Guillermo Del Toro

📒Guillermo Del Toro ✍ Keith McDonald

✏Book Title : Guillermo del Toro
✏Author : Keith McDonald
✏Publisher : Bloomsbury Publishing USA
✏Release Date : 2014-02-27
✏Pages : 248
✏ISBN : 9781441184023
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Guillermo del Toro Book Summary : A critical exploration of one of the most exciting, original and influential figures to emerge in contemporary film, Guillermo del Toro: Film as Alchemic Art is a major contribution to the analysis of Guillermo del Toro's cinematic output. It offers an in-depth discussion of del Toro's oeuvre and investigates key ideas, recurrent motifs and subtle links between his movies. The book explores the sources that del Toro draws upon and transforms in the creation of his rich and complex body of work. These include the literary, artistic and cinematic influences on films such as Pan's Labyrinth, The Devil's Backbone, Cronos and Mimic, and the director's engagement with comic book culture in his two Hellboy films, Blade II and Pacific Rim. As well as offering extensive close textual analysis, the authors also consider del Toro's considerable impact on wider popular culture, including a discussion of his role as producer, ambassador for 'geek' culture and figurehead in new international cinema.

📒The Shape Of Water ✍ Guillermo del Toro

✏Book Title : The Shape of Water
✏Author : Guillermo del Toro
✏Publisher : Feiwel & Friends
✏Release Date : 2018-03-06
✏Pages : 384
✏ISBN : 9781250165374
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Shape of Water Book Summary : The Academy Award's Best Picture of the year is now the New York Times-bestselling, must-read novel of 2018. "[A] phenomenally enrapturing and reverberating work of art in its own right...[that] vividly illuminates the minds of the characters, greatly enhancing our understanding of their temperaments and predicaments and providing more expansive and involving story lines." —Booklist Visionary storyteller Guillermo del Toro and celebrated author Daniel Kraus combine their estimable talent in this haunting, heartbreaking love story. It is 1962, and Elisa Esposito—mute her whole life, orphaned as a child—is struggling with her humdrum existence as a janitor working the graveyard shift at Baltimore’s Occam Aerospace Research Center. Were it not for Zelda, a protective coworker, and Giles, her loving neighbor, she doesn’t know how she’d make it through the day. Then, one fateful night, she sees something she was never meant to see, the Center’s most sensitive asset ever: an amphibious man, captured in the Amazon, to be studied for Cold War advancements. The creature is terrifying but also magnificent, capable of language and of understanding emotions...and Elisa can’t keep away. Using sign language, the two learn to communicate. Soon, affection turns into love, and the creature becomes Elisa’s sole reason to live. But outside forces are pressing in. Richard Strickland, the obsessed soldier who tracked the asset through the Amazon, wants nothing more than to dissect it before the Russians get a chance to steal it. Elisa has no choice but to risk everything to save her beloved. With the help of Zelda and Giles, Elisa hatches a plan to break out the creature. But Strickland is on to them. And the Russians are, indeed, coming. Developed from the ground up as a bold two-tiered release—one story interpreted by two artists in the independent mediums of literature and film—The Shape of Water is unlike anything you’ve ever read or seen. “Most movie novelizations do little more than write down what audiences see on the screen. But the novel that’s accompanying Guillermo del Toro’s new movie The Shape of Water is no mere adaptation. Co-author Daniel Kraus’ book and the film tell the same story, of a mute woman who falls in love with an imprisoned and equally mute creature, in two very different ways.” —io9 Praise for The Shape of Water directed by Guillermo del Toro Winner of the 2018 Academy Award for Best Picture Winner of the 2018 Academy Award for Best Director Winner of the 2018 Academy Award for Music (Original Score) Winner of the 2018 Academy Award for Production Design Winner of the 2018 Golden Globe Award for Best Director of a Motion Picture "With encouragement from critics and awards voters, discerning viewers should make Fox Searchlight’s December release the season’s classiest date movie—for perhaps the greatest of The Shape of Water’s many surprises is how extravagantly romantic it is.” —Variety "It is never less than magnificent.” —TheDaily Beast "A visually and emotionally ravishing fantasy that should find a welcome embrace from audiences starved for imaginative escape.” —The Hollywood Reporter Awarded the Golden Lion for Best Film at the74th Annual Venice International Film Festival

✏Book Title : The Transnational Fantasies of Guillermo del Toro
✏Author : A. Davies
✏Publisher : Springer
✏Release Date : 2014-10-02
✏Pages : 210
✏ISBN : 9781137407849
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Transnational Fantasies of Guillermo del Toro Book Summary : Offering a multifaceted approach to the Mexican-born director Guillermo del Toro, this volume examines his wide-ranging oeuvre and traces the connections between his Spanish language and English language commercial and art film projects.

✏Book Title : Del Toro Hogan Standalone Thriller
✏Author : Guillermo del Toro
✏Publisher : Harper Collins
✏Release Date : 2018-01-25
✏Pages : 320
✏ISBN : 9780007389933
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Del Toro Hogan Standalone Thriller Book Summary : When rookie FBI agent Odessa Hardwicke is forced to kill her partner in a violent confrontation, she is suspended from active duty and left questioning her judgment. She had to shoot, but something else haunts her – something she thought she saw fleeing her partner’s body as he died... While awaiting reinstatement, a paperwork issue leads Odessa to long-retired agent Earl Solomon.. He tells Odessa that there is only one person who can help her uncover the truth – John Silence, Esq. As Odessa and Silence work together, she becomes increasingly suspicious of her mysterious new partner. Who is John Silence, and how does he know so much about the recent outbreak of homicidal mania in New Jersey? According to Silence, a dark occult has unwittingly released a dangerous entity into the city. Feeding off violence and gaining pleasure through death, the Hollow One must be captured before it kills again and again...

📒The Night Eternal ✍ Guillermo Del Toro

✏Book Title : The Night Eternal
✏Author : Guillermo Del Toro
✏Publisher : Harper Collins
✏Release Date : 2011-10-25
✏Pages : 560
✏ISBN : 9780062066046
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Night Eternal Book Summary : “The most credible and frightening of all the vampire books of the past decade.” —San Francisco Chronicle “Bram Stoker meets Stephen King meets Michael Crichton. It just doesn’t get much better than this.” —Nelson DeMille The stunning New York Times bestselling vampire saga that author Dan Simmons (Drood, The Terror) calls, “an unholy spawn of I Am Legend out of ‘Salem’s Lot,” concludes with The Night Eternal. The magnificent, if monstrously warped brainchild of cinematic horror master Guillermo del Toro (Pan’s Labyrinth, Hellboy) and Chuck Hogan—whose novel Prince of Thieves, was praised as, “one of the 10 best books of the year” by Stephen King—The Night Eternal begins where The Strain and The Fall left off: with the last remnants of humankind enslaved by the vampire masters in a world forever shrouded by nuclear winter. Still, a small band of the living fights on in the shadows, in the final book of the ingenious dark fantasy trilogy that Newsweek says is, “good enough to make us break that vow to swear off vampire stories.”

✏Book Title : Guillermo Del Toro Don t Be Afraid of the Dark Blackwood s Guide to Dangerous Fairies
✏Author : Guillermo del Toro
✏Publisher : Hyperion
✏Release Date : 2011-07-19
✏Pages : 272
✏ISBN : 142313401X
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Guillermo Del Toro Don t Be Afraid of the Dark Blackwood s Guide to Dangerous Fairies Book Summary : An illustrated novel that dives into the world of the 2010 Miramax film “Don’t be Afraid of the Dark.” The movie is a PG-13 thriller written and produced by Guillermo del Toro, starring Guy Pearce and Katie Holmes, about a young girl sent to live with her father and his girlfriend. They move into a historic New England house, which is secretly inhabited by a brood of small creatures. These creatures seem at first to be playful figments of his daughter’s imagination, but quickly turn into a deadly threat. The book, co-written by Guillermo Del Toro and Christopher Golden, takes place a hundred years before the movie begins. It chronicles the travels and adventures of a young nature scientist who begins to understand there’s more to the world than science understands.

📒The Fall ✍ Guillermo del Toro

✏Book Title : The Fall
✏Author : Guillermo del Toro
✏Publisher : HarperCollins UK
✏Release Date : 2010-09-16
✏Pages : 320
✏ISBN : 9780007328604
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Fall Book Summary : The tension-filled sequel to THE STRAIN, now a popular Amazon TV show.

📒The Strain ✍ Guillermo del Toro

✏Book Title : The Strain
✏Author : Guillermo del Toro
✏Publisher : Dark Horse Comics
✏Release Date : 2014
✏Pages : 250
✏ISBN : 9781616555481
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Strain Book Summary : When a plane goes dark on the runway, the Centers for Disease Control, fearing a terrorist attack, calls in Dr. Ephraim Goodweather, but no one suspects a darker purpose behind the event--an ancient threat intent on covering mankind in darkness.

📒Vampire Hunter ✍ David Lapham

✏Book Title : Vampire Hunter
✏Author : David Lapham
✏Publisher : Dark Horse Comics
✏Release Date : 2017
✏Pages : 128
✏ISBN : 9781506701608
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Vampire Hunter Book Summary : "Collects the Dark Horse comic book series The strain: Mister Quinlan, vampire hunter #1-#5, originally published September 2016-January 2017"--Copyright page.

📒Trollhunters ✍ Guillermo Del Toro

✏Book Title : Trollhunters
✏Author : Guillermo Del Toro
✏Publisher : Hot Key Books
✏Release Date : 2015-07-07
✏Pages : 320
✏ISBN : 9781471405204
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Trollhunters Book Summary : The book behind the Netflix series - a funny and gruesome fantasy adventure for fans of Pan's Labyrinth. In San Bernardino, California, children are going missing. The townspeople don't believe the rumours of trolls, but fifteen-year-old Jim Jnr knows that they're a real threat. At night, is anyone safe? Now a Netflix original series, created by Dreamworks Animation.