The Iran Wars

📒The Iran Wars ✍ Jay Solomon

✏Book Title : The Iran Wars
✏Author : Jay Solomon
✏Publisher : Random House
✏Release Date : 2016-08-23
✏Pages : 352
✏ISBN : 9780812993653
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Iran Wars Book Summary : From the Wall Street Journal reporter who’s been breaking news on the historic and potentially disastrous Iran nuclear deal comes a deeply reported exploration of the country’s decades-long power struggle with the United States—for readers of Steve Coll’s Ghost Wars and Lawrence Wright’s The Looming Tower For more than a decade, the United States has been engaged in a war with Iran as momentous as any other in the Middle East—a war all the more significant as it has largely been hidden from public view. Through a combination of economic sanctions, global diplomacy, and intelligence work, successive U.S. administrations have struggled to contain Iran’s aspirations to become a nuclear power and dominate the region—what many view as the most serious threat to peace in the Middle East. Meanwhile, Iran has used regional instability to its advantage to undermine America’s interests. The Iran Wars is an absorbing account of a battle waged on many levels—military, financial, and covert. Jay Solomon’s book is the product of extensive in-depth reporting and interviews with all the key players in the conflict—from high-ranking Iranian officials to Secretary of State John Kerry and his negotiating team. With a reporter’s masterly investigative eye and the narrative dexterity of a great historian, Solomon shows how Iran’s nuclear development went unnoticed for years by the international community only to become its top security concern. He catalogs the blunders of both the Bush and Obama administrations as they grappled with how to engage Iran, producing a series of both carrots and sticks. And he takes us inside the hotel suites where the 2015 nuclear agreement was negotiated, offering a frank assessment of the uncertain future of the U.S.-Iran relationship. This is a book rife with revelations, from the secret communications between the Obama administration and the Iranian government to dispatches from the front lines of the new field of financial warfare. For readers of Steve Coll’s Ghost Wars and Lawrence Wright’s The Looming Tower, The Iran Wars exposes the hidden history of a conflict most Americans don’t even realize is being fought, but whose outcome could have far-reaching geopolitical implications. Praise for The Iran Wars “The use of the word ‘wars,’ plural, in the title of this illuminating book tells the story: U.S.-Iranian relations have been troubled for many years. This deeply researched account of negotiations and their implications makes an important contribution to understanding the short- and long-term consequences of how we manage this difficult relationship.”—George P. Shultz, former secretary of state “An illuminating, deeply reported account from one of the best journalists writing about the Middle East today. Jay Solomon’s The Iran Wars offers a front-row view of the spy games, assassinations, political intrigue and high-stakes diplomacy that have defined relations with one of America’s most cunning and dangerous foes.”—Joby Warrick, Pulitzer Prize–winning author of Black Flags: The Rise of ISIS “A thorough yet concise survey of Iran’s buildup of nuclear technology since the 1980s, its troubling exporting of Shiite insurgency in countries around it, and the changing American reaction. Wall Street Journal chief foreign affairs correspondent [Jay] Solomon offers an evenhanded look at the backdoor schemes involving the building of Iran’s nuclear weapons and the world players involved in and against its machinations.”—Kirkus Reviews (Starred Review) From the Hardcover edition.

📒The Iran Iraq War ✍ Efraim Karsh

✏Book Title : The Iran Iraq War
✏Author : Efraim Karsh
✏Publisher : The Rosen Publishing Group
✏Release Date : 2009
✏Pages : 96
✏ISBN : 9781435874992
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Iran Iraq War Book Summary : Describes the events preceding and during the Iran-Iraq War, detailing the battles, political negotiations, and consequences of the war.

✏Book Title : Saddam s War An Iraqi Mililtary Perspective of the Iran Iraq War
✏Author :
✏Publisher : Government Printing Office
✏Release Date :
✏Pages :
✏ISBN : 0160867134
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Saddam s War An Iraqi Mililtary Perspective of the Iran Iraq War Book Summary :

📒The Longest War ✍ Dilip Hiro

✏Book Title : The Longest War
✏Author : Dilip Hiro
✏Publisher : Psychology Press
✏Release Date : 1989
✏Pages : 323
✏ISBN : 9780415904070
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Longest War Book Summary : In The Longest War, Dilip Hiro describes the causes and courses of the Iran-Iraq military conflict and its effect on the two antagonists, as well as the rest of the world. He reveals the intricate twists and turns of international diplomacy and the realpolitik behind the rhetoric, providing a comprehensive and admirably balanced account of the political and military aspects of the "longest war."

✏Book Title : Iranian Perspectives on the Iran Iraq War
✏Author : Farhang Rajaee
✏Publisher : University Press of Florida
✏Release Date : 1997
✏Pages : 168
✏ISBN : 081301476X
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Iranian Perspectives on the Iran Iraq War Book Summary : "A comprehensive collection of original essays . . . by scholars and policy experts living in Iran, some of whom experienced the war firsthand. . . . A valuable book."--Hooshang Amirahmadi, Rutgers University "Contains considerable new information on the Iran-Iraq War and as such is a contribution to our understanding of this important conflict. The most original contribution of the [book], however, is the unique forum that it provides for documentation of a genuinely Iranian perspective on the war. There is no other book . . . that accomplishes this."--Mohiaddin Mesbahi, Florida International University This collection of original essays examines the difficult conclusion of the Iran-Iraq War and assesses the impact of the Iraqi invasion of Kuwait, the effect of UN Resolution 598 (1988), and the enduring effects of the war on both Iran and Iraq. Compiling the work of Iranian scholars educated in the West but living and working in Iran, the volume provides the only genuinely Iranian assessment available of the war and its aftermath. CONTENTS 1. Introduction: Views from Within, by Farhang Rajaee Part I: The Policy Dynamics 2. Taking Sides: Regional Powers and the War, by Saideh Lotfian 3. Neutral Statements, Committed Practice: The USSR and the War, by Kazem Sajjadpour 4. Collectively or Singly: Western Europe and the Iran-Iraq War, by Ahmad Naghibzadeh 5. Containment and Animosity: The United States and the War, by Reza Ra'iss Tousi 6. Double Standard: The Security Council and the Two Wars, by Bahram Mostaghimi and Masoud Taromsari Part II: Conceptual Dimensions 7. National, Ethnic, and Sectarian Issues in the Iran-Iraq War, by Neguin Yavari 8. Revolution, Ideology, and the War, by Hossein S. Seifzadeh 9. Facts and Allegations: Iraqi Disclaimer of the 1975 Treaty, by Jalil Roshandel 10. Decision-Making Inputs: Iraq's Premises before the War, by Mahmood Sariolghalam 11. Peace through Deception: The Iran-Iraq Correspondence, by Ali Asghar Kazemi Part III: Postwar Developments 12. The Implementation of UN Resolution 598, by Djamchid Momtaz 13. Iranian Foreign Policy in the Postwar Era, by Houchang Hassan-Yari 14. "Continual Aggression": Iraq's Decision to Invade Kuwait, by Daryoush Akhavan-Zanjani Farhang Rajaee is associate professor of international relations at Iran's National University in Tehran and editor of The Iran-Iraq War: The Politics of Aggression (UPF, 1993).

📒The Iran Iraq War ✍ Stephen C. Pelletiere

✏Book Title : The Iran Iraq War
✏Author : Stephen C. Pelletiere
✏Publisher : ABC-CLIO
✏Release Date : 1992-01-01
✏Pages : 167
✏ISBN : 9780275938437
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Iran Iraq War Book Summary : This book is a major reinterpretation of the Iran-Iraq War and is a source for reexamining the U.S. involvement in the Gulf. Pelletiere demonstrates that the war was not a standoff in which Iraq finally won a grinding war of attrition through luck, persistence, and the use of poison gas. Instead, Iraq planned the last campaign almost two years prior to its unfolding. [The Iraqis] trained extensively and expended enormous sums of money to make their effort succeed. What won for them was their superior fignting prowess and greater commitment. Gas--if it was used at all--played only a minor part in the victory.' Pelletiere concludes that the key to understanding the war is the Extraordinary Congress of the Ba'th Party held in July 1986. It was there that the initial planning for the final campaign was done, and this campaign is what decided the fate of the conflict. The study centers around the last Iraqi campaign, which Pelletiere argues was based upon World War II blitzkrieg tactics, but he also treats the background, the politics, and the history of the conflict, and analyzes the significance of the war to the Middle East and to the position of the United States there.

✏Book Title : The role of airpower in the Iran Iraq War
✏Author :
✏Publisher : DIANE Publishing
✏Release Date :
✏Pages :
✏ISBN : 9781428993303
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The role of airpower in the Iran Iraq War Book Summary :

📒The Iran Iraq War ✍ Williamson Murray

✏Book Title : The Iran Iraq War
✏Author : Williamson Murray
✏Publisher : Cambridge University Press
✏Release Date : 2014-09-04
✏Pages : 412
✏ISBN : 9781107062290
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Iran Iraq War Book Summary : A comprehensive account of the Iran-Iraq War through the lens of the Iraqi regime and its senior military commanders.

📒The Iran Iraq War ✍ Edward Willett

✏Book Title : The Iran Iraq War
✏Author : Edward Willett
✏Publisher : The Rosen Publishing Group
✏Release Date : 2003-11
✏Pages : 64
✏ISBN : 0823945472
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Iran Iraq War Book Summary : Examines the history behind the longest war of the twentieth century, which raged between Iran and Iraq in the 1980s, and looks at its ongoing ramifications.

📒The Iran Iraq War ✍ Jerome Donovan

✏Book Title : The Iran Iraq War
✏Author : Jerome Donovan
✏Publisher : Routledge
✏Release Date : 2010-12-08
✏Pages : 176
✏ISBN : 9781136884047
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Iran Iraq War Book Summary : In a tradition that dates back to the time of Thucydides, and the Peloponnesian War, the systematic examination of conflict and war has long been a preoccupation of political scientists seeking to resolve the enduring question: Why do wars occur? This study directly engages this question with a specific focus on explaining the conflict between Iran and Iraq, arguably the longest and one of the more costly conventional wars of the twentieth century. Explaining the systemic nature of conflict within the Middle East, and specifically between Iran and Iraq, the book illustrates how IR theory can be utilised in explaining conflict dynamics in the Middle East. The author’s integrated approach to understanding interstate conflict escalation demonstrates that when taken together issues, interaction and power capabilities lend themselves to a much richer account of the dyadic relationship between Iran and Iraq in the lead up to war in 1980. Addressing a disparity between international relations and Middle Eastern area studies, this book fills an important gap in the existing scholarly literature on the causes of war. As such, it will be of great interest to scholars of peace and conflict studies, Middle Eastern studies and International Relations.