Storm Of Steel

📒Storm Of Steel ✍ Mary R. Habeck

✏Book Title : Storm of Steel
✏Author : Mary R. Habeck
✏Publisher : Cornell University Press
✏Release Date : 2003
✏Pages : 309
✏ISBN : 0801440742
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Storm of Steel Book Summary : In this fascinating account of the battle tanks that saw combat in the European Theater of World War II, Mary R. Habeck traces the strategies developed between the wars for the use of armored vehicles in battle. Only in Germany and the Soviet Union were truly original armor doctrines (generally known as "blitzkreig" and "deep battle") fully implemented. Storm of Steel relates how the German and Soviet armies formulated and chose to put into practice doctrines that were innovative for the time, yet in many respects identical to one another. As part of her extensive archival research in Russia, Germany, and Britain, Habeck had access to a large number of formerly secret and top-secret documents from several post-Soviet archives. This research informs her comparative approach as she looks at the roles of technology, shared influences, and assumptions about war in the formation of doctrine. She also explores relations between the Germans and the Soviets to determine whether collaboration influenced the convergence of their armor doctrines.

📒Storm Of Steel ✍ Ernst Jünger

✏Book Title : Storm of Steel
✏Author : Ernst Jünger
✏Publisher : Penguin
✏Release Date : 2004
✏Pages : 289
✏ISBN : 0142437905
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Storm of Steel Book Summary : Provides a memoir of the First World War through the eyes of an ordinary German soldier who viewed the war as a personal struggle, testing himself by leading raiding parties and enduring as his comrades were killed.

📒Storm Of Steel ✍ Ernst Junger

✏Book Title : Storm of Steel
✏Author : Ernst Junger
✏Publisher : Penguin
✏Release Date : 2016-05-31
✏Pages : 320
✏ISBN : 9781101666531
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Storm of Steel Book Summary : The memoir widely viewed as the best account ever written of fighting in WW1 A memoir of astonishing power, savagery, and ashen lyricism, Storm of Steel illuminates not only the horrors but also the fascination of total war, seen through the eyes of an ordinary German soldier. Young, tough, patriotic, but also disturbingly self-aware, Jünger exulted in the Great War, which he saw not just as a great national conflict but—more importantly—as a unique personal struggle. Leading raiding parties, defending trenches against murderous British incursions, simply enduring as shells tore his comrades apart, Jünger kept testing himself, braced for the death that will mark his failure. Published shortly after the war’s end, Storm of Steel was a worldwide bestseller and can now be rediscovered through Michael Hofmann’s brilliant new translation. For more than sixty-five years, Penguin has been the leading publisher of classic literature in the English-speaking world. With more than 1,500 titles, Penguin Classics represents a global bookshelf of the best works throughout history and across genres and disciplines. Readers trust the series to provide authoritative texts enhanced by introductions and notes by distinguished scholars and contemporary authors, as well as up-to-date translations by award-winning translators.

📒Storm Of Steel ✍ Matthew Harffy

✏Book Title : Storm of Steel
✏Author : Matthew Harffy
✏Publisher : Head of Zeus Ltd
✏Release Date : 2019-05-09
✏Pages : 672
✏ISBN : 9781786696380
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Storm of Steel Book Summary : AD 643. Anglo-Saxon Britain. A gripping, action-packed historical thriller and the sixth instalment in the Bernicia Chronicles. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell. Heading south to lands he once considered his home, Beobrand is plunged into a dark world of piracy and slavery when an old friend enlists his help to recover a kidnapped girl. Embarking onto the wind-tossed seas, Beobrand pursues his quarry with single-minded tenacity. But the Whale Road is never calm and his journey is beset with storms, betrayal and violence. As the winds of his wyrd blow him ever further from what he knows, will Beobrand find victory on his quest or has his luck finally abandoned him?

📒The Heidegger Controversy ✍ Richard Wolin

✏Book Title : The Heidegger Controversy
✏Author : Richard Wolin
✏Publisher : MIT Press
✏Release Date : 1993
✏Pages : 305
✏ISBN : 0262731010
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Heidegger Controversy Book Summary : This anthology is a significant contribution to the debate over the relevance of Martin Heidegger's Nazi ties to the interpretation and evaluation of his philosophical work. Included are a selection of basic documents by Heidegger, essays and letters by Heidegger's colleagues that offer contemporary context and testimony, and interpretive evaluations by Heidegger's heirs and critics in France and Germany.In his new introduction, "Note on a Missing Text," Richard Wolin uses the absence from this edition of an interview with Jacques Derrida as a springboard for examining questions about the nature of authorship and personal responsibility that are at the heart of the book.Richard Wolin is Professor of Modern European Intellectual History and Humanities at Rice University. He is the author of Walter Benjamin, The Politics of Being: The Political Thought of Martin Heidegger, and The Terms of Cultural Criticism: The Frankfurt School, Existentialism and Poststructuralism.

📒Genders ✍ David Glover

✏Book Title : Genders
✏Author : David Glover
✏Publisher : Psychology Press
✏Release Date : 2000
✏Pages : 177
✏ISBN : 0415134919
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Genders Book Summary : With this volume, the authors discuss theory, criticism and exemplary genres and texts, providing an historical chronology of the developments of the term 'gender' in various contexts.

✏Book Title : Sacrifice and National Belonging in Twentieth Century Germany
✏Author : Marcus Funck
✏Publisher : Texas A&M University Press
✏Release Date : 2002
✏Pages : 229
✏ISBN : 1585442070
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Sacrifice and National Belonging in Twentieth Century Germany Book Summary : Over the course of the 20th century, Germans from virtually all walks of life were touched by two problems: forging a sense of national community and coming to terms with widespread suffering. Arguably, no country in the modern Western world has been so closely associated with both inflicting and overcoming catastrophic misery in the name of national belonging. Within this context, the concept and ideal of "sacrifice" have played a pivotal role in recent German political culture. As the seven studies in this volume show, once the value of heroic national sacrifice was invoked during World War I to mobilize German soldiers and civilians, it proved to be a remarkably effective way to respond to a wide variety of social dislocations. How did the ideals of sacrifice play a role in constructing German nationalism? How did the Nazis use this idea to justify mass killing? What consequences did this have for postwar Germany? This volume opens up discussions about the history of 20th-century German political life.

✏Book Title : Severe Storm Engineering for Structural Design
✏Author : Michele G. Melaragno
✏Publisher : Taylor & Francis
✏Release Date : 1996
✏Pages : 339
✏ISBN : 2884491260
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Severe Storm Engineering for Structural Design Book Summary : In 1989, 1990, and 1991, Hurricanes Hugo, Andrew, and Iniki pummeled the United States wrecking residences, office buildings, military installations, and shopping areas. The devastation has a profound effect on local communities, industries, and commerce. Judging from the destruction these storms caused to buildings in their areas, it is clear that we still have a great deal to learn about designing structures to withstand hurricane-force winds. This book, for both the student and practicing architect or engineer, explores wind velocity typical of storms such as these. Weather conditions are translated into actual forces on a structure to be used to better design buildings that will resist further hurricanes. Nuclear power plants and other sensitive structures receive special attention. Building codes and standards in other countries are studied in correlation to the number of casualties suffered during a violent storm. Specifically, Bangladesh is offered as a case study of minimum standards of building construction, while Australia is highlighted for having some of the most stringent regulations in the world.

✏Book Title : A Companion to Europe 1900 1945
✏Author : Gordon Martel
✏Publisher : John Wiley & Sons
✏Release Date : 2011-03-21
✏Pages : 584
✏ISBN : 1444391674
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏A Companion to Europe 1900 1945 Book Summary : This volume brings together a distinguished group of international scholars to discuss the major debates in the study of early twentieth-century Europe. Brings together contributions from a distinguished group of international scholars. Provides an overview of current thinking on the period. Traces the great political, social and economic upheavals of the time. Illuminates perennial themes, as well as new areas of enquiry. Takes a pan-European approach, highlighting similarities and differences across nations and regions.

📒Dynamic Of Destruction ✍ Alan Kramer

✏Book Title : Dynamic of Destruction
✏Author : Alan Kramer
✏Publisher : OUP Oxford
✏Release Date : 2008-11-06
✏Pages : 448
✏ISBN : 0191580112
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Dynamic of Destruction Book Summary : On 26 August 1914 the world-famous university library in the Belgian town of Louvain was looted and destroyed by German troops. The international community reacted in horror - 'Holocaust at Louvain' proclaimed the Daily Mail - and the behaviour of the Germans at Louvain came to be seen as the beginning of a different style of war, without the rules that had governed military conflict up to that point - a more total war, in which enemy civilians and their entire culture were now 'legitimate' targets. Yet the destruction at Louvain was simply one symbolic moment in a wider wave of cultural destruction and mass killing that swept Europe in the era of the First World War. Using a wide range of examples and eye-witness accounts from across Europe at this time, award-winning historian Alan Kramer paints a picture of an entire continent plunging into a chilling new world of mass mobilization, total warfare, and the celebration of nationalist or ethnic violence - often directed expressly at the enemy's civilian population.