Survival In Auschwitz

📒Survival In Auschwitz ✍ Primo Levi

✏Book Title : Survival In Auschwitz
✏Author : Primo Levi
✏Publisher : Simon and Schuster
✏Release Date : 1996
✏Pages : 187
✏ISBN : 9780684826806
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Survival In Auschwitz Book Summary : The author describes his twenty month ordeal in the Nazi death camp.

✏Book Title : Jewish Doctors and the Holocaust
✏Author : Ross W. Halpin
✏Publisher : Walter de Gruyter GmbH & Co KG
✏Release Date : 2019-01-14
✏Pages : 249
✏ISBN : 9783110598216
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Jewish Doctors and the Holocaust Book Summary : This is the first attempt to explain how Jewish doctors survived extreme adversity in Auschwitz where death could occur at any moment. The ordinary Jewish slave labourer survived an average of fifteen weeks. Ross Halpin discovers that Jewish doctors survived an average of twenty months, many under the same horrendous conditions as ordinary prisoners. Despite their status as privileged prisoners Jewish doctors starved, froze, were beaten to death and executed. Many Holocaust survivors attest that luck, God and miracles were their saviors. The author suggests that surviving Auschwitz was far more complex. Interweaving the stories of Jewish doctors before and during the Holocaust Halpin develops a model that explains the anatomy of survival. According to his model the genesis of survival of extreme adversity is the will to live which must be accompanied by the necessities of life, specific personal traits and defence mechanisms. For survival all four must co-exist.

✏Book Title : Survival in Auschwitz and The reawakening
✏Author : Primo Levi
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 1986
✏Pages : 397
✏ISBN : UOM:39015046830967
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Survival in Auschwitz and The reawakening Book Summary : The author describes his twenty month ordeal in the Nazi death camp

📒A Train In Winter ✍ Caroline Moorehead

✏Book Title : A Train in Winter
✏Author : Caroline Moorehead
✏Publisher : Random House
✏Release Date : 2012-09-06
✏Pages : 384
✏ISBN : 9781448156788
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏A Train in Winter Book Summary : On an icy dawn morning in Paris in January 1943, a group of 230 French women resisters were rounded up from the Gestapo detention camps and sent on a train to Auschwitz - the only train, in the four years of German occupation, to take women of the resistance to a death camp. Of the group, 49 survivors would return to France. Here is the story of these women - told for the first time. A Train in Winter is a portrait of ordinary people, of their bravery and endurance, and of the friendships that kept so many of them alive. Longlisted for the 2012 Orwell Prize.

📒Survival And Sociology ✍ Kurt H. Wolff

✏Book Title : Survival and Sociology
✏Author : Kurt H. Wolff
✏Publisher : Transaction Publishers
✏Release Date : 1991
✏Pages : 119
✏ISBN : 1412835461
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Survival and Sociology Book Summary :

✏Book Title : Fascism Anti fascism and the Resistance in Italy
✏Author : Stanislao G. Pugliese
✏Publisher : Rowman & Littlefield
✏Release Date : 2004
✏Pages : 331
✏ISBN : 0742531236
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Fascism Anti fascism and the Resistance in Italy Book Summary : While the historical significance of fascism and anti-fascism is still being hotly debated in Italy and across Europe, this anthology brings to light a wide range of voices--political, literary, and popular--that illuminate more than eighty years of fascism and anti-fascism in Italy. Visit our website for sample chapters!

📒Perceptions Of Jewish History ✍ Amos Funkenstein

✏Book Title : Perceptions of Jewish History
✏Author : Amos Funkenstein
✏Publisher : Univ of California Press
✏Release Date : 1993-03-03
✏Pages : 408
✏ISBN : 0520912195
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Perceptions of Jewish History Book Summary : "Perceptions of Jewish History scintillates with original ideas and insights. It will appeal to a broad audience."--Michael A. Signer, University of Notre Dame "Students of the Jewish past will welcome this volume; it will also attract readers with the widest possible range of interests."--Robert Chazan, New York University

✏Book Title : Primo Levi and Humanism after Auschwitz
✏Author : J. Druker
✏Publisher : Springer
✏Release Date : 2009-06-08
✏Pages : 173
✏ISBN : 9780230622180
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Primo Levi and Humanism after Auschwitz Book Summary : This innovative study reassesses Primo Levi's Holocaust memoirs in light of the posthumanist theories of Adorno, Levinas, Lyotard, and Foucault and finds causal links between certain Enlightenment ideas and the Nazi genocide.

📒A Centaur In Auschwitz ✍ Massimo Giuliani

✏Book Title : A Centaur in Auschwitz
✏Author : Massimo Giuliani
✏Publisher : Lexington Books
✏Release Date : 2003
✏Pages : 111
✏ISBN : 0739107429
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏A Centaur in Auschwitz Book Summary : In A Centaur in Auschwitz, Massimo Giuliani sheds new light on Primo Levi's rational, demythologizing approach to suffering and survival. Whether working in narrative or poetic form, Levi grappled with the ambiguities and complexities of innocence and guilt, triumph and loss. This unique book, with its concise overview of Levi's expression and development as a writer, reveals Primo Levi for what he was: scientist, intellectual, Jew, human, and dedicated seeker of the roots of human dignity.

📒By Chance Alone ✍ Max Eisen

✏Book Title : By Chance Alone
✏Author : Max Eisen
✏Publisher : HarperCollins
✏Release Date : 2016-04-19
✏Pages : 304
✏ISBN : 9781443448550
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏By Chance Alone Book Summary : WINNER of CBC Canada Reads In the tradition of Elie Wiesel’s Night and Primo Levi’s Survival in Auschwitz comes a bestselling new memoir by Canadian survivor Finalist for the 2017 RBC Taylor Prize More than 70 years after the Nazi camps were liberated by the Allies, a new Canadian Holocaust memoir details the rural Hungarian deportations to Auschwitz-Birkenau, back-breaking slave labour in Auschwitz I, the infamous “death march” in January 1945, the painful aftermath of liberation, a journey of physical and psychological healing. Tibor “Max” Eisen was born in Moldava, Czechoslovakia into an Orthodox Jewish family. He had an extended family of sixty members, and he lived in a family compound with his parents, his two younger brothers, his baby sister, his paternal grandparents and his uncle and aunt. In the spring of1944--five and a half years after his region had been annexed to Hungary and the morning after the family’s yearly Passover Seder--gendarmes forcibly removed Eisen and his family from their home. They were brought to a brickyard and eventually loaded onto crowded cattle cars bound for Auschwitz-Birkenau. At fifteen years of age, Eisen survived the selection process and he was inducted into the camp as a slave labourer. One day, Eisen received a terrible blow from an SS guard. Severely injured, he was dumped at the hospital where a Polish political prisoner and physician, Tadeusz Orzeszko, operated on him. Despite his significant injury, Orzeszko saved Eisen from certain death in the gas chambers by giving him a job as a cleaner in the operating room. After his liberation and new trials in Communist Czechoslovakia, Eisen immigrated to Canada in 1949, where he has dedicated the last twenty-two years of his life to educating others about the Holocaust across Canada and around the world. The author will be donating a portion of his royalties from this book to institutions promoting tolerance and understanding.