The Beekeeper Of Aleppo

📒The Beekeeper Of Aleppo ✍ Christy Lefteri

✏Book Title : The Beekeeper of Aleppo
✏Author : Christy Lefteri
✏Publisher : Ballantine Books
✏Release Date : 2019-08-27
✏Pages : 336
✏ISBN : 9780593128169
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Beekeeper of Aleppo Book Summary : This unforgettable novel puts human faces on the Syrian war with the immigrant story of a beekeeper, his wife, and the triumph of spirit when the world becomes unrecognizable. “A beautifully crafted novel of international significance that has the capacity to have us open our eyes and see.”—Heather Morris, author of The Tattooist of Auschwitz FINALIST FOR THE ASPEN WORDS LITERARY PRIZE • NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY REAL SIMPLE Nuri is a beekeeper and Afra, his wife, is an artist. Mornings, Nuri rises early to hear the call to prayer before driving to his hives in the countryside. On weekends, Afra sells her colorful landscape paintings at the open-air market. They live a simple life, rich in family and friends, in the hills of the beautiful Syrian city of Aleppo—until the unthinkable happens. When all they love is destroyed by war, Nuri knows they have no choice except to leave their home. But escaping Syria will be no easy task: Afra has lost her sight, leaving Nuri to navigate her grief as well as a perilous journey through Turkey and Greece toward an uncertain future in Britain. Nuri is sustained only by the knowledge that waiting for them is his cousin Mustafa, who has started an apiary in Yorkshire and is teaching fellow refugees beekeeping. As Nuri and Afra travel through a broken world, they must confront not only the pain of their own unspeakable loss but dangers that would overwhelm even the bravest souls. Above all, they must make the difficult journey back to each other, a path once so familiar yet rendered foreign by the heartache of displacement. Moving, intimate, and beautifully written, The Beekeeper of Aleppo is a book for our times: a novel that at once reminds us that the most peaceful and ordinary lives can be utterly upended in unimaginable ways and brings a journey in faraway lands close to home, never to be forgotten. Praise for The Beekeeper of Aleppo “This book dips below the deafening headlines, and tells a true story with subtlety and power.”—Esther Freud, author of Mr. Mac and Me “This compelling tale had me gripped with its compassion, its sensual style, and its onward and lively urge for resolution.”—Daljit Nagra, author of British Museum “This novel speaks to so much that is happening in the world today. It’s intelligent, thoughtful, and relevant, but very importantly it is accessible. I’m recommending this book to everyone I care about.”—Benjamin Zephaniah, author of Refugee Boy

✏Book Title : A Watermelon a Fish and a Bible
✏Author : Christy Lefteri
✏Publisher : Hachette UK
✏Release Date : 2010-07-01
✏Pages : 304
✏ISBN : 9781849165730
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏A Watermelon a Fish and a Bible Book Summary : A moving novel of love and war by the author of The Beekeeper of Aleppo It is July 1974 and on a bright, sunny morning, the Turkish army has invaded the town of Kyrenia in Cyprus. For many people, this means an end to life as they know it. But for some, it is a chance to begin living again. Everyone has always talked about Koki. They never believed she was her father's daughter and her mother died too soon to quiet their wagging tongues. And when she became pregnant and there was no sign of a husband, her fate was sealed. So she lives outside the town and hides from her neighbours' eyes. But, held captive with the very women who have made her life so lonely, Koki is finally able to tell them the truth. To talk of the Turkish shoe-maker who came to the town and took her heart away with him when he left. And how she has longed for him all these years. Meanwhile, Adem Berker finds himself back in Kyrenia, his former home, now as a member of the invading force. Here he left everything he ever wanted and, by cover of darkness, risking his life, he is searching every house, every cafe, every old pathway, for just a glimpse of the only woman he has ever loved. For readers of The Island, The Book Thief and The Kite Runner.

📒The Women At Hitler S Table ✍ Rosella Postorino

✏Book Title : The Women at Hitler s Table
✏Author : Rosella Postorino
✏Publisher : HarperCollins
✏Release Date : 2019-08-01
✏Pages : 352
✏ISBN : 9780008377298
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Women at Hitler s Table Book Summary : ‘A disturbing, powerful and beautifully written novel based on shockingly real events’ Christy Lefteri, author of The Beekeeper of Aleppo The International Bestseller

📒The Beekeeper Of Sinjar ✍ Dunya Mikhail

✏Book Title : The Beekeeper of Sinjar
✏Author : Dunya Mikhail
✏Publisher : Serpent's Tail
✏Release Date : 2018-08-02
✏Pages : 209
✏ISBN : 9781782834809
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Beekeeper of Sinjar Book Summary : In The Beekeeper of Sinjar, the acclaimed poet and journalist Dunya Mikhail tells the harrowing stories of women from across Iraq who have managed to escape the clutches of ISIS. Since 2014, ISIS has been persecuting the Yazidi people, killing or enslaving those who won't convert to Islam. These women have lost their families and loved ones, along with everything they've ever known. Dunya Mikhail weaves together the women's tales of endurance and near-impossible escape with the story of her own exile and her dreams for the future of Iraq. In the midst of ISIS's reign of terror and hatred, an unlikely hero has emerged: the Beekeeper. Once a trader selling his mountain honey across the region, when ISIS came to Sinjar he turned his knowledge of the local terrain to another, more dangerous use. Along with a secret network of transporters, helpers, and former bootleggers, Abdullah Shrem smuggles brutalised Yazidi women to safety through the war-torn landscapes of Iraq, Syria, and Eastern Turkey. This powerful work of literary nonfiction offers a counterpoint to ISIS's genocidal extremism: hope, as ordinary people risk torture and death to save the lives of others.

✏Book Title : Our Bodies Their Battlefield What War Does to Women
✏Author : Christina Lamb
✏Publisher : HarperCollins UK
✏Release Date : 2020-03-05
✏Pages : 432
✏ISBN : 9780008300029
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Our Bodies Their Battlefield What War Does to Women Book Summary : ‘A wake-up call ... These women’s stories will make you weep, and then rage at the world's indifference.’ Amal Clooney From award-winning war reporter and co-author of I Am Malala, this is the first major account to address the scale of rape and sexual violence in modern conflict.

✏Book Title : The Stationery Shop of Tehran
✏Author : Marjan Kamali
✏Publisher : Simon and Schuster
✏Release Date : 2019-11-28
✏Pages : 400
✏ISBN : 9781471185021
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Stationery Shop of Tehran Book Summary : *** If you read The Little Coffee Shop of Kabul and enjoyed The Beekeeper of Aleppo, you will love The Stationery Shop of Tehran *** 1953, Tehran. In a small shop in a country on the brink of unrest, two people meet for the very first time. Roya loves nothing better than to while away the hours in the stationery shop run by Mr Fakhri. The store, stocked with fountain pens, shiny ink bottles, and thick wads of writing paper, also carries translations of literature from all over the world. Bahman, with his burning passion for justice, is like no one else she has ever met. But all around them, as their relationship blossoms, life in Tehran is changing. Suddenly, shockingly, violence erupts: a coup d'etat that forever changes their country's future, as well as their own. Marjan Kamali's beautiful novel explores themes of love and loss, and delivers and unforgettable ending. ‘An enchanting romance’ MY WEEKLY ‘Simultaneously briskly paced and deeply moving, this will appeal to fans of Khaled Hosseini and should find a wide audience’ BOOKLIST ‘Evocative, devastating, and hauntingly beautiful… This book broke my heart again and again’ Whitney Scharer, author of THE AGE OF LIGHT ‘What a pleasure — a novel that is all at once masterfully plotted, beautifully written, and populated by characters who are arresting, lovable and so real’ Elinor Lipman, author of TURPENTINE LANE ‘A beautiful and sensitive novel that I loved from the first page’ Alyson Richman, international bestselling author of THE LOST WIFE ‘A beautifully immersive tale … brings to life a lost and complex world and the captivating characters who once called it home’ Jasmin Darznik, New York Times bestselling author of THE GOOD DAUGHTER and SONG OF A CAPTIVE BIRD ‘A sweeping romantic tale of thwarted love’ KIRKUS REVIEWS ‘The unfurling stories… will stun readers… For those who enjoy getting caught up in romance while discovering unfamiliar history of another country’ LIBRARY JOURNAL ‘Grab your tissues' BOSTON MAGAZINE ‘A tender story of enduring love.’ MINNEAPOLIS STAR TRIBUNE ‘I! Am! Obsessed! With! This! Book!’ COSMOPOLITAN.COM

✏Book Title : Western Canada Beekeeper
✏Author :
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 1948
✏Pages :
✏ISBN : CORNELL:31924070839612
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Western Canada Beekeeper Book Summary :

✏Book Title : Scottish Beekeeper
✏Author :
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 1967
✏Pages :
✏ISBN : UCAL:$B229600
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Scottish Beekeeper Book Summary :

✏Book Title : Dr Chase s Family Physician Farrier Bee keeper and Second Receipt Book
✏Author : Alvin Wood Chase
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 1873
✏Pages : 644
✏ISBN : UOM:39015071591500
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Dr Chase s Family Physician Farrier Bee keeper and Second Receipt Book Book Summary :

✏Book Title : Entomology Abstracts
✏Author :
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 1989
✏Pages :
✏ISBN : UOM:39015018684756
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Entomology Abstracts Book Summary :