The Devils Of Cardona

📒The Devils Of Cardona ✍ Matthew Carr

✏Book Title : The Devils of Cardona
✏Author : Matthew Carr
✏Publisher : Penguin
✏Release Date : 2016-06-14
✏Pages : 416
✏ISBN : 9781101982754
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Devils of Cardona Book Summary : "A thrilling quest for justice... [A] novel that is as exciting as it is enlightening from its first pages to its satisfying end.” —The New York Times Book Review “A page-turner in the proper sense… Mr. Carr has written a gripping and enjoyable novel.” —The Wall Street Journal The gripping story of the dangerous high-stakes worlds of politics and religion in sixteenth-century Spain as a mysterious Muslim killer retaliates against the Catholic Church. In March 1584, the priest of Belamar de la Sierra, a small town in Aragon near the French border, is murdered in his own church. Most of the town’s inhabitants are Moriscos, former Muslims who converted to Catholicism. Anxious to avert a violent backlash on the eve of a royal visit, an adviser to King Philip II appoints local magistrate Bernardo de Mendoza to investigate. A soldier and humanist, Mendoza doesn’t always live up to the moral standards expected of court officials, but he has a reputation for incorruptibility. From the beginning, Mendoza finds almost universal hatred for the priest. And it isn’t long before he’s drawn into a complex and dangerous world in which greed, fanaticism, and state policy overlap. And as the killings continue, Mendoza's investigation is overshadowed by the real prospect of an ethnic and religious civil war. By turns an involving historical thriller and a novel with parallels to our own time, The Devils of Cardona is an unexpected and compelling read.

📒The Devil S Necktie ✍ John Lansing

✏Book Title : The Devil s Necktie
✏Author : John Lansing
✏Publisher : Simon and Schuster
✏Release Date : 2012-12-31
✏Pages : 384
✏ISBN : 9781451698343
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Devil s Necktie Book Summary : A sizzling thriller for fans of James Patterson and Patricia Cornwell—an exciting tour into the real-life world of cops, crime, drugs, and murder. Retired inspector Jack Bertolino had strict rules when dealing with confidential informants. But Mia had the kind of beauty that could make a grown man contemplate leaving his wife, his job, and his kids. After a passionate night together, Mia is found murdered—and Jack is the lead suspect. Facing threats from the LAPD, the 18th Street Angels, and a Colombian drug cartel, Jack delves deeper into the seedy world of drug dealers and murderers and discovers that the top players knew Mia personally. And now Jack is torn between fearing for his life and seeking revenge for his slain lover….either way, the body count will rise.

📒At The Devil S Table ✍ William C. Rempel

✏Book Title : At the Devil s Table
✏Author : William C. Rempel
✏Publisher : Random House
✏Release Date : 2011-06-21
✏Pages : 368
✏ISBN : 9780679604877
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏At the Devil s Table Book Summary : In this riveting and relentless nonfiction thriller, award-winning investigative reporter William C. Rempel tells the harrowing story of former Cali cartel insider Jorge Salcedo, an ordinary man facing an extraordinary dilemma—a man forced to risk everything to escape the powerful and treacherous Cali crime syndicate. Colombia in the 1990s is a country in chaos, as a weak government battles guerrilla movements and narco-traffickers, including the notorious Pablo Escobar and his rivals in the Cali cartel. Enter Jorge Salcedo, a part-time soldier, a gifted engineer, a respected businessman and family man—and a man who despises Pablo Escobar for patriotic and deeply personal reasons. He is introduced to the godfathers of the Cali cartel, who are at war with Escobar and desperately want their foe dead. With mixed feelings, Jorge agrees to help them. Once inside, Jorge rises to become head of security for Miguel Rodríguez Orejuela, principal godfather of the $7-billion-a-year Cali drug cartel. Jorge tries to turn a blind eye to the violence, corruption, and brutality that surround him, and he struggles privately to preserve his integrity even as he is drawn deeper into the web of cartel operations. Then comes an order from the godfathers that he can’t obey—but can’t refuse. Jorge realizes that his only way out is to bring down the biggest, richest crime syndicate of all time. Thus begins a heart-pumping roller-coaster ride of intensifying peril. Secretly aided by a pair of young American DEA agents, Jorge races time and cartel assassins to extract damaging evidence, help capture the fugitive godfather, and save the life of a witness targeted for murder. Through it all, death lurks a single misstep away. William C. Rempel is the only reporter with access to this story and to Jorge, who remains in hiding somewhere in the United States—even the author doesn’t know where—but has revealed his experience in gripping detail. Salcedo’s is the story of one extraordinary ordinary man forced to risk everything to end a nightmare of his own making.

📒Blond Cargo ✍ John Lansing

✏Book Title : Blond Cargo
✏Author : John Lansing
✏Publisher : Simon and Schuster
✏Release Date : 2015-04-25
✏Pages : 384
✏ISBN : 9781501110283
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Blond Cargo Book Summary : Jack Bertolino's son, Chris, was the victim of a brutal murder attempt and Vincent Cardona, a mafia boss, provided information that helped Jack take down the perpetrator of the crime. Jack accepted the favor knowing there'd be blowback. In "Blond Cargo" the mobster's daughter has gone missing and Cardona turned in his chit. Jack discovers that the young, blond, mafia princess has been kidnapped and imprisoned while rich, politically connected men negotiate her value as a sex slave.

📒Plays Of The Year ✍ John Courtenay Trewin

✏Book Title : Plays of the Year
✏Author : John Courtenay Trewin
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 1970
✏Pages :
✏ISBN : UCSC:32106006433640
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Plays of the Year Book Summary :

📒The Devil On Screen ✍ Charles P. Mitchell

✏Book Title : The Devil on Screen
✏Author : Charles P. Mitchell
✏Publisher : McFarland Publishing
✏Release Date : 2002
✏Pages : 337
✏ISBN : 0786410493
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Devil on Screen Book Summary : The Devil has been represented in many film genres, including horror, comedy, the musical, fantasy, satire, drama, and the religious epic, and in these works has assumed many shapes and forms. This work explores in detail feature films from the year 1913 through the year 2000 that depict the Devil. It begins with an overview that discusses how the devil has been portrayed on stage, how that portrayal carried over to the big screen, and what are the standard elements of a satanic plot. Each entry in the filmography includes such particulars as the year of production, running time, and the names of the writer, editor, cinematographer, producer, and director. An evaluative rating, annotated cast list, plot synopsis, and film appraisal are also provided for each film, as well as a spotlight on the performance of the actor playing the role of Satan.

✏Book Title : The Rivals and Tracy s Ambition
✏Author : Gerald Griffin
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 1851
✏Pages : 287
✏ISBN : MINN:31951002376330J
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Rivals and Tracy s Ambition Book Summary :

✏Book Title : A Critical Modern spelling Edition of the 1629 Quarto of The Wedding
✏Author : James Shirley
✏Publisher : Dissertations-G
✏Release Date : 1980
✏Pages : 329
✏ISBN : UOM:39015013356343
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏A Critical Modern spelling Edition of the 1629 Quarto of The Wedding Book Summary :

✏Book Title : Spanish Idioms Proverbs and Slang of Yesterday and Today
✏Author : Juan Serrano
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 1999
✏Pages : 196
✏ISBN : STANFORD:36105023108413
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Spanish Idioms Proverbs and Slang of Yesterday and Today Book Summary : This book is loosely divided into three sections. The first section of this book explores the background and history of proverbs in Spain by giving examples and by analysing modern day slang and expressions. The second section discusses the importance of proverbs in Spanish literature and the oral tradition. In the third section, the book explains the 'who, when and where' of many well-known Spanish sayings.

✏Book Title : Abstracts of Folklore Studies
✏Author :
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 1974
✏Pages :
✏ISBN : IND:30000108628326
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Abstracts of Folklore Studies Book Summary :