Pdf The Tattooist Of Auschwitz Book

📒The Tattooist Of Auschwitz ✍ Heather Morris

✏Book Title : The Tattooist of Auschwitz
✏Author : Heather Morris
✏Publisher : Bonnier Publishing Fiction Ltd.
✏Release Date : 2018-01-11
✏Pages : 368
✏ISBN : 9781785763663
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Tattooist of Auschwitz Book Summary : **4 MILLION COPIES SOLD WORLDWIDE** For readers of Schindler's List, The Man Who Broke into Auschwitz and The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas comes a heart-breaking story of the very best of humanity in the very worst of circumstances. I tattooed a number on her arm. She tattooed her name on my heart. In 1942, Lale Sokolov arrived in Auschwitz-Birkenau. He was given the job of tattooing the prisoners marked for survival - scratching numbers into his fellow victims' arms in indelible ink to create what would become one of the most potent symbols of the Holocaust. Waiting in line to be tattooed, terrified and shaking, was a young girl. For Lale - a dandy, a jack-the-lad, a bit of a chancer - it was love at first sight. And he was determined not only to survive himself, but to ensure this woman, Gita, did, too. So begins one of the most life-affirming, courageous, unforgettable and human stories of the Holocaust: the love story of the tattooist of Auschwitz. ----- Heather Morris is on tour in the UK this autumn - for details see @ZaffreBooks on Twitter ----- 'Extraordinary - moving, confronting and uplifting . . . I recommend it unreservedly' Greame Simsion 'A moving and ultimately uplifting story of love, loyalties and friendship amidst the horrors of war . . . It's a triumph.' Jill Mansell 'A sincere . . . moving attempt to speak the unspeakable' Sunday Times

✏Book Title : The True Story of Hansel and Gretel
✏Author : Louise Murphy
✏Publisher : Penguin
✏Release Date : 2003-07-29
✏Pages : 320
✏ISBN : 1101495626
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The True Story of Hansel and Gretel Book Summary : A poignant and suspenseful retelling of a classic fairy tale set in a war-torn world In the last months of the Nazi occupation of Poland, two children are left by their father and stepmother to find safety in a dense forest. Because their real names will reveal their Jewishness, they are renamed "Hansel" and "Gretel." They wander in the woods until they are taken in by Magda, an eccentric and stubborn old woman called "witch" by the nearby villagers. Magda is determined to save them, even as a German officer arrives in the village with his own plans for the children. Louise Murphy’s haunting novel of journey and survival, of redemption and memory, powerfully depicts how war is experienced by families and especially by children. "Lyrical, haunting, unforgettable." —Kirkus Reviews "No reader who picks up this inspiring novel will put it down until the final pages, in which redemption is not a fairy tale ending but a heartening message of hope." —Publishers Weekly From the Trade Paperback edition.

📒The Beekeeper Of Aleppo ✍ Christy Lefteri

✏Book Title : The Beekeeper of Aleppo
✏Author : Christy Lefteri
✏Publisher : Ballantine Books
✏Release Date : 2019-08-27
✏Pages : 336
✏ISBN : 9780593128169
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Beekeeper of Aleppo Book Summary : This unforgettable novel puts human faces on the Syrian war with the immigrant story of a beekeeper, his wife, and the triumph of spirit when the world becomes unrecognizable. “Courageous and provocative, The Beekeeper of Aleppo is a beautifully crafted novel of international significance that has the capacity to have us open our eyes and see.”—Heather Morris, author of The Tattooist of Auschwitz Nuri is a beekeeper and Afra, his wife, is an artist. Mornings, Nuri rises early to hear the call to prayer before driving to his hives in the countryside. On weekends, Afra sells her colorful landscape paintings at the open-air market. They live a simple life, rich in family and friends, in the hills of the beautiful Syrian city of Aleppo—until the unthinkable happens. When all they love is destroyed by war, Nuri knows they have no choice except to leave their home. But escaping Syria will be no easy task: Afra has lost her sight, leaving Nuri to navigate her grief as well as a perilous journey through Turkey and Greece toward an uncertain future in Britain. Nuri is sustained only by the knowledge that waiting for them is his cousin Mustafa, who has started an apiary in Yorkshire and is teaching fellow refugees beekeeping. As Nuri and Afra travel through a broken world, they must confront not only the pain of their own unspeakable loss but dangers that would overwhelm even the bravest souls. Above all, they must make the difficult journey back to each other, a path once so familiar yet rendered foreign by the heartache of displacement. Moving, intimate, and beautifully written, The Beekeeper of Aleppo is a book for our times: a novel that at once reminds us that the most peaceful and ordinary lives can be utterly upended in unimaginable ways and brings a journey in faraway lands close to home, never to be forgotten. Advance praise for The Beekeeper of Aleppo “This book dips below the deafening headlines, and tells a true story with subtlety and power.”—Esther Freud, author of Mr. Mac and Me “This compelling tale had me gripped with its compassion, its sensual style, and its onward and lively urge for resolution.”—Daljit Nagra, author of British Museum “This novel speaks to so much that is happening in the world today. It’s intelligent, thoughtful, and relevant, but very importantly it is accessible. I’m recommending this book to everyone I care about.”—Benjamin Zephaniah, author of Refugee Boy

📒The Love That I Have ✍ James Moloney

✏Book Title : The Love That I Have
✏Author : James Moloney
✏Publisher : HarperCollins
✏Release Date : 2018-06-01
✏Pages : 304
✏ISBN : 9781460709054
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Love That I Have Book Summary : 'WINTER CALLS FOR A GOOD BOOK, AND WE'VE FOUND ONE TO RIVAL THE BOOK THIEF' -- The Australian Women's Weekly Margot Baumann has left school to take up her sister's job in the mailroom of a large prison. But this is Germany in 1944, and the prison is Sachsenhausen concentration camp near Berlin. Margot is shielded from the camp's brutality as she has no contact with prisoners. But she does handle their mail and, when given a cigarette lighter and told to burn the letters, she is horrified by the callous act she must carry out with her own hands. This is especially painful since her brother was taken prisoner at Stalingrad and her family have had no letters from him. So Margot steals a few letters, intending to send them in secret, only to find herself drawn to their heart-rending words of hope, of despair, and of love. This is how Margot comes to know Dieter Kleinschmidt - through the beauty and the passion of his letters to his girlfriend. And since his girlfriend is also named Margot, it is like reading love letters written for her. From award-winning Australian author James Moloney, comes a fresh and compelling story about love, loss and profound bravery. For fans of The Book Thief, this powerful and heartbreaking story set during WW2 stays with you long after the final page is read. MORE PRAISE FOR THE LOVE THAT I HAVE: 'a beautiful, heartbreaking and affecting read. ... Definitely one for book club, just don't forget the tissues.' -- The Australian Women's Weekly 'a heartbreaking, harrowing and deeply hopeful story ... for readers of The Book Thief, The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas' -- Books+Publishing 'A compelling and emotionally charged story of young love and survival, bravery and humanity. The closing months of the Second World War in Germany are seen from a surprising and fresh perspective. I was holding back tears from page 72.' -- Shona Martyn, Spectrum Editor, The Sydney Morning Herald 'a profoundly hopeful and humanity-affirming novel, portraying the equalising power that compassion has above all injustice. This is a novel for people who enjoyed The Book Thief, The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas, All the Light We Cannot See, and more recently, The Tattooist of Auschwitz.' -- Better Reading 'This is historical fiction at its best - thoughtfully written, relevant today, throwing new light on well-worn themes of love, loyalty and friendship. It is also a gut-wrenching read that is up there with Anne Frank's diary for immediacy and impact. Recommended.' -- CBCA Reading Time

✏Book Title : Criminology Civilisation and the New World Order
✏Author : Wayne Morrison
✏Publisher : Routledge
✏Release Date : 2013-10-18
✏Pages : 424
✏ISBN : 9781135331122
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Criminology Civilisation and the New World Order Book Summary : Expertly authored by the co-editor of the best-selling text Cultural Criminology Unleashed, this book re-examines criminology in a global context. Wide-ranging and up-to-date, it covers the topics of colonialism and post-colonialism, genocide, state control, the impact of September 11th and the post-9/11 world. Exploring the relationship between a modern discipline and modernity, it reworks the history and composition of criminology in light of September 11th and the prevalence of genocide in modernity. Analizing statistics, anthropology and the everyday assumptions of criminology's history, this text addresses the political and scholarly grip on the territorial state and the absence of a global criminology. Rejecting the prevalent belief that September 11th and the responses it evoked were exceptions that either destroyed or revealed the absence of global legal order, the author argues that, in fact, they confirm the nature of the world order of modernity. A compelling and topical volume, this is a must read for anyone interested or studying in the areas of criminology and criminal justice.

✏Book Title : Encyclopedia of Body Adornment
✏Author : Margo DeMello
✏Publisher : ABC-CLIO
✏Release Date : 2007
✏Pages : 326
✏ISBN : 0313336954
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Encyclopedia of Body Adornment Book Summary : Alphabetically arranged entries discuss forms of body modification or adornment found throughout history and around the world, including background information and the theoretical, social, ethical, and legal issues surrounding each practice.

✏Book Title : Handbook of New Security Studies
✏Author : J. Peter Burgess
✏Publisher : Routledge
✏Release Date : 2010-01-22
✏Pages : 328
✏ISBN : 9781135166205
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Handbook of New Security Studies Book Summary : This new Handbook gathers together state-of-the-art theoretical reflection and empirical research by a group of leading international scholars relating to recent transformations in the field of security studies.