Possession

📒Jailed For Possession ✍ Catherine Carstairs

✏Book Title : Jailed for Possession
✏Author : Catherine Carstairs
✏Publisher : University of Toronto Press
✏Release Date : 2006
✏Pages : 241
✏ISBN : 9780802093721
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Jailed for Possession Book Summary : As rates of illegal drug use increase, the debates over drug policy heat up. While some believe penalties should be harsher, others advocate complete decriminalisation. Certainly, debate over the 'war on drugs' is not new. In the early 1920s, as the drive for Chinese Exclusion gathered steam, Canadians blamed the Chinese for the growing use of opium and other drugs, and parliamentarians passed extremely harsh drug laws to counter this use. These laws remained in place until the 1960s. In Jailed for Possession, Catherine Carstairs examines the impact of these drug laws on users' health, work lives, and relationships. In the middle of the century, drug users regularly went to jail for up to two years for possession of even the smallest amount of opium, morphine, heroin, or cocaine, often spending more time incarcerated than on the street. As enforcement increased and drugs became harder to obtain, drug use became an increasingly central preoccupation, making it almost impossible for users to hold down steady jobs, support families, or maintain solid relationships. Jailed for Possession is the first social history of drug use in Canada and provides a careful examination of drug users and their regulators including doctors, social workers, and police officers.

📒Having ✍ William Schweiker

✏Book Title : Having
✏Author : William Schweiker
✏Publisher : Wm. B. Eerdmans Publishing
✏Release Date : 2004
✏Pages : 415
✏ISBN : 0802824846
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Having Book Summary : In today's market economies, people constitute much of their identity in relation to the things they possess, and communities facilitate social intercourse and survival by means of property relations. What, if anything, might the study of the biblical religions contribute to thinking about and responding to the basic reality of "having"? In this book scholars in a variety of fields -- theology, ethics, economics, and biblical studies -- address in new and penetrating ways the meaning of "having" in religious and social life and offer a number of compelling answers to challenging questions about property and possession in our present, global age.

📒Acts Of Possession ✍ Leah Dilworth

✏Book Title : Acts of Possession
✏Author : Leah Dilworth
✏Publisher : Rutgers University Press
✏Release Date : 2003
✏Pages : 312
✏ISBN : 0813532728
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Acts of Possession Book Summary : The success of internet auction sites like eBay and the cult status of public television's Antiques Roadshow attest to the continued popularity of collecting in American culture. Acts of Possession investigates the ways cultural meanings of collections have evolved and yet remained surprisingly unchanged throughout American history. Drawing upon the body of theoretical work on collecting and focusing on individual as opposed to museum collections, the contributors investigate how, what, and why Americans have collected and explore the inherent meanings behind systems of organization and display. Essays consider the meanings of Thomas Jefferson's Indian Hall at Monticello; the pedagogical theories behind nineteenth-century children's curiosity cabinets; collections of Native American artifacts; and the ability of the owners of doll houses to construct meaning within the context of traditional ideals of domesticity. The authors also consider some darker aspects of collecting-hoarding, fetishism, and compulsive behavior-scrutinizing collections of racist memorabilia and fascist propaganda. The final essay posits the serial killer as a collector, an investigation into the dangerous objectification of humans themselves. By bringing fresh, interdisciplinary critical perspectives to bear on these questions, Dilworth and her coauthors weave a fascinating cultural history of collecting in America.

✏Book Title : Spirit Possession around the World Possession Communion and Demon Expulsion across Cultures
✏Author : Joseph P. Laycock
✏Publisher : ABC-CLIO
✏Release Date : 2015-05-26
✏Pages : 414
✏ISBN : 9781610695909
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Spirit Possession around the World Possession Communion and Demon Expulsion across Cultures Book Summary : This book provides a fascinating historical and cultural overview of traditional beliefs about spirit possession and exorcism around the world, from Europe to Asia and the Middle East to the Americas. • Provides an interdisciplinary perspective on the subject of spirit possession, reflecting the work of scholars and experts from many fields • Covers a wide range of cultures, traditions, and phenomena with up-to-date, little-known information that is difficult to find through independent research • Includes primary documents that give students accounts of exorcism and spiritual possession and serve to foster critical thinking skills and media literacy • Features sidebars that illuminate key points and present related information, with special attention paid to exorcism and spirit possession in popular culture

📒Demonic Possession ✍ C. Torrington

✏Book Title : Demonic Possession
✏Author : C. Torrington
✏Publisher : Arcturus Publishing
✏Release Date : 2016-01-15
✏Pages :
✏ISBN : 9781784281403
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Demonic Possession Book Summary : The idea of people possessed by evil spirits against their will is as old as the hills. Often there is thought to be a special way a person has become possessed. It might be the result of a curse cast on them by a sorcerer, or some unfortunate mishap such as stepping over a dead body. Or the demons can have been invited, in a Satanic ritual. More often, at least in recent Christian tradition, there is no initiating moment that can be identified - they just find their way in, like disease. From Pearl Curran, a housewife living in St Louis, Missouri, who soared to fame in the second decade of the 20th century as the amanuensis of 'Patience Worth', a writer who had died in the 17th century, to victims of Dissociative Personality Disorder (thought to have inspired Dr Jekyll & Mr Hyde), this book examines demonic possession from every angle.

📒Possession ✍ M. Verano

✏Book Title : Possession
✏Author : M. Verano
✏Publisher : Simon and Schuster
✏Release Date : 2016-08-30
✏Pages : 352
✏ISBN : 9781481464437
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Possession Book Summary : In the tradition of Paranormal Activity and The Exorcist, an ordinary girl with a strange illness recounts her experience with the dark and ancient entity that’s making her sick in this chilling diary that features photos and images of what she experienced. All her life, Laetitia Jones has only wanted to be a star. It’s more than an ambition—somewhere deep inside, she knows that she was born for greatness. But her path to stardom now seems to be halted by a mysterious, undiagnosed illness that’s taken over her body. Doctors don’t have a clue and most days, she’s stuck at home documenting her strange symptoms—symptoms that start with fevers and chills, but soon escalate to bizarre bodily reactions. Laetitia’s only escape from her illness is following the news—and the race riots that are moving closer and closer to her neighborhood. But when horrific visions begin to invade her mind, even the media can’t distract her and she begins to wonder—is her illness something biological…or is it something more? Are the voices she hears and the notes she finds in her own handwriting signs of insanity…or signs of something much more sinister and demonic? Or, perhaps, signs of something benevolent…something holy even. Laetitia has always known she’d be famous…she just didn’t know it would happen this way.

📒Possession ✍ Ann Rule

✏Book Title : Possession
✏Author : Ann Rule
✏Publisher : Simon and Schuster
✏Release Date : 1997-08-01
✏Pages : 384
✏ISBN : 9780671527884
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Possession Book Summary : Joanne Lindstrom's camping trip to Washington's Cascade mountains goes terribly awry, leaving her husband dead and Joanne's only hope for survival in the hands of a twisted stranger. Reprint.

✏Book Title : Ceremonies of Possession in Europe s Conquest of the New World 1492 1640
✏Author : Patricia Seed
✏Publisher : Cambridge University Press
✏Release Date : 1995-10-27
✏Pages : 199
✏ISBN : 0521497574
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Ceremonies of Possession in Europe s Conquest of the New World 1492 1640 Book Summary : A 1996 comparative history exploring the significance of ceremonies performed by the western imperial powers to mark their territorial possession of the New World.

📒Dimensions Of Possession ✍ Irène Baron

✏Book Title : Dimensions of Possession
✏Author : Irène Baron
✏Publisher : John Benjamins Publishing
✏Release Date : 2001-01-01
✏Pages : 335
✏ISBN : 9027229511
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Dimensions of Possession Book Summary : Few linguistic concepts are more elusive than 'possession'. The present collection of articles, selected from an international workshop held in Copenhagen in May 1998, confronts the subject from several angles (lexicon; the semantics of possession and the verb HAVE; the syntax of genitives and other possessive structures; the interaction of verbal and nominal constructions; the semantic and textual implications of the alienable/inalienable distinction, etc.) and approaches (formal semantics; functional semantics; and syntax as diachronic and typological comparisons). The languages covered include both European languages such as Danish, French, Russian, Spanish, Portuguese and Latin, and several American, Australian, African and Asian languages. This volume in which the contributing scholars have sought to examine as many 'dimensions' as possible is of interest to all linguists, in particular those working in the field of typology and functional approaches to language.

📒Possession ✍ Rene Gutteridge

✏Book Title : Possession
✏Author : Rene Gutteridge
✏Publisher : Tyndale House Publishers, Inc.
✏Release Date : 2010-12-20
✏Pages : 400
✏ISBN : 1414350945
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Possession Book Summary : In the aftermath of investigating the D.C. sniper case, police detective Vance Graegan is burned out on life and love. Hoping to save his marriage, he quits the force and moves his wife and son to the other side of the country. But when the movers decide to hold his belongings for ransom, Vance is determined to ensure that his family’s new beginning is not ruined. Soon, though, losing his possessions becomes the least of his problems as everything they are fighting for begins to unravel in the hands of Vance’s past. In an unforgettable climax, a little boy’s innocent faith brings a group of desperate people to their knees. What is at stake counts for everything, but nothing can prepare Vance for who is behind it.