Bright Precious Days

📒Bright Precious Days ✍ Jay McInerney

✏Book Title : Bright Precious Days
✏Author : Jay McInerney
✏Publisher : Vintage
✏Release Date : 2016-08-02
✏Pages : 416
✏ISBN : 9781101948019
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Bright Precious Days Book Summary : From the best-selling author of Bright Lights, Big City: a sexy, vibrant, cross-generational New York story--a literary and commercial triumph of the highest order. Even decades after their arrival, Corrine and Russell Calloway still feel as if they’re living the dream that drew them to New York City in the first place: book parties or art openings one night and high-society events the next; jobs they care about (and in fact love); twin children whose birth was truly miraculous; a loft in TriBeCa and summers in the Hamptons. But all of this comes at a fiendish cost. Russell, an independent publisher, has superb cultural credentials yet minimal cash flow; as he navigates a business that requires, beyond astute literary judgment, constant financial improvisation, he encounters an audacious, potentially game-changing—or ruinous—opportunity. Meanwhile, instead of chasing personal gain in this incredibly wealthy city, Corrine devotes herself to helping feed its hungry poor, and she and her husband soon discover they’re being priced out of the newly fashionable neighborhood they’ve called home for most of their adult lives, with their son and daughter caught in the balance. Then Corrine’s world is turned upside down when the man with whom she’d had an ill-fated affair in the wake of 9/11 suddenly reappears. As the novel unfolds across a period of stupendous change—including Obama’s historic election and the global economic collapse he inherited—the Calloways will find themselves and their marriage tested more severely than they ever could have imagined. From the Hardcover edition.

📒These Few Precious Days ✍ Christopher Andersen

✏Book Title : These Few Precious Days
✏Author : Christopher Andersen
✏Publisher : Biteback Publishing
✏Release Date : 2013-11-04
✏Pages : 336
✏ISBN : 9781849546744
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏These Few Precious Days Book Summary : Glamour, power, sex, money. The makings of an iconic love story - or a doomed passion? Bestselling biographer Christopher Andersen casts aside the rumours, the speculation and the conspiracy theories, and takes us on an intimate journey into the heart of the Kennedys' marriage. With consummate skill, Andersen uncovers startling new facts about their affairs - hers as well as his - with the famous, the notorious and the anonymous; he reveals alarming information about the First Couple's shared dependence on amphetamines and the White House's battle to keep their secret; and he unearths fresh details about the assassination and its aftermath, including Jackie's bout with suicidal depression. Extraordinary in its scope, powerful in its insights, These Few Precious Days paints an unsparing yet sympathetic and touching portrait of Mr and Mrs JFK in their final year together. This is the ultimate presidential love story in all its frustrating, complicated, bittersweet glory.

📒The Knickerbocker ✍ Charles Fenno Hoffman

✏Book Title : The Knickerbocker
✏Author : Charles Fenno Hoffman
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 1843
✏Pages :
✏ISBN : HARVARD:32044092686856
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Knickerbocker Book Summary :

📒Born In Ice ✍ Nora Roberts

✏Book Title : Born in Ice
✏Author : Nora Roberts
✏Publisher : Penguin
✏Release Date : 1995-08-01
✏Pages : 368
✏ISBN : 9781101145982
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Born in Ice Book Summary : The second novel in the Irish Born Trilogy from the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Born In Fire. Brianna Concannon is the kind of innkeeper who doesn’t mind the harsh winters of Ireland—and the empty bed-and-breakfast that comes with them. But this year, a famous American author needs a quiet place to stay while writing his next book. A charmer whose easy smiles mask a guarded past, Grayson Thane plans to spend the cold winter alone. But his lovely landlady adds a complication he never expected. She’s exactly what he’s looking for in his heroine. And soon Grayson and Brianna will learn that sometimes fate has a plan of its own. Sometimes, fire can be born in ice... Don't miss the other books in the Irish Born Trilogy Born in Fire Born in Shame

📒Emma S War ✍ Rosie Clarke

✏Book Title : Emma s War
✏Author : Rosie Clarke
✏Publisher : Random House
✏Release Date : 2015-04-09
✏Pages : 400
✏ISBN : 9781448177134
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Emma s War Book Summary : All she wanted was her husband to come home... Newly married to the caring RAF pilot Jonathan Reece, Emma thinks that life couldn’t be better. But her happiness is short-lived: within months, Jon’s plane is shot down over France and he is declared missing, presumed dead. Alone and with two children to care for, Emma’s first thought is how to support her family. But when she makes a new friend in the American businessman Jack Harvey, she is faced with a difficult decision. Should she take a last chance at happiness? The second book in the ‘Emma’ trilogy – a warm, nostalgic saga, perfect for fans of Katie Flynn (Note: previously published as The Bonds That Break by Linda Sole)

📒Emma ✍ Rosie Clarke

✏Book Title : Emma
✏Author : Rosie Clarke
✏Publisher : Random House
✏Release Date : 2015-01-29
✏Pages : 416
✏ISBN : 9781448177127
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Emma Book Summary : All she has is her reputation... When Emma Robinson discovers she is carrying Paul Greenslade’s child, there are harsh consequences after he disappears rather than marry a common shop-girl. Forced by her tyrannical father to marry Richard Gillows, Emma learns quickly that a jealous husband is a violent one. How can Emma escape the ties that bind her, to build a life for herself and her child? From the author of The Downstairs Maid (Note: previously published as The Ties That Bind by Linda Sole)

📒High Life In The Far East ✍ James Dalziel

✏Book Title : High life in the Far East
✏Author : James Dalziel
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 1909
✏Pages : 320
✏ISBN : STANFORD:36105019490114
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏High life in the Far East Book Summary :

📒The Destroyers ✍ Christopher Bollen

✏Book Title : The Destroyers
✏Author : Christopher Bollen
✏Publisher : Simon and Schuster
✏Release Date : 2017-07-27
✏Pages : 512
✏ISBN : 9781471136214
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Destroyers Book Summary : 'The Destroyers is a smart, sophisticated literary thriller; for all its originality, it invokes the shades of Lawrence Durrell and Graham Greene' Jay McInerney, author of Bright, Precious Days When Charlie and I were young, we played a game called Destroyers . . . We were sharpening our instincts, jettisoning attachments. We were honing strategies for survival ... Ian Bledsoe is on the run, broke and humiliated, fleeing the emotional and financial fallout of his father's death. His childhood friend Charlie – rich, exuberant and basking in life on the Greek island of Patmos – is his last hope. At first, Patmos is like a dream – sun-soaked days on Charlie’s yacht and the reappearance of a girlfriend from Ian’s past – and Charlie readily offers the lifeline he desperately needs. But, like Charlie himself, this beautiful island conceals a darkness beneath. When he vanishes leaving behind his murky business affairs, Ian finds himself caught in a terrifying labyrinth of deceits. As boys, the pair played a game called Destroyers – a game, he now realizes, they may never have stopped playing. Expansive, vivid and suspenseful, in the vein of Donna Tartt's The Goldfinch, The Destroyers is a mesmerizing drama of power and fate, fathers and sons, self-invention and self-deception. 'Equal parts Graham Greene, Patricia Highsmith and F. Scott Fitzgerald, The Destroyers is at once lyrical and suspenseful, thoughtful and riveting' Garth Greenwell, author of What Belongs to You ‘The Destroyers manages to be both fast-paced and contemplative, an excellent entertainment and also something more lasting, a haunting meditation on friendship and desperation’ Guardian, Best Holiday Reads of 2017

📒Opening The Eye Within ✍ Beverley Piper Leon

✏Book Title : Opening the Eye Within
✏Author : Beverley Piper Leon
✏Publisher : Xlibris Corporation
✏Release Date : 2006-02-15
✏Pages : 70
✏ISBN : 9781469120621
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Opening the Eye Within Book Summary : There is no available information at this time.

📒Ransom ✍ Jay McInerney

✏Book Title : Ransom
✏Author : Jay McInerney
✏Publisher : Vintage
✏Release Date : 2011-08-17
✏Pages : 288
✏ISBN : 9780307763259
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Ransom Book Summary : Ransom, Jay McInerney's second novel, belongs to the distinguished tradition of novels about exile. Living in Kyoto, the ancient capital of Japan, Christopher Ransom seeks a purity and simplicity he could not find at home, and tries to exorcise the terror he encountered earlier in his travels—a blur of violence and death at the Khyber Pass.Ransom has managed to regain control, chiefly through the rigors of karate. Supporting himself by teaching English to eager Japanese businessmen, he finds company with impresario Miles Ryder and fellow expatriates whose headquarters is Buffalo Rome, a blues-bar that satisfies the hearty local appetite for Americana and accommodates the drifters pouring through Asia in the years immediately after the fall of Vietnam.Increasingly, Ransom and his circle are threatened, by everything they thought they had left behind, in a sequence of events whose consequences Ransom can forestall but cannot change.Jay McInerney details the pattern of adventure and disillusionment that leads Christopher Ransom toward an inevitable reckoning with his fate—in a novel of grand scale and serious implications. From the Trade Paperback edition.