The Innocents

✏Book Title : Massacre of the Innocents
✏Author : Lionel Rose
✏Publisher : Routledge
✏Release Date : 2015-08-27
✏Pages : 222
✏ISBN : 9781317370628
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Massacre of the Innocents Book Summary : Before contraception was generally available, and when abortion was fraught with danger, infanticide was a common solution to the problem of unwanted children. Massacre of the Innocents, first published in 1986, shows the causes and consequences of the high tide of infanticide in Victorian Britain. Lionel Rose describes the ways in which unwanted and ‘surplus’ infants were disposed of, and the economic and social pressures on women to rid themselves of their burdens by covert criminal and sub-criminal means. He discusses the activities of infanticidal and abortionist midwives, and shows how the practices of wet nursing and baby farming were closely related to infanticide. Unscrupulous insurance salesman even turned infanticide into a profitable business, in their reckless grab for commissions. Infanticide declined with the growing practice of contraception, the lessening of pressure of unmarried mothers, and as adoption was made easier. This is a hard-hitting, scrupulously documented piece of social history. This title will be of interest to students of history and criminology.

📒Slaughter Of The Innocents ✍ John Shields Aird

✏Book Title : Slaughter of the Innocents
✏Author : John Shields Aird
✏Publisher : American Enterprise Institute
✏Release Date : 1990
✏Pages : 196
✏ISBN : 0844737038
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Slaughter of the Innocents Book Summary : Discusses China's birth control policies and the growth of compulsory regulations, and argues that coercive policies have not been abandoned

📒The Innocents ✍ Caroline Seebohm

✏Book Title : The Innocents
✏Author : Caroline Seebohm
✏Publisher : Algonquin Books
✏Release Date : 2007
✏Pages : 288
✏ISBN : 9781565125001
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Innocents Book Summary : Born into a world of wealth and privilege in early twentieth-century New York City, identical twins Dorothea and Iris Crosby are confronted by the perils and hardships around them, first by the devastating and deadly Triangle Shirtwaist Factory fire, and then by the horrors of the First World War, during which they become volunteers with the Red Cross.

📒The Innocents ✍ Francesca Segal

✏Book Title : The Innocents
✏Author : Francesca Segal
✏Publisher : Random House
✏Release Date : 2012-05-03
✏Pages : 448
✏ISBN : 9781446484753
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Innocents Book Summary : WINNER OF THE COSTA FIRST NOVEL AWARD 2012 LONGLISTED FOR THE WOMEN'S PRIZE FOR FICTION 2013 WINNER OF THE BETTY TRASK AWARD 2013 WINNER OF THE SAMI ROHR PRIZE FOR JEWISH LITERATURE 2013 What if everything you’d ever wanted was no longer enough? Adam and Rachel are getting married at last. Childhood sweethearts whose lives and families have been intertwined for years; theirs is set to be the wedding of the year. But then Rachel’s cousin Ellie makes an unexpected return to the family fold. Beautiful, reckless and troubled, Ellie represents everything that Adam has tried all his life to avoid – and everything that is missing from his world. As the long-awaited wedding approaches, Adam is torn between duty and temptation, security and freedom, and must make a choice that will break either one heart, or many. 'Wonderful...witty...an astonishingly accomplished debut which will draw comparisons between Segal and Zadie Smith and Monica Ali' Stylist

📒The Innocents ✍ Lili Peloquin

✏Book Title : The Innocents
✏Author : Lili Peloquin
✏Publisher : Penguin
✏Release Date : 2012-10-16
✏Pages : 288
✏ISBN : 9781101589175
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Innocents Book Summary : Even the innocent don't kiss and tell... “…the quick pacing will keep readers engrossed in this series kickoff as Alice and Charlie try to sort through the soap opera that is their new lives and figure out who they can trust. It’s Gossip Girl for Connecticut’s Gold Coast.” –Publishers Weekly The Innocents weaves a saga of nail-biting drama, breathless romance, and gothic mystery perfect for fans of ABC's Revenge. Though they share the same blood, Alice and Charlie couldn’t be more different. Alice is older (by one year and one day), shy and reserved, a cool blonde, a painter, a reader, a thinker. Charlie is feisty and uninhibited, a wild brunette, the kind of girl who punches a bully right in the mouth. They hate each other. They love each other. They stand by each other, when no one else will. They’re sisters. Then their parents divorce. Soon, Alice, Charlie, and their mother are leaving their old life behind. They’re saying goodbye to their cramped Cambridge apartment and driving along the rocky Connecticut coastline—to their stepfather's summer estate in the wealthy town of Serenity Point. The minute they drive through the gates, they wish they never had. Their arrival reopens old wounds, memories of lost loves, best friends—and bitter rivals. The people of Serenity Point thought the past was dead and buried. They were wrong.

📒The Innocents Abroad ✍ Mark Twain

✏Book Title : The Innocents Abroad
✏Author : Mark Twain
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 1869
✏Pages : 651
✏ISBN : UCSC:32106013649949
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Innocents Abroad Book Summary :

📒The Innocents Abroad ✍ Mark Twain (pseud. van Samuel L. Clemens.)

✏Book Title : The Innocents Abroad
✏Author : Mark Twain (pseud. van Samuel L. Clemens.)
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 1869
✏Pages : 380
✏ISBN : KBNL:KBNL03000140897
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Innocents Abroad Book Summary :

📒Dance Of The Innocents ✍ Todd R. Lockwood

✏Book Title : Dance of the Innocents
✏Author : Todd R. Lockwood
✏Publisher : iUniverse
✏Release Date : 2011-08-18
✏Pages : 284
✏ISBN : 1462011853
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Dance of the Innocents Book Summary : Imagine a city of a half million people, an average American city where everyone is going about their daily routine. But unknown to them, something much larger is going on: the city is involved in a grand dance. Only one man can see it, but he's at a loss to explain what it is. That becomes the quest of David Peters. David Peters has been unemployed for months. The former brilliant marketing guy is caught in a relentless downward spiral. He's been wearing the same T-shirt for weeks, his lawn looks like a hayfield, the car is belching blue smoke, and his wife is ready to kill him. He's convinced the government is behind it all. Tired of pointless job interviews, David divides his time between coffee at a local diner and do-it-yourself science explorations. During one of these explorations David devises a new twist on time-lapse photography, revealing secret patterns of behavior in everyday life. He combines his time-lapse ingenuity with satellite images to uncover patterns on a grand scale. Now, if only someone would take him seriously. The government takes David quite seriously when they realize he has uncovered a human catastrophe they are desperately trying to hide. When his wife becomes a victim herself, David's conspiracy theories become all too real. He seeks the advice of an expert, only to discover that he has tapped into a primal legacy, and the government wants a piece of it. At every turn the stakes get larger, until finally David finds himself at the crossroads of good and evil. Now his creativity and brilliance will be put to the ultimate test. The future of humanity is on the line.

📒The Innocents Club ✍ Taylor Smith

✏Book Title : The Innocents Club
✏Author : Taylor Smith
✏Publisher : Harlequin
✏Release Date : 2014-10-15
✏Pages : 400
✏ISBN : 9781460364758
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Innocents Club Book Summary : Senior CIA analyst Mariah Bolt remembers her late father as the man who abandoned his family to run off to Europe with another woman. Ben Bolt's fans remember him somewhat differently, and revere him as a literary genius. But like it or not, Mariah has become the reluctant guardian of his legacy—never suspecting she has also inherited a ticking time bomb. As she is about to depart on a much-needed vacation with her teenage daughter, Mariah is called in on an urgent assignment—to lure a man into betraying his country. There's only one hitch—to get to this man she has to cross paths with her father's old lover. Suddenly the past is back with a vengeance. One old friend will betray her and another will be murdered, as Mariah discovers how little she really knows about her father's life—and his death. And when her fifteen-year-old daughter goes missing, Mariah will be reminded once more that there are no limits in the terrifying game of international espionage.

📒Betrayal Of The Innocents ✍ Timothy Mitchell

✏Book Title : Betrayal of the Innocents
✏Author : Timothy Mitchell
✏Publisher : University of Pennsylvania Press
✏Release Date : 1998
✏Pages : 178
✏ISBN : 0812216598
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Betrayal of the Innocents Book Summary : In recent times, priests charged with sexual abuse have captured headlines and bankrupted dioceses all over the United States. But these cases have not exacerbated class conflict, threatened the stability of the government, despoiled national folklore, obsessed several literary generations, or led to the murder of thousands of priests. Spain has seen all of this and more. Timothy Mitchell's powerful and compelling book is the first to assess the long-term consequences of clergy sexual activity in another culture. Mitchell shows how the extreme idealization of motherhood promoted by Spanish Catholicism greatly increased the frequency of exploitative events. The resulting spiritual and social conflicts affected every area of cultural life: film, literature, law, show business, child-rearing, psychiatry, and gynecology are among the many Mitchell explores. When anticlerical writers and politicians were crushed by Franco with the aid of fascist women's organizations, Spanish children were subjected to another long period of authoritarian sexuality. The battle for custody of their minds is far from over; Betrayal of the Innocents concludes with a look at current trends and salutes new generations of Spaniards recovering from a legacy of clergy abuse unlike anything in American experience.