The Iran Wars

📒The Iran Wars ✍ Jay Solomon

✏Book Title : The Iran Wars
✏Author : Jay Solomon
✏Publisher : Random House
✏Release Date : 2016-08-23
✏Pages : 352
✏ISBN : 9780812993653
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Iran Wars Book Summary : From the Wall Street Journal reporter who’s been breaking news on the historic and potentially disastrous Iran nuclear deal comes a deeply reported exploration of the country’s decades-long power struggle with the United States—for readers of Steve Coll’s Ghost Wars and Lawrence Wright’s The Looming Tower For more than a decade, the United States has been engaged in a war with Iran as momentous as any other in the Middle East—a war all the more significant as it has largely been hidden from public view. Through a combination of economic sanctions, global diplomacy, and intelligence work, successive U.S. administrations have struggled to contain Iran’s aspirations to become a nuclear power and dominate the region—what many view as the most serious threat to peace in the Middle East. Meanwhile, Iran has used regional instability to its advantage to undermine America’s interests. The Iran Wars is an absorbing account of a battle waged on many levels—military, financial, and covert. Jay Solomon’s book is the product of extensive in-depth reporting and interviews with all the key players in the conflict—from high-ranking Iranian officials to Secretary of State John Kerry and his negotiating team. With a reporter’s masterly investigative eye and the narrative dexterity of a great historian, Solomon shows how Iran’s nuclear development went unnoticed for years by the international community only to become its top security concern. He catalogs the blunders of both the Bush and Obama administrations as they grappled with how to engage Iran, producing a series of both carrots and sticks. And he takes us inside the hotel suites where the 2015 nuclear agreement was negotiated, offering a frank assessment of the uncertain future of the U.S.-Iran relationship. This is a book rife with revelations, from the secret communications between the Obama administration and the Iranian government to dispatches from the front lines of the new field of financial warfare. For readers of Steve Coll’s Ghost Wars and Lawrence Wright’s The Looming Tower, The Iran Wars exposes the hidden history of a conflict most Americans don’t even realize is being fought, but whose outcome could have far-reaching geopolitical implications. Praise for The Iran Wars “The use of the word ‘wars,’ plural, in the title of this illuminating book tells the story: U.S.-Iranian relations have been troubled for many years. This deeply researched account of negotiations and their implications makes an important contribution to understanding the short- and long-term consequences of how we manage this difficult relationship.”—George P. Shultz, former secretary of state “An illuminating, deeply reported account from one of the best journalists writing about the Middle East today. Jay Solomon’s The Iran Wars offers a front-row view of the spy games, assassinations, political intrigue and high-stakes diplomacy that have defined relations with one of America’s most cunning and dangerous foes.”—Joby Warrick, Pulitzer Prize–winning author of Black Flags: The Rise of ISIS “A thorough yet concise survey of Iran’s buildup of nuclear technology since the 1980s, its troubling exporting of Shiite insurgency in countries around it, and the changing American reaction. Wall Street Journal chief foreign affairs correspondent [Jay] Solomon offers an evenhanded look at the backdoor schemes involving the building of Iran’s nuclear weapons and the world players involved in and against its machinations.”—Kirkus Reviews (Starred Review) From the Hardcover edition.

✏Book Title : The role of airpower in the Iran Iraq War
✏Author :
✏Publisher : DIANE Publishing
✏Release Date :
✏Pages :
✏ISBN : 9781428993303
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The role of airpower in the Iran Iraq War Book Summary :

📒The Iran Iraq War ✍ Williamson Murray

✏Book Title : The Iran Iraq War
✏Author : Williamson Murray
✏Publisher : Cambridge University Press
✏Release Date : 2014-09-04
✏Pages : 412
✏ISBN : 9781107062290
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Iran Iraq War Book Summary : A comprehensive account of the Iran-Iraq War through the lens of the Iraqi regime and its senior military commanders.

📒The Iran Iraq War ✍ Pierre Razoux

✏Book Title : The Iran Iraq War
✏Author : Pierre Razoux
✏Publisher : Harvard University Press
✏Release Date : 2015-11-03
✏Pages : 580
✏ISBN : 9780674915718
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Iran Iraq War Book Summary : From 1980 to 1988 Iran and Iraq fought the longest conventional war of the century. It included tragic slaughter of child soldiers, use of chemical weapons, striking of civilian shipping, and destruction of cities. Pierre Razoux offers an unflinching look at a conflict seared into the region’s collective memory but little understood in the West.

📒The Iran Iraq War ✍ Jerome Donovan

✏Book Title : The Iran Iraq War
✏Author : Jerome Donovan
✏Publisher : Routledge
✏Release Date : 2010-12-08
✏Pages : 176
✏ISBN : 9781136884047
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Iran Iraq War Book Summary : In a tradition that dates back to the time of Thucydides, and the Peloponnesian War, the systematic examination of conflict and war has long been a preoccupation of political scientists seeking to resolve the enduring question: Why do wars occur? This study directly engages this question with a specific focus on explaining the conflict between Iran and Iraq, arguably the longest and one of the more costly conventional wars of the twentieth century. Explaining the systemic nature of conflict within the Middle East, and specifically between Iran and Iraq, the book illustrates how IR theory can be utilised in explaining conflict dynamics in the Middle East. The author’s integrated approach to understanding interstate conflict escalation demonstrates that when taken together issues, interaction and power capabilities lend themselves to a much richer account of the dyadic relationship between Iran and Iraq in the lead up to war in 1980. Addressing a disparity between international relations and Middle Eastern area studies, this book fills an important gap in the existing scholarly literature on the causes of war. As such, it will be of great interest to scholars of peace and conflict studies, Middle Eastern studies and International Relations.

📒The Iran Iraq War ✍ Nigel John Ashton

✏Book Title : The Iran Iraq War
✏Author : Nigel John Ashton
✏Publisher : Routledge
✏Release Date : 2013
✏Pages : 245
✏ISBN : 9780415685245
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Iran Iraq War Book Summary : This volume offers a wide-ranging examination of the Iran–Iraq War (1980–88), featuring fresh regional and international perspectives derived from recently available new archival material. Three decades ago Iran and Iraq became embroiled in a devastating eight-year war which served to re-define the international relations of the Gulf region. The Iran–Iraq War stands as an anomaly in the Cold War era; it was the only significant conflict in which the interests of the United States and Soviet Union unwittingly aligned, with both superpowers ultimately supporting the Iraqi regime. The Iran–Iraq War re-assesses not only the superpower role in the conflict but also the war’s regional and wider international dimensions by bringing to the fore fresh evidence and new perspectives from a variety of sources. It focuses on a number of themes including the economic dimensions of the war and the roles played by a variety of powers, including the Gulf States, Turkey, France, the Soviet Union and the United States. The contributions to the volume serve to underline that the Iran–Iraq war was a defining conflict, shaping the perspectives of the key protagonists for a generation to come. This book will be of much interest to students of international and Cold War history, Middle Eastern politics, foreign policy, and International Relations in general.

📒The Longest War ✍ Dilip Hiro

✏Book Title : The Longest War
✏Author : Dilip Hiro
✏Publisher : Psychology Press
✏Release Date : 1989
✏Pages : 323
✏ISBN : 9780415904070
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Longest War Book Summary : In The Longest War, Dilip Hiro describes the causes and courses of the Iran-Iraq military conflict and its effect on the two antagonists, as well as the rest of the world. He reveals the intricate twists and turns of international diplomacy and the realpolitik behind the rhetoric, providing a comprehensive and admirably balanced account of the political and military aspects of the "longest war."

📒The Iran Iraq War ✍ Efraim Karsh

✏Book Title : The Iran Iraq War
✏Author : Efraim Karsh
✏Publisher : The Rosen Publishing Group
✏Release Date : 2009
✏Pages : 96
✏ISBN : 9781435874992
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Iran Iraq War Book Summary : Describes the events preceding and during the Iran-Iraq War, detailing the battles, political negotiations, and consequences of the war.

✏Book Title : Saddam s War An Iraqi Mililtary Perspective of the Iran Iraq War
✏Author :
✏Publisher : Government Printing Office
✏Release Date :
✏Pages :
✏ISBN : 0160867134
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Saddam s War An Iraqi Mililtary Perspective of the Iran Iraq War Book Summary :

✏Book Title : Saddam s War An Iraqi Military Perspective of the Iran Iraq War
✏Author :
✏Publisher : NDU Press
✏Release Date :
✏Pages :
✏ISBN :
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Saddam s War An Iraqi Military Perspective of the Iran Iraq War Book Summary :