Priceless

📒Priceless ✍ William Poundstone

✏Book Title : Priceless
✏Author : William Poundstone
✏Publisher : Hill and Wang
✏Release Date : 2010-01-05
✏Pages : 352
✏ISBN : 1429943939
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Priceless Book Summary : Prada stores carry a few obscenely expensive items in order to boost sales for everything else (which look like bargains in comparison). People used to download music for free, then Steve Jobs convinced them to pay. How? By charging 99 cents. That price has a hypnotic effect: the profit margin of the 99 Cents Only store is twice that of Wal-Mart. Why do text messages cost money, while e-mails are free? Why do jars of peanut butter keep getting smaller in order to keep the price the "same"? The answer is simple: prices are a collective hallucination. In Priceless, the bestselling author William Poundstone reveals the hidden psychology of value. In psychological experiments, people are unable to estimate "fair" prices accurately and are strongly influenced by the unconscious, irrational, and politically incorrect. It hasn't taken long for marketers to apply these findings. "Price consultants" advise retailers on how to convince consumers to pay more for less, and negotiation coaches offer similar advice for businesspeople cutting deals. The new psychology of price dictates the design of price tags, menus, rebates, "sale" ads, cell phone plans, supermarket aisles, real estate offers, wage packages, tort demands, and corporate buyouts. Prices are the most pervasive hidden persuaders of all. Rooted in the emerging field of behavioral decision theory, Priceless should prove indispensable to anyone who negotiates.

📒Priceless ✍ Sherryl Woods

✏Book Title : Priceless
✏Author : Sherryl Woods
✏Publisher : MIRA
✏Release Date : 2016-04-01
✏Pages : 400
✏ISBN : 9781459292437
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Priceless Book Summary : Return to the heart of the Carlton family in this beloved story of finding love in unexpected places by #1 New York Times bestselling author Sherryl Woods Charismatic playboy Mack Carlton lit up a room—even a hospital room—like no one else. Dr. Beth Browning had to admit Mack's visits were a tonic for her young patient, but her own reaction was much more confusing… Although Beth didn't ask for a second opinion on her future with Mack, his aunt Destiny offered her prognosis: marriage. Given Mack's romantic history and her own wariness due to past losses, Beth hesitated to agree—but her symptoms were undeniably love!

📒Pricing The Priceless Child ✍ Viviana A. Zelizer

✏Book Title : Pricing the Priceless Child
✏Author : Viviana A. Zelizer
✏Publisher : Princeton University Press
✏Release Date : 1994-08-28
✏Pages : 277
✏ISBN : 0691034591
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Pricing the Priceless Child Book Summary : This study traces the emergence of changing attitudes about the child, at once economically "useless" and emotionally "priceless", from the late 1800s to the 1930s. It describes how turn-of-the-century America discovered new, sentimental ways to determine a child's monetary worth.

📒Priceless ✍ Bradley Trevor Greive

✏Book Title : Priceless
✏Author : Bradley Trevor Greive
✏Publisher : Andrews McMeel Publishing
✏Release Date : 2002-11-02
✏Pages : 160
✏ISBN : 9780740726958
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Priceless Book Summary : Striking photographs and an inspirational narrative highlight species of animals that are threatened by extinction, offering a dramatic call to action to preserve the environment, biodiversity, and the creatures that make Earth their home.

📒Priceless ✍ Olivia Darling

✏Book Title : Priceless
✏Author : Olivia Darling
✏Publisher : Hachette UK
✏Release Date : 2009-03-19
✏Pages : 300
✏ISBN : 9781848942967
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Priceless Book Summary : For fans of Maestra and Jackie Collins, this thrilling erotic novel leads you into the glamourous world of international fine art - where what you see isn't always what you get... Love, honour, betrayal. What would it take to make you risk your reputation, your livelihood or even your life? On London's glittering art scene there's only one thing worth more than a Leonardo da Vinci and that's revenge. When native New Yorker Carrie Klein is asked to set up a new auction house in London, she seizes the opportunity to make her name in the art world... and finally settle an old score. In rival auction house Ludbrooks, Lizzy Duffy is sleeping with her boss. Which could prove to be her best career move yet. Or her worst. And in a draughty farmhouse in Cornwall, impoverished artist Serena Macdonald struggles to support her young daughter by painting family pets. Until a mistake leads to a cottage industry in 'old masters' - and a daring sting that could spell disaster for them all... Cut-throat competition and carnal pleasures abound in this erotic thriller from the author of Vintage and Temptation.

📒Priceless Markets ✍ Philip T. Hoffman

✏Book Title : Priceless Markets
✏Author : Philip T. Hoffman
✏Publisher : University of Chicago Press
✏Release Date : 2000
✏Pages : 350
✏ISBN : 0226348016
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Priceless Markets Book Summary : This pathbreaking book shows how credit markets functioned in Paris, through the agency of notaries, during a critical period of French history. Its authors challenge the usual assumption that organized financial markets—and hence the opportunity for economic growth—did not emerge outside of England and the Netherlands until the nineteenth century. Drawing on innovative research, the authors show that as early as the Old Regime, financial intermediaries in France were mobilizing a great tide of capital and arranging thousands of loans between borrowers and lenders. The implications for historians and economists are substantial. The role of notaries operating in Paris that Priceless Markets uncovers has never before been recognized. In the wake of this pathbreaking new study, historians will also have to rethink the origins of the French Revolution. As the authors show, the crisis of 1787-88 did not simply ignite revolt; it was intimately bound up in an economic struggle that reached far back into the eighteenth century, and continued well into the 1800s.

📒Priceless ✍ Robert K. Wittman

✏Book Title : Priceless
✏Author : Robert K. Wittman
✏Publisher : Broadway Books
✏Release Date : 2010-06-01
✏Pages : 320
✏ISBN : 0307461491
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Priceless Book Summary : The Wall Street Journal called him “a living legend.” The London Times dubbed him “the most famous art detective in the world.” In Priceless, Robert K. Wittman, the founder of the FBI’s Art Crime Team, pulls back the curtain on his remarkable career for the first time, offering a real-life international thriller to rival The Thomas Crown Affair. Rising from humble roots as the son of an antique dealer, Wittman built a twenty-year career that was nothing short of extraordinary. He went undercover, usually unarmed, to catch art thieves, scammers, and black market traders in Paris and Philadelphia, Rio and Santa Fe, Miami and Madrid. In this page-turning memoir, Wittman fascinates with the stories behind his recoveries of priceless art and antiquities: The golden armor of an ancient Peruvian warrior king. The Rodin sculpture that inspired the Impressionist movement. The headdress Geronimo wore at his final Pow-Wow. The rare Civil War battle flag carried into battle by one of the nation’s first African-American regiments. The breadth of Wittman’s exploits is unmatched: He traveled the world to rescue paintings by Rockwell and Rembrandt, Pissarro, Monet and Picasso, often working undercover overseas at the whim of foreign governments. Closer to home, he recovered an original copy of the Bill of Rights and cracked the scam that rocked the PBS series Antiques Roadshow. By the FBI’s accounting, Wittman saved hundreds of millions of dollars worth of art and antiquities. He says the statistic isn’t important. After all, who’s to say what is worth more --a Rembrandt self-portrait or an American flag carried into battle? They're both priceless. The art thieves and scammers Wittman caught run the gamut from rich to poor, smart to foolish, organized criminals to desperate loners. The smuggler who brought him a looted 6th-century treasure turned out to be a high-ranking diplomat. The appraiser who stole countless heirlooms from war heroes’ descendants was a slick, aristocratic con man. The museum janitor who made off with locks of George Washington's hair just wanted to make a few extra bucks, figuring no one would miss what he’d filched. In his final case, Wittman called on every bit of knowledge and experience in his arsenal to take on his greatest challenge: working undercover to track the vicious criminals behind what might be the most audacious art theft of all. From the Hardcover edition.

📒Priceless ✍ Kelly Hunter

✏Book Title : Priceless
✏Author : Kelly Hunter
✏Publisher : HarperCollins Australia
✏Release Date : 2011-01-01
✏Pages : 224
✏ISBN : 9781742903194
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Priceless Book Summary : Is he a gem or a rough diamond? Clothes, look, attitude–jeweller Erin reckons she can tell at a glance a man's occupation. But Tristan Bennett has her fooled: he's tall, sexy and enigmatic–and she can't tell whether he's a gem or a rough diamond. But Tristan admits he can drive, and has a week to spare–and he'll act as protector to Erin while she goes up–country to Australia's gem mines to buy precious stones. And Erin knows they're headed for trouble–unless they can keep the lid on the sensual attraction growing between them!

📒Priceless Gifts ✍ Martha Hamilton

✏Book Title : Priceless Gifts
✏Author : Martha Hamilton
✏Publisher : august house
✏Release Date : 2006-12
✏Pages : 32
✏ISBN : 087483788X
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Priceless Gifts Book Summary : Presents a retelling of a traditional Italian tale in which a kindly Genoese merchant, richly rewarded for solving an irritating problem for the king of the Spice Islands, causes a greedy rival to try and gain a fortune in the same way.

📒Priceless ✍ Roy Miles

✏Book Title : Priceless
✏Author : Roy Miles
✏Publisher : Metro Books
✏Release Date : 2003
✏Pages : 262
✏ISBN : UVA:X004719609
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Priceless Book Summary : Roy Miles is one of the most prolific, talented and knowledgeable art dealersn the world. He once owned one of the largest galleries in London: fromanaletto to Gainsborough, from Toulouse-Lautrec to Stubbs, there are fewreat artists whose work has not passed through his hands. Moving in thepper reaches of society, Roy has met a host of famous and fascinating people,ncluding Prince Charles, Princess Margaret, Ted Heath and Ivana Trump. Heven organized portraits to be painted for Rudolf Nuryev and for Margarethatcher. This is a tale of money, deals, scandal and intrigue. Roy's lifeas been a blend of art, travel, the rich and the famous and this book givesou a glimpse into a world where money does the talking and the deal is allhat matters.