Gift From The Sea Pdf

📒Gifts From The Sea ✍ Natalie Kinsey

✏Book Title : Gifts from the Sea
✏Author : Natalie Kinsey
✏Publisher : Yearling
✏Release Date : 2009-03-25
✏Pages : 128
✏ISBN : 9780307527950
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Gifts from the Sea Book Summary : Quila MacFarlane is devastated by the death of her mother, especially now that it’s just her and her father on Devils Rock where her father is the lighthouse keeper. They can’t leave and almost no one ever comes to visit them. But the morning after a storm, something floats ashore that changes their lives forever: Two small mattresses strapped together, and inside, a baby! They name her Cecelia, which means “a gift from the sea,” and call her Celia. She makes them a family again–and helps heal the hurt left by Quila’s mother’s passing. Two years later, though, another stranger arrives, one who changes everything all over again: A woman named Margaret, come looking for the final resting place of her sister, whose ship had gone down in a storm two years before. Her sister’s baby had never been found, either, she explains, and now she has no family of her own. Could this be Celia’s aunt? Will Quila have to give up Celia so Margaret can have her own family back? This is a gripping tale full of love, loss, and healing. From the Hardcover edition.

✏Book Title : Global Environmental Law at a Crossroads
✏Author : Robert V. Percival
✏Publisher : Edward Elgar Publishing
✏Release Date : 2014-06-27
✏Pages : 36
✏ISBN : 9781783470853
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Global Environmental Law at a Crossroads Book Summary : This timely volume considers the future of environmental law and governance in the aftermath of the "Rio+20" conference. An international set of expert contributors begin by addressing a range of governance concepts that can be used to addres

📒Saving Your Marriage Before It Starts ✍ Les and Leslie Parrott

✏Book Title : Saving Your Marriage Before It Starts
✏Author : Les and Leslie Parrott
✏Publisher : Zondervan
✏Release Date : 2015-10-27
✏Pages : 208
✏ISBN : 9780310346296
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Saving Your Marriage Before It Starts Book Summary : More than a million couples can’t be wrong! And with this updated edition of their award-winning book, Drs. Les and Leslie Parrott help you launch lifelong love like never before. This is more than a book—it’s an experience, especially when you use the his/her workbooks filled with more than 40 fun exercises. Get ready for deeper intimacy with the best friend you’ll ever have. Saving Your Marriage Before It Starts, in more than 15 languages, is the most widely used marriage prep tool in the world. Uncover the misbeliefs of marriage Learn to communicate with instant understanding Discover the secret to resolving conflict Master the skills of money management Get your sex life off to a great start A compelling video, featuring real-life couples, is available, and with this updated edition Les and Leslie unveil the game-changing SYMBIS Assessment. Now you can discover how to leverage your personalities for a love that last a lifetime. Make your marriage everything it is meant to be. Save your marriage—before (and after) it starts.

✏Book Title : Edible Seaweeds of the World
✏Author : Leonel Pereira
✏Publisher : CRC Press
✏Release Date : 2016-01-08
✏Pages : 463
✏ISBN : 9781498730501
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Edible Seaweeds of the World Book Summary : Seaweed is used in many countries for very different purposes - directly as food, especially in sushi, as a source of phycocolloids, extraction of compounds with antiviral, antibacterial or antitumor activity and as biofertilizers. About four million tons of seaweed are harvested annually worldwide. Of the various species known, less than 20 account for 90% of the biomass exploited commercially. This book details 147 species of edible seaweed, including scientific name and respective common names, geographic location, nutritional composition, uses and is extensively illustrated.

✏Book Title : The Veterans and Active Duty Military Psychotherapy Treatment Planner
✏Author : Bret A. Moore
✏Publisher : John Wiley & Sons
✏Release Date : 2009-07-31
✏Pages : 360
✏ISBN : 0470506717
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Veterans and Active Duty Military Psychotherapy Treatment Planner Book Summary :

📒Hampton Roads Murder Mayhem ✍ Nancy E. Sheppard

✏Book Title : Hampton Roads Murder Mayhem
✏Author : Nancy E. Sheppard
✏Publisher : Arcadia Publishing
✏Release Date : 2018-10-08
✏Pages : 176
✏ISBN : 9781439665381
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Hampton Roads Murder Mayhem Book Summary : Hampton Roads is an iconic destination, but the "birthplace of America" has a nefarious past. Dive into the story of cannibalism in the Jamestown colony and learn the gory details of the tale of the Witch of Pungo. Blackbeard and his men wreaked havoc in Hampton Roads before Virginians brought them to justice. Explore rarely told stories of lynchings, riots and a hoax involving none other than famed aviator Charles Lindbergh. Join author and historian Nancy E. Sheppard as she explores some of the darkest moments in Hampton Roads' vibrant history.

✏Book Title : Chicken Soup for the Soul Answered Prayers
✏Author : Jack Canfield
✏Publisher : Simon and Schuster
✏Release Date : 2011-10-18
✏Pages : 400
✏ISBN : 9781611591958
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Chicken Soup for the Soul Answered Prayers Book Summary : We all need help from time to time, and these 101 true stories of answered prayers show a higher power at work in our lives that will inspire anyone looking to boost their faith and read some amazing stories. These 101 true stories of answered prayers for healing, strength, protection, and more prove that God is listening and very active in our lives today. Regular people share their personal stories of God's Divine intervention, healing power, and communication. Evidence of His love and involvement in our lives will encourage, uplift, and recharge the faith of all readers.

📒Gifts From The Ancestors ✍ William W. Fitzhugh

✏Book Title : Gifts from the Ancestors
✏Author : William W. Fitzhugh
✏Publisher : Princeton Univ Art Mus
✏Release Date : 2009
✏Pages : 328
✏ISBN : STANFORD:36105215309001
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Gifts from the Ancestors Book Summary : The appearance during the first millennium A.D. of small, exquisitely carved artifacts of walrus ivory in the Bering Strait region marks the beginning of an extraordinary florescence in the art and culture of North America. The discovery in the 1930s and 1940s of world-class carvings of animals, mythical beasts, shape-shifting creatures, masks, and human figurines astounded scholars and excited collectors. Nevertheless, the extraordinary objects that belong to this fascinating, sometimes frightening, world of hunting-related art remain largely unknown. Gifts from the Ancestors examines ancient ivories from the coast of Bering Strait, western Alaska, and the islands in between—illuminating their sophisticated formal aesthetic, cultural complexity, and individual histories. Many of the pieces discussed are from recent Russian excavations and are presented here for the first time in English; others are from private collections not usually open to the public. The essays, written by an international group of scholars, adopt a refreshing interdisciplinary approach that gives voice to the various competing, and now sometimes cooperating, stakeholders, including Native groups, museums, archaeologists, art historians, art dealers, and private collectors.

📒Saltwater People ✍ Nonie Sharp

✏Book Title : Saltwater People
✏Author : Nonie Sharp
✏Publisher : University of Toronto Press
✏Release Date : 2002
✏Pages : 306
✏ISBN : 0802085490
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Saltwater People Book Summary : In October of 2001, the Australian High Court confirmed aboriginal title to two thousand kilometres of ocean off the north coast. The decision, which was the result of a seven-year court battle, highlighted aboriginal belief that the sea is a gift from the creator to be used for sustenance, spirituality, identity, and community. This evocative study of the people of northern coastal Australia and their sea worlds illuminates the power of human attachment to place. Saltwater People: The Waves of Memory offers a cross-disciplinary approach to native land claims that incorporates historical and contemporary case studies from not only Australia, but also New Zealand, Scandinavia, the US, and Canada. Nonie Sharp discusses various issues of indigenous heritage, including land claims, concepts of public and private property, poverty, and the environment. Despite dispossession, the aboriginals of northern coastal Australia never faltered in their devotion to the sea, illustrating how profoundly such bonds are preserved in memory. Their moving story of surviving and winning a lengthy court battle provides valuable information for all countries dealing with similar issues of rights to tenure and natural resources. Sharp provides the first book-length study of an integrated statement on the many defining qualities of the cultural relationship of aboriginals, non-aboriginals, and the concept of ownership over the sea, and illustrates the wisdom that different traditions can offer one another.

📒A Crack In The Sea ✍ H. M. Bouwman

✏Book Title : A Crack in the Sea
✏Author : H. M. Bouwman
✏Publisher : Penguin
✏Release Date : 2017-01-03
✏Pages : 368
✏ISBN : 9780399545207
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏A Crack in the Sea Book Summary : An enchanting historical fantasy adventure perfect for fans of Thanhha Lai's Newbery Honor-winning Inside Out and Back Again No one comes to the Second World on purpose. The doorway between worlds opens only when least expected. The Raft King is desperate to change that by finding the doorway that will finally take him and the people of Raftworld back home. To do it, he needs Pip, a young boy with an incredible gift—he can speak to fish; and the Raft King is not above kidnapping to get what he wants. Pip’s sister Kinchen, though, is determined to rescue her brother and foil the Raft King’s plans. This is but the first of three extraordinary stories that collide on the high seas of the Second World. The second story takes us back to the beginning: Venus and Swimmer are twins captured aboard a slave ship bound for Jamaica in 1781. They save themselves and others from a life of enslavement with a risky, magical plan—one that leads them from the shark-infested waters of the first world to the second. Pip and Kinchen will hear all about them before their own story is said and done. So will Thanh and his sister Sang, who we meet in 1978 on a small boat as they try to escape post-war Vietnam. But after a storm and a pirate attack, they’re not sure they’ll ever see shore again. What brings these three sets of siblings together on an adventure of a lifetime is a little magic, helpful sea monsters and that very special portal, A Crack in the Sea. From the Hardcover edition.