Secondhand Time The Last Of The Soviets

📒Secondhand Time ✍ Svetlana Alexievich

✏Book Title : Secondhand Time
✏Author : Svetlana Alexievich
✏Publisher : Random House
✏Release Date : 2016-05-24
✏Pages : 496
✏ISBN : 9780399588815
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Secondhand Time Book Summary : NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • The magnum opus and latest work from Svetlana Alexievich, the 2015 winner of the Nobel Prize in Literature—a symphonic oral history about the disintegration of the Soviet Union and the emergence of a new Russia NAMED ONE OF THE TEN BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY THE WASHINGTON POST AND PUBLISHERS WEEKLY • LOS ANGELES TIMES BOOK PRIZE WINNER NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY The New York Times • The Washington Post • The Boston Globe • The Wall Street Journal • NPR • Financial Times • Kirkus Reviews When the Swedish Academy awarded Svetlana Alexievich the Nobel Prize, it cited her for inventing “a new kind of literary genre,” describing her work as “a history of emotions—a history of the soul.” Alexievich’s distinctive documentary style, combining extended individual monologues with a collage of voices, records the stories of ordinary women and men who are rarely given the opportunity to speak, whose experiences are often lost in the official histories of the nation. In Secondhand Time, Alexievich chronicles the demise of communism. Everyday Russian citizens recount the past thirty years, showing us what life was like during the fall of the Soviet Union and what it’s like to live in the new Russia left in its wake. Through interviews spanning 1991 to 2012, Alexievich takes us behind the propaganda and contrived media accounts, giving us a panoramic portrait of contemporary Russia and Russians who still carry memories of oppression, terror, famine, massacres—but also of pride in their country, hope for the future, and a belief that everyone was working and fighting together to bring about a utopia. Here is an account of life in the aftermath of an idea so powerful it once dominated a third of the world. A magnificent tapestry of the sorrows and triumphs of the human spirit woven by a master, Secondhand Time tells the stories that together make up the true history of a nation. “Through the voices of those who confided in her,” The Nation writes, “Alexievich tells us about human nature, about our dreams, our choices, about good and evil—in a word, about ourselves.” Praise for Svetlana Alexievich and Secondhand Time “The nonfiction volume that has done the most to deepen the emotional understanding of Russia during and after the collapse of the Soviet Union of late is Svetlana Alexievich’s oral history Secondhand Time.”—David Remnick, The New Yorker “Like the greatest works of fiction, Secondhand Time is a comprehensive and unflinching exploration of the human condition. . . . In its scope and wisdom, Secondhand Time is comparable to War and Peace.”—The Wall Street Journal “Already hailed as a masterpiece across Europe, Secondhand Time is an intimate portrait of a country yearning for meaning after the sudden lurch from Communism to capitalism in the 1990s plunged it into existential crisis.”—The New York Times “This is the kind of history, otherwise almost unacknowledged by today’s dictatorships, that matters.”—The Christian Science Monitor “In this spellbinding book, Svetlana Alexievich orchestrates a rich symphony of Russian voices telling their stories of love and death, joy and sorrow, as they try to make sense of the twentieth century.”—J. M. Coetzee

📒Second Hand Time ✍ Svetlana Alexievich

✏Book Title : Second Hand Time
✏Author : Svetlana Alexievich
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 2016-05
✏Pages : 520
✏ISBN : 1910695114
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Second Hand Time Book Summary :

📒Making Martyrs ✍ Yuliya Minkova

✏Book Title : Making Martyrs
✏Author : Yuliya Minkova
✏Publisher : Boydell & Brewer
✏Release Date : 2018
✏Pages : 246
✏ISBN : 9781580469142
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Making Martyrs Book Summary : Examines the ideology of sacrifice in Soviet and post-Soviet culture, analyzing a range of fictional and real-life figures who became part of a pantheon of "heroes" primarily because of their victimhood.

📒Hammer And Silicon ✍ Sheila M. Puffer

✏Book Title : Hammer and Silicon
✏Author : Sheila M. Puffer
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 2018-06-21
✏Pages : 410
✏ISBN : 9781107190856
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Hammer and Silicon Book Summary : The untold story, in their own words, of the contributions of Soviet and post-Soviet immigrants to the US innovation economy, revealed through in-depth interviews and analysis. It will appeal to academics, business practitioners, and policymakers interested in innovation, entrepreneurship, the tech industry, immigration, and cultural adaptation.

📒Seasoned Socialism ✍ Anastasia Lakhtikova

✏Book Title : Seasoned Socialism
✏Author : Anastasia Lakhtikova
✏Publisher : Indiana University Press
✏Release Date : 2019-04-01
✏Pages : 396
✏ISBN : 9780253040985
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Seasoned Socialism Book Summary : Seasoned Socialism considers the relationship between gender and food in late Soviet daily life. Political and economic conditions heavily influenced Soviet life and foodways during this period and an exploration of Soviet women’s central role in the daily sustenance for their families as well as the obstacles they faced on this quest offers new insights into intergenerational and inter-gender power dynamics of that time. Food, both in its quality and quantity, was a powerful tool in the Soviet Union. This collection features work by scholars in an array of fields including cultural studies, literary studies, sociology, history, and food studies, and the work gathered here explores the intersection of gender, food, and culture in the post-1960s Soviet context. From personal cookbooks to gulag survival strategies, Seasoned Socialism considers gender construction and performance across a wide array of primary sources, including poetry, fiction, film, women’s journals, oral histories, and interviews. This collection provides fresh insight into how the Soviet government sought to influence both what citizens ate and how they thought about food.

📒Last Witnesses ✍ Svetlana Alexievich

✏Book Title : Last Witnesses
✏Author : Svetlana Alexievich
✏Publisher : Random House
✏Release Date : 2019-07-02
✏Pages : 320
✏ISBN : 9780399588778
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Last Witnesses Book Summary : From the Nobel Prize-winning writer, an oral history of children’s experiences in World War II across Russia—in the vein of The Unwomanly Face of War and Secondhand Time For more than three decades, Svetlana Alexievich has been the memory and conscience of the twentieth century. When the Swedish Academy awarded her the Nobel Prize, it cited her for inventing “a new kind of literary genre,” describing her work as “a history of emotions . . . a history of the soul.” Bringing together dozens of voices in her distinctive style, Last Witnesses is Alexievich’s collection of the memories of those who were children during World War II. They had sometimes been soldiers as well as witnesses, and their generation grew up with the trauma of the war deeply embedded—a trauma that would change the course of the Russian nation. Collectively, this symphony of children’s stories, filled with the everyday details of life in combat, reveals an altogether unprecedented view of the war. Alexievich gives voice to those whose memories have been lost in the official narratives, uncovering a powerful, hidden history from the personal and private experiences of individuals. Translated by the renowned Richard Pevear and Larissa Volokhonsky, Last Witnesses is a powerful and poignant account of the central conflict of the twentieth century, a kaleidoscopic portrait of the human side of war.

📒Time

✏Book Title : Time
✏Author :
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 1958
✏Pages :
✏ISBN : UCR:31210003453022
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Time Book Summary :

📒Vital Signs 1998 ✍ The Worldwatch Institute

✏Book Title : Vital Signs 1998
✏Author : The Worldwatch Institute
✏Publisher : Island Press
✏Release Date : 2015-03-19
✏Pages : 172
✏ISBN : 9781610916592
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Vital Signs 1998 Book Summary : The new Vital Signs 1998 gives you more than 100 charts, graphs and tables that show you the worldwide trends that are changing our lives, for better and for worse. It includes the latest data on critical global trends, presented in simple but compelling graphics, along with concise, thoughtful analysis.