Saga Of The Vegvisir

📒Saga Of The Vegvisir ✍ Malcolm Thomson

✏Book Title : Saga of the Vegvisir
✏Author : Malcolm Thomson
✏Publisher : AuthorHouse
✏Release Date : 2012-12
✏Pages : 68
✏ISBN : 9781477247419
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Saga of the Vegvisir Book Summary : This exciting roller coaster ride of a book takes you from the shores of Loch Ness to the top of Norway in an adventure to thrill any kid. The hero's of the story are Fergus, a small but determined boy from the Scottish Highlands and his legendary side kick 'Nessie', the one and only Loch Ness Monster. Fergus is just crazy about Monster and legends about Monsters and is determined to find Nessie and prove he exists. He finds Nessie alright, except things don't turn out quite as expected. Read on and experience the amazing adventures and the powerful ending to this unusual children's book.

📒Iceland ✍ Marcel Krueger

✏Book Title : Iceland
✏Author : Marcel Krueger
✏Publisher : Bloomsbury Publishing
✏Release Date : 2020-03-19
✏Pages : 224
✏ISBN : 9781786725721
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Iceland Book Summary : Iceland is an island of multiple identities in constant flux, just like its unruly, volcanic ground. Shaped as much by storytelling as it is by tectonic activity, Iceland's literary heritage is one of Europe's richest – and most ancient. Iceland: A Literary Guide for Travellers takes the literary-minded traveller (either in person or in an armchair) on a vivid and illuminating journey. It follows Iceland's many stories that have been passed down through the generations: told and retold by sheep farmers, psalm-writers, travelling reverends, independence fighters, scholars and hedonists. From the captivating Norse myths, which continue to inspire contemporary authors such as A.S. Byatt, to gripping Scandinavian crime fiction and Game of Thrones, via Jules Verne and J.R.R Tolkien, W.H. Auden and Seamus Heaney, Iceland's influence has spread far beyond its frozen shores. Peopled by Norse maidens and witches, elves and outlaws and taking the reader and traveller from Reykjavik and the Bay of Smokes to the remote Westfjords and desolate highlands, this is an enthralling portrait of the Land of Ice and Fire.

📒The Glass Woman ✍ Caroline Lea

✏Book Title : The Glass Woman
✏Author : Caroline Lea
✏Publisher : HarperCollins
✏Release Date : 2019-09-03
✏Pages : 400
✏ISBN : 9780062935120
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Glass Woman Book Summary : Longlisted for the Historical Writers Association Debut Crown Award In the tradition of Jane Eyre and Rebecca—The Glass Woman by Caroline Lea in which a young woman follows her new husband to his remote home on the Icelandic coast in the 1680s, where she faces dark secrets surrounding the death of his first wife amidst a foreboding landscape and the superstitions of the local villagers. “Gripped me in a cold fist. Beautiful.” —Sara Collins, author of The Confessions of Frannie Langton “An Icelandic Jane Eyre.” —Sunday Times, London Rósa has always dreamed of living a simple life alongside her Mamma in their remote village in Iceland, where she prays to the Christian God aloud during the day, whispering enchantments to the old gods alone at night. But after her father dies abruptly and her Mamma becomes ill, Rósa marries herself off to a visiting trader in exchange for a dowry, despite rumors of mysterious circumstances surrounding his first wife’s death. Rósa follows her new husband, Jón, across the treacherous countryside to his remote home near the sea. There Jón works the field during the day, expecting Rósa to maintain their house in his absence with the deference of a good Christian wife. What Rósa did not anticipate was the fierce loneliness she would feel in her new home, where Jón forbids her from interacting with the locals in the nearby settlement and barely speaks to her himself. Seclusion from the outside world isn’t the only troubling aspect of her new life—Rósa is also forbidden from going into Jón’s attic. When Rósa begins to hear strange noises from upstairs, she turns to the local woman in an attempt to find solace. But the villager’s words are even more troubling—confirming many of the rumors about Jón’s first wife, Anna, including that he buried her body alone in the middle of the night. Rósa’s isolation begins to play tricks on her mind: What—or who—is in the attic? What happened to Anna? Was she mad, a witch, or just a victim of Jón’s ruthless nature? And when Jón is brutally maimed in an accident a series of events are set in motion that will force Rósa to choose between obedience and defiance—with her own survival and the safety of the ones she loves hanging in the balance.