Don T Let S Go To The Dogs Tonight

✏Book Title : Don t Let s Go to the Dogs Tonight
✏Author : Alexandra Fuller
✏Publisher : Random House Incorporated
✏Release Date : 2003
✏Pages : 315
✏ISBN : 0375758992
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Don t Let s Go to the Dogs Tonight Book Summary : The author describes her childhood in Africa during the Rhodesian civil war of 1971 to 1979, relating her life on farms in southern Rhodesia, Milawi, and Zambia with an alcoholic mother and frequently absent father.

✏Book Title : Don t Let s Go to the Dogs Tonight
✏Author : Alexandra Fuller
✏Publisher : Pan Macmillan
✏Release Date : 2003
✏Pages : 309
✏ISBN : 0330490192
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Don t Let s Go to the Dogs Tonight Book Summary : This is the story of the author's childhood in the 1970s in Rhodesia.

✏Book Title : Don t Let s Go to the Dogs Tonight
✏Author : Alexandra Fuller
✏Publisher : Random House
✏Release Date : 2002-03-05
✏Pages : 320
✏ISBN : 1588360490
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Don t Let s Go to the Dogs Tonight Book Summary : NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • A worthy heir to Isak Dinesen and Beryl Markham, Alexandra Fuller shares visceral memories of her childhood in Africa, and of her headstrong, unforgettable mother. “This is not a book you read just once, but a tale of terrible beauty to get lost in over and over.”—Newsweek “By turns mischievous and openhearted, earthy and soaring . . . hair-raising, horrific, and thrilling.”—The New Yorker Though it is a diary of an unruly life in an often inhospitable place, Don’t Let’s Go to the Dogs Tonight is suffused with Fuller’s endearing ability to find laughter, even when there is little to celebrate. Fuller’s debut is unsentimental and unflinching but always captivating. In wry and sometimes hilarious prose, she stares down disaster and looks back with rage and love at the life of an extraordinary family in an extraordinary time. From 1972 to 1990, Alexandra Fuller—known to friends and family as Bobo—grew up on several farms in southern and central Africa. Her father joined up on the side of the white government in the Rhodesian civil war, and was often away fighting against the powerful black guerilla factions. Her mother, in turn, flung herself at their African life and its rugged farm work with the same passion and maniacal energy she brought to everything else. Though she loved her children, she was no hand-holder and had little tolerance for neediness. She nurtured her daughters in other ways: She taught them, by example, to be resilient and self-sufficient, to have strong wills and strong opinions, and to embrace life wholeheartedly, despite and because of difficult circumstances. And she instilled in Bobo, particularly, a love of reading and of storytelling that proved to be her salvation. Alexandra Fuller writes poignantly about a girl becoming a woman and a writer against a backdrop of unrest, not just in her country but in her home. But Don’t Let’s Go to the Dogs Tonight is more than a survivor’s story. It is the story of one woman’s unbreakable bond with a continent and the people who inhabit it, a portrait lovingly realized and deeply felt. Praise for Don’t Let’s Go to the Dogs Tonight “Riveting . . . [full of] humor and compassion.”—O: The Oprah Magazine “The incredible story of an incredible childhood.”—The Providence Journal

✏Book Title : An African Childhood Representing the Self in Alexandra Fuller s Don t Let s Go to the Dogs Tonight Lauren Liebenberg s the Voluptuous Delights of Peanut Butter and Jam and Dominique Botha s False River
✏Author : Carla Eloise Chait
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 2017
✏Pages : 310
✏ISBN : OCLC:1141244326
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏An African Childhood Representing the Self in Alexandra Fuller s Don t Let s Go to the Dogs Tonight Lauren Liebenberg s the Voluptuous Delights of Peanut Butter and Jam and Dominique Botha s False River Book Summary :

✏Book Title : Oxford Dictionary of Modern Quotations
✏Author : Elizabeth Knowles
✏Publisher : Oxford University Press
✏Release Date : 2007-08-23
✏Pages : 479
✏ISBN : 9780199208951
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Oxford Dictionary of Modern Quotations Book Summary : More than five thousand quotations, that range in time from Scott's Antarctic expedition in 1912 to the attack on the World Trade Center in 2001, are gathered in a comprehensive, updated resource that evokes a fascinating picture of the social, political, cultural, and scientific highlights of modern times.

📒The Oxford Dictionary Of Quotations ✍ Oxford University Press

✏Book Title : The Oxford Dictionary of Quotations
✏Author : Oxford University Press
✏Publisher : Oxford [England] : Oxford University Press
✏Release Date : 1999
✏Pages : 1136
✏ISBN : 0198601735
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Oxford Dictionary of Quotations Book Summary : More than twenty thousand quotations from every era and location are combined in a comprehensive reference that also encompasses details of the earliest traceable source, birth and death dates, and career briefs for each entry, as well as a thematic and k

📒Son Of A Gun ✍ Justin St. Germain

✏Book Title : Son of a Gun
✏Author : Justin St. Germain
✏Publisher : Random House
✏Release Date : 2013-08-13
✏Pages : 272
✏ISBN : 9780345538741
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Son of a Gun Book Summary : NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY PUBLISHERS WEEKLY In the tradition of Tobias Wolff, James Ellroy, and Mary Karr, a stunning memoir of a mother-son relationship that is also the searing, unflinching account of a murder and its aftermath Tombstone, Arizona, September 2001. Debbie St. Germain’s death, apparently at the hands of her fifth husband, is a passing curiosity. “A real-life old West murder mystery,” the local TV announcers intone, while barroom gossips snicker cruelly. But for her twenty-year-old son, Justin St. Germain, the tragedy marks the line that separates his world into before and after. Distancing himself from the legendary town of his childhood, Justin makes another life a world away in San Francisco and achieves all the surface successes that would have filled his mother with pride. Yet years later he’s still sleeping with a loaded rifle under his bed. Ultimately, he is pulled back to the desert landscape of his childhood on a search to make sense of the unfathomable. What made his mother, a onetime army paratrooper, the type of woman who would stand up to any man except the men she was in love with? What led her to move from place to place, man to man, job to job, until finally she found herself in a desperate and deteriorating situation, living on an isolated patch of desert with an unstable ex-cop? Justin’s journey takes him back to the ghost town of Wyatt Earp, to the trailers he and Debbie shared, to the string of stepfathers who were a constant, sometimes threatening presence in his life, to a harsh world on the margins full of men and women all struggling to define what family means. He decides to confront people from his past and delve into the police records in an attempt to make sense of his mother’s life and death. All the while he tries to be the type of man she would have wanted him to be. Praise for Son of a Gun “[A] spectacular memoir . . . calls to mind two others of the past decade: J. R. Moehringer’s Tender Bar and Nick Flynn’s Another Bull____ Night in Suck City. All three are about boys becoming men in a broken world. . . . [What] might have been . . . in the hands of a lesser writer, the book’s main point . . . [is] amplified from a tale of personal loss and grief into a parable for our time and our nation. . . . If the brilliance of Son of a Gun lies in its restraint, its importance lies in the generosity of the author’s insights.”—Alexandra Fuller, The New York Times Book Review “[A] gritty, enthralling new memoir . . . St. Germain has created a work of austere, luminous beauty. . . . In his understated, eloquent way, St. Germain makes you feel the heat, taste the dust, see those shimmering streets. By the end of the book, you know his mother, even though you never met her. And like the author, you will mourn her forever.”—NPR “If St. Germain had stopped at examining his mother’s psycho-social risk factors and how her murder affected him, this would still be a fine, moving memoir. But it’s his further probing—into the culture of guns, violence, and manhood that informed their lives in his hometown, Tombstone, Ariz.—that transforms the book, elevating the stakes from personal pain to larger, important questions of what ails our society.”—The Boston Globe “A visceral, compelling portrait of [St. Germain’s] mother and the violent culture that claimed her.”—Entertainment Weekly From the Hardcover edition.

📒Fiction And Narrative ✍ Derek Matravers

✏Book Title : Fiction and Narrative
✏Author : Derek Matravers
✏Publisher : OUP Oxford
✏Release Date : 2014-04-24
✏Pages : 176
✏ISBN : 9780191018060
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Fiction and Narrative Book Summary : For the past twenty years there has been a virtual consensus in philosophy that there is a special link between fiction and the imagination. In particular, fiction has been defined in terms of the imagination: what it is for something to be fictional is that there is some requirement that a reader imagine it. Derek Matravers argues that this rests on a mistake; the proffered definitions of 'the imagination' do not link it with fiction but with representations more generally. In place of the flawed consensus, he offers an account of what it is to read, listen to, or watch a narrative whether that narrative is fictional or non-fictional. The view that emerges, which draws extensively on work in psychology, downgrades the divide between fiction and non-fiction and largely dispenses with the imagination. In the process, he casts new light on a succession of issues: on the 'paradox of fiction', on the issue of fictional narrators, on the problem of 'imaginative resistance', and on the nature of our engagement with film.

📒Free Fire ✍ C. J. Box

✏Book Title : Free Fire
✏Author : C. J. Box
✏Publisher : Penguin
✏Release Date : 2008-05-06
✏Pages : 352
✏ISBN : 1440631751
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Free Fire Book Summary : Wyoming game warden Joe Pickett hunts a mass murderer in Yellowstone in this thriller from #1 New York Times bestselling author C.J. Box. Joe Pickett’s been hired to investigate one of the most cold-blooded mass killings in Wyoming history. Attorney Clay McCann admitted to slaughtering four campers in a back-country corner of Yellowstone National Park—a “free-fire” zone with no residents or jurisdiction. In this remote fifty-square-mile stretch a man can literally get away with murder. Now McCann’s a free man, and Pickett’s about to discover his motive—one buried in Yellowstone’s rugged terrain, and as dangerous as the man who wants to keep it hidden.

✏Book Title : Thematic Guide to Popular Nonfiction
✏Author : Lynda G. Adamson
✏Publisher : Greenwood Publishing Group
✏Release Date : 2006
✏Pages : 352
✏ISBN : 0313328552
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Thematic Guide to Popular Nonfiction Book Summary : Alphabetically arranged entries on 50 themes discuss 155 popular works of nonfiction widely read by students.