Sacred Paths Of The West

📒Sacred Paths Of The West ✍ Theodore M Ludwig

✏Book Title : Sacred Paths of the West
✏Author : Theodore M Ludwig
✏Publisher : Routledge
✏Release Date : 2015-08-07
✏Pages : 320
✏ISBN : 9781317344308
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Sacred Paths of the West Book Summary : This text combines study of the dynamic historical development of each religious tradition with a comparative thematic structure. Students are encouraged to discover and explore the nature of religious experience by comparing basic themes and issues common to all religions, finding connections with their own personal experiences. By sensitively introducing descriptive material within a comparative thematic structure, this text helps students to understand how each religion provides, for its adherents, patterns and meanings that make up a full way of life.

📒The Sacred Paths Of The West ✍ Theodore M. Ludwig

✏Book Title : The Sacred Paths of the West
✏Author : Theodore M. Ludwig
✏Publisher : Macmillan College
✏Release Date : 1994
✏Pages : 260
✏ISBN : PSU:000046154637
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Sacred Paths of the West Book Summary : Introduces students to the western religious traditions of Judaism, Christianity and Islam by integrating historical descriptions with thematic comparisons of each. The text approaches these religions as historically unique systems and focuses on comparative key themes and issues.

✏Book Title : Sacred Paths for Modern Men
✏Author : Dagonet Dewr
✏Publisher : Llewellyn Worldwide
✏Release Date : 2007-01
✏Pages : 277
✏ISBN : 9780738712529
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Sacred Paths for Modern Men Book Summary : Roar Rule Laugh Create Destroy Love ...And lay claim to your true masculine nature and spiritual heritage. According to Dagonet Dewr, a writer and activist in the men's pagan spirituality movement: "We have forgotten how to cry, to scream, to hunt, to love, to honor, to teach, to initiate." Hip, funny, and direct, this pagan belief guide explores twelve powerful male archetypes and their relevance for men today: Divine Child, Lover, Warrior, Trickster, Green Man, Guide, Craftsman, Magician, Destroyer, King, Healer, and Sacrificed One. Stories of characters from mythology, fantasy, and pop culture illustrate different expressions of masculine energy. With pagan rituals and magickal workings, this pagan book offers a visceral, hands-on way to connect with archetypal energies and honor male rites of passage such as coming of age, seeking a partner in love, or becoming a father.

📒The Sacred Paths ✍ Theodore M. Ludwig

✏Book Title : The Sacred Paths
✏Author : Theodore M. Ludwig
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 2001
✏Pages : 564
✏ISBN : STANFORD:36105028664469
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Sacred Paths Book Summary : For courses in Religions of the World, History of Religions, Comparative Religion, and Introduction to Religious Studies in departments of Religion, Religious Studies, Theology, and Philosophy. Unique in approach, this text combines an historical-descriptive presentation of individual religions with a comparative-thematic approach. It begins with a discussion of the basic human questions and concerns relating to religion e.g., origin and identity, ultimate reality, human nature, and the good life and then uses these essential concepts to help describe the beliefs, practices, and historical development of each religion. As the work of a single scholar much of it based on original research this book offers a consistency and depth missing in many of the texts in this field.

📒Walking A Sacred Path ✍ Lauren Artress

✏Book Title : Walking a Sacred Path
✏Author : Lauren Artress
✏Publisher : Penguin
✏Release Date : 1996-06-01
✏Pages : 240
✏ISBN : 1101218533
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Walking a Sacred Path Book Summary : 'Walking the Labyrinth' has reemerged today as a metaphor for the spiritual journey and a powerful tool for transformation. This walking meditation is an archetype, a mystical ritual found in all religious traditions. It quiets the mind and opens the soul. Walking a Sacred Path explores the historical origins of this divine imprint and shares the discoveries of modern day seekers. It shows us the potential of the Labyrinth to inspire change and renewal, and serves as a guide to help us develop the higher level of human awareness we need to survive in the twenty-first century.

📒Sacred Paths ✍ Adrian Gibb

✏Book Title : Sacred Paths
✏Author : Adrian Gibb
✏Publisher : John Hunt Publishing
✏Release Date : 2013-12-13
✏Pages : 159
✏ISBN : 9781782790952
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Sacred Paths Book Summary : There is an exquisite diversity and beauty that can be found in the ‘Sacred Paths’ people choose to walk. This is a book that explores those paths. Women and men from a broad range of faiths, from Buddhism to Bahai, Christian to Pagan, Jewish Rabbi to Muslim, are asked five essentials questions; What Is God? What Is Faith? What Is ‘Evil’? What Is Contemplation? And finally, What Happens When We Die? Sacred Paths is a work within the Inter-faith/Pluralism genre, tapping into the growing interest in dialogue between faiths, and an exploration of the similarities, as well as the differences, between the world’s religions. "Your sacred space is where you can find yourself again and again." Joseph Campbell

📒The Sacred Pipe ✍ Joseph Epes Brown

✏Book Title : The Sacred Pipe
✏Author : Joseph Epes Brown
✏Publisher : University of Oklahoma Press
✏Release Date : 2012-05-05
✏Pages : 172
✏ISBN : 9780806186719
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Sacred Pipe Book Summary : Black Elk of the Sioux has been recognized as one of the truly remarkable men of his time in the matter of religious belief and practice. Shortly before his death in August, 1950, when he was the "keeper of the sacred pipe," he said, "It is my prayer that, through our sacred pipe, and through this book in which I shall explain what our pipe really is, peace may come to those peoples who can understand, and understanding which must be of the heart and not of the head alone. Then they will realize that we Indians know the One true God, and that we pray to Him continually." Black Elk was the only qualified priest of the older Oglala Sioux still living when The Sacred Pipe was written. This is his book: he gave it orally to Joseph Epes Brown during the latter's eight month's residence on the Pine Ridge Reservation in South Dakota, where Black Elk lived. Beginning with the story of White Buffalo Cow Woman's first visit to the Sioux to give them the sacred pip~, Black Elk describes and discusses the details and meanings of the seven rites, which were disclosed, one by one, to the Sioux through visions. He takes the reader through the sun dance, the purification rite, the "keeping of the soul," and other rites, showing how the Sioux have come to terms with God and nature and their fellow men through a rare spirit of sacrifice and determination. The wakan Mysteries of the Siouan peoples have been a subject of interest and study by explorers and scholars from the period of earliest contact between whites and Indians in North America, but Black Elk's account is without doubt the most highly developed on this religion and cosmography. The Sacred Pipe, published as volume thirty-six in the Civilization of the American Indian Series, will be greeted enthusiastically by students of comparative religion, ethnologists, historians, philosophers, and everyone interested in American Indian life.

📒A Sacred Path ✍ Jean Chaudhuri

✏Book Title : A Sacred Path
✏Author : Jean Chaudhuri
✏Publisher : Amer Indian Studies Center
✏Release Date : 2001
✏Pages : 191
✏ISBN : WISC:89077168268
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏A Sacred Path Book Summary : "The Chaudhuris' new book, A Sacred Path: The Way of the Muscogee Creeks is an important work that explains and documents the Creeks' persistence as a people despite having been defrauded and dispossessed of their ancient homelands."--Back cover.

📒Sacred Paths And Muddy Places ✍ Stephen Altschuler

✏Book Title : Sacred Paths and Muddy Places
✏Author : Stephen Altschuler
✏Publisher : Stillpoint Pub
✏Release Date : 1993
✏Pages : 241
✏ISBN : 0913299928
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Sacred Paths and Muddy Places Book Summary : In the tradition of Annie Dillard, John Muir, and Gary Snyder, the author reports how he learned to experience nature in a "wakeful state of mind" in order to heal his emotional pain and grow spiritually. He has found that the power of nature to facilitate meditation is available to everyone, as evidenced in these passages and essays. Photographs and line drawings.

📒War On Sacred Grounds ✍ Ron E. Hassner

✏Book Title : War on Sacred Grounds
✏Author : Ron E. Hassner
✏Publisher : Cornell University Press
✏Release Date : 2010-12-15
✏Pages : 248
✏ISBN : 0801460409
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏War on Sacred Grounds Book Summary : Sacred sites offer believers the possibility of communing with the divine and achieving deeper insight into their faith. Yet their spiritual and cultural importance can lead to competition as religious groups seek to exclude rivals from practicing potentially sacrilegious rituals in the hallowed space and wish to assert their own claims. Holy places thus create the potential for military, theological, or political clashes, not only between competing religious groups but also between religious groups and secular actors. In War on Sacred Grounds, Ron E. Hassner investigates the causes and properties of conflicts over sites that are both venerated and contested; he also proposes potential means for managing these disputes. Hassner illustrates a complex and poorly understood political dilemma with accounts of the failures to reach settlement at Temple Mount/Haram el-Sharif, leading to the clashes of 2000, and the competing claims of Hindus and Muslims at Ayodhya, which resulted in the destruction of the mosque there in 1992. He also addresses more successful compromises in Jerusalem in 1967 and Mecca in 1979. Sacred sites, he contends, are particularly prone to conflict because they provide valuable resources for both religious and political actors yet cannot be divided. The management of conflicts over sacred sites requires cooperation, Hassner suggests, between political leaders interested in promoting conflict resolution and religious leaders who can shape the meaning and value that sacred places hold for believers. Because a reconfiguration of sacred space requires a confluence of political will, religious authority, and a window of opportunity, it is relatively rare. Drawing on the study of religion and the study of politics in equal measure, Hassner's account offers insight into the often-violent dynamics that come into play at the places where religion and politics collide.