic event. This P.S. edition features an extra 16 pages of insights into the book, including author interviews, recommended reading, and more.

📒Prison Diary Argentina ✍ Simon Winchester

✏Book Title : Prison Diary Argentina
✏Author : Simon Winchester
✏Publisher : Chatto & Windus
✏Release Date : 1983
✏Pages : 219
✏ISBN : UOM:39015001760928
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Prison Diary Argentina Book Summary :