Selected Writings And Speeches Of Marcus Garvey

✏Book Title : Selected Writings and Speeches of Marcus Garvey
✏Author : Marcus Garvey
✏Publisher : Courier Corporation
✏Release Date : 2012-03-05
✏Pages : 224
✏ISBN : 9780486113852
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Selected Writings and Speeches of Marcus Garvey Book Summary : This anthology contains some of the African-American rights advocate's most noted writings and speeches, among them "Declaration of the Rights of the Negro Peoples of the World" and "Africa for the Africans."

📒Marcus Garvey ✍ Brenda Haugen

✏Book Title : Marcus Garvey
✏Author : Brenda Haugen
✏Publisher : Capstone
✏Release Date : 2008-01-01
✏Pages : 112
✏ISBN : 9780756536268
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Marcus Garvey Book Summary : Examines the life of a black leader who started a "Back-to-Africa" movement in the United States, believing blacks would never receive justice in countries with a white majority.

📒Acting White ✍ Ron Christie

✏Book Title : Acting White
✏Author : Ron Christie
✏Publisher : Macmillan
✏Release Date : 2010-10-12
✏Pages : 304
✏ISBN : 1429948094
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Acting White Book Summary : In the tradition of Randall Kennedy's Nigger and Shelby Steele's The Content of Our Character, Acting White demonstrates how the charge that any African-American who is successful, well mannered, or well educated is "acting white," is a slur that continues to haunt blacks. Ron Christie traces the complex history of the phrase, from Uncle Tom's Cabin to the tensions between Martin Luther King, Jr., and Malcolm X to Bill Cosby's controversial NAACP speech in 2004. The author also writes candidly of being challenged by black students for his "acting white," and also of being labeled a race traitor in Congress by daring to be Republican. This lucid chronicle reveals how this prevalent put-down sets back much of the hard-earned progress for all blacks in American society. Deftly argued and determinedly controversial, this book is certain to spur thoughtful discussion for years to come.

📒I Ve Been Racially Profiled Now What ✍ Alexandra Hanson-Harding

✏Book Title : I ve Been Racially Profiled Now What
✏Author : Alexandra Hanson-Harding
✏Publisher : The Rosen Publishing Group, Inc
✏Release Date : 2014-12-15
✏Pages : 112
✏ISBN : 9781477779859
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏I ve Been Racially Profiled Now What Book Summary : This volume explains what racial profiling is, who is likely to be targeted, and how to deal with the police if you are singled out. Readers will learn about the racial bias in the American justice and prison systems, as well as how to stay out of the school-to-prison pipeline.

✏Book Title : The Marcus Garvey and Universal Negro Improvement Association Papers Volume XI
✏Author : Marcus Garvey
✏Publisher : Duke University Press
✏Release Date : 2011-07-15
✏Pages : 845
✏ISBN : 9780822346906
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Marcus Garvey and Universal Negro Improvement Association Papers Volume XI Book Summary : DIVThese papers contain over 2300 documents relating to the presence and influence of the Universal Negro Improvement Association in the Caribbean from 1911 to 1945./div

📒The Art Of The Possible ✍ Kevern J. Verney

✏Book Title : The Art of the Possible
✏Author : Kevern J. Verney
✏Publisher : Routledge
✏Release Date : 2013-04-03
✏Pages : 200
✏ISBN : 9781136541636
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Art of the Possible Book Summary : The Art of The Possible is a new study of the ideas and achievements of Booker T. Washington, the most influential African American leader of the period 1881-1915.

📒Dissent ✍ Ralph Young

✏Book Title : Dissent
✏Author : Ralph Young
✏Publisher : NYU Press
✏Release Date : 2015-04-24
✏Pages : 640
✏ISBN : 9781479814527
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Dissent Book Summary : Finalist, 2016 Ralph Waldo Emerson Award One of Bustle's Books For Your Civil Disobedience Reading List Dissent: The History of an American Idea examines the key role dissent has played in shaping the United States. It focuses on those who, from colonial days to the present, dissented against the ruling paradigm of their time: from the Puritan Anne Hutchinson and Native American chief Powhatan in the seventeenth century, to the Occupy and Tea Party movements in the twenty-first century. The emphasis is on the way Americans, celebrated figures and anonymous ordinary citizens, responded to what they saw as the injustices that prevented them from fully experiencing their vision of America. At its founding the United States committed itself to lofty ideals. When the promise of those ideals was not fully realized by all Americans, many protested and demanded that the United States live up to its promise. Women fought for equal rights; abolitionists sought to destroy slavery; workers organized unions; Indians resisted white encroachment on their land; radicals angrily demanded an end to the dominance of the moneyed interests; civil rights protestors marched to end segregation; antiwar activists took to the streets to protest the nation’s wars; and reactionaries, conservatives, and traditionalists in each decade struggled to turn back the clock to a simpler, more secure time. Some dissenters are celebrated heroes of American history, while others are ordinary people: frequently overlooked, but whose stories show that change is often accomplished through grassroots activism. The United States is a nation founded on the promise and power of dissent. In this stunningly comprehensive volume, Ralph Young shows us its history. Teaching Resources from Temple University: Sample Course Syllabus Teaching Resources from C-Span Classroom Teaching Resources from Temple University

✏Book Title : Icons of African American protest
✏Author : Gladys L. Knight
✏Publisher : Greenwood Publishing Group
✏Release Date : 2009
✏Pages : 687
✏ISBN : 0313340633
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Icons of African American protest Book Summary :

✏Book Title : American Heroes Hank Aaron Ralph Abernathy Abigail Adams John Adams Samuel Adams Jane Addams Muhammad Ali Maya Angelou Susan B Anthony Neil Armstrong Robert Ballard Benjamin Banneker Clara Barton Alexander Graham Bell Mary McLeod Bethune Black Hawk Daniel Boone Omar Nelson Bradley Louis D Brandeis Joseph Brant William J Brennan John Brown Olympia Brown Ralph Bunche Richard Byrd Frances Xavier Cabrini Rachel Carson Jimmy Carter George Washington Carver Mary Ann Shadd Cary Carrie Chapman Catt Wilt Chamberlain Cesar Chavez Shirley Chisholm Hilary Rodham Clinton Ty Cobb Bessie Coleman Bill Cosby Crazy Horse David Crockett Walter Cronkite Clarence Darrow Dorothy Day Eugene V Debs Stephen Decatur Jack Dempsey Joe DiMaggio Walt Disney Dorothea Dix Jimmy Doolittle Helen Gahagan Douglas William O Douglas Frederick Douglass W E B DuBois Amelia Earhart Mary Baker Eddy Marian Wright Edelman Thomas Alva Edison Albert Einstein Dwight D Eisenhower Chris Evert Louis Farrakhan Betty Ford Benjamin Franklin John C Fremont Betty Friedan William Lloyd Garrison Marcus Garvey Bill Gates Lou Gehrig Geronimo
✏Author : Salem Press
✏Publisher : Magill's Choice
✏Release Date : 2008
✏Pages : 1078
✏ISBN : PSU:000066567110
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏American Heroes Hank Aaron Ralph Abernathy Abigail Adams John Adams Samuel Adams Jane Addams Muhammad Ali Maya Angelou Susan B Anthony Neil Armstrong Robert Ballard Benjamin Banneker Clara Barton Alexander Graham Bell Mary McLeod Bethune Black Hawk Daniel Boone Omar Nelson Bradley Louis D Brandeis Joseph Brant William J Brennan John Brown Olympia Brown Ralph Bunche Richard Byrd Frances Xavier Cabrini Rachel Carson Jimmy Carter George Washington Carver Mary Ann Shadd Cary Carrie Chapman Catt Wilt Chamberlain Cesar Chavez Shirley Chisholm Hilary Rodham Clinton Ty Cobb Bessie Coleman Bill Cosby Crazy Horse David Crockett Walter Cronkite Clarence Darrow Dorothy Day Eugene V Debs Stephen Decatur Jack Dempsey Joe DiMaggio Walt Disney Dorothea Dix Jimmy Doolittle Helen Gahagan Douglas William O Douglas Frederick Douglass W E B DuBois Amelia Earhart Mary Baker Eddy Marian Wright Edelman Thomas Alva Edison Albert Einstein Dwight D Eisenhower Chris Evert Louis Farrakhan Betty Ford Benjamin Franklin John C Fremont Betty Friedan William Lloyd Garrison Marcus Garvey Bill Gates Lou Gehrig Geronimo Book Summary : Offers more than two hundred biographical essays on American men and women who have made significant contributions to American history and society.

✏Book Title : Encyclopedia of American Immigration Galvan v Press
✏Author : Carl Leon Bankston
✏Publisher : Salem PressInc
✏Release Date : 2010
✏Pages : 1232
✏ISBN : 1587656019
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Encyclopedia of American Immigration Galvan v Press Book Summary : This three-volume set covers the full breadth of American immigration history in 525 alphabetically arranged and easy-to-understand articles. Designed and written to be understood by high school students and college undergraduates Encyclopedia of American Immigration offers a clear and innovative approach to immigration history that can also be used by advanced students and scholars. The goal of the set is to address all questions about immigration that students might reasonably be expected to ask: Where immigrants have come from and why; how they have adapted to their new homeland; how they have contributed to American culture and society; how government policies toward them have changed; and how American immigration history has fit into worldwide migration patterns. - Publisher.