The Accidental Life

📒The Accidental Life ✍ Terry McDonell

✏Book Title : The Accidental Life
✏Author : Terry McDonell
✏Publisher : Vintage
✏Release Date : 2016-08-02
✏Pages : 384
✏ISBN : 9781101946725
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Accidental Life Book Summary : An Amazon Best Book of 2016 A celebration of the writing and editing life, as well as a look behind the scenes at some of the most influential magazines in America (and the writers who made them what they are). You might not know Terry McDonell, but you certainly know his work. Among the magazines he has top-edited: Outside, Rolling Stone, Esquire, and Sports Illustrated. In this revealing memoir, McDonell talks about what really happens when editors and writers work with deadlines ticking (or drinks on the bar). His stories about the people and personalities he’s known are both heartbreaking and bitingly funny—playing “acid golf” with Hunter S. Thompson, practicing brinksmanship with David Carr and Steve Jobs, working the European fashion scene with Liz Tilberis, pitching TV pilots with Richard Price. Here, too, is an expert’s practical advice on how to recruit—and keep—high-profile talent; what makes a compelling lede; how to grow online traffic that translates into dollars; and how, in whatever format, on whatever platform, a good editor really works, and what it takes to write well. Taking us from the raucous days of New Journalism to today’s digital landscape, McDonell argues that the need for clear storytelling from trustworthy news sources has never been stronger. Says Jeffrey Eugenides: “Every time I run into Terry, I think how great it would be to have dinner with him. Hear about the writers he's known and edited over the years, what the magazine business was like back then, how it's changed and where it's going, inside info about Edward Abbey, Jim Harrison, Annie Proulx, old New York, and the Swimsuit issue. That dinner is this book.”

📒The Accidental Life Swap ✍ Jennifer Joyce

✏Book Title : The Accidental Life Swap
✏Author : Jennifer Joyce
✏Publisher : HarperCollins UK
✏Release Date : 2019-09-01
✏Pages : 384
✏ISBN : 9780008348656
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Accidental Life Swap Book Summary : Sometimes one moment can change your life forever...

✏Book Title : The Accidental Life of Jessie Jefferson
✏Author : Paige Toon
✏Publisher : Simon and Schuster
✏Release Date : 2014-01-30
✏Pages : 336
✏ISBN : 9781471118791
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Accidental Life of Jessie Jefferson Book Summary : From Sunday Times bestselling author Paige Toon comes the first novel in a witty new series, perfect for fans of Geek Girl and Girl Online! Meet Jessie, small-town girl turned wild child… Jessie has never known her real dad, and when her mum dies she thinks any hope of finding him is gone. As she goes off the rails and her life devolves into a wild mess, her stepdad announces that her father is Johnny Jefferson—legendary rock star and former hell-raiser. Still dealing with her loss, and now the daughter of a superstar, Jessie is sucked into the LA lifestyle—paparazzi, parties, and hot guitar-wielding boys included. But is Johnny up to the job of fatherhood? And, more importantly, is Jessie ready for life in the spotlight? “Fun and flirty, Jessie Jefferson is a top-notch series YA fans should grab ASAP.” —Maximum Pop!

📒No Lifeguard On Duty ✍ Janice Dickinson

✏Book Title : No Lifeguard on Duty
✏Author : Janice Dickinson
✏Publisher : Harper Collins
✏Release Date : 2009-10-13
✏Pages : 320
✏ISBN : 9780061750847
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏No Lifeguard on Duty Book Summary : No Lifeguard on Duty is the ultimate memoir of sex, drugs, rock & roll, and redemption from modeling icon Janice Dickinson. From her supermodel glory days with Gia Carangi and Christie Brinkley to nights with Warren Beatty, Jack Nicholson, and Sylvester Stallone; from a dizzying drug and alcohol habit to three failed marriages; from cavorting around the globe to struggling to make it in Los Angeles as a working mom on America’s Next Top Model and The Janice Dickinson Modeling Agency, Janice tells all.

📒An Accidental Life ✍ Pamela Binnings Ewen

✏Book Title : An Accidental Life
✏Author : Pamela Binnings Ewen
✏Publisher : B&H Publishing Group
✏Release Date : 2013-09-01
✏Pages : 368
✏ISBN : 9781433680816
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏An Accidental Life Book Summary : In a 1982 New Orleans courtroom the best kept secret in the world is about to unravel, and a young couple's jet set lives are about to change. Senior district attorney Peter Jacobs is facing the trial of a lifetime, a passionate, spiritual battle against an evil with far reaching consequences. His beloved wife Rebecca, a glamorous and driven partner at a major law firm, suddenly finds her life spun out of control and her new faith tested while facing a once in a lifetime choice. New from lawyer-turned-novelist Pamela binnings Ewen, An Accidental Life is fiction based on fact: the testimony of registered nurse Jill Stanek before a U.S. Congressional Committee confirming that it was routine for doctors in Chicago's Christ Hospital to have nurses take infants born alive during abortions down to a "soiled utility room" and leave them to die. Stanek's testimony led Congress to enact the Born Alive Infant Protection Act of 2001, a federal-only law that still does not bind state run hospitals or private clinics. The fact remains that what happens to abortion survivors is one of the best kept secrets in the world.

✏Book Title : Little Prince The Accidental Life of a Lucky Orphan
✏Author : Kal Wagenheim
✏Publisher : WingSpan Press
✏Release Date : 2014-12-01
✏Pages : 368
✏ISBN : 1595945490
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Little Prince The Accidental Life of a Lucky Orphan Book Summary : In 1937, during the Great Depression, the young mother of a two-year-old boy died while giving birth to a baby girl, and the boy's father, victim of severe depression, abandoned the family, leaving the boy an orphan. More than seven decades later, the author, in this personal memoir, relates how he was raised with much love by his late mother's family, and has led a happy, productive life.

✏Book Title : The Accidental Life of Greg Millar
✏Author : Aimee Alexander
✏Publisher : Lake Union Publishing
✏Release Date : 2016-04-26
✏Pages :
✏ISBN : 1503934187
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Accidental Life of Greg Millar Book Summary : Lucy Arigho's first encounter with Greg Millar is far from promising, but she soon realises he possesses a charm that is impossible to resist. Just eight whirlwind weeks after their first meeting, level-headed career girl Lucy is seriously considering his pleas to marry him and asking herself if she could really be stepmother material. But before Lucy can make a final decision about becoming part of Greg's world, events plunge her right into it. On holiday in the South of France, things start to unravel. Her future stepchildren won't accept her, the interfering nanny resents her, and they're stuck in a heat wave that won't let up. And then there's Greg. His behaviour becomes increasingly bizarre and Lucy begins to wonder whether his larger-than-life personality hides something darker--and whether she knows him at all.

📒An Accidental Life ✍ L. Jordan

✏Book Title : An Accidental Life
✏Author : L. Jordan
✏Publisher : iUniverse
✏Release Date : 2007-03
✏Pages : 120
✏ISBN : 9780595438105
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏An Accidental Life Book Summary : These are stories of an Ireland that existed long before the advent of the "Celtic Tiger," which brought with it all the woes that modern industrialization has to offer. Whether or not Ireland is better for this burgeoning economy is open for discussion, although she has not lost generosity or sociability, always her greatest asset. These are stories about what Yeats called "the foul rag-and-bone shop of the heart."

📒An Accidental Life ✍ Titia Sutherland

✏Book Title : An Accidental Life
✏Author : Titia Sutherland
✏Publisher : Severn House Pub Limited
✏Release Date : 1999
✏Pages : 240
✏ISBN : 0727822799
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏An Accidental Life Book Summary : Accident or suicide? On a stark and cold January day, Philip Stavely, successful actor, screenwriter and family man, was killed during a shooting party, leaving behind his wife and three children. The inquest brought a verdict of accidental death and a legacy of doubt for Philip's widow, Ellie, who could not shake the feeling that her husband's death was suicide. They had always enjoyed a close relationship even throughout the difficult periods on their marriage, but in the months leading up to his death, Ellie had felt Philip growing away from her, becoming a stranger. Ellie believes that the truth behind the accident lies in understanding the changes in Philip's behaviour, and she begins to discover who Philip had become, knowing that coming to terms with the past will be the only way to face the future..

📒The Accidental Masterpiece ✍ Michael Kimmelman

✏Book Title : The Accidental Masterpiece
✏Author : Michael Kimmelman
✏Publisher : Penguin
✏Release Date : 2006-07-25
✏Pages : 256
✏ISBN : 9781101666944
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Accidental Masterpiece Book Summary : A New York Times bestseller—a dazzling and inspirational survey of how art can be found and appreciated in everyday life Michael Kimmelman, the prominent New York Times writer and a regular contributor to The New York Review of Books, is known as a deep and graceful writer across the disciplines of art and music and also as a pianist who understands something about the artist's sensibility from the inside. Readers have come to expect him not only to fill in their knowledge about art but also to inspire them to think about connections between art and the larger world - which is to say, to think more like an artist. Kimmelman's many years of contemplating and writing about art have brought him to this wise, wide-ranging, and long-awaited book. It explores art as life's great passion, revealing what we can learn of life through pictures and sculptures and the people who make them. It assures us that art - points of contact with the exceptional that are linked straight to the heart - can be found almost anywhere and everywhere if only our eyes are opened enough to recognize it. Kimmelman regards art, like all serious human endeavors, as a passage through which a larger view of life may come more clearly into focus. His book is a kind of adventure or journey. It carries the message that many of us may not yet have learned how to recognize the art in our own lives. To do so is something of an art itself. A few of the characters Kimmelman describes, like Bonnard and Chardin, are great artists. But others are explorers and obscure obsessives, paint-by-numbers enthusiasts, amateur shutterbugs, and collectors of strange odds and ends. Yet others, like Charlotte Solomon, a girl whom no one considered much of an artist but who secretly created a masterpiece about the world before her death in Auschwitz, have reserved spots for themselves in history, or not, with a single work that encapsulates a whole life. Kimmelman reminds us of the Wunderkammer, the cabinet of wonders - the rage in seventeenth-century Europe and a metaphor for the art of life. Each drawer of the cabinet promises something curious and exotic, instructive and beautiful, the cabinet being a kind of ideal, self-contained universe that makes order out of the chaos of the world. The Accidental Masterpiece is a kind of literary Wunderkammer, filled with lively surprises and philosophical musings. It will inspire readers to imagine their own personal cabinet of wonders.