Sergeant Reckless

📒Sgt Reckless ✍ Robin Hutton

✏Book Title : Sgt Reckless
✏Author : Robin Hutton
✏Publisher : Simon and Schuster
✏Release Date : 2014-07-28
✏Pages : 368
✏ISBN : 9781621572756
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Sgt Reckless Book Summary : A New York Times Bestseller! From the racetrack to the battlefield—dauntless, fearless, and exemplar of Semper Fi—she was Reckless, "pride of the Marines." A Mongolian mare who was bred to be a racehorse, Ah-Chim-Hai, or Flame-of-the-Morning, belonged to a young boy named Kim-Huk-Moon. In order to pay for a prosthetic leg for his sister, Kim made the difficult decision to sell his beloved companion. Lieutenant Eric Pedersen purchased the bodacious mare and renamed her Reckless, for the Recoilless Rifles Platoon, Anti-Tank Division, of the 5th Marines she’d be joining. The four-legged equine braved minefields and hailing shrapnel to deliver ammunition to her division on the frontlines. In one day alone, performing fifty-one trips up and down treacherous terrain, covering a distance of over thirty-five miles, and rescuing wounded comrades-in-arms, Reckless demonstrated her steadfast devotion to the Marines who had become her herd. Despite only measuring about thirteen hands high, this pint-sized equine became an American hero. Reckless was awarded two Purple Hearts for her valor and was officially promoted to staff sergeant twice, a distinction never bestowed upon an animal before or since. Author Robin Hutton has reignited excitement about this nearly forgotten legend, realizing the Sgt. Reckless Memorial Monument at the National Museum of the Marine Corps, completed in July 2013, and now spurring the creation of a second memorial at Camp Pendleton, California, where Reckless lived out the rest of her days. The paperback edition includes a new foreword by General James F. Amos, 35th Commandant of the U.S. Marine Corps. It will appeal to fans of Laura Hillenbrand's Seabiscuit, Elizabeth Letts' The Eighty Dollar Champion, and the feature film War Horse.

📒Sergeant Reckless ✍ Patricia McCormick

✏Book Title : Sergeant Reckless
✏Author : Patricia McCormick
✏Publisher : Balzer & Bray
✏Release Date : 2020-09-15
✏Pages : 40
✏ISBN : 0062292609
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Sergeant Reckless Book Summary : The inspiring true story of Reckless, the brave little horse who became a Marine. This nonfiction picture book is an excellent choice to share during homeschooling, in particular for children ages 4 to 6. It's a fun way to learn to read and as a supplement for activity books for children. When a group of US Marines fighting in the Korean War found a bedraggled mare, they wondered if she could be trained to as a packhorse. They had no idea that the skinny, underfed horse had one of the biggest and bravest hearts they'd ever known. And one of the biggest appetites! Soon Reckless showed herself more than willing to carry ammunition too heavy for the soldiers to haul. As cannons thundered and shells flew through the air, she marched into battle--again and again--becoming the only animal ever to officially hold military rank--becoming Sgt. Reckless--and receive two Purple Hearts. This is the first picture book from award-winning novelist Patricia McCormick, sumptuously illustrated by acclaimed artist Iacopo Bruno.

📒Sergeant Reckless ✍ Loren Spiotta-Dimare

✏Book Title : Sergeant Reckless
✏Author : Loren Spiotta-Dimare
✏Publisher : Aperture Press
✏Release Date : 2018-11-06
✏Pages : 38
✏ISBN : 1732932905
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Sergeant Reckless Book Summary : "Loren Spiotta-DiMare has captured the essence of Reckless in a way children will adore. Thoughtfully written and beautifully illustrated, Sgt. Reckless will leap off the page and into your child's heart, and become their favorite hero." -Robin Hutton, Author of New York Times bestseller Sgt. Reckless: America's War Horse She's a decorated Marine, a combat veteran, and a horse. Meet Sergeant Reckless! Sergeant Reckless is the remarkable true story of a horse who overcame great odds to become a hero. Raised and trained to become a racehorse in Seoul, Korea, Flame is destined to be a winner. But when the Korean War breaks out on the day of her first official race, her life changes forever. Flame's owner, Kim, flees to a safer place along with his family and beloved horse. When he returns, he meets an American Marine, Lieutenant Pederson, who purchases the little sorrel mare to serve with the Recoilless Rifle Platoon. The Marines rename her Reckless, and her amazing second career begins.

📒Sgt Reckless The War Horse ✍ Melissa Higgins

✏Book Title : Sgt Reckless the War Horse
✏Author : Melissa Higgins
✏Publisher : Capstone
✏Release Date : 2014-07-01
✏Pages : 32
✏ISBN : 9781479554621
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Sgt Reckless the War Horse Book Summary : "Simple text and full-color illustrations describe the true story of Staff Sergeant Reckless, the Korean War horse"--

✏Book Title : Sgt Reckless the War Horse Korean War Hero
✏Author : Melissa Higgins
✏Publisher : Capstone
✏Release Date : 2014-02-25
✏Pages :
✏ISBN : 9781479564132
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Sgt Reckless the War Horse Korean War Hero Book Summary :

📒Reckless ✍ Tom Clavin

✏Book Title : Reckless
✏Author : Tom Clavin
✏Publisher : Penguin
✏Release Date : 2014-08-05
✏Pages : 320
✏ISBN : 9780698137202
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Reckless Book Summary : From the New York Times bestselling coauthor of The Heart of Everything That Is, comes the unlikely story of a racehorse who truly became a war hero, beloved by the Marine Corps and decorated for bravery. Her Korean name was Ah-Chim-Hai—Flame-of-the-Morning. A four-year-old chestnut-colored Mongolian racehorse, she once amazed the crowds in Seoul with her remarkable speed. But when war shut down the tracks, the star racer was sold to an American Marine and trained to carry heavy loads of artillery shells across steep hills under a barrage of bullets and bombs. The Marines renamed her Reckless. Reckless soon proved fearless under fire, boldly marching alone through the fiery gauntlet, exposed to explosions and shrapnel. On some of her uphill treks, Reckless shielded human reinforcements. The Chinese, soon discovering the bravery of this magnificent animal, made a special effort to kill her. But Reckless never slowed. As months passed, the men came to appreciate her not just as a horse but as a fellow Marine.

📒Historical Animals ✍ Julia Moberg

✏Book Title : Historical Animals
✏Author : Julia Moberg
✏Publisher : Charlesbridge
✏Release Date : 2015-02-10
✏Pages : 96
✏ISBN : 9781607348306
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Historical Animals Book Summary : Throughout history, animals have shaped the world as we know it. But rarely have they received the recognition they deserve. Until now. This inside look at history’s most famous animals features wacky verse, cool facts, historical stats, and zany cartoon art. Meet Alexander the Great’s horse Bucephalus, who was his battle companion for nearly 30 years. Learn about Mozart’s starling bird that helped him write music by singing along as he composed. Read about the Ethiopian goats that discovered the coffee bean, Marco Polo seeing dragons in China, and a dog named Boatswain that saved Napoleon’s life. From the cobra that killed Cleopatra to Cairo, the dog that helped hunt down Osama bin Laden, Historical Animals has these stories and more!

📒Sgt Reckless ✍ Robin Hutton

✏Book Title : Sgt Reckless
✏Author : Robin Hutton
✏Publisher : Regnery History
✏Release Date : 2015-08-10
✏Pages : 368
✏ISBN : 1621573818
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Sgt Reckless Book Summary : A New York Times Bestseller! From the racetrack to the battlefield—dauntless, fearless, and exemplar of Semper Fi—she was Reckless, "pride of the Marines." A Mongolian mare who was bred to be a racehorse, Ah-Chim-Hai, or Flame-of-the-Morning, belonged to a young boy named Kim-Huk-Moon. In order to pay for a prosthetic leg for his sister, Kim made the difficult decision to sell his beloved companion. Lieutenant Eric Pedersen purchased the bodacious mare and renamed her Reckless, for the Recoilless Rifles Platoon, Anti-Tank Division, of the 5th Marines she’d be joining. The four-legged equine braved minefields and hailing shrapnel to deliver ammunition to her division on the frontlines. In one day alone, performing fifty-one trips up and down treacherous terrain, covering a distance of over thirty-five miles, and rescuing wounded comrades-in-arms, Reckless demonstrated her steadfast devotion to the Marines who had become her herd. Despite only measuring about thirteen hands high, this pint-sized equine became an American hero. Reckless was awarded two Purple Hearts for her valor and was officially promoted to staff sergeant twice, a distinction never bestowed upon an animal before or since. Author Robin Hutton has reignited excitement about this nearly forgotten legend, realizing the Sgt. Reckless Memorial Monument at the National Museum of the Marine Corps, completed in July 2013, and now spurring the creation of a second memorial at Camp Pendleton, California, where Reckless lived out the rest of her days. The paperback edition includes a new foreword by General James F. Amos, 35th Commandant of the U.S. Marine Corps. It will appeal to fans of Laura Hillenbrand's Seabiscuit, Elizabeth Letts' The Eighty Dollar Champion, and the feature film War Horse.

📒They Called Her Reckless ✍ Janet Barrett

✏Book Title : They Called Her Reckless
✏Author : Janet Barrett
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 2013-10-15
✏Pages : 177
✏ISBN : 0989804003
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏They Called Her Reckless Book Summary : When the Marines of the Fifth Regiment's Recoilless Rifle Platoon acquired a small Korean pony to haul ammunition up the steep hills to the front lines, what they got was a real-life hero, Reckless, the courageous and indomitable warhorse who stood with her buddies for two years during the Korean War, saving many lives, raising spirits, and winning the love and respect of all who knew her. She came on base in October, 1952, disrupting a softball game and capturing the attention of everyone around. Immediately named for the "reckless" rifles she would supply, she began life with the Marines as Private First Class Reckless. In short order, she was an integral member of the platoon, learning quickly to run into her bunker when incoming fire hit the camp, navigate the trails and hills on her own, and calmly accept the roar of the recoilless rifles at close range. In skirmishes and firefights, and ultimately the savage Battle for Outpost Vegas, Reckless showed her bravery and resilience. In that last bloody fight, surpassing all expectations, she hauled ammunition for three days and nights wherever it was needed. For wounds sustained, she was awarded two Purple Hearts. Ever the character, she also shared her buddies' C-rations and mess hall chow, beers and an occasional whiskey, and on cold nights, their warm tents. She was promoted to Sergeant by the Commander of the First Marine Division. Then, in late 1954, the men got their wish, and Sergeant Reckless sailed for San Francisco, a hero's welcome, and another new life.

✏Book Title : Scholastic Voice
✏Author :
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 1955
✏Pages :
✏ISBN : STANFORD:36105007891117
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Scholastic Voice Book Summary :