The Canterbury Trail

✏Book Title : Evangelicals on the Canterbury Trail
✏Author : Robert Webber
✏Publisher : Church Publishing, Inc.
✏Release Date : 2013-01-01
✏Pages : 208
✏ISBN : 9780819228529
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Evangelicals on the Canterbury Trail Book Summary : Why do so many evangelicals flock to liturgical traditions today? An updated edition of the classic study. With new testimonies from evangelicals who have joined the Anglican fold and discussion of the emerging/missional church movement, and an update to the conversation by evangelical scholar and pastor Lester Ruth, this thoughtful and engaging book reviews Anglicanism’s six great gifts: mystery and awe, Christ-centered worship, sacramental reality, historical identity, participation in catholic traditions and holistic spirituality. In this edition, Ruth adds fresh stories from evangelicals who have followed Robert Webber’s footsteps on the Canterbury trail, along with new essays that highlight the diversity of Anglican expressions today.

📒The Canterbury Trail ✍ Angie Abdou

✏Book Title : The Canterbury Trail
✏Author : Angie Abdou
✏Publisher : Brindle and Glass
✏Release Date : 2011
✏Pages : 277
✏ISBN : 9781897142509
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Canterbury Trail Book Summary : The Canterbury Trail brings together a motley collection of ski bums, hippies, yuppies, poseurs and snowmobile-riding rednecks on a late winter trip into the mountains around the fictional Coalton, B.C. Coalton is a close fit with Abdou's home of Fernie, a powder-skiing haven that uneasily combines an economic base of coal mining with a mountain escape for Calgary's moneyed classes.

✏Book Title : The Canterbury Sisters
✏Author : Kim Wright
✏Publisher : Simon and Schuster
✏Release Date : 2015-05-19
✏Pages : 336
✏ISBN : 9781501100802
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Canterbury Sisters Book Summary : In the vein of Jojo Moyes and Cheryl Strayed’s Wild, a warm and touching novel about a woman who embarks on a pilgrimage to Canterbury Cathedral after losing her mother, sharing life lessons—in the best Chaucer tradition—with eight other women along the way, from the author of the upcoming novel Last Ride to Graceland. Che Milan’s life is falling apart. Not only has her longtime lover abruptly dumped her, but her eccentric, demanding mother has recently died. When an urn of ashes arrives, along with a note reminding Che of a half-forgotten promise to take her mother to Canterbury, Che finds herself reluctantly undertaking a pilgrimage. Within days she joins a group of women who are walking the sixty miles from London to the shrine of Becket in Canterbury Cathedral, reputed to be the site of miracles. In the best Chaucer tradition, the women swap stories as they walk, each vying to see who can best describe true love. Che, who is a perfectionist and workaholic, loses her cell phone at the first stop and is forced to slow down and really notice the world around her, perhaps for the first time in years. Through her adventures along the trail, Che finds herself opening up to new possibilities in life and discovers that the miracles of Canterbury can take surprising forms.

✏Book Title : The Great Tradition A Great Labour
✏Author : Philip Harrold
✏Publisher : ISD LLC
✏Release Date : 2012-05-31
✏Pages : 124
✏ISBN : 9780718840709
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Great Tradition A Great Labour Book Summary : At a recent conference entitled Ancient Wisdom-Anglican Futures, theologians from across the denominational spectrum considered the question, What does it mean to inhabit the 'Great Tradition' authentically? As an expression of what C. S. Lewis called Deep Church, Anglicanism offers a test case of Tradition with a capital T in late modernity. Of particular interest is the highly dynamic transmission that has preserved a recognizable Anglican Way over the centuries. The process has been enlivened through constant negotiation and exchange with surprising convergences that have brought new life and direction. The contributors to this volume show how profitable and commodious (as Richard Hooker has said) the Great Tradition can be innurturing the worship, communal life, and mission of the Church. But it often demonstrates how hard it is to uphold the varied integrities of historic faith in the contemporary marketplace of religion and, especially, among evangelicals who continueto follow the Canterbury Trail.

✏Book Title : Walking to Canterbury
✏Author : Jerry Ellis
✏Publisher : Ballantine Books
✏Release Date : 2007-12-18
✏Pages : 320
✏ISBN : 9780307417664
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Walking to Canterbury Book Summary : More than six hundred years ago, the Archbishop of Canterbury was murdered by King Henry II’s knights. Before the Archbishop’s blood dried on the Cathedral floor, the miracles began. The number of pilgrims visiting his shrine in the Middle Ages was so massive that the stone floor wore thin where they knelt to pray. They came seeking healing, penance, or a sign from God. Chaucer’s The Canterbury Tales, one of the greatest, most enduring works of English literature, is a bigger-than-life drama based on the experience of the medieval pilgrim. Power, politics, friendship, betrayal, martyrdom, miracles, and stories all had a place on the sixty mile path from London to Canterbury, known as the Pilgrim’s Way. Walking to Canterbury is Jerry Ellis’s moving and fascinating account of his own modern pilgrimage along that famous path. Filled with incredible details about medieval life, Ellis’s tale strikingly juxtaposes the contemporary world he passes through on his long hike with the history that peeks out from behind an ancient stone wall or a church. Carrying everything he needs on his back, Ellis stops at pubs and taverns for food and shelter and trades tales with the truly captivating people he meets along the way, just as the pilgrims from the twelfth century would have done. Embarking on a journey that is spiritual and historical, Ellis reveals the wonders of an ancient trek through modern England toward the ultimate goal: enlightenment.

📒Common Roots ✍ Robert E. Webber

✏Book Title : Common Roots
✏Author : Robert E. Webber
✏Publisher : Zondervan
✏Release Date : 2009-09-22
✏Pages : 288
✏ISBN : 9780310322559
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Common Roots Book Summary : Common Roots turns the searchlight of historic Christianity on twenty-first-century evangelicalism. Originally published in 1978 as a clarion call to all evangelicals, this reprint presents Webber’s thoughts to a new generation and includes a foreword by David Neff, the executive director of the center that pays tribute to Webber’s work and supports the ancient-future faith movement.Webber’s primary concern is to uncover the roots of evangelical Christianity. In so doing, he looks critically at beliefs and practices of contemporary evangelicalism that are out of harmony with historic Christianity.Webber argues that examining the era of the early church (A.D. 100–500), and particularly the second century, offers insights that evangelicals need to recover for worship, theology, mission, and spirituality. Chapters highlight a problem, investigate the belief and practice of the early church, and suggest an agenda for evangelical Christianity.Common Roots is required reading for anyone interested in the ancient-future faith movement, the writings and thought of Robert Webber, or evangelicalism’s relationship to history.

✏Book Title : The Via Francigena Canterbury to Rome Part 2
✏Author : Alison Raju
✏Publisher : Cicerone Press Limited
✏Release Date : 2014-01-20
✏Pages : 336
✏ISBN : 9781783620128
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Via Francigena Canterbury to Rome Part 2 Book Summary : This comprehensive guidebook covers the second half of the Via Francigena - a 1900km pilgrim route that crosses Europe from Canterbury to Rome. From the halfway point at the Great St Bernard Pass in the Alps, this book splits the second half of the pilgrimage into five sections (with further start points in Vercelli, Passo della Cisa, Lucca and Siena) and concludes by arriving at St Peter's Square in Rome. All five start points are places where pilgrims can easily reach or leave the route by means of public transport, should they wish to tackle the journey in shorter stages. Illustrated with clear, original sketch maps and colour photographs, the step-by-step route description also includes detailed information about historical sites and all facilities available along the way.

📒The Trail Of History ✍ Titus Mooney Merriman

✏Book Title : The Trail of History
✏Author : Titus Mooney Merriman
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 1875
✏Pages : 520
✏ISBN : CHI:090403866
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Trail of History Book Summary :

✏Book Title : The Trail of History Or History of Religion and Empire in Parallel
✏Author : Titus Mooney Merriman
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 1863
✏Pages : 520
✏ISBN : UOM:39015074816730
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Trail of History Or History of Religion and Empire in Parallel Book Summary :

📒Liturgy In The Christian Church ✍ MIchelle DeFrancesco Bythrow

✏Book Title : Liturgy in the Christian Church
✏Author : MIchelle DeFrancesco Bythrow
✏Publisher : Lulu.com
✏Release Date :
✏Pages :
✏ISBN : 9781105063862
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Liturgy in the Christian Church Book Summary :