Amal Unbound

📒Amal Unbound ✍ Aisha Saeed

✏Book Title : Amal Unbound
✏Author : Aisha Saeed
✏Publisher : Penguin
✏Release Date : 2018-05-08
✏Pages : 240
✏ISBN : 9780399544705
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Amal Unbound Book Summary : "Saeed's timely and stirring middle-grade debut is a celebration of resistance and justice."--Kirkus Reviews, starred review The compelling story of a girl's fight to regain her life and dreams after being forced into indentured servitude. Life is quiet and ordinary in Amal's Pakistani village, but she had no complaints, and besides, she's busy pursuing her dream of becoming a teacher one day. Her dreams are temporarily dashed when--as the eldest daughter--she must stay home from school to take care of her siblings. Amal is upset, but she doesn't lose hope and finds ways to continue learning. Then the unimaginable happens--after an accidental run-in with the son of her village's corrupt landlord, Amal must work as his family's servant to pay off her own family's debt. Life at the opulent Khan estate is full of heartbreak and struggle for Amal--especially when she inadvertently makes an enemy of a girl named Nabila. Most troubling, though, is Amal's growing awareness of the Khans' nefarious dealings. When it becomes clear just how far they will go to protect their interests, Amal realizes she will have to find a way to work with others if they are ever to exact change in a cruel status quo, and if Amal is ever to achieve her dreams.

✏Book Title : The Reading Turn Around with Emergent Bilinguals
✏Author : Amanda Claudia Wager
✏Publisher : Language and Literacy
✏Release Date : 2019
✏Pages : 176
✏ISBN : 9780807763353
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Reading Turn Around with Emergent Bilinguals Book Summary : This practical resource will help K-6 practitioners grow their literacy practices while also meeting the needs of emergent bilingual learners. Building on the success of The Reading Turn-Around, this book adapts the five-part framework for reading instruction to the specific needs of emergent bilinguals. Designed for teachers who have not specialized in bilingual instruction, the authors provide an accessible introduction to differentiating instruction that focuses on utilizing students' strengths, identities, and cultural backgrounds to foster effective literacy instruction. Chapters include classroom vignettes, teacher exercises, illustrations of powerful reading plans for the student and teacher, resources for culturally and linguistically diverse children's literature, and tools to engage with students' families and communities. Book Features: Grounded in current theories and research in the teaching and learning of literacy as it relates to emerging bilingual learners. Accessible to K-6 educators, ESL and bilingual teachers, principals, literacy coaches, and curriculum developers. Borrows from the framework of Comber and Kamler's (2005) "turn-around pedagogies", which draws on student's strengths and assets to support teachers in improving their classroom practices. Emphasizes student-centered practices that are rooted in a child's identity as a reader and language learner. Based on Freebody and Luke's Four Resources Model (1990, 1999) but also includes a "fifth" dimension that foregrounds issues of identity.

📒Better With Books ✍ Melissa Hart

✏Book Title : Better with Books
✏Author : Melissa Hart
✏Publisher : Sasquatch Books
✏Release Date : 2019-04-23
✏Pages : 304
✏ISBN : 9781632172280
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Better with Books Book Summary : Needed now more than ever: a guide that includes 500 diverse contemporary fiction and memoir recommendations for preteens and teens with the goal of inspiring greater empathy for themselves, their peers, and the world around them. As young people are diagnosed with anxiety and depression in increasing numbers, or dealing with other issues that can isolate them from family and friends–such as bullying, learning disabilities, racism, or homophobia–characters in books can help them feel less alone. And just as important, reading books that feature a diverse range of real-life topics helps generate openness, empathy, and compassion in all kids. Better with Books is a valuable resource for parents, teachers, librarians, therapists, and all caregivers who recognize the power of literature to improve young readers’ lives. Each chapter explores a particular issue affecting preteens and teens today and includes a list of recommended related books–all published within the last decade. Recommendations are grouped by age: those appropriate for middle-grade readers and those for teens. Reading lists are organized around: Adoption and foster care Body image Immigration Learning challenges LGBTQIA+ youth Mental health Nature and environmentalism Physical disability Poverty and homelessness Race and ethnicity Religion and spirituality

📒Yes No Maybe So ✍ Becky Albertalli

✏Book Title : Yes No Maybe So
✏Author : Becky Albertalli
✏Publisher : Simon and Schuster
✏Release Date : 2020-02-04
✏Pages : 368
✏ISBN : 9781471184673
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Yes No Maybe So Book Summary : From New York Times bestselling authors Becky Albertalli and Aisha Saeed comes a heart-warming, hilarious story about the power of love and resistance. Jamie Goldberg is cool with volunteering for his local state candidate - as long as he’s behind the scenes. There’s no way he’d ever knock on doors to ask people for their votes…until he meets Maya. Maya Rehman’s having the worst Ramadan ever. Her best friend is too busy to hang out, her summer trip is cancelled, her parents are separating and now her mother thinks the solution to her problems is political canvassing - with some awkward guy she hardly knows ... Going door to door isn’t exactly glamorous, but maybe it’s not the worst thing in the world. After all, the polls are getting closer - and so are Maya and Jamie. Mastering local activism is one thing. Navigating the cross-cultural crush of the century is another thing entirely. Praise for Yes No Maybe So: 'Heartwarming, poignant and very, very funny' Waterstones

📒The Bridge Home ✍ Padma Venkatraman

✏Book Title : The Bridge Home
✏Author : Padma Venkatraman
✏Publisher : Puffin Books
✏Release Date : 2020-04-14
✏Pages : 208
✏ISBN : 1524738131
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Bridge Home Book Summary : "Readers will be captivated by this beautifully written novel about young people who must use their instincts and grit to survive. Padma infuses her story with hope and bravery that will inspire readers."--Aisha Saeed, author of the New York Times Bestseller Amal Unbound Four determined homeless children make a life for themselves in Padma Venkatraman's stirring middle-grade debut. Life is harsh on the teeming streets of Chennai, India, so when runaway sisters Viji and Rukku arrive, their prospects look grim. Very quickly, eleven-year-old Viji discovers how vulnerable they are in this uncaring, dangerous world. Fortunately, the girls find shelter--and friendship--on an abandoned bridge that's also the hideout of Muthi and Arul, two homeless boys, and the four of them soon form a family of sorts. And while making their living scavenging the city's trash heaps is the pits, the kids find plenty to take pride in, too. After all, they are now the bosses of themselves and no longer dependent on untrustworthy adults. But when illness strikes, Viji must decide whether to risk seeking help from strangers or to keep holding on to their fragile, hard-fought freedom.

📒Bilal Cooks Daal ✍ Aisha Saeed

✏Book Title : Bilal Cooks Daal
✏Author : Aisha Saeed
✏Publisher : Simon and Schuster
✏Release Date : 2019-06-04
✏Pages : 40
✏ISBN : 9781534418110
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Bilal Cooks Daal Book Summary : Six-year-old Bilal introduces his friends to his favorite dish—daal!—in this charming picture book that showcases the value of patience, teamwork, community, and sharing. Six-year-old Bilal is excited to help his dad make his favorite food of all-time: daal! The slow-cooked lentil dish from South Asia requires lots of ingredients and a whole lot of waiting. Bilal wants to introduce his friends to daal. They’ve never tried it! As the day goes on, the daal continues to simmer, and more kids join Bilal and his family, waiting to try the tasty dish. And as time passes, Bilal begins to wonder: Will his friends like it as much as he does? This debut picture book by Aisha Saeed, with charming illustrations by Anoosha Syed, uses food as a means of bringing a community together to share in each other’s family traditions.

✏Book Title : Diana and the Island of No Return
✏Author : Aisha Saeed
✏Publisher : Random House Books for Young Readers
✏Release Date : 2020
✏Pages : 288
✏ISBN : 059317447X
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Diana and the Island of No Return Book Summary : Twelve-year-old Diana's much-anticipated visit with her best friend, Princess Sakina, turns into an adventure as they face a booby-trapped island, a forbidden visitor, and a demon.

📒Once Upon An Eid ✍ S. K. Ali

✏Book Title : Once Upon an Eid
✏Author : S. K. Ali
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 2020
✏Pages : 272
✏ISBN : 1419740830
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Once Upon an Eid Book Summary : "Day of Joy is a collection of short stories that showcases the most brilliant Muslim voices writing today, all about the most joyful holiday of the year: Eid! Eid: The short, single-syllable word conjures up a variety of feelings and memories for Muslims. Maybe it's waking up to the sound of frying samosas and simmering pistachio kheer, maybe it's the pleasure of putting on a new outfit for Eid prayers, or maybe it's the gift giving and holiday parties to come that day. Whatever it may be, for those who cherish this day of celebration, the emotional responses may be summed up in another short and sweet word: joy. The anthology will also include a poem, graphic-novel chapter, and spot illustrations"--

✏Book Title : A Thousand Beginnings and Endings
✏Author : Ellen Oh
✏Publisher : HarperCollins
✏Release Date : 2018-06-26
✏Pages : 336
✏ISBN : 9780062671172
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏A Thousand Beginnings and Endings Book Summary : Star-crossed lovers, meddling immortals, feigned identities, battles of wits, and dire warnings: these are the stuff of fairy tale, myth, and folklore that have drawn us in for centuries. Fifteen bestselling and acclaimed authors reimagine the folklore and mythology of East and South Asia in short stories that are by turns enchanting, heartbreaking, romantic, and passionate. Compiled by We Need Diverse Books’s Ellen Oh and Elsie Chapman, the authors included in this exquisite collection are: Renée Ahdieh, Sona Charaipotra, Preeti Chhibber, Roshani Chokshi, Aliette de Bodard, Melissa de la Cruz, Julie Kagawa, Rahul Kanakia, Lori M. Lee, E. C. Myers, Cindy Pon, Aisha Saeed, Shveta Thakrar, and Alyssa Wong. A mountain loses her heart. Two sisters transform into birds to escape captivity. A young man learns the true meaning of sacrifice. A young woman takes up her mother’s mantle and leads the dead to their final resting place. From fantasy to science fiction to contemporary, from romance to tales of revenge, these stories will beguile readers from start to finish. For fans of Neil Gaiman’s Unnatural Creatures and Ameriie’s New York Times–bestselling Because You Love to Hate Me.

✏Book Title : Engineering and Mining Journal
✏Author :
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 1876
✏Pages :
✏ISBN : MINN:31951000862494W
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Engineering and Mining Journal Book Summary :