On The Move A Black Family S Western Saga

✏Book Title : On the Move a Black Family s Western Saga
✏Author : S. Rudolph Martin
✏Publisher : Texas A&M University Press
✏Release Date : 2009-02-10
✏Pages : 195
✏ISBN : 9781603443548
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏On the Move a Black Family s Western Saga Book Summary : "Yet it is less Martin's own personal history than that of his family - both paternal and maternal - that makes this narrative vital for those who would understand the African American experience west of the Mississippi. After avid genealogical research and the generous memory-sharing of relatives, Martin has crafted the story of his forebears from Emancipation to their exodus from the South and Texas - begun even before the great black migrations that occurred around the two world wars. As Martin explains it, he and his brother "arrived on the scene at the confluence of these family streams in time to catch a ride to the shining sea."" "Martin reveals his family's struggles and triumphs as they embrace their new life in the western united States. Students, scholars, and interested general readers of modern African American history and sociology will be greatly rewarded by reading this warm and vivid personal and family memoir."--Jacket.

📒At The Heart Of It All ✍ Anne Overbeck

✏Book Title : At the Heart of It All
✏Author : Anne Overbeck
✏Publisher : Walter de Gruyter GmbH & Co KG
✏Release Date : 2019-01-29
✏Pages : 261
✏ISBN : 9783110399431
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏At the Heart of It All Book Summary : The structure of the African American family has been a recurring theme in American discourse on the African American community. The role of African American mothers especially has been the cause of heated debates since the time of Reconstruction in the 19th century. The discourse, which often saw the African American family as something that needed fi xing, also put the issue of women’s reproductive rights on the political agenda. Taking a long-term perspective from the 1920s to the early 1990s, Anne Overbeck aims to show how normative notions of the American family infl uenced the perspective on the African American family, especially African American women. The book follows the negotiations on African American women’s reproductive rights within the context of eugenics, modernization theory, overpopulation, and the War on Drugs. Thereby it sets out to trace both continuities and changes in the discourse on the reproductive rights of African American women that still infl uence our perspective on the African American family today.

✏Book Title : Teaching Western American Literature
✏Author : Brady Harrison
✏Publisher : U of Nebraska Press
✏Release Date : 2020-06
✏Pages : 336
✏ISBN : 9781496220387
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Teaching Western American Literature Book Summary : "'Teaching Western American Literature' gives instructors a glimpse into the classrooms, syllabi, and assignments of leading scholars in the field"--

📒Rosengren S Books ✍ Mary George

✏Book Title : Rosengren s Books
✏Author : Mary George
✏Publisher : Wings Press
✏Release Date : 2015-01-01
✏Pages : 160
✏ISBN : 9781609403805
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Rosengren s Books Book Summary : Virtually every San Antonio citizen over a certain age with any interest in literature will have vivid memories of Rosengren's Books. It was the absolute center of literary culture not only in San Antonio, but in Texas, for decades. Indeed, from the 1930s to the 1980s, Rosengren's Books was considered one of the finest bookstores between New York and San Francisco. It was a mid-continent haven for writers as diverse as Frost, John Dos Pasos, J. Frank Dobie, and Larry McMurtry. Rosengren's Books: An Oasis for Mind and Spirit is the story of a great American family of independent booksellers and the important literary institution they created. Beginning as a rare book store in Chicago, Frank and Florence Rosengren brought the store to San Antonio, Texas, in 1935. Located in various downtown locations, it became most well known as the charming book shop behind the Alamo, where it was visited by hundreds of thousands of tourists from around the world. At the heart of the story is Florence Rosengren, whom former San Antonio mayor Phil Hardberger calls the "Sylvia Beach of South Texas" and Texas Observer founding editor Ronnie Dugger described as "the chief guardian of civilization from here to Mexico City."

✏Book Title : Western American Literature
✏Author :
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 2009
✏Pages :
✏ISBN : MINN:31951P01128488S
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Western American Literature Book Summary :

✏Book Title : Great Plains Quarterly
✏Author :
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 2010
✏Pages :
✏ISBN : WISC:89119432185
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Great Plains Quarterly Book Summary :

📒The Ouderkerk Family Saga ✍ Henry John Ouderkirk

✏Book Title : The Ouderkerk Family Saga
✏Author : Henry John Ouderkirk
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 2004*
✏Pages : 272
✏ISBN : WISC:89082382730
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Ouderkerk Family Saga Book Summary :

📒The Woman Who Drew Buildings ✍ Wendy Robertson

✏Book Title : The Woman Who Drew Buildings
✏Author : Wendy Robertson
✏Publisher : Hachette UK
✏Release Date : 2012-08-02
✏Pages : 286
✏ISBN : 9780755393718
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Woman Who Drew Buildings Book Summary : How well do we really know the ones we love? Wendy Robertson's The Woman Who Drew Buildings is a powerful portrayal of the unbreakable bond between a mother and her son. Perfect for fans of Josephine Cox and Rosie Goodwin. As Adam Matheve walks towards his mother's house, to see her for the first time in two years, he has just one hope - to forge the bond with her for which he's always yearned. Enigmatic Marie Matheve has spent her life indulging her passion for drawing buildings. Now, after a dangerous fall, she lies unconscious, her life slipping away. All Adam can do is wait in desperate hope for her recovery. But as time passes Adam begins to unravel the mystery of his mother's past and discovers how little he really knows about the woman who raised him... What readers are saying about Wendy Robertson: 'The gift of a true writer is in the telling of stories and characters that stay with you long after you close the book - and Wendy Robertson is one of those writers' 'A skilful, imaginative novelist' 'Five stars'

📒Index To Black History Studies Multimedia ✍ National Information Center for Educational Media

✏Book Title : Index to Black History Studies multimedia
✏Author : National Information Center for Educational Media
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 1971
✏Pages : 139
✏ISBN : STANFORD:36105036146269
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Index to Black History Studies multimedia Book Summary :

✏Book Title : What Do I Read Next 00 V2
✏Author : Gale Group
✏Publisher : Gale Cengage
✏Release Date : 2000-11
✏Pages : 700
✏ISBN : 0787649643
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏What Do I Read Next 00 V2 Book Summary : By identifying similarities in various books, this annual selection guide helps readers to independently choose titles of interest published in the last year. Each entry describes a separate book, listing everything readers need to know to make selections. Arranged by author within six genre sections, detailed entries provide - Title; Publisher and publication date; Series; Names and descriptions of characters; Time period and geographical setting; Review citations; Story types; Brief plot summary; Selected other books by the author; Similar books by different authors. Author, title, series, character name, character description, time period, geographic setting and genre/sub-genre indexes are included to facilitate research.