Can T We Talk About Something More Pleasant

✏Book Title : Can t We Talk about Something More Pleasant
✏Author : Roz Chast
✏Publisher : Bloomsbury Publishing USA
✏Release Date : 2014-05-06
✏Pages : 240
✏ISBN : 9781620406380
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Can t We Talk about Something More Pleasant Book Summary : #1 New York Times Bestseller 2014 NATIONAL BOOK AWARD FINALIST In her first memoir, New Yorker cartoonist Roz Chast brings her signature wit to the topic of aging parents. Spanning the last several years of their lives and told through four-color cartoons, family photos, and documents, and a narrative as rife with laughs as it is with tears, Chast's memoir is both comfort and comic relief for anyone experiencing the life-altering loss of elderly parents. When it came to her elderly mother and father, Roz held to the practices of denial, avoidance, and distraction. But when Elizabeth Chast climbed a ladder to locate an old souvenir from the “crazy closet”-with predictable results-the tools that had served Roz well through her parents' seventies, eighties, and into their early nineties could no longer be deployed. While the particulars are Chast-ian in their idiosyncrasies-an anxious father who had relied heavily on his wife for stability as he slipped into dementia and a former assistant principal mother whose overbearing personality had sidelined Roz for decades-the themes are universal: adult children accepting a parental role; aging and unstable parents leaving a family home for an institution; dealing with uncomfortable physical intimacies; managing logistics; and hiring strangers to provide the most personal care. An amazing portrait of two lives at their end and an only child coping as best she can, Can't We Talk about Something More Pleasant will show the full range of Roz Chast's talent as cartoonist and storyteller.

✏Book Title : GRAPHIC CAN CAN T WE TALK ABOUT SOMETHING MORE PLEASANT
✏Author :
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date :
✏Pages :
✏ISBN : OCLC:999478350
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏GRAPHIC CAN CAN T WE TALK ABOUT SOMETHING MORE PLEASANT Book Summary :

✏Book Title : Transgressive Humor of American Women Writers
✏Author : Sabrina Fuchs Abrams
✏Publisher : Springer
✏Release Date : 2017-11-09
✏Pages : 263
✏ISBN : 9783319567297
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Transgressive Humor of American Women Writers Book Summary : This collection is the first to focus on the transgressive and transformative power of American female humorists. It explores the work of authors and comediennes such as Carolyn Wells, Lucille Clifton, Mary McCarthy, Lynne Tillman, Constance Rourke, Roz Chast, Amy Schumer and Samantha Bee, and the ways in which their humor challenges gendered norms and assumptions through the use of irony, satire, parody, and wit. The chapters draw from the experiences of women from a variety of racial, class, and gender identities and encompass a variety of genres and comedic forms including poetry, fiction, prose, autobiography, graphic memoir, comedic performance, and new media. Transgressive Humor of American Women Writers will appeal to a general educated readership as well as to those interested in women’s and gender studies, humor studies, urban studies, American literature and cultural studies, and media studies.

✏Book Title : A Buddhist Grief Observed
✏Author : Guy Newland
✏Publisher : Simon and Schuster
✏Release Date : 2016-08-09
✏Pages : 136
✏ISBN : 9781614293019
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏A Buddhist Grief Observed Book Summary : Amid the world-shattering pain of loss, what helps? “After the death of his beloved partner from cancer, Newland finds himself asking how effective his long years of Buddhist practice have been in helping him come to terms with overwhelming grief. This finely written book offers a lucid meditation on what it means to practice the Dharma when everything falls apart.” —Stephen Batchelor, author of Buddhism without Beliefs and After Buddhism In the tradition of C. S. Lewis’s A Grief Observed, Guy Newland offers this brave record of falling to pieces and then learning to make sense of his pain and grief within his spiritual tradition. Drawing inspiration from all corners of the Buddhist world—from Zen stories and the Dalai Lama, to Pema Chödrön and ancient Pali texts—this book reverberates with honesty, kindness, and deep humanity. Newland shows us the power of responding fully and authentically to the death of a loved one. “A sad, beautiful, and necessary book—and a map waiting for many who will need it.” —James Ishmael Ford, author of If You’re Lucky Your Heart Will Break “Guy Newland faces squarely the pain of death and the pain of grief and offers a work of uncommon power, insight, and honesty—and extraordinary compassion.” —Jay L. Garfield, author of Engaging Buddhism

✏Book Title : Why Don t You Write My Eulogy Now So I Can Correct It
✏Author : Patricia Marx
✏Publisher : Celadon Books
✏Release Date : 2019-04-02
✏Pages : 112
✏ISBN : 9781250301970
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Why Don t You Write My Eulogy Now So I Can Correct It Book Summary : The perfect Mother's Day gift: A collection of witty one-line advice New Yorker writer Patricia Marx heard from her mother, accompanied by full-color illustrations by New Yorker staff cartoonist Roz Chast. Every mother knows best, but New Yorker writer Patty Marx's knows better. Patty has never been able to shake her mother's one-line witticisms from her brain, so she's collected them into a book, accompanied by full color illustrations by New Yorker staff cartoonist Roz Chast. These snappy maternal cautions include: If you feel guilty about throwing away leftovers, put them in the back of your refrigerator for five days and then throw them out. If you run out of food at your dinner party, the world will end. When traveling, call the hotel from the airport to say there aren't enough towels in your room and, by the way, you'd like a room with a better view. Why don't you write my eulogy now so I can correct it? Every child will want to buy this for mom on Mother's Day!

📒Awakening From Grief ✍ John E. Welshons

✏Book Title : Awakening from Grief
✏Author : John E. Welshons
✏Publisher : New World Library
✏Release Date : 2003
✏Pages : 232
✏ISBN : 1930722184
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Awakening from Grief Book Summary : A counselor explains how to transform grief into a growth experience, offering a primer for surviving tragic loss that focuses on grief as an invitation to life-deepening experiences.

📒The Frozen Shroud ✍ Martin Edwards

✏Book Title : The Frozen Shroud
✏Author : Martin Edwards
✏Publisher : Allison & Busby
✏Release Date : 2013-06-24
✏Pages : 352
✏ISBN : 9780749014605
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Frozen Shroud Book Summary : ‘The question that haunts us all. Just what is it that drives someone to kill?’ In Ravenbank, a remote community in the Lake District, Hallowe'en is particularly chilling. It is a time for telling the story of the Faceless Woman, a young housemaid brutally murdered in a nearby lane, her corpse discovered with a makeshift shroud frozen to her battered face. And five years ago, the tale became even more unsettling when another woman was murdered in exactly the same grisly manner. Daniel Kind, a specialist in the history of murder, becomes fascinated by the old cases, and begins to wonder whether the obvious suspects really did commit the crimes. While Daniel attends a Hallowe'en party in Ravenbank, death returns for a third time to the beautiful but eerily isolated spot. Once more, the victim is a woman – and once more her damaged face is shrouded from view. The latest horrifying murder presents DCI Hannah Scarlett, head of the Cold Case Review Team, with the toughest challenge of her career. Is the case linked to the two earlier killings - and if so, how? Hannah and Daniel join forces in an attempt to solve the puzzling mystery. But in doing so, both may be forced to confront ghosts from their own pasts . . .

📒The Other Side Of The Mountain ✍ Janice Angelique

✏Book Title : The Other Side of the Mountain
✏Author : Janice Angelique
✏Publisher : Genesis Press, Inc.
✏Release Date : 2013-07-01
✏Pages : 407
✏ISBN : 9781585714827
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Other Side of the Mountain Book Summary : Pamela loves her daughter very much, and, when she begins asking of their exiled relatives on the opposite mountain, Pamela drops everything to find out what had happened ten years ago to cause the rift between the two communities. Meeting the dashingly handsome and very imperfect Saul, who'd caused the rift years ago, wasn't the worst thing Pamela had ever done in her life. With Saul came danger and a sexual tension that would have him constantly tripping through her every thought. They were two souls determined to con- quer all obstacles to their union, and not even the threat of death can keep Pamela away.

✏Book Title : Tim Gunn The Natty Professor
✏Author : Tim Gunn
✏Publisher : Simon and Schuster
✏Release Date : 2015-03-24
✏Pages : 272
✏ISBN : 9781476780085
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Tim Gunn The Natty Professor Book Summary : A timeless book of lessons on mentorship, teaching, and learning from New York Times bestselling author Tim Gunn, host of the Emmy Award–nominated Project Runway and the reality show Under the Gunn. Tim Gunn, America’s favorite reality TV cohost, is known for his kind but firm approach in providing wisdom, guidance, and support to the scores of design hopefuls on Project Runway. Having begun his fashion career as a teacher at Parsons The New School for Design, Tim knows more than a thing or two about mentorship and how to convey invaluable pearls of wisdom in an approachable, accessible manner. While Gunn’s Golden Rules showcased Tim “as life coach,” imparting lessons based on his personal experiences, Tim Gunn: The Natty Professor will focus on Tim “as teacher.” Divided into sections on common themes—truth-telling, empathy, asking, cheerleading, and hoping for the best—this practical, timely book takes us on a journey through life lessons and uses Tim’s own personal experiences, from the classroom to the therapist’s office, to illustrate larger concepts. Says Bette Midler of Tim Gunn: The Natty Professor, “This book is as smart and fashionable as Tim Gunn himself, and it’s teeming with surprising, moving, and often hilarious stories about teaching, learning, and life. I loved it!” So grab a pencil and start taking notes: class is officially in session!

✏Book Title : The Best American Comics 2016
✏Author : Roz Chast
✏Publisher : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
✏Release Date : 2016-10-04
✏Pages : 352
✏ISBN : 9780544750548
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Best American Comics 2016 Book Summary : “There’s something thrilling about seeing people invent new ways to tell their story. To me, it’s proof that the art form of comics is healthy: it lives and grows and reinvents itself. It’s alive!” –Roz Chast, from the Introduction FEATURING Lynda Barry, Kate Beaton, Cece Bell, Geneviève Elverum, Ben Katchor, John Porcellino, Joe Sacco, Adrian Tomine, Chris Ware, Julia Wertz, and others Roz Chast, guest editor, was born in Brooklyn, New York. Her cartoons began appearing in The New Yorker in 1978. Since then she has published hundreds of cartoons and written or illustrated more than a dozen books. Her memoir Can’t We Talk About Something More Pleasant? was a #1 New York Times bestseller and a 2014 National Book Award Finalist. Bill Kartalopoulos, series editor, is a comics critic, educator, curator, and editor. He teaches courses about comics at Parsons and at the School of Visual Arts. He lives in Brooklyn, New York. For more information please visit: on-panel.com.