The Mathematician S Shiva

✏Book Title : Exam Prep for The Mathematicians Shiva
✏Author :
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date :
✏Pages :
✏ISBN :
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Exam Prep for The Mathematicians Shiva Book Summary :

📒The Mathematician S Shiva ✍ Stuart Rojstaczer

✏Book Title : The Mathematician s Shiva
✏Author : Stuart Rojstaczer
✏Publisher : Penguin
✏Release Date : 2014-09-02
✏Pages : 384
✏ISBN : 9780698152205
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Mathematician s Shiva Book Summary : WINNER OF THE NATIONAL JEWISH BOOK AWARD FOR OUTSTANDING DEBUT FICTION For readers of This Is Where I Leave You and Everything Is Illuminated, “a brilliant and compelling family saga full of warmth, pathos, history and humor” (Jonathan Evison, author of West of Here) When the greatest female mathematician in history passes away, her son, Alexander “Sasha” Karnokovitch, just wants to mourn his mother in peace. But rumor has it the notoriously eccentric Polish émigré has solved one of the most difficult problems in all of mathematics, and has spitefully taken the solution to her grave. As a ragtag group of mathematicians from around the world descends upon Rachela’s shiva, determined to find the proof or solve it for themselves—even if it means prying up the floorboards for notes or desperately scrutinizing the mutterings of her African Grey parrot—Sasha must come to terms with his mother’s outsized influence on his life. Spanning decades and continents, from a crowded living room in Madison, Wisconsin, to the windswept beach on the Barents Sea where a young Rachela had her first mathematical breakthrough, The Mathematician’s Shiva is an unexpectedly moving and uproariously funny novel that captures humanity’s drive not just to survive, but to achieve the impossible.

✏Book Title : Exam Prep Flash Cards for The Mathematicians Shiva
✏Author :
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date :
✏Pages :
✏ISBN :
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Exam Prep Flash Cards for The Mathematicians Shiva Book Summary :

📒Shiva Sutras ✍ Swami Sukhabodhananda

✏Book Title : Shiva Sutras
✏Author : Swami Sukhabodhananda
✏Publisher : Jaico Publishing House
✏Release Date : 2015-01-27
✏Pages : 222
✏ISBN : 9788179929797
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Shiva Sutras Book Summary : Ability is an important tool in life. Ability without commitment and awareness is like a vehicle without the engine. The Shiva Sutra enhances one’s awareness in a way one sees an opportunity in a difficulty and not a difficulty in an opportunity. There is an ‘outside reality’ and an ‘inside reality’ of one’s mind. There is also another dimension called ‘spiritual reality’. To harmonize all of them is a great awakening. Ordinary being loves one’s own ‘psycho dramas’ of justification, proving one’s point of view, blaming, being helpless... and this leads one to a state of inner poverty. To free oneself from these lower states of poverty and see them as ‘errors in one’s thinking’ is part of being effective and experiencing inner prosperity. The profound teaching of Lord Shiva introduces us to A Bigger Container where one learns to be charitable to one’s own self. This practice of making A Bigger Container is essentially spiritual. Dive deep into these mystic teachings. —Swami Sukhabodhananda

✏Book Title : Mathematics in Historical Context
✏Author : Jeff Suzuki
✏Publisher : MAA
✏Release Date : 2009-08-27
✏Pages : 409
✏ISBN : 0883855704
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Mathematics in Historical Context Book Summary : An exploration of the interaction between mathematics, mathematicians and society. What would Newton see if he looked out his window?

✏Book Title : Proceedings of the International Congress of Mathematicians
✏Author : Rajendra Bhatia
✏Publisher : World Scientific
✏Release Date : 2011-06-06
✏Pages : 4144
✏ISBN : 9789814324359
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Proceedings of the International Congress of Mathematicians Book Summary : ICM 2010 proceedings comprise a four-volume set containing articles based on plenary lectures and invited section lectures, the Abel and Noether lectures, as well as contributions based on lectures delivered by the recipients of the Fields Medal, the Nevanlinna, and Chern Prizes. The first volume will also contain the speeches at the opening and closing ceremonies and other highlights of the Congress

📒Finding Zero ✍ Amir D. Aczel

✏Book Title : Finding Zero
✏Author : Amir D. Aczel
✏Publisher : St. Martin's Press
✏Release Date : 2015-01-06
✏Pages : 256
✏ISBN : 9781466879102
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Finding Zero Book Summary : The invention of numerals is perhaps the greatest abstraction the human mind has ever created. Virtually everything in our lives is digital, numerical, or quantified. The story of how and where we got these numerals, which we so depend on, has for thousands of years been shrouded in mystery. Finding Zero is an adventure filled saga of Amir Aczel's lifelong obsession: to find the original sources of our numerals. Aczel has doggedly crisscrossed the ancient world, scouring dusty, moldy texts, cross examining so-called scholars who offered wildly differing sets of facts, and ultimately penetrating deep into a Cambodian jungle to find a definitive proof. Here, he takes the reader along for the ride. The history begins with the early Babylonian cuneiform numbers, followed by the later Greek and Roman letter numerals. Then Aczel asks the key question: where do the numbers we use today, the so-called Hindu-Arabic numerals, come from? It is this search that leads him to explore uncharted territory, to go on a grand quest into India, Thailand, Laos, Vietnam, and ultimately into the wilds of Cambodia. There he is blown away to find the earliest zero—the keystone of our entire system of numbers—on a crumbling, vine-covered wall of a seventh-century temple adorned with eaten-away erotic sculptures. While on this odyssey, Aczel meets a host of fascinating characters: academics in search of truth, jungle trekkers looking for adventure, surprisingly honest politicians, shameless smugglers, and treacherous archaeological thieves—who finally reveal where our numbers come from.

📒Free ✍ Chris Anderson

✏Book Title : Free
✏Author : Chris Anderson
✏Publisher : Hachette UK
✏Release Date : 2009-07-07
✏Pages : 288
✏ISBN : 9781401394516
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Free Book Summary : The online economy offers challenges to traditional businesses as well as incredible opportunities. Chris Anderson makes the compelling case that in many instances businesses can succeed best by giving away more than they charge for. Known as "Freemium," this combination of free and paid is emerging as one of the most powerful digital business models. In Free, Chris Anderson explores this radical idea for the new global economy and demonstrates how it can be harnessed for the benefit of consumers and businesses alike. In the twenty-first century, Free is more than just a promotional gimmick: It's a business strategy that is essential to a company's successful future.

📒Microchip Mathematics ✍ Keith J. Devlin

✏Book Title : Microchip Mathematics
✏Author : Keith J. Devlin
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 1984
✏Pages : 205
✏ISBN : STANFORD:36105003275315
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Microchip Mathematics Book Summary :

✏Book Title : Ancient Indian Leaps into Mathematics
✏Author : B.S. Yadav
✏Publisher : Springer Science & Business Media
✏Release Date : 2011-01-20
✏Pages : 218
✏ISBN : 0817646957
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Ancient Indian Leaps into Mathematics Book Summary : This book presents contributions of mathematicians covering topics from ancient India, placing them in the broader context of the history of mathematics. Although the translations of some Sanskrit mathematical texts are available in the literature, Indian contributions are rarely presented in major Western historical works. Yet some of the well-known and universally-accepted discoveries from India, including the concept of zero and the decimal representation of numbers, have made lasting contributions to the foundation of modern mathematics. Through a systematic approach, this book examines these ancient mathematical ideas that were spread throughout India, China, the Islamic world, and Western Europe.