The Mathematician S Shiva

📒The Mathematician S Shiva ✍ Stuart Rojstaczer

✏Book Title : The Mathematician s Shiva
✏Author : Stuart Rojstaczer
✏Publisher : Penguin
✏Release Date : 2014-09-02
✏Pages : 384
✏ISBN : 9780698152205
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Mathematician s Shiva Book Summary : WINNER OF THE NATIONAL JEWISH BOOK AWARD FOR OUTSTANDING DEBUT FICTION For readers of This Is Where I Leave You and Everything Is Illuminated, “a brilliant and compelling family saga full of warmth, pathos, history and humor” (Jonathan Evison, author of West of Here) When the greatest female mathematician in history passes away, her son, Alexander “Sasha” Karnokovitch, just wants to mourn his mother in peace. But rumor has it the notoriously eccentric Polish émigré has solved one of the most difficult problems in all of mathematics, and has spitefully taken the solution to her grave. As a ragtag group of mathematicians from around the world descends upon Rachela’s shiva, determined to find the proof or solve it for themselves—even if it means prying up the floorboards for notes or desperately scrutinizing the mutterings of her African Grey parrot—Sasha must come to terms with his mother’s outsized influence on his life. Spanning decades and continents, from a crowded living room in Madison, Wisconsin, to the windswept beach on the Barents Sea where a young Rachela had her first mathematical breakthrough, The Mathematician’s Shiva is an unexpectedly moving and uproariously funny novel that captures humanity’s drive not just to survive, but to achieve the impossible.

📒Shiva Sutras ✍ Swami Sukhabodhananda

✏Book Title : Shiva Sutras
✏Author : Swami Sukhabodhananda
✏Publisher : Jaico Publishing House
✏Release Date : 2015-01-27
✏Pages : 222
✏ISBN : 9788179929797
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Shiva Sutras Book Summary : Ability is an important tool in life. Ability without commitment and awareness is like a vehicle without the engine. The Shiva Sutra enhances one’s awareness in a way one sees an opportunity in a difficulty and not a difficulty in an opportunity. There is an ‘outside reality’ and an ‘inside reality’ of one’s mind. There is also another dimension called ‘spiritual reality’. To harmonize all of them is a great awakening. Ordinary being loves one’s own ‘psycho dramas’ of justification, proving one’s point of view, blaming, being helpless... and this leads one to a state of inner poverty. To free oneself from these lower states of poverty and see them as ‘errors in one’s thinking’ is part of being effective and experiencing inner prosperity. The profound teaching of Lord Shiva introduces us to A Bigger Container where one learns to be charitable to one’s own self. This practice of making A Bigger Container is essentially spiritual. Dive deep into these mystic teachings. —Swami Sukhabodhananda

📒Finding Zero ✍ Amir D. Aczel

✏Book Title : Finding Zero
✏Author : Amir D. Aczel
✏Publisher : St. Martin's Press
✏Release Date : 2015-01-06
✏Pages : 256
✏ISBN : 9781466879102
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Finding Zero Book Summary : The invention of numerals is perhaps the greatest abstraction the human mind has ever created. Virtually everything in our lives is digital, numerical, or quantified. The story of how and where we got these numerals, which we so depend on, has for thousands of years been shrouded in mystery. Finding Zero is an adventure filled saga of Amir Aczel's lifelong obsession: to find the original sources of our numerals. Aczel has doggedly crisscrossed the ancient world, scouring dusty, moldy texts, cross examining so-called scholars who offered wildly differing sets of facts, and ultimately penetrating deep into a Cambodian jungle to find a definitive proof. Here, he takes the reader along for the ride. The history begins with the early Babylonian cuneiform numbers, followed by the later Greek and Roman letter numerals. Then Aczel asks the key question: where do the numbers we use today, the so-called Hindu-Arabic numerals, come from? It is this search that leads him to explore uncharted territory, to go on a grand quest into India, Thailand, Laos, Vietnam, and ultimately into the wilds of Cambodia. There he is blown away to find the earliest zero—the keystone of our entire system of numbers—on a crumbling, vine-covered wall of a seventh-century temple adorned with eaten-away erotic sculptures. While on this odyssey, Aczel meets a host of fascinating characters: academics in search of truth, jungle trekkers looking for adventure, surprisingly honest politicians, shameless smugglers, and treacherous archaeological thieves—who finally reveal where our numbers come from.

✏Book Title : Mathematics in Historical Context
✏Author : Jeff Suzuki
✏Publisher : MAA
✏Release Date : 2009-08-27
✏Pages : 409
✏ISBN : 0883855704
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Mathematics in Historical Context Book Summary : What would Newton see if he looked out his bedroom window? This book describes the world around the important mathematicians of the past, and explores the complex interaction between mathematics, mathematicians, and society. It takes the reader on a grand tour of history from the ancient Egyptians to the twentieth century to show how mathematicians and mathematics were affected by the outside world, and at the same time how the outside world was affected by mathematics and mathematicians. Part biography, part mathematics, and part history, this book provides the interested layperson the background to understand mathematics and the history of mathematics, and is suitable for supplemental reading in any history of mathematics course.

✏Book Title : Proceedings of the International Congress of Mathematicians
✏Author : Rajendra Bhatia
✏Publisher : World Scientific
✏Release Date : 2011-06-06
✏Pages : 4144
✏ISBN : 9789814324359
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Proceedings of the International Congress of Mathematicians Book Summary : ICM 2010 proceedings comprise a four-volume set containing articles based on plenary lectures and invited section lectures, the Abel and Noether lectures, as well as contributions based on lectures delivered by the recipients of the Fields Medal, the Nevanlinna, and Chern Prizes. The first volume will also contain the speeches at the opening and closing ceremonies and other highlights of the Congress

📒Free ✍ Chris Anderson

✏Book Title : Free
✏Author : Chris Anderson
✏Publisher : Random House
✏Release Date : 2010-12-15
✏Pages : 288
✏ISBN : 9781446409558
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Free Book Summary : What happens when advances in technology allow many things to be produced for more or less nothing? And what happens when those things are then made available to the consumer for free? In his groundbreaking new book, The Long Tail author Chris Anderson considers a brave new world where the old economic certainties are being undermined by a growing flood of free goods - newspapers, DVDs, T shirts, phones, even holiday flights. He explains why this has become possible - why new technologies, particularly the Internet, have caused production and distribution costs in many sectors to plummet to an extent unthinkable even a decade ago. He shows how the flexibility provided by the online world allows producers to trade ever more creatively, offering items for free to make real or perceived gains elsewhere. He pinpoints the winners and the losers in the Free universe. And he demonstrates the ways in which, as an increasing number of things become available for free, our decisions to make use of them will be determined by two resources far more valuable than money: the popular reputation of what is on offer and the time we have available for it. In the future, he argues, when we talk of the 'money economy' we will talk of the 'reputation economy' and the 'time economy' in the same breath, and our world will never be the same again.

✏Book Title : The Universal History of Numbers
✏Author : Georges Ifrah
✏Publisher : Wiley
✏Release Date : 2000-10-09
✏Pages : 656
✏ISBN : 0471393401
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Universal History of Numbers Book Summary : "Georges Ifrah is the man. This book, quite simply, rules. . . . It is outstanding . . . a mind-boggling and enriching experience." –The Guardian (London) "Monumental. . . . a fascinating journey taking us through many different cultures."–The Times (London)"Ifrah’s book amazes and fascinates by the scope of its scholarship. It is nothing less than the history of the human race told through figures." –International Herald Tribune Now in paperback, here is Georges Ifrah’s landmark international bestseller–the first complete, universal study of the invention and evolution of numbers the world over. A riveting history of counting and calculating, from the time of the cave dwellers to the twentieth century, this fascinating volume brings numbers to thrilling life, explaining their development in human terms, the intriguing situations that made them necessary, and the brilliant achievements in human thought that they made possible. It takes us through the numbers story from Europe to China, via ancient Greece and Rome, Mesopotamia, Latin America, India, and the Arabic countries. Exploring the many ways civilizations developed and changed their mathematical systems, Ifrah imparts a unique insight into the nature of human thought–and into how our understanding of numbers and the ways they shape our lives have changed and grown over thousands of years. "Dazzling."–Kirkus Reviews "Sure to transfix readers."–PublishersWeekly

📒Microchip Mathematics ✍ Keith J. Devlin

✏Book Title : Microchip Mathematics
✏Author : Keith J. Devlin
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 1984
✏Pages : 205
✏ISBN : STANFORD:36105003275315
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Microchip Mathematics Book Summary :

📒The Dance Of Shiva ✍ Ananda Kentish Coomaraswamy

✏Book Title : The dance of Shiva
✏Author : Ananda Kentish Coomaraswamy
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 1974
✏Pages : 196
✏ISBN : STANFORD:36105037225823
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The dance of Shiva Book Summary : -Fourteen Indian essays with preface and introduction by Roman Rolland, incl 34 illust.

✏Book Title : Ancient Indian Leaps into Mathematics
✏Author : B.S. Yadav
✏Publisher : Springer Science & Business Media
✏Release Date : 2011-01-20
✏Pages : 218
✏ISBN : 0817646957
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Ancient Indian Leaps into Mathematics Book Summary : This book presents contributions of mathematicians covering topics from ancient India, placing them in the broader context of the history of mathematics. Although the translations of some Sanskrit mathematical texts are available in the literature, Indian contributions are rarely presented in major Western historical works. Yet some of the well-known and universally-accepted discoveries from India, including the concept of zero and the decimal representation of numbers, have made lasting contributions to the foundation of modern mathematics. Through a systematic approach, this book examines these ancient mathematical ideas that were spread throughout India, China, the Islamic world, and Western Europe.