The Misadventures Of Awkward Black Girl

✏Book Title : The Misadventures of Awkward Black Girl
✏Author : Issa Rae
✏Publisher : Simon and Schuster
✏Release Date : 2016-07-12
✏Pages : 224
✏ISBN : 9781476749075
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Misadventures of Awkward Black Girl Book Summary : "A collection of humorous essays on what it's like to be unabashedly awkward in a world that regards introverts as hapless misfits, and Black as cool ... [from] Issa Rae, the creator of the Shorty Award-winning ... series The Misadventures of Awkward Black Girl"--

📒Don T Knock The Hustle ✍ Craig S. Watkins

✏Book Title : Don t Knock the Hustle
✏Author : Craig S. Watkins
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 2019
✏Pages : 248
✏ISBN : 9780807035306
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Don t Knock the Hustle Book Summary : How millennials are changing our ideas about work, the "gig economy", social mobility, opportunity and technology Millennials are coming of age at a time when work is temporary, underpaid, incommensurate with their education, or downright unsatisfying. Despite these challenges, media scholar S. Craig Watkins argues that this moment of precarity is rife with opportunities for innovation, and that millennials are leading the charge at turning that into an inventive and surprisingly sustainable future. At the intersection of ethnography, sociology, social history and pop culture, Don't Knock the Hustle is one of the first attempts to document how millennials are building a creative, entrepreneurial, and civically engaged innovation economy. Here, we meet people like Prince Harvey, a hip hop artist who recorded his album entirely on an Apple showroom laptop; screenwriter, producer and actor Issa Rae, who first used YouTube and Kickstarter to develop the web series that became her hit HBO show, Insecure; and start-up companies like Qeyno Group in San Francisco and Juegos Rancheros in Austin, TX that help make tech more accessible to people of color. Don't Knock the Hustle offers a timely analysis of the sheer ingenuity and persistence of young people who cobble together the resources they need to pursue the lives and careers they want. Drawing on over ten years of interviews and data, Watkins reveals the radical ways in which our society is expanding who we think of as innovators, what qualifies as innovation, and the spread of wealth beyond traditional corridors of powerful tech companies, venture capitalism, and well-endowed universities. Forward-thinking and dynamic, Don't Knock the Hustle shows the diversity and complexity of a generation on the rise.

📒Black Female Sexualities ✍ Trimiko Melancon

✏Book Title : Black Female Sexualities
✏Author : Trimiko Melancon
✏Publisher : Rutgers University Press
✏Release Date : 2015-01-26
✏Pages : 242
✏ISBN : 9780813571751
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Black Female Sexualities Book Summary : Western culture has long regarded black female sexuality with a strange mix of fascination and condemnation, associating it with everything from desirability, hypersexuality, and liberation to vulgarity, recklessness, and disease. Yet even as their bodies and sexualities have been the subject of countless public discourses, black women’s voices have been largely marginalized in these discussions. In this groundbreaking collection, feminist scholars from across the academy come together to correct this omission—illuminating black female sexual desires marked by agency and empowerment, as well as pleasure and pain, to reveal the ways black women regulate their sexual lives. The twelve original essays in Black Female Sexualities reveal the diverse ways black women perceive, experience, and represent sexuality. The contributors highlight the range of tactics that black women use to express their sexual desires and identities. Yet they do not shy away from exploring the complex ways in which black women negotiate the more traumatic aspects of sexuality and grapple with the legacy of negative stereotypes. Black Female Sexualities takes not only an interdisciplinary approach—drawing from critical race theory, sociology, and performance studies—but also an intergenerational one, in conversation with the foremothers of black feminist studies. In addition, it explores a diverse archive of representations, covering everything from blues to hip-hop, from Crash to Precious, from Sister Souljah to Edwidge Danticat. Revealing that black female sexuality is anything but a black-and-white issue, this collection demonstrates how to appreciate a whole spectrum of subjectivities, experiences, and desires.

✏Book Title : African Americans on Television
✏Author : David J. Leonard
✏Publisher : ABC-CLIO
✏Release Date : 2013-04-23
✏Pages : 455
✏ISBN : 9780275995157
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏African Americans on Television Book Summary : A comprehensive look at the history of African Americans on television that discusses major trends in black TV and examines the broader social implications of the relationship between race and popular culture as well as race and representation.

📒Open Tv ✍ Aymar Christian

✏Book Title : Open TV
✏Author : Aymar Christian
✏Publisher : NYU Press
✏Release Date : 2018-01-09
✏Pages : 320
✏ISBN : 9781479874224
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Open TV Book Summary : Introduction: independents change the channel -- Developing open tv: innovation for the open network, 1995-2005 -- Open tv production: revaluing creative labor -- Open tv representation: reforming cultural politics -- Open tv distribution: struggling for an independent market -- Scaling open tv: the challenges of big data television -- Epilogue: open tv and the future of the networked era

📒Streampunks ✍ Robert Kyncl

✏Book Title : Streampunks
✏Author : Robert Kyncl
✏Publisher : HarperCollins
✏Release Date : 2017-09-05
✏Pages : 272
✏ISBN : 9780062657749
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Streampunks Book Summary : An entertainment and tech insider—YouTube’s chief business officer—delivers the first detailed account of the rise of YouTube, the creative minds who have capitalized on it to become pop culture stars, and how streaming video is revolutionizing the media world. In the past ten years, the internet video platform YouTube has changed media and entertainment as profoundly as the invention of film, radio, and television did, more than six decades earlier. Streampunks is a firsthand account of this upstart company, examining how it evolved and where it will take us next. Sharing behind-the-scenes stories of YouTube’s most influential stars—Streampunks like Tyler Oakley, Lilly Singh, and Casey Neistat—and the dealmakers brokering the future of entertainment like Scooter Braun and Shane Smith, Robert Kyncl uses his experiences at three of the most innovative media companies, HBO, Netflix, and YouTube, to tell the story of streaming video and this modern pop culture juggernaut. Collaborating with Google speechwriter Maany Peyvan, Kyncl explains how the new rules of entertainment are being written and how and why the media landscape is radically changing, while giving aspiring Streampunks some necessary advice to launch their own new media careers. Kyncl persuasively argues that, despite concerns about technology impoverishing artists or undermining artistic quality, the new media revolution is actually fueling a creative boom and leading to more compelling, diverse, and immersive content. Enlightening, surprising, and thoroughly entertaining, Streampunks is a revelatory ride through the new media rebellion that is reshaping our world.

✏Book Title : The Big Stretch 90 Days to Expand Your Dreams Crush Your Goals and Create Your Own Success
✏Author : Teneshia Jackson Warner
✏Publisher : McGraw Hill Professional
✏Release Date : 2019-11-22
✏Pages : 288
✏ISBN : 9781260456813
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Big Stretch 90 Days to Expand Your Dreams Crush Your Goals and Create Your Own Success Book Summary : From concept to reality in just 90 Days—The Big Stretch is a proven program for making your personal and professional dreams come true The Big Stretch delivers a four-tiered self-evaluation and empowerment program for jumpstarting a new business, new career, or new idea—and maintaining high levels of success long-term. One of today’s most effective coaches for entrepreneurs, Teneshia Jackson Warner walks you through a “career workout” routine designed to move you from idea to goal. First, you’ll learn what type of dreamer you are: Hobby, Career, Make-It-Happen, Activist, or CEO. Based on that, you will discover your Dreamer's Risk Tolerance and understand your Dreamer's Ancestry to help gauge how much time, support, and resources you can apply toward your Stretch goal. You’ll then create a One-Year Dream Projection to develop clear, realistic goals. Finally, you’ll begin your 90-Day STRETCH program involving weekly exercises to build and strengthen your “business physique.” Whether you want to escape the grind of a 9-to-5 job, improve an existing business, or simply get your dreams off the ground, The Big Stretch provides the knowledge and insight you need to turn your ideas into reality.

📒She Memes Well ✍ Quinta Brunson

✏Book Title : She Memes Well
✏Author : Quinta Brunson
✏Publisher : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
✏Release Date : 2021-01-19
✏Pages : 256
✏ISBN : 9781328637079
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏She Memes Well Book Summary : From comedian Quinta Brunson comes a deeply personal and funny collection of essays featuring anecdotes about trying to make it when you’re broke, overcoming self-doubt and depression, and how she’s used humor to navigate her career in unusual directions. Quinta Brunson is a master of viral Internet content: without any traditional background in media, her humorous videos were the first to break through on Instagram’s platform, receiving millions of views. From there, Brunson’s wryly observant POV attracted the attention of BuzzFeed’s motion picture development department, leading her to produce viral videos there about topics like interracial dating, millennial malaise, and seeing your ex in public. Now, Brunson is bringing her comedic chops to the page in She Memes Well, an earnest, laugh-out-loud collection about her weird road to Internet notoriety. In her debut essay collection, Quinta applies her trademark humor and heart to discuss what it was like to go from student loan debt-broke to “halfway recognizable—‘don’t I know you somewhere?’” level-of-fame. With anecdotes that range from the funny and zany—like her experience trying to find her signature hairstyle—to more grounded material about living with depression, Brunson’s voice is entirely authentic and eminently readable. Perfect for fans of Phoebe Robinson’s You Can’t Touch My Hair, Samantha Irby’s We Are Never Meeting in Real Life, and Issa Rae’s The Misadventures of Awkward Black Girl, She Memes Well will charm and entertain a growing, engaged audience.

📒Weir Of Hermiston ✍ Robert Louis Stevenson

✏Book Title : Weir of Hermiston
✏Author : Robert Louis Stevenson
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 1920
✏Pages : 397
✏ISBN : UCAL:$B441028
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Weir of Hermiston Book Summary :

✏Book Title : Weir of Hermiston The Misadventures of Jon Nicholson The Story of a Lie The Body snatcher
✏Author : Robert Louis Stevenson
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 1921
✏Pages : 397
✏ISBN : IND:32000000672032
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Weir of Hermiston The Misadventures of Jon Nicholson The Story of a Lie The Body snatcher Book Summary :