The Orphan Masters Son

📒The Orphan Master S Son ✍ Adam Johnson

✏Book Title : The Orphan Master s Son
✏Author : Adam Johnson
✏Publisher : Random House
✏Release Date : 2012-01-10
✏Pages : 480
✏ISBN : 9780679643999
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Orphan Master s Son Book Summary : WINNER OF THE PULITZER PRIZE FOR FICTION An epic novel and a thrilling literary discovery, The Orphan Master’s Son follows a young man’s journey through the icy waters, dark tunnels, and eerie spy chambers of the world’s most mysterious dictatorship, North Korea. NATIONAL BOOK CRITICS CIRCLE AWARD FINALIST • DAYTON LITERARY PEACE PRIZE WINNER • LONGLISTED FOR THE AMERICAN LIBRARY ASSOCIATION’S ANDREW CARNEGIE MEDAL • WINNER OF THE CALIFORNIA BOOK AWARD FOR FICTION • NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY The New Yorker • The Washington Post • Stephen King, Entertainment Weekly • The Wall Street Journal • Los Angeles Times • San Francisco Chronicle • Financial Times • Newsweek/The Daily Beast • The Plain Dealer • St. Louis Post-Dispatch • Milwaukee Journal Sentinel • Scott Turow, The Millions • Slate • Salon • BookPage • Shelf Awareness “The single best work of fiction published [this year] . . . The book’s cunning, flair and pathos are testaments to the still-formidable power of the written word.”—The Wall Street Journal Pak Jun Do is the haunted son of a lost mother—a singer “stolen” to Pyongyang—and an influential father who runs Long Tomorrows, a work camp for orphans. There the boy is given his first taste of power, picking which orphans eat first and which will be lent out for manual labor. Recognized for his loyalty and keen instincts, Jun Do comes to the attention of superiors in the state, rises in the ranks, and starts on a road from which there will be no return. Considering himself “a humble citizen of the greatest nation in the world,” Jun Do becomes a professional kidnapper who must navigate the shifting rules, arbitrary violence, and baffling demands of his Korean overlords in order to stay alive. Driven to the absolute limit of what any human being could endure, he boldly takes on the treacherous role of rival to Kim Jong Il in an attempt to save the woman he loves, Sun Moon, a legendary actress “so pure, she didn’t know what starving people looked like.” Part breathless thriller, part story of innocence lost, part story of romantic love, The Orphan Master’s Son is also a riveting portrait of a world heretofore hidden from view: a North Korea rife with hunger, corruption, and casual cruelty but also camaraderie, stolen moments of beauty, and love. A towering literary achievement, The Orphan Master’s Son ushers Adam Johnson into the small group of today’s greatest writers. Praise for The Orphan Master’s Son “An exquisitely crafted novel that carries the reader on an adventuresome journey into the depths of totalitarian North Korea and into the most intimate spaces of the human heart.”—Pulitzer Prize citation “Mr. Johnson has written a daring and remarkable novel, a novel that not only opens a frightening window on the mysterious kingdom of North Korea, but one that also excavates the very meaning of love and sacrifice.”—Michiko Kakutani, The New York Times “Rich with a sense of discovery . . . The Orphan Master’s Son has an early lead on novel of [the year].”—The Daily Beast “This is a novel worth getting excited about.”—The Washington Post “[A] ripping piece of fiction that is also an astute commentary on the nature of freedom, sacrifice, and glory.”—Elle From the Hardcover edition.

✏Book Title : Summary of The Orphan Master s Son A Novel Pulitzer Prize for Fiction Trivia Quiz for Fans
✏Author : Whizbooks
✏Publisher : Blurb
✏Release Date : 2019-01-09
✏Pages : 82
✏ISBN : 0464996384
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Summary of The Orphan Master s Son A Novel Pulitzer Prize for Fiction Trivia Quiz for Fans Book Summary : Summary of The Orphan Master's Son: A Novel (Pulitzer Prize for Fiction): Trivia/Quiz for Fans Features You'll Discover Inside: - A comprehensive guide to aid in discussion & discovery - 30 multiple choice questions on the book, plots, characters, and author - Insightful resource for teachers, groups, or individuals - Keep track of scores with results to determine "fan status" - Share with other book fans and readers for mutual enjoyment Disclaimer: This is an unofficial summary, analysis and trivia book to enhance a reader's experience to books they already love and appreciate. We encourage our readers to purchase the original book first before downloading this companion book for your enjoyment.

📒Parasites Like Us ✍ Adam Johnson

✏Book Title : Parasites Like Us
✏Author : Adam Johnson
✏Publisher : Random House
✏Release Date : 2014-06-19
✏Pages : 400
✏ISBN : 9781473509061
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Parasites Like Us Book Summary : *The debut novel by the author of THE ORPHAN MASTER'S SON: winner of the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction 2013 After trashing his cherry '72 Corvette, illegally breaking into an ancient burial site, and snacking on 12,000-year-old popcorn, Hank Hannah finds that he's inadvertently unleashed the apocalypse. Hank, a professor of anthropology back in the days when there were still co-eds to ogle and now one of only twelve humans still alive on earth, decides to record the last days of human civilization for whomever - or whatever - might replace us.

📒Studies In Intelligence ✍ Barbara F. Pace

✏Book Title : Studies in Intelligence
✏Author : Barbara F. Pace
✏Publisher : Government Printing Office
✏Release Date : 2003-05
✏Pages : 96
✏ISBN :
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Studies in Intelligence Book Summary :

📒The Orphan Girl ✍ Lindsey Hutchinson

✏Book Title : The Orphan Girl
✏Author : Lindsey Hutchinson
✏Publisher : Head of Zeus Ltd
✏Release Date : 2018-01-01
✏Pages : 429
✏ISBN : 9781788541473
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Orphan Girl Book Summary : Beloved author Lindsey Hutchinson is back with another novel of triumph over adversity set in the heart of a Black Country community. Perfect for fans of Josephine Cox and Lyn Andrews. Taken into service, orphan Lily Rae has heard all the stories about what entitled masters think their pretty maid's duties include. But when the very worst happens to her, she knows scrubbing the scullery floors of Ryder House no longer provide refuge from the sadistic Sebastian Ryder... Cold and alone, Lily makes for the town of Wednesbury, knowing she has only herself to rely on... Tilley Green has nothing to her name except a fine figure her worn, patched-up clothes can't disguise, and the voice of an angel. Destined to be a chorus-hall star Tilley must first escape the clutches of her opportunistic and violent manager, a certain Seb Ryder... Life has been a long tough struggle for both Lily and for Tilley, but the town of Wednesbury just could be where they can find their own glimmer of happiness...

✏Book Title : The Orphan of Zhao and Other Yuan Plays
✏Author : Stephen H. West
✏Publisher : Columbia University Press
✏Release Date : 2014-12-09
✏Pages : 432
✏ISBN : 9780231538107
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Orphan of Zhao and Other Yuan Plays Book Summary : This is the first anthology of Yuan-dynasty zaju (miscellaneous comedies) to introduce the genre to English-speaking readers exclusively through translations of the plays' fourteenth-century editions. Almost all previous translations of Yuan-dynasty zaju are based on late-Ming regularized editions that were heavily adapted for performance at the Ming imperial court and then extensively revised in the seventeenth century for the reading pleasure of Jiangnan literati. These early editions are based on leading actor scripts and contain arias, prose dialogue, and cue lines. They encompass a fascinating range of subject matter, from high political intrigue to commoner life and religious conversion. Crackling with raw emotion, violent imagery, and colorful language and wit, the zaju in this volume explore the consequences of loyalty and betrayal, ambition and enlightenment, and piety and drunkenness. The collection features seven of the twenty-six available untranslated zaju published in the fourteenth century, with a substantial introduction preceding each play and extensive annotations throughout. The editors also include translations of the Ming versions of four of the included plays and an essay that synthesizes recent Chinese and Japanese scholarship on the subject.

✏Book Title : The Missouri Review
✏Author :
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 2013
✏Pages :
✏ISBN : MINN:31951P01185606R
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Missouri Review Book Summary :

✏Book Title : The Orphan Boy Or A Journey to Bath
✏Author : Mary Elliott
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 1818
✏Pages : 126
✏ISBN : HARVARD:HN2GT4
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Orphan Boy Or A Journey to Bath Book Summary :

✏Book Title : The Orphan of China
✏Author : Voltaire
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 1759
✏Pages : 56
✏ISBN : KBNL:KBNL03000149084
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Orphan of China Book Summary :

✏Book Title : Documents Relative to the Colonial History of the State of New York Procured in Holland England and France Holland documents 1856 58 v 3 8 London documents 1853 57 v 9 10 Paris documents 1855 58
✏Author : Berthold Fernow
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 1969
✏Pages :
✏ISBN : PSU:000061438682
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Documents Relative to the Colonial History of the State of New York Procured in Holland England and France Holland documents 1856 58 v 3 8 London documents 1853 57 v 9 10 Paris documents 1855 58 Book Summary :