Book Club Set

📒Book Club Set ✍ George Saunders

✏Book Title : BOOK CLUB SET
✏Author : George Saunders
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 2018
✏Pages : 350
✏ISBN : OCLC:1104669227
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏BOOK CLUB SET Book Summary : "February 1862. The Civil War is less than one year old. The fighting has begun in earnest, and the nation has begun to realize it is in for a long, bloody struggle. Meanwhile, President Lincoln's beloved eleven-year-old son, Willie, lies upstairs in the White House, gravely ill. In a matter of days, despite predictions of a recovery, Willie dies and is laid to rest in a Georgetown cemetery. "My poor boy, he was too good for this earth," the president says at the time. "God has called him home." Newspapers report that a grief-stricken Lincoln returns, alone, to the crypt several times to hold his boy's body. From that seed of historical truth, George Saunders spins a story of familial love and loss that breaks free of its historical framework into a supernatural realm both hilarious and terrifying. Willie Lincoln finds himself in a strange purgatory where ghosts mingle, gripe, commiserate, quarrel, and enact bizarre acts of penance. Within this transitional state -- called, in the Tibetan tradition, the bardo -- a monumental struggle erupts over young Willie's soul. Lincoln in the Bardo is an astonishing feat of imagination and a bold step forward from one of the most important and influential writers of his generation. Formally daring, generous in spirit, deeply concerned with matters of the heart, it is a testament to fiction's ability to speak honestly and powerfully to the things that really matter to us. Saunders has invented a thrilling new form that deploys a kaleidoscopic, theatrical panorama of voices to ask a timeless, profound question: How do we live and love when we know that everything we love must end?" -- Publisher's description.

📒Book Club Set ✍ Fredrik Backman

✏Book Title : BOOK CLUB SET
✏Author : Fredrik Backman
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 2019
✏Pages : 418
✏ISBN : OCLC:1104665933
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏BOOK CLUB SET Book Summary :

📒Book Club Set ✍ Michael Ondaatje

✏Book Title : BOOK CLUB SET
✏Author : Michael Ondaatje
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 2018
✏Pages : 289
✏ISBN : OCLC:1104677566
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏BOOK CLUB SET Book Summary : "From the internationally acclaimed, bestselling author of The English Patient: a mesmerizing new novel that tells a dramatic story set in the decade after World War II through the lives of a small group of unexpected characters and two teenagers whose lives are indelibly shaped by their unwitting involvement. In a narrative as beguiling and mysterious as memory itself--shadowed and luminous at once--we read the story of fourteen-year-old Nathaniel, and his older sister, Rachel. In 1945, just after World War II, they stay behind in London when their parents move to Singapore, leaving them in the care of a mysterious figure named The Moth. They suspect he might be a criminal, and they grow both more convinced and less concerned as they come to know his eccentric crew of friends: men and women joined by a shared history of unspecified service during the war, all of whom seem, in some way, determined now to protect, and educate (in rather unusual ways) Rachel and Nathaniel. But are they really what and who they claim to be? And what does it mean when the siblings' mother returns after months of silence without their father, explaining nothing, excusing nothing? A dozen years later, Nathaniel begins to uncover all that he didn't know and understand in that time, and it is this journey--through facts, recollection, and imagination--that he narrates in this masterwork from one of the great writers of our time."--

📒Book Club Set ✍ Maggie O'Farrell

✏Book Title : BOOK CLUB SET
✏Author : Maggie O'Farrell
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 2019
✏Pages : 288
✏ISBN : OCLC:1104665942
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏BOOK CLUB SET Book Summary : "An extraordinary memoir--told entirely in near-death experiences--from one of Britain's bestselling novelists, for fans of Wild, When Breath Becomes Air, and The Year of Magical Thinking. We are never closer to life than when we brush up against the possibility of death. I Am, I Am, I Am is Maggie O'Farrell's astonishing memoir of the near-death experiences that have punctuated and defined her life. The childhood illness that left her in the hospital for nearly a year, which she was not expected to survive. A teenage yearning to escape that nearly ended in disaster. An encounter with a serial killer on a remote path. And, most terrifying of all, an ongoing, daily struggle to protect her daughter from a condition that leaves her unimaginably vulnerable to life's myriad dangers. Seventeen discrete encounters with Maggie at different ages, in different locations, reveal a whole life in a series of tense, visceral snapshots. In taut prose that vibrates with electricity and a restrained emotion, O'Farrell captures the perils running just beneath the surface, and illuminates the preciousness, beauty and mysteries of life itself."--

📒Book Club Set ✍ Claudia Dey

✏Book Title : BOOK CLUB SET
✏Author : Claudia Dey
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 2018
✏Pages : 260
✏ISBN : OCLC:1104669145
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏BOOK CLUB SET Book Summary : Seventeen years after arriving in the territory, Billie Jean Fontaine is still an outsider. When she vanishes one cold October night, those closest to her begin a frantic search.

📒Book Club Set ✍ Dawn Dumont

✏Book Title : BOOK CLUB SET
✏Author : Dawn Dumont
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 2017
✏Pages : 266
✏ISBN : OCLC:1104678342
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏BOOK CLUB SET Book Summary : "These stories interconnect the friendships of four First Nations people spanning over two decades against the cultural, political, and historical backdrop of the 1990s and early 2000s."--

📒Book Club Set ✍ Anthony Horowitz

✏Book Title : BOOK CLUB SET
✏Author : Anthony Horowitz
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 2019
✏Pages : 236
✏ISBN : OCLC:1104680950
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏BOOK CLUB SET Book Summary : When Susan receives crime writer Alan Conway's latest manuscript the editor begins to suspect there is another story hidden in the pages that may involve a real murder.

📒Book Club Set ✍ Celeste Ng

✏Book Title : BOOK CLUB SET
✏Author : Celeste Ng
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 2019
✏Pages : 338
✏ISBN : OCLC:1104666514
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏BOOK CLUB SET Book Summary : "In Shaker Heights, a placid, progressive suburb of Cleveland, everything is planned--from the layout of the winding roads, to the colors of the houses, to the successful lives its residents will go on to lead. And no one embodies this spirit more than Elena Richardson, whose guiding principle is playing by the rules. Enter Mia Warren--an enigmatic artist and single mother--who arrives in this idyllic bubble with her teenage daughter, Pearl, and a disregard for the status quo that threatens to upend this carefully ordered community. Suspicious of Mia and her motives, Elena is determined to uncover the secrets in Mia's past. But her obsession will come at unexpected and devastating costs."--Back cover.

📒Book Club Set ✍ David Grann

✏Book Title : BOOK CLUB SET
✏Author : David Grann
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 2018
✏Pages : 377
✏ISBN : LCCN:2017302459
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏BOOK CLUB SET Book Summary : Presents a true account of the early twentieth-century murders of dozens of wealthy Osage and law-enforcement officials, citing the contributions and missteps of a fledgling FBI that eventually uncovered one of the most chilling conspiracies in American history.

📒Book Club Set ✍ Sujata Massey

✏Book Title : BOOK CLUB SET
✏Author : Sujata Massey
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 2018
✏Pages : 385
✏ISBN : LCCN:2017021391
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏BOOK CLUB SET Book Summary : "Introducing an extraordinary female lawyer-sleuth in a new historical series set in 1920s Bombay. Perveen Mistry, the daughter of a respected Zoroastrian family, has just joined her father's law firm, becoming one of the first female lawyers in India. Armed with a law degree from Oxford, Perveen also has a tragic personal history that makes her especially devoted to championing and protecting women's legal rights. Mistry Law has been appointed to execute the will of Mr. Omar Farid, a wealthy Muslim mill owner who has left three widows behind. But as Perveen is going through the paperwork, she notices something strange: all three of the wives have signed over their full inheritance to a charity. What will they live on if they forfeit what their husband left them? Perveen is suspicious, especially since one of the widows has signed her form with an X--meaning she probably couldn't even read the document. The Farid widows live in full purdah--in strict seclusion, never leaving the women's quarters or speaking to any men. Are they being taken advantage of by an unscrupulous guardian? Perveen tries to investigate, and realizes her instincts about the will were correct when tensions escalate to murder. Now it is her responsibility to figure out what really happened on Malabar Hill, and to ensure that no innocent women or children are in further danger."--