Tattooist Of Auschwitz Ebook Free

📒The Tattooist Of Auschwitz ✍ Heather Morris

✏Book Title : The Tattooist of Auschwitz
✏Author : Heather Morris
✏Publisher : HarperCollins
✏Release Date : 2018-09-04
✏Pages : 288
✏ISBN : 9780062797162
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Tattooist of Auschwitz Book Summary : The #1 International Bestseller & New York Times Bestseller This beautiful, illuminating tale of hope and courage is based on interviews that were conducted with Holocaust survivor and Auschwitz-Birkenau tattooist Ludwig (Lale) Sokolov—an unforgettable love story in the midst of atrocity. “The Tattooist of Auschwitz is an extraordinary document, a story about the extremes of human behavior existing side by side: calculated brutality alongside impulsive and selfless acts of love. I find it hard to imagine anyone who would not be drawn in, confronted and moved. I would recommend it unreservedly to anyone, whether they’d read a hundred Holocaust stories or none.”—Graeme Simsion, internationally-bestselling author of The Rosie Project In April 1942, Lale Sokolov, a Slovakian Jew, is forcibly transported to the concentration camps at Auschwitz-Birkenau. When his captors discover that he speaks several languages, he is put to work as a Tätowierer (the German word for tattooist), tasked with permanently marking his fellow prisoners. Imprisoned for over two and a half years, Lale witnesses horrific atrocities and barbarism—but also incredible acts of bravery and compassion. Risking his own life, he uses his privileged position to exchange jewels and money from murdered Jews for food to keep his fellow prisoners alive. One day in July 1942, Lale, prisoner 32407, comforts a trembling young woman waiting in line to have the number 34902 tattooed onto her arm. Her name is Gita, and in that first encounter, Lale vows to somehow survive the camp and marry her. A vivid, harrowing, and ultimately hopeful re-creation of Lale Sokolov's experiences as the man who tattooed the arms of thousands of prisoners with what would become one of the most potent symbols of the Holocaust, The Tattooist of Auschwitz is also a testament to the endurance of love and humanity under the darkest possible conditions.

✏Book Title : The True Story of Hansel and Gretel
✏Author : Louise Murphy
✏Publisher : Penguin
✏Release Date : 2003-07-29
✏Pages : 320
✏ISBN : 1101495626
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The True Story of Hansel and Gretel Book Summary : A poignant and suspenseful retelling of a classic fairy tale set in a war-torn world In the last months of the Nazi occupation of Poland, two children are left by their father and stepmother to find safety in a dense forest. Because their real names will reveal their Jewishness, they are renamed "Hansel" and "Gretel." They wander in the woods until they are taken in by Magda, an eccentric and stubborn old woman called "witch" by the nearby villagers. Magda is determined to save them, even as a German officer arrives in the village with his own plans for the children. Louise Murphy’s haunting novel of journey and survival, of redemption and memory, powerfully depicts how war is experienced by families and especially by children. "Lyrical, haunting, unforgettable." —Kirkus Reviews "No reader who picks up this inspiring novel will put it down until the final pages, in which redemption is not a fairy tale ending but a heartening message of hope." —Publishers Weekly From the Trade Paperback edition.

✏Book Title : Tattoos Philosophy for Everyone
✏Author : Robert Arp
✏Publisher : John Wiley & Sons
✏Release Date : 2012-03-20
✏Pages : 224
✏ISBN : 9781118252741
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Tattoos Philosophy for Everyone Book Summary : Covering philosophical issues ranging from tattooed religious symbols to a feminist aesthetics of tattoo, Tattoos and Philosophy offers an enthusiastic analysis of inking that will lead readers to consider the nature of the tattooing arts in a new and profound way. Contains chapters written by philosophers (most all with tattoos themselves), tattoo artists, and tattoo enthusiasts that touch upon many areas in Western and Eastern philosophy Enlightens people to the nature of tattoos and the tattooing arts, leading readers to think deeply about tattoos in new ways Offers thoughtful and humorous insights that make philosophical ideas accessible to the non-philosopher

📒The Jade Lily ✍ Kirsty Manning

✏Book Title : The Jade Lily
✏Author : Kirsty Manning
✏Publisher : Allen & Unwin
✏Release Date : 2018-04-24
✏Pages : 456
✏ISBN : 9781760635640
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Jade Lily Book Summary : Manning renders Shanghai as a riot of flavors, sights, and sounds, its elegance clashing against gritty poverty in this exquisite window into the past.' - Booklist, starred review 'Kirsty Manning has woven, blended, sewn the threads of history, family secrets, the past and the present into a page-turning, beautiful novel. Her talent for researching and writing a seamless dual-narrative story with characters reflecting tragedy and trauma lived, and survived, will enthral and educate. Her approach and style to the multiple cultures and countries reinforces that humanity will rise above evil. The Jade Lily is a story rich in the elements of plot, characters, and unselfish love leading to hope: the last thing to die.' - Heather Morris, author of the bestselling The Tattooist of Auschwitz In 2016, fleeing London with a broken heart, Alexandra returns to Australia to be with her grandparents, Romy and Wilhelm, when her grandfather is dying. With only weeks left together, her grandparents begin to reveal the family mysteries they have kept secret for more than half a century. In 1939, two young girls meet in Shanghai, the 'Paris of the East': beautiful local Li and Viennese refugee Romy form a fierce friendship. But the deepening shadows of World War Two fall over the women as Li and Romy slip between the city's glamorous French Concession and the desperate Shanghai Ghetto. Eventually, they are forced separate ways as Romy doubts Li's loyalties. After Wilhelm dies, Alexandra flies to Shanghai, determined to trace her grandparents' past. As she peels back the layers of their hidden lives, she begins to question everything she knows about her family - and herself. A gorgeously told tale of female friendship, the price of love, and the power of hardship and courage to shape us all. 'This is a rich, sensual, and evocative novel, fragrant with the smell of crushed herbs and flowers, and haunted by the high cost that women must sometimes pay to find both love and their vocation.' Kate Forsyth on The Midsummer Garden '...compelling, passionate and admirable.' Australian Women's Weekly on The Midsummer Garden

📒The Girl I Left Behind ✍ Andie Newton

✏Book Title : The Girl I Left Behind
✏Author : Andie Newton
✏Publisher : Head of Zeus Ltd
✏Release Date : 2019-10-03
✏Pages : 320
✏ISBN : 9781789546682
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Girl I Left Behind Book Summary : 'A captivating story with a twist of romance threaded throughout' Glynis Peters, author of The Secret Orphan. 'A compelling tale of friendship, courage and espionage in a frightening and uncertain world' Charlotte Betts, author of The Dressmaker's Secret. What would you risk to save your best-friend? As a young girl, Ella never considered that those around her weren't as they appeared. But when her childhood best friend shows Ella that you can't always believe what you see, Ella finds herself thrown into the world of the German Resistance. On a dark night in 1941, Claudia is taken by the Gestapo, likely never to be seen again, unless Ella can save her. With the help of the man she loves, Ella must undertake her most dangerous mission yet and infiltrate the Nazi Party. Selling secrets isn't an easy job. In order to find Claudia, Ella must risk not only her life, but the lives of those she cares about. Will Ella be able to leave behind the girl of her youth and step into the shoes of another? Perfect for fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz, The German Midwife and Kate Furnivall. Praise for The Girl I Left Behind: 'Wonderful story where it has you on the edge of your seat but have the tissues with you!' NetGalley Reviewer. 'The author has a gift for creating a sense of place whether the setting was on a snowy mountain or the streets of Germany in the early 1940s' NetGalley Reviewer. 'A story of young rebels of the resistance. Trying to through the Nazi Government. They'll do anything they need to to survive and help others survive. Excellent story. Strong characters' NetGalley Reviewer.