Dear Ijeawele Or A Feminist Manifesto In Fifteen Suggestions

✏Book Title : Dear Ijeawele or A Feminist Manifesto in Fifteen Suggestions
✏Author : Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
✏Publisher : Anchor
✏Release Date : 2017-03-07
✏Pages : 80
✏ISBN : 9781524733148
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Dear Ijeawele or A Feminist Manifesto in Fifteen Suggestions Book Summary : A few years ago, Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie received a letter from a childhood friend, a new mother who wanted to know how to raise her baby girl to be a feminist. Dear Ijeawele is Adichie’s letter of response: fifteen invaluable suggestions—direct, wryly funny, and perceptive—for how to empower a daughter to become a strong, independent woman. Filled with compassionate guidance and advice, it gets right to the heart of sexual politics in the twenty-first century, and starts a new and urgently needed conversation about what it really means to be a woman today.

📒Dear Ijeawele ✍ Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

✏Book Title : Dear Ijeawele
✏Author : Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 2018
✏Pages : 63
✏ISBN : OCLC:1102568639
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Dear Ijeawele Book Summary :

✏Book Title : Summary of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie s Dear Ijeawele
✏Author : Sumoreads
✏Publisher : Createspace Independent Publishing Platform
✏Release Date : 2017-08-02
✏Pages : 28
✏ISBN : 197415825X
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Summary of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie s Dear Ijeawele Book Summary : Please note: This is a summary, analysis and review of the book and not the original book. Don't miss this summary of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie's feminist manifesto, "Dear Ijeawele." In her book, based on a letter to a friend about how to raise a daughter, Adichie offers a series of suggestions. While the book is aimed at helping a new parents, Dear Ijeawele can help anyone be a better parent, feminist, brother, daughter, son, or friend. This SUMOREADS summary includes key takeaways and analysis to help you quickly absorb Adichie's forthright wisdom. What will you learn from reading this book? Fifteen suggestions for how to raise a feminist Re-evaluate one's own definition of feminism and identity as a feminist Inspire thoughts and ideas on how to lead life as a feminist Question how gender-biases have effected one's own path and view of the world Interrogate the gender-biases that shape one's own culture and cultures around the world Book Summary Overview An important and influential book, "Dear Ijeawele, Or a Feminist Manifesto in Fifteen Suggestions" should be required reading for all men and women in the twenty-first century. Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie's "feminist manifesto in fifteen suggestions" is a set of guiding principles for how to be a kind, decent human who treats all people with dignity and respect. The book, originally written as a letter to a new mother, is for men and women of all ages. It has the superb power to bolster a young girl's self-image, to alter a young boy's thinking about women, and to call out the subtle ways in which even the most liberal men and women impel misogynistic behaviors, words and attitudes. Click 'Add to Cart' to own your copy today!

📒Americanah ✍ Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

✏Book Title : Americanah
✏Author : Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
✏Publisher : Anchor
✏Release Date : 2013-05-14
✏Pages : 496
✏ISBN : 9780307962126
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Americanah Book Summary : The bestselling novel—a love story of race and identity—from the award-winning author of We Should All Be Feminists and Dear Ijeawele. Ifemelu and Obinze are young and in love when they depart military-ruled Nigeria for the West. Beautiful, self-assured Ifemelu heads for America, where despite her academic success, she is forced to grapple with what it means to be black for the first time. Quiet, thoughtful Obinze had hoped to join her, but with post-9/11 America closed to him, he instead plunges into a dangerous, undocumented life in London. Fifteen years later, they reunite in a newly democratic Nigeria, and reignite their passion—for each other and for their homeland.

📒Law And Humanities ✍ Helle Porsdam

✏Book Title : Law and Humanities
✏Author : Helle Porsdam
✏Publisher : Cambridge University Press
✏Release Date : 2019-03-31
✏Pages : 225
✏ISBN : 9781108427555
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Law and Humanities Book Summary : Promoting cultural and scientific creativity, and knowledge and understanding, cultural rights work as atrocity prevention tools and enable people to aspire to a better future.

📒Persuasive Acts ✍ Shari Stenberg

✏Book Title : Persuasive Acts
✏Author : Shari Stenberg
✏Publisher : University of Pittsburgh Press
✏Release Date : 2020-03-03
✏Pages : 464
✏ISBN : 9780822987512
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Persuasive Acts Book Summary : In June 2015, Bree Newsome scaled the flagpole in front of South Carolina’s state capitol and removed the Confederate flag. The following month, the Confederate flag was permanently removed from the state capitol. Newsome is a compelling example of a twenty-first-century woman rhetor, along with bloggers, writers, politicians, activists, artists, and everyday social media users, who give new meaning to Aristotle’s ubiquitous definition of rhetoric as the discovery of the “available means of persuasion.” Women’s persuasive acts from the first two decades of the twenty-first century include new technologies and repurposed old ones, engaged not only to persuade, but also to tell their stories, to sponsor change, and to challenge cultural forces that repress and oppress. Persuasive Acts: Women’s Rhetorics in the Twenty-First Century gathers an expansive array of voices and texts from well-known figures including Hillary Rodham Clinton, Malala Yousafzai, Michelle Obama, Lindy West, Sonia Sotomayor, and Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, so that readers may converse with them, and build rhetorics of their own. Editors Shari J. Stenberg and Charlotte Hogg have complied timely and provocative rhetorics that represent critical issues and rhetorical affordances of the twenty-first century.

✏Book Title : Feminist Parenting Perspectives from Africa and Beyond
✏Author : Rama Salla Dieng
✏Publisher : Demeter Press
✏Release Date : 2020-04-01
✏Pages : 360
✏ISBN : 9781772582741
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Feminist Parenting Perspectives from Africa and Beyond Book Summary : Feminist Parenting: Perspectives from Africa and Beyond asks and considers: What is feminist parenting? Is it something for all parents? What does it mean to be a feminist parent in practice? The collection aims to fill a gap on feminist parenting in the existing literature by bringing timely post-Western perspectives. More specifically, the anthology's main contribution is its explicit focus on feminist parenting from the margins to the global periphery: from Africa and its diaspora, from the Global South to Europe and America. The 27 parents from diverse backgrounds, walks of life, and countries gathered in this anthology share powerful responses to the above questions by narrating their experiences of some of the challenges, dilemmas, promises, and compromises of parenting with a feminist perspective. The volume is one of the first collections published with first-person essays describing very touching, beautiful, and sometimes painful stories of what it means and more importantly what it costs to become a feminist parent with an intersectional approach. In doing so, the authors of this book aim at (re)claiming parenting as a necessarily political terrain for subversion, radical transformation, and resistance to patriarchal oppression and sexism.

✏Book Title : McSweeney s Issue 56 McSweeney s Quarterly Concern
✏Author : Claire Boyle
✏Publisher : McSweeney's Quarterly Concern
✏Release Date : 2019-07-09
✏Pages : 264
✏ISBN : 1944211683
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏McSweeney s Issue 56 McSweeney s Quarterly Concern Book Summary : Issue 56 delivers new work from Michelle Tea, Jose Antonio Vargas, T. C. Boyle, Dantiel W. Moniz, Genevieve Hudson, Jincy Willett, to name a few, and a section of staggering fiction from emerging Nigerian writers soon to be household names, with an introduction by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie. There are botched home invasions and perception-heightening witchcraft, disillusioned mailmen and playlists for the comatose, posthumous visits from lovers and nail-biting prison breaks. And, if that weren't enough, this opulent hardcover issue also includes a captivating ten-page illustrated story by Rui Tenreiro that begins on the cover, and poems by Soviet-era absurdist Daniil Kharms, translated by Ilya Kaminsky and Katie Ferris. Time to cancel your plans--something more important has come up.

✏Book Title : I ve Been Meaning to Tell You
✏Author : David Chariandy
✏Publisher : McClelland & Stewart
✏Release Date : 2018-05-29
✏Pages : 96
✏ISBN : 9780771018084
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏I ve Been Meaning to Tell You Book Summary : In the tradition of Ta-Nehisi Coates's Between the World and Me and Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie's Dear Ijeawele, or a Feminist Manifesto in Fifteen Suggestions, acclaimed novelist David Chariandy's latest is an intimate and profoundly beautiful meditation on the politics of race today. When a moment of quietly ignored bigotry prompted his three-year-old daughter to ask "what happened?" David Chariandy began wondering how to discuss with his children the politics of race. A decade later, in a newly heated era of both struggle and divisions, he writes a letter to his now thirteen-year-old daughter. David is the son of Black and South Asian migrants from Trinidad, and he draws upon his personal and ancestral past, including the legacies of slavery, indenture, and immigration, as well as the experiences of growing up a visible minority within the land of one's birth. In sharing with his daughter his own story, he hopes to help cultivate within her a sense of identity and responsibility that balances the painful truths of the past and present with hopeful possibilities for the future.