Brazillionaires

📒Brazillionaires ✍ Alex Cuadros

✏Book Title : Brazillionaires
✏Author : Alex Cuadros
✏Publisher : Spiegel & Grau
✏Release Date : 2016-07-12
✏Pages : 368
✏ISBN : 9780812996777
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Brazillionaires Book Summary : For readers of Michael Lewis comes an engrossing tale of a country’s spectacular rise and fall, intertwined with the story of Brazil’s wealthiest citizen, Eike Batista—a universal story of hubris and tragedy that uncovers the deeper meaning of this era of billionaires. NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY THE FINANCIAL TIMES When Bloomberg News invited the young American journalist Alex Cuadros to report on Brazil’s emerging class of billionaires at the height of the historic Brazilian boom, he was poised to cover two of the biggest business stories of our time: how the giants of the developing world were triumphantly taking their place at the center of global capitalism, and how wealth inequality was changing societies everywhere. The billionaires of Brazil and their massive fortunes resided at the very top of their country’s economic pyramid, and whether they quietly accumulated exceptional power or extravagantly displayed their decadence, they formed a potent microcosm of the world’s richest .001 percent. Eike Batista, a flamboyant and charismatic evangelist for the country’s new gospel of wealth, epitomized much of this rarefied sphere: In 2012, Batista ranked as the eighth-richest person in the world, was famous for his marriage to a beauty queen, and was a fixture in the Brazilian press. His constantly repeated ambition was to become the world’s richest man and to bring Brazil along with him to the top. But by 2015, Batista was bankrupt, his son Thor had been indicted for manslaughter, and Brazil—its president facing impeachment, its provinces combating an epidemic, and its business and political class torn apart by scandal—had become a cautionary tale of a country run aground by its elites. Over the four years Cuadros was on the billionaire beat, he reported on media moguls and televangelists, energy barons and shadowy figures from the years of military dictatorship, soy barons who lived on the outskirts of the Amazon, and new-economy billionaires spinning money from speculation. He learned just how deeply they all reached into Brazilian life. They held sway over the economy, government, media, and stewardship of the environment; they determined the spiritual fates and populated the imaginations of their countrymen. Cuadros’s zealous reporting takes us from penthouses to courtrooms, from favelas to extravagant art fairs, from scenes of unimaginable wealth to desperate, massive street protests. Within a business narrative that deftly explains and dramatizes the volatility of the global economy, Cuadros offers us literary journalism with a grand sweep. Praise for Brazillionaires “A wild, richly reported tale about Brazil’s recent economic rise and fall, and some of the biggest, most colorful characters in business in Brazil who now have a global reach. . . . Cuadros’s story really takes off when he focuses on Eike Batista, an over-the-top one-time billionaire who became the country’s corporate mascot, only to go bankrupt in a dramatic unraveling.”—Andrew Ross Sorkin, the New York Times “In this excellent book [Cuadros] has managed to use billionaires to illuminate the lives of both rich and poor Brazilians, and all those in between.”—The Economist “Brazillionaires [is] journalist Alex Cuadros’s compelling tale of Brazil’s superrich, which deftly weaves lurid soap opera with high finance and outrageous political skullduggery. . . . If Brazil sometimes comes across as a circus in this compelling, thoroughly researched account, it is because it can be just that.”—The Wall Street Journal

📒Gorilla Beach ✍ Nicole "Snooki" Polizzi

✏Book Title : Gorilla Beach
✏Author : Nicole "Snooki" Polizzi
✏Publisher : Simon and Schuster
✏Release Date : 2012-05-15
✏Pages : 336
✏ISBN : 9781451657104
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Gorilla Beach Book Summary : When you’re this smokin’, winning is a shore thing. . . . Jersey’s sexiest guidettes are back for another scandalous summer at the Shore, and this time, Giovanna “Gia” Spumanti and Isabella “Bella” Rizzoli are raising the stakes to find thrills and hot gorillas—unemployment, douchebag exes, family drama, and dingy apartment be damned! But when the girls unknowingly cross an overprotective mafiosa mama, all bets are off. Booted from Seaside Heights for good, the spunky, sequined meatball and her sensitive, quiet cousin are forced to flee to Atlantic City. Their escort out of hell is Fredo, a weird and scrawny but hooked-up club manager from a prominent family, whose master plan is to pimp out Gia’s psychic gifts at the roulette tables. Suddenly, it’s raining benjamins for the coiffed and tanned threesome. Top-shelf tequila and seafood dinners are not all they’re scoring. Bella snags a pale but talented boardwalk artist, Gia hooks up with a high-stakes poker hottie, and with Gia’s coaching, Fredo just might have a chance at becoming a certified juicehead. Or, at least, a gorilla-in-training. But when the casino suspects cheating, the trio is hounded by haters and tricksters determined to sabotage their endless summer. With hearts and loot on the line, losing is not a chance the crew can take. This time, the house isn’t going to win. . . .

✏Book Title : Barrel Aged Stout and Selling Out
✏Author : Josh Noel
✏Publisher : Chicago Review Press
✏Release Date : 2018-06-01
✏Pages : 400
✏ISBN : 9781613737248
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Barrel Aged Stout and Selling Out Book Summary : In 2011 Goose Island, a family-owned Chicago brewpub, was sold to Anheuser-Busch InBev, the biggest beer company in the world. The sale forced the craft beer industry to reckon with its growing mainstream appeal and a popularity few envisioned. Anheuser-Busch InBev went on to buy nine more American craft breweries, each sale sparking questions anew. With Goose Island as its flagship brand, Anheuser-Busch InBev stood poised to the become the largest producer of craft beer in the United States, leaving the industry's original innovators to grapple with the transition from scrappy underdog to mainstream, co-opted sensation.

✏Book Title : Alternative Criminologies
✏Author : Pat Carlen
✏Publisher : Routledge
✏Release Date : 2017-08-10
✏Pages : 492
✏ISBN : 9781351657242
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Alternative Criminologies Book Summary : Alternative Criminologies celebrates a kaleidoscopic process of permanent critique and a diversity of social and scientific knowledges. It examines complex and global crime issues in light of the many alternative scientific, artistic, empathetic, campaigning and otherwise imaginative criminologies that attempt to understand and/or fundamentally change why crime and justice take the forms they do. From cutting edge topics such as crimes against humanity, the criminology of mobility, terrorism, cybercrime, corporate crime and green criminology; to gendered perspectives on violence against women, sexualities and feminist and queer criminologies; to key issues in penology such as mass incarceration, the death penalty, desistance from crime, risk and the political economy of punishment; Alternative Criminologies demonstrates the breadth, the variety and the vibrancy of contemporary perspectives on crime, criminalization and punishment. Bringing together 34 leading experts from around the world, this international collection unites fresh and insightful theoretical positions with innovative empirical research and marks an important juncture for criminologies and their imagined futures. Alternative Criminologies is essential reading for students of crime and criminal justice.

✏Book Title : Vogue
✏Author :
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 1998-11
✏Pages :
✏ISBN : STANFORD:36105029375131
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Vogue Book Summary :