The Devils Of Cardona

📒The Devils Of Cardona ✍ Matthew Carr

✏Book Title : The Devils of Cardona
✏Author : Matthew Carr
✏Publisher : Penguin
✏Release Date : 2016-06-14
✏Pages : 416
✏ISBN : 9781101982754
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Devils of Cardona Book Summary : "A thrilling quest for justice... [A] novel that is as exciting as it is enlightening from its first pages to its satisfying end.” —The New York Times Book Review “A page-turner in the proper sense… Mr. Carr has written a gripping and enjoyable novel.” —The Wall Street Journal The gripping story of the dangerous high-stakes worlds of politics and religion in sixteenth-century Spain as a mysterious Muslim killer retaliates against the Catholic Church. In March 1584, the priest of Belamar de la Sierra, a small town in Aragon near the French border, is murdered in his own church. Most of the town’s inhabitants are Moriscos, former Muslims who converted to Catholicism. Anxious to avert a violent backlash on the eve of a royal visit, an adviser to King Philip II appoints local magistrate Bernardo de Mendoza to investigate. A soldier and humanist, Mendoza doesn’t always live up to the moral standards expected of court officials, but he has a reputation for incorruptibility. From the beginning, Mendoza finds almost universal hatred for the priest. And it isn’t long before he’s drawn into a complex and dangerous world in which greed, fanaticism, and state policy overlap. And as the killings continue, Mendoza's investigation is overshadowed by the real prospect of an ethnic and religious civil war. By turns an involving historical thriller and a novel with parallels to our own time, The Devils of Cardona is an unexpected and compelling read.

📒The Devil S Necktie ✍ John Lansing

✏Book Title : The Devil s Necktie
✏Author : John Lansing
✏Publisher : Simon and Schuster
✏Release Date : 2012-12-31
✏Pages : 384
✏ISBN : 9781451698343
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Devil s Necktie Book Summary : A sizzling thriller for fans of James Patterson and Patricia Cornwell—an exciting tour into the real-life world of cops, crime, drugs, and murder. Retired inspector Jack Bertolino had strict rules when dealing with confidential informants. But Mia had the kind of beauty that could make a grown man contemplate leaving his wife, his job, and his kids. After a passionate night together, Mia is found murdered—and Jack is the lead suspect. Facing threats from the LAPD, the 18th Street Angels, and a Colombian drug cartel, Jack delves deeper into the seedy world of drug dealers and murderers and discovers that the top players knew Mia personally. And now Jack is torn between fearing for his life and seeking revenge for his slain lover….either way, the body count will rise.

📒Blond Cargo ✍ John Lansing

✏Book Title : Blond Cargo
✏Author : John Lansing
✏Publisher : Simon and Schuster
✏Release Date : 2015-04-25
✏Pages : 384
✏ISBN : 9781501110283
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Blond Cargo Book Summary : Jack Bertolino's son, Chris, was the victim of a brutal murder attempt and Vincent Cardona, a mafia boss, provided information that helped Jack take down the perpetrator of the crime. Jack accepted the favor knowing there'd be blowback. In "Blond Cargo" the mobster's daughter has gone missing and Cardona turned in his chit. Jack discovers that the young, blond, mafia princess has been kidnapped and imprisoned while rich, politically connected men negotiate her value as a sex slave.

📒Plays Of The Year ✍ John Courtenay Trewin

✏Book Title : Plays of the Year
✏Author : John Courtenay Trewin
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 1970
✏Pages :
✏ISBN : UCSC:32106006433640
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Plays of the Year Book Summary :

📒The Devil On Screen ✍ Charles P. Mitchell

✏Book Title : The Devil on Screen
✏Author : Charles P. Mitchell
✏Publisher : McFarland Publishing
✏Release Date : 2002
✏Pages : 337
✏ISBN : 0786410493
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Devil on Screen Book Summary : The Devil has been represented in many film genres, including horror, comedy, the musical, fantasy, satire, drama, and the religious epic, and in these works has assumed many shapes and forms. This work explores in detail feature films from the year 1913 through the year 2000 that depict the Devil. It begins with an overview that discusses how the devil has been portrayed on stage, how that portrayal carried over to the big screen, and what are the standard elements of a satanic plot. Each entry in the filmography includes such particulars as the year of production, running time, and the names of the writer, editor, cinematographer, producer, and director. An evaluative rating, annotated cast list, plot synopsis, and film appraisal are also provided for each film, as well as a spotlight on the performance of the actor playing the role of Satan.

✏Book Title : The Rivals and Tracy s Ambition
✏Author : Gerald Griffin
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 1851
✏Pages : 287
✏ISBN : MINN:31951002376330J
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Rivals and Tracy s Ambition Book Summary :

✏Book Title : Spanish Idioms Proverbs and Slang of Yesterday and Today
✏Author : Juan Serrano
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 1999
✏Pages : 196
✏ISBN : STANFORD:36105023108413
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Spanish Idioms Proverbs and Slang of Yesterday and Today Book Summary : This book is loosely divided into three sections. The first section of this book explores the background and history of proverbs in Spain by giving examples and by analysing modern day slang and expressions. The second section discusses the importance of proverbs in Spanish literature and the oral tradition. In the third section, the book explains the 'who, when and where' of many well-known Spanish sayings.

✏Book Title : Abstracts of Folklore Studies
✏Author :
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 1974
✏Pages :
✏ISBN : IND:30000108628326
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Abstracts of Folklore Studies Book Summary :

📒Diamond River ✍ Sadio Garavini di Turno

✏Book Title : Diamond River
✏Author : Sadio Garavini di Turno
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 1963
✏Pages : 186
✏ISBN : UTEXAS:059173018655682
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Diamond River Book Summary : Autobiographical account of an Italian baron's adventures with a polygamous tribe in Venezuela where he searched for, and finally found a fortune in diamonds.

📒The Savage Frontier ✍ Matthew Carr

✏Book Title : The Savage Frontier
✏Author : Matthew Carr
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 2018-11-13
✏Pages : 288
✏ISBN : 1620974274
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Savage Frontier Book Summary : A sweeping historical travelogue of the contentious border of France and Spain, in the great tradition of Bruce Chatwin and Jan Morris With the Catalonia crisis making international headlines, the unique cultural and geographic region bordering Spain and France has once again moved to the center of the world's attention. In The Savage Frontier, acclaimed author and journalist Matthew Carr uncovers the fascinating, multilayered story of the Pyrenees region--at once a forbidding, mountainous frontier zone of stunning beauty, home to a unique culture, and a site of sharp conflict between nations and empires. Carr follows the routes taken by monks, soldiers, poets, pilgrims, and refugees. He examines the people and events that have shaped the Pyrenees across the centuries, with a cast of characters including Napoleon, Hannibal, and Charlemagne; the eccentric British climber Henry Russell; Francisco Sabaté Llopart, the Catalan anarchist who waged a lone war against the Franco regime across the Pyrenees for years after the civil war; Camino de Santiago pilgrims; and the cellist Pablo Casals, who spent twenty-three years in exile only a few miles from the Spanish border to show his disgust and disapproval of the Spanish regime. The Savage Frontier is a book that will spark a new awareness and appreciation of one of the most haunting, magical, and dramatic landscapes on earth.