Pdf The Tattooist Of Auschwitz Book

📒The Tattooist Of Auschwitz ✍ Heather Morris

✏Book Title : The Tattooist of Auschwitz
✏Author : Heather Morris
✏Publisher : Bonnier Publishing Fiction Ltd.
✏Release Date : 2018-01-11
✏Pages : 368
✏ISBN : 9781785763663
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Tattooist of Auschwitz Book Summary : For readers of Schindler's List, The Man Who Broke into Auschwitz and The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas comes a heart-breaking story of the very best of humanity in the very worst of circumstances. I tattooed a number on her arm. She tattooed her name on my heart. In 1942, Lale Sokolov arrived in Auschwitz-Birkenau. He was given the job of tattooing the prisoners marked for survival - scratching numbers into his fellow victims' arms in indelible ink to create what would become one of the most potent symbols of the Holocaust. Waiting in line to be tattooed, terrified and shaking, was a young girl. For Lale - a dandy, a jack-the-lad, a bit of a chancer - it was love at first sight. And he was determined not only to survive himself, but to ensure this woman, Gita, did, too. So begins one of the most life-affirming, courageous, unforgettable and human stories of the Holocaust: the love story of the tattooist of Auschwitz. ----- 'Extraordinary - moving, confronting and uplifting . . . I recommend it unreservedly' Greame Simsion 'A moving and ultimately uplifting story of love, loyalties and friendship amidst the horrors of war . . . It's a triumph.' Jill Mansell 'A sincere . . . moving attempt to speak the unspeakable' Sunday Times

✏Book Title : The True Story of Hansel and Gretel
✏Author : Louise Murphy
✏Publisher : Penguin
✏Release Date : 2003-07-29
✏Pages : 320
✏ISBN : 1101495626
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The True Story of Hansel and Gretel Book Summary : A poignant and suspenseful retelling of a classic fairy tale set in a war-torn world In the last months of the Nazi occupation of Poland, two children are left by their father and stepmother to find safety in a dense forest. Because their real names will reveal their Jewishness, they are renamed "Hansel" and "Gretel." They wander in the woods until they are taken in by Magda, an eccentric and stubborn old woman called "witch" by the nearby villagers. Magda is determined to save them, even as a German officer arrives in the village with his own plans for the children. Louise Murphy’s haunting novel of journey and survival, of redemption and memory, powerfully depicts how war is experienced by families and especially by children. "Lyrical, haunting, unforgettable." —Kirkus Reviews "No reader who picks up this inspiring novel will put it down until the final pages, in which redemption is not a fairy tale ending but a heartening message of hope." —Publishers Weekly From the Trade Paperback edition.