How Humans Evolved

📒How Humans Evolved ✍ Robert Boyd

✏Book Title : How Humans Evolved
✏Author : Robert Boyd
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 2010-06-04
✏Pages : 538
✏ISBN : 0393117782
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏How Humans Evolved Book Summary :

✏Book Title : How Humans Evolved Eighth Edition
✏Author : Robert Boyd
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 2017
✏Pages : 496
✏ISBN : 039328980X
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏How Humans Evolved Eighth Edition Book Summary :

📒How Humans Evolved ✍ Robert Boyd

✏Book Title : How Humans Evolved
✏Author : Robert Boyd
✏Publisher : W. W. Norton & Company
✏Release Date : 2014-09-16
✏Pages : 440
✏ISBN : 9780393936773
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏How Humans Evolved Book Summary : How Humans Evolved teaches the processes that shape human evolution with a unique blend of evolutionary theory, population genetics, and behavioral ecology. The new edition continues to offer the most up-to-date research—in particular, significantly revised coverage of how recent discoveries are shaping our history of human evolution—while now giving you the best tools to engage your students in and out of the classroom.

📒Transcendence ✍ Gaia Vince

✏Book Title : Transcendence
✏Author : Gaia Vince
✏Publisher : Hachette UK
✏Release Date : 2020-01-21
✏Pages : 352
✏ISBN : 9780465094912
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Transcendence Book Summary : In the tradition of Guns, Germs, and Steel and Sapiens, a winner of the Royal Society Prize for Science Books shows how four tools enabled has us humans to control the destiny of our species "A wondrous, visionary work." --Tim Flannery, scientist and author of the bestselling The Weather Makers What enabled us to go from simple stone tools to smartphones? How did bands of hunter-gatherers evolve into multinational empires? Readers of Sapiens will say a cognitive revolution -- a dramatic evolutionary change that altered our brains, turning primitive humans into modern ones -- caused a cultural explosion. In Transcendence, Gaia Vince argues instead that modern humans are the product of a nuanced coevolution of our genes, environment, and culture that goes back into deep time. She explains how, through four key elements -- fire, language, beauty, and time -- our species diverged from the evolutionary path of all other animals, unleashing a compounding process that launched us into the Space Age and beyond. Provocative and poetic, Transcendence shows how a primate took dominion over nature and turned itself into something marvelous.

📒Human Evolution ✍ Bernard Grant Campbell

✏Book Title : Human Evolution
✏Author : Bernard Grant Campbell
✏Publisher : Transaction Publishers
✏Release Date : 1967
✏Pages : 523
✏ISBN : 0202366626
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Human Evolution Book Summary : In this new fourth edition, Campbell has revised and updated his classic introduction to the field. Human Evolution synthesizes the major findings of modern research and theory and presents a complete and integrated account of the evolution of human beings. New developments in microbiology and recent fossil records are incorporated into the enormous range of this volume, with the resulting text as lucid and comprehensive as earlier editions. The fourth edition retains the thematic structure and organization of the third, with its cogent treatment of human variability and speciation, primate locomotion, and nonverbal communication and the evolution of language, supported by more than 150 detailed illustrations and an expanded and updated glossary and bibliography. As in prior editions, the book treats evolution as a concomitant development of the main behavioral and functional complexes of the genus Homo among them motor control and locomotion, mastication and digestion, the senses and reproduction. It analyzes each complex in terms of its changing function, and continually stresses how the separate complexes evolve interdependently over the long course of the human journey. All these aspects are placed within the context of contemporary evolutionary and genetic theory, analyses of the varied extensions of the fossil record, and contemporary primatology and comparative morphology. The result is a primary text for undergraduate and graduate courses, one that will also serve as required reading for anthropologists, biologists, and nonspecialists with an interest in human evolution. "Synthesizes the conventional academic thought into a textbook or detailed account for lay readers. Along the chronological narrative are discussions of progress in homeostasis, the primate radiation, locomotion and the hindlimb, function and structure of the head, reproduction and social structure, and culture and society." Book News Bernard Campbell has been a visiting lecturer at Harvard and Cambridge, and has taught and conducted research in Eastern and Southern Africa. He was professor of anthropology at the University of California, Los Angeles, from 1970-76. Dr. Campbell is author/coauthor of Sexual Selection and the Descent of Man; Human Ecology (second edition, Aldine); Humankind Emerging and the definitive three-volume Catalogue of Fossil Hominids.

✏Book Title : Aspects of Human Evolution
✏Author : Rudolf Steiner
✏Publisher : SteinerBooks
✏Release Date : 1987
✏Pages : 186
✏ISBN : 0880102527
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Aspects of Human Evolution Book Summary : 8 lectures, Berlin, May 29-July 24, 1917 (CW 176) How to Keep Your Soul Alive after Twenty-Seven This could have been the title of this book. The author shows that the natural development of the soul stops at around the age of twenty-seven. After that, nothing happens for our inner being unless we learn to make it happen. Part of the tragic nature of our time is that more and more people allow their soul life to die at twenty-seven, so that the remainder of their life becomes a kind of mummification. Steiner explains how, by exerting our thinking and feeling, we can keep our soul alive and growing. This is ultimately the only way we can make this incarnation a satisfactory one. Through such effort, we can continue to develop inwardly until a very advanced age--each year, becoming richer and more interesting than the one before. Aspects of Human Evolutionis a book that gives real meaning to the idea that we live in a state of becoming This book is a translation from German of Menschliche und menschheitliche Entwicklungswahrheiten. Das Karma des Materialismus (vol. 176 in the Bibliographic Survey).

✏Book Title : How Humans Evolved 6e EBook Folder
✏Author : Robert Boyd (Ph. D.)
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 2012-06-19
✏Pages :
✏ISBN : 039312052X
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏How Humans Evolved 6e EBook Folder Book Summary :

📒Apes And Human Evolution ✍ Russell H. Tuttle

✏Book Title : Apes and Human Evolution
✏Author : Russell H. Tuttle
✏Publisher : Harvard University Press
✏Release Date : 2014-02-17
✏Pages : 1056
✏ISBN : 9780674073166
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Apes and Human Evolution Book Summary : Russell Tuttle synthesizes a vast literature in primate evolution and behavior to explain how apes and humans evolved in relation to one another and why humans became a bipedal, tool-making, culture-inventing species distinct from other hominoids. He refutes the theory that we are sophisticated, instinctively aggressive and destructive killer apes.

📒Race And Human Evolution ✍ Milford H. Wolpoff

✏Book Title : Race and Human Evolution
✏Author : Milford H. Wolpoff
✏Publisher : Simon and Schuster
✏Release Date : 1997-01-01
✏Pages : 462
✏ISBN : 9780684810133
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Race and Human Evolution Book Summary : Drawing on a close examination of the fossil record and DNA evidence, this authoritative work by leading researchers challenges the popular "Eve" theory of human origins and posits a bold, controversial new account of human evolution and racial differences. Wolpoff is a professor of human anthroplogy and Caspari is an assistant research scientist. Maps and illustrations.

📒Human Origins 101 ✍ Holly M. Dunsworth

✏Book Title : Human Origins 101
✏Author : Holly M. Dunsworth
✏Publisher : ABC-CLIO
✏Release Date : 2007
✏Pages : 192
✏ISBN : 0313336733
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Human Origins 101 Book Summary : Profiles the basic concepts underlying our knowledge of our evolution as a species.