The Poet X

✏Book Title : The Poet X SHORTLISTED FOR THE WATERSTONES CHILDREN S BOOK PRIZE AND THE CILIP CARNEGIE MEDAL
✏Author : Elizabeth Acevedo
✏Publisher : Egmont UK
✏Release Date : 2018-03-08
✏Pages : 368
✏ISBN : 9781780318448
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Poet X SHORTLISTED FOR THE WATERSTONES CHILDREN S BOOK PRIZE AND THE CILIP CARNEGIE MEDAL Book Summary : THE WINNER OF THE 2018 NATIONAL BOOK AWARD 'I fell in love at slam poetry. This one will stay with you a long time.' - Angie Thomas, bestselling author of The Hate U Give 'This was the type of book where "I'll just do 50 pages" turned into finishing it in 2 reads. I felt very emotional, not just because the story and the words themselves were so beautiful but because I knew it was going to make so many teens who felt like no one cares about them or listens to them feel seen.' - Tomi Adeyemi, bestselling author of The Children of Blood and Bone “Crackles with energy and snaps with authenticity and voice.” —Justina Ireland, author of Dread Nation “An incredibly potent debut.” —Jason Reynolds, author of the National Book Award Finalist Ghost “Acevedo has amplified the voices of girls en el barrio who are equal parts goddess, saint, warrior, and hero.” —Ibi Zoboi, author of American Street THE POET X - a stunning New York Times bestseller with a powerful and unforgettable YA voice. Perfect for fans of Tomi Adeyemi's The Children of Blood and Bone, Angie Thomas's The Hate U Give and Sarah Crossan's One. Xiomara has always kept her words to herself. When it comes to standing her ground in her Harlem neighbourhood, she lets her fists and her fierceness do the talking. But X has secrets – her feelings for a boy in her bio class, and the notebook full of poems that she keeps under her bed. And a slam poetry club that will pull those secrets into the spotlight. Because in spite of a world that might not want to hear her, Xiomara refuses to stay silent. A novel about finding your voice and standing up for what you believe in, no matter how hard it is to say. Brave, bold and beautifully written - dealing with issues of race, feminism and faith - this is perfect for fans of Orangeboy, Nicola Yoon's Everything Everything and Zoella Book Club choice Moxie. 'A story that will slam the power of poetry and love back into your heart.' - Laurie Halse Anderson, author of Speakand Chains 'Acevedo breathes words instead of air' - Lisa Heathfield, author of award-winning Paper Butterflies ‘Powerful, finely crafted verse . . . Readers will yearn to finish this verse novel in a single sitting, but its echoes will remain with them much longer’ Guardian ELIZABETH ACEVEDO was born and raised in New York City and her poetry is infused with Dominican bolero and her beloved city’s tough grit. The Poet X is her debut novel and a National Book Award winner. With over twelve years of performance experience, Acevedo has been a featured performer on BET and Mun2, as well as delivered several TED Talks. She has performed internationally and her poetry has been featured in Cosmopolitan, The Huffington Post and Teen Vogue. Acevedo is a National Slam Champion, Beltway Grand Slam Champion, and the 2016 Women of the World Poetry Slam representative for Washington, D.C, where she lives and works.

📒The Poet X ✍ Elizabeth Acevedo

✏Book Title : The Poet X
✏Author : Elizabeth Acevedo
✏Publisher : HarperCollins
✏Release Date : 2018-03-06
✏Pages : 368
✏ISBN : 9780062662828
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Poet X Book Summary : Winner of the National Book Award for Young People’s Literature, the Michael L. Printz Award, and the Pura Belpré Award! Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will fall hard for this astonishing New York Times-bestselling novel-in-verse by an award-winning slam poet, about an Afro-Latina heroine who tells her story with blazing words and powerful truth. Xiomara Batista feels unheard and unable to hide in her Harlem neighborhood. Ever since her body grew into curves, she has learned to let her fists and her fierceness do the talking. But Xiomara has plenty she wants to say, and she pours all her frustration and passion onto the pages of a leather notebook, reciting the words to herself like prayers—especially after she catches feelings for a boy in her bio class named Aman, who her family can never know about. With Mami’s determination to force her daughter to obey the laws of the church, Xiomara understands that her thoughts are best kept to herself. So when she is invited to join her school’s slam poetry club, she doesn’t know how she could ever attend without her mami finding out. But she still can’t stop thinking about performing her poems. Because in the face of a world that may not want to hear her, Xiomara refuses to be silent. “Crackles with energy and snaps with authenticity and voice.” —Justina Ireland, author of Dread Nation “An incredibly potent debut.” —Jason Reynolds, author of the National Book Award Finalist Ghost “Acevedo has amplified the voices of girls en el barrio who are equal parts goddess, saint, warrior, and hero.” —Ibi Zoboi, author of American Street

✏Book Title : The Poet X Journal
✏Author :
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date :
✏Pages :
✏ISBN : 0062982273
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Poet X Journal Book Summary :

✏Book Title : Study Guide Student Workbook for the Poet X
✏Author : David Lee
✏Publisher : Independently Published
✏Release Date : 2018-10-02
✏Pages : 116
✏ISBN : 1726664473
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Study Guide Student Workbook for the Poet X Book Summary : The Student Workbooks are designed to get students thinking critically about the text they read and provide a guided study format to facilitate in improved learning and retention. Teachers and Homeschool Instructors may use the activities included to improve student learning and organization. Students will construct and identify the following areas of knowledge. Character Identification Events Location Vocabulary Main Idea Conflict And more as appropriate to the text.

📒Mr X ✍ Sydney Rosenfeld

✏Book Title : Mr X
✏Author : Sydney Rosenfeld
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 1875
✏Pages : 17
✏ISBN : STANFORD:36105047890962
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Mr X Book Summary :

📒At The Brink Of Infinity ✍ James E. von der Heydt

✏Book Title : At the Brink of Infinity
✏Author : James E. von der Heydt
✏Publisher : University of Iowa Press
✏Release Date : 2008-04-01
✏Pages : 262
✏ISBN : 9781587297731
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏At the Brink of Infinity Book Summary : From popular culture to politics to classic novels, quintessentially American texts take their inspiration from the idea of infinity. In the extraordinary literary century inaugurated by Ralph Waldo Emerson, the lyric too seemed to encounter possibilities as limitless as the U.S. imagination. This raises the question: What happens when boundlessness is more than just a figure of speech? Exploring new horizons is one thing, but actually looking at the horizon itself is something altogether different. In this carefully crafted analysis, James von der Heydt shines a new light on the lyric craft of Emily Dickinson, Robert Frost, Elizabeth Bishop, and James Merrill and considers how their seascape-vision redefines poetry's purpose. Emerson famously freed U.S. literature from its past and opened it up to vastness; in the following century, a succession of brilliant, rigorous poets took the philosophical challenges of such freedom all too seriously. Facing the unmarked horizon, Emersonian poets capture—and are captured by—a stark, astringent version of human beauty. Their uncompromising visions of limitlessness reclaim infinity's proper legacy—and give American poetry its edge. Von der Heydt's book recovers the mystery of their world.

📒Literature For Young Adults ✍ Joan L. Knickerbocker

✏Book Title : Literature for Young Adults
✏Author : Joan L. Knickerbocker
✏Publisher : Routledge
✏Release Date : 2019-08-28
✏Pages : 354
✏ISBN : 9781351067157
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Literature for Young Adults Book Summary : Now in its second edition, this book explores a great variety of genres and formats of young adult literature while placing special emphasis on contemporary works with nontraditional themes, protagonists, and literary conventions that are well suited to young adult readers. It looks at the ways in which contemporary readers can access literature and share the works they're reading, and it shows teachers the resources that are available, especially online, for choosing and using good literature in the classroom and for recommending books for their students’ personal reading. In addition to traditional genre chapters, this book includes chapters on literary nonfiction; poetry, short stories, and drama; and film. Graphic novels, diversity issues, and uses of technology are also included throughout the text. The book's discussion of literary language—including traditional elements as well as metafictive terms—enables readers to share in a literary conversation with their peers (and others) when communicating about books. This book is an essential resource for preservice educators to help young adults understand and appreciate the excellent literature that is available to them. New to the second edition: New popular authors, books, and movies with a greater focus on diversity of literature Updated coverage of new trends, such as metafiction, a renewed focus on nonfiction, and retellings of canonical works Increased attention to graphic novels and multimodal texts throughout the book eResources with downloadable materials, including book lists, awards lists, and Focus Questions

📒World Literature In Theory ✍ David Damrosch

✏Book Title : World Literature in Theory
✏Author : David Damrosch
✏Publisher : John Wiley & Sons
✏Release Date : 2014-01-28
✏Pages : 544
✏ISBN : 9781118407691
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏World Literature in Theory Book Summary : World Literature in Theory provides a definitive exploration of the pressing questions facing those studying world literature today. Coverage is split into four parts which examine the origins and seminal formulations of world literature, world literature in the age of globalization, contemporary debates on world literature, and localized versions of world literature Contains more than 30 important theoretical essays by the most influential scholars, including Johann Wolfgang von Goethe, Hugo Meltzl, Edward Said, Franco Moretti, Jorge Luis Borges, and Gayatri Spivak Includes substantive introductions to each essay, as well as an annotated bibliography for further reading Allows students to understand, articulate, and debate the most important issues in this rapidly changing field of study

✏Book Title : Ritual State and History in South Asia
✏Author : J. C. Heesterman
✏Publisher : BRILL
✏Release Date : 1992
✏Pages : 843
✏ISBN : 9004094679
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Ritual State and History in South Asia Book Summary : The contributions in this "Festschrift" extend over the whole range of Indian civilization: in the first part the earlier stages of Indian history spanning the period from the Indus civilization up to medieval times, and in the second part the more recent history of South Asia.

✏Book Title : The Iliad of Homer Translated by Mr Pope
✏Author : Homère
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 1721
✏Pages : 44
✏ISBN : BML:37001100877591
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Iliad of Homer Translated by Mr Pope Book Summary :