The Mermaid And Mrs Hancock

📒The Mermaid And Mrs Hancock ✍ Imogen Hermes Gowar

✏Book Title : The Mermaid and Mrs Hancock
✏Author : Imogen Hermes Gowar
✏Publisher : Random House
✏Release Date : 2018-01-25
✏Pages : 496
✏ISBN : 9781473548015
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Mermaid and Mrs Hancock Book Summary : 'A cracking historical novel – with a twinge of the surreal – about passion and obsession' The Times SHORLISTED FOR THE WOMEN'S PRIZE FOR FICTION 2018 One September evening in 1785, the merchant Jonah Hancock finds one of his captains waiting eagerly on his doorstep. He has sold Jonah’s ship for what appears to be a mermaid. As gossip spreads through the docks, coffee shops, parlours and brothels, everyone wants to see Mr Hancock’s marvel. Its arrival spins him out of his ordinary existence and through the doors of high society, where he meets Angelica Neal, the most desirable woman he has ever laid eyes on... and a courtesan of great accomplishment. This meeting will steer both their lives onto a dangerous new course. What will be the cost of their ambitions? And will they be able to escape the legendary destructive power a mermaid is said to possess?

📒Tomorrow ✍ Damian Dibben

✏Book Title : Tomorrow
✏Author : Damian Dibben
✏Publisher : Penguin UK
✏Release Date : 2018-05-03
✏Pages : 400
✏ISBN : 9781405925792
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Tomorrow Book Summary : 'What a novel! Ambitious and wonderfully achieved. A book to read again and again' Michael Morpurgo, bestselling author of War Horse A spellbinding and beautifully written story of courage and devotion, for fans of historical and magical fiction like The Night Circus, The Binding and The Girl in the Tower. __________ Valentyne has lived many lives - physician, philosopher, soldier - but his defining work has been his ability to stop the clock. He has lived for centuries, as has his dog, Tomorrow. Inseparable, they've voyaged across Europe, using their time wisely. They've attended royalty in a dozen courts, healed soldiers on a hundred battlefields, and met with the greatest minds of the Renaissance. Until one day, in watery Venice, Valentyne vanishes without trace. Broken-hearted, Tomorrow begins a search that will endure for centuries. But as the continent collapses into war, he must risk everything to find his master - or lose him forever. __________ 'Moving and tender. I was captivated by its charm from the beginning' Rachel Joyce, bestselling author of The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry 'Tomorrow is an epic tale of love, of courage, of hope' London Evening Standard 'Golden age Amsterdam, Versailles, the court of Charles I. Travel with a unique companion & bask in the brilliance' Mail on Sunday 'A tale of love and unbreakable bonds' New York Post 'Definitely - HIGHLY - worth the read!' Seth Meyers 'Original, ambitious, moving' Stylist

✏Book Title : Standing Up to Life Paper Back
✏Author : Tiffany Shar
✏Publisher : Lulu.com
✏Release Date : 2009-02-06
✏Pages : 326
✏ISBN : 9780557045167
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Standing Up to Life Paper Back Book Summary : Paper Back Version:Brandon is a bright boy growing up near Albuquerque, New Mexico. He likes school, soccer, computer games, and playing in the school band. Small for his age and youngest in his class, his size has made him the target of every school bully for years. Each year the verbal and physical abuse increases, finally wearing him down to the point he doesn't know if he can continue. Just as he reaches the end of his rope, he is suddenly befriended by a classmate he least expected. As their friendship grows and deepens, Brandon learns the value of a best friend and finds himself moving down a road he never expected. Over the course of the school year, his friend helps him to discover and cope with his feelings, hopes, dreams - and fears.This is the story of a young person's unusual journey to stand up to the numerous obstacles life has dealt him - and to become the person he believes himself to be.Transgender Fiction

✏Book Title : Crimson and Bone a dark and gripping tale of love and obsession
✏Author : Marina Fiorato
✏Publisher : Hachette UK
✏Release Date : 2017-05-18
✏Pages : 448
✏ISBN : 9781473610521
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Crimson and Bone a dark and gripping tale of love and obsession Book Summary : 'A rich jewel of a story, full of desire and danger' - Julie Cohen. A dark tale of love and obsession, perfect for fans of The Mermaid and Mrs Hancock and The Wicked Cometh. London, 1853. Annie Stride has nothing left to live for - she is a penniless prostitute, newly evicted from her home and pregnant. On the night she plans to cast herself from Waterloo Bridge into the icy waters of the Thames, her life is saved by Francis Maybrick Gill, a talented pre-Raphaelite painter - and her world is changed forever. Francis takes Annie as his artist's muse, elevating her from fallen woman to society's darling. With her otherworldly beauty now the toast of London, her dark past is left far behind. But Annie's lavish new life is not all it seems - and there are some who won't let her forget where she came from... 'A thrilling tale of love, lust and revenge' The Lady 'A captivating gothic blend of mystery and romance' Sunday Mirror 'Exquisite...this is historical fiction at its best' - Book Literarti Reviews 'Gothic, dark [and] rich with atmosphere' - Louise Loves books 'A glorious story of art and passion' - Tea Party Princess 'Dazzling' Goodreads Reviewer 'Captivating' Goodreads Reviewer

📒The Golem And The Djinni ✍ Helene Wecker

✏Book Title : The Golem and the Djinni
✏Author : Helene Wecker
✏Publisher : HarperCollins UK
✏Release Date : 2013-08-15
✏Pages : 656
✏ISBN : 9780007480180
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Golem and the Djinni Book Summary : New York, 1899. Two strangers, one destiny.

📒The Floating Theatre ✍ Martha Conway

✏Book Title : The Floating Theatre
✏Author : Martha Conway
✏Publisher : Bonnier Publishing Fiction Ltd.
✏Release Date : 2017-06-15
✏Pages : 320
✏ISBN : 9781785762857
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Floating Theatre Book Summary : 'Completely charming' Imogen Hermes Gowar, author of The Mermaid and Mrs Hancock 'An engaging story with lovely detail' Daily Mail Ohio, 1838. To save the lives of others, a young seamstress must risk her own. When young seamstress May Bedloe is left alone and penniless on the shore of the Ohio, she finds work on the famous floating theatre that plies its trade along the river. Her creativity and needlework skills quickly become invaluable and she settles in to life among the colourful troupe of actors. She finds friends, and possibly the promise of more ... But cruising the border between the Confederate South and the 'free' North is fraught with danger. For the sake of a debt that must be repaid, May is compelled to transport secret passengers, under cover of darkness, across the river and on, along the underground railroad. But as May's secrets become harder to keep, she learns she must endanger those now dear to her. And to save the lives of others, she must risk her own . . . A gloriously involving and powerful read for fans of The Essex Serpent and Tracy Chevalier's The Last Runaway.

📒The Electrical Venus ✍ Julie Mayhew

✏Book Title : The Electrical Venus
✏Author : Julie Mayhew
✏Publisher : Bonnier Publishing Fiction Ltd.
✏Release Date : 2018-04-19
✏Pages : 368
✏ISBN : 9781471406492
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Electrical Venus Book Summary : A spellbinding story of romance and discovery set in the filth and thrill of an eighteenth-century side-show, perfect if you loved The Mermaid and Mrs Hancock or Caraval. Nominated for the CILIP CARNEGIE MEDAL 2019. Can this shocking new feeling be love, or is it electrickery? In a lowly side-show fair in eighteenth-century England, teenager Mim is struggling to find her worth as an act. Not white, but not black enough to be truly exotic, her pet parrot who speaks four languages is a bigger draw than her. But Alex, the one-armed boxer boy, sees her differently. And she, too, feels newly interested in him. But then Dr Fox arrives with his scientific kit for producing 'electrickery' - feats of electrical magic these bawdy audiences have never seen before. To complete his act, Fox chooses Mim to play the 'Electrical Venus'. Her popularity - and the electric-shocking kisses she can provide for a penny - mean takings are up, slop is off the menu and this spark between her and Fox must surely be love. But is this starring role her true value, or is love worth more than a penny for an electrifying kiss? Praise for The Electrical Venus 'A magical book with magical characters . . . Mayhew's language zips and sparkles on the page' Maria McCann, author of The Wilding 'Brilliant . . . A vivid evocation of a travelling fair in 1749' The Sunday Times on the BBC4 Radio Play

📒Crimson And Bone ✍ Marina Fiorato

✏Book Title : Crimson and Bone
✏Author : Marina Fiorato
✏Publisher : Hodder Paperbacks
✏Release Date : 2018-02-08
✏Pages : 320
✏ISBN : 1473610540
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Crimson and Bone Book Summary : 'A rich jewel of a story, full of desire and danger' - Julie Cohen. A dark tale of love and obsession, perfect for fans of The Mermaid and Mrs Hancock and The Wicked Cometh. London, 1853. Annie Stride has nothing left to live for - she is a penniless prostitute, newly evicted from her home and pregnant. On the night she plans to cast herself from Waterloo Bridge into the icy waters of the Thames, her life is saved by Francis Maybrick Gill, a talented pre-Raphaelite painter - and her world is changed forever. Francis takes Annie as his artist's muse, elevating her from fallen woman to society's darling. With her otherworldly beauty now the toast of London, her dark past is left far behind. But Annie's lavish new life is not all it seems - and there are some who won't let her forget where she came from... 'A thrilling tale of love, lust and revenge' The Lady 'A captivating gothic blend of mystery and romance' Sunday Mirror 'Exquisite...this is historical fiction at its best' - Book Literarti Reviews 'Gothic, dark [and] rich with atmosphere' - Louise Loves books 'A glorious story of art and passion' - Tea Party Princess 'Dazzling' Goodreads Reviewer 'Captivating' Goodreads Reviewer

✏Book Title : A Memoir of Mrs Susanna Rowson
✏Author : Elias Nason
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 1870
✏Pages : 212
✏ISBN : UCAL:B3575467
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏A Memoir of Mrs Susanna Rowson Book Summary :

✏Book Title : The Living Age
✏Author :
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 1881
✏Pages :
✏ISBN : UOM:39015013532729
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Living Age Book Summary :