A Tale For The Time Being

✏Book Title : A Tale for the Time Being
✏Author : Ruth Ozeki
✏Publisher : Penguin
✏Release Date : 2013-03-12
✏Pages : 432
✏ISBN : 9781101606254
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏A Tale for the Time Being Book Summary : A brilliant, unforgettable novel from bestselling author Ruth Ozeki—shortlisted for the Booker Prize and the National Book Critics Circle Award “A time being is someone who lives in time, and that means you, and me, and every one of us who is, or was, or ever will be.” In Tokyo, sixteen-year-old Nao has decided there’s only one escape from her aching loneliness and her classmates’ bullying. But before she ends it all, Nao first plans to document the life of her great grandmother, a Buddhist nun who’s lived more than a century. A diary is Nao’s only solace—and will touch lives in ways she can scarcely imagine. Across the Pacific, we meet Ruth, a novelist living on a remote island who discovers a collection of artifacts washed ashore in a Hello Kitty lunchbox—possibly debris from the devastating 2011 tsunami. As the mystery of its contents unfolds, Ruth is pulled into the past, into Nao’s drama and her unknown fate, and forward into her own future. Full of Ozeki’s signature humor and deeply engaged with the relationship between writer and reader, past and present, fact and fiction, quantum physics, history, and myth, A Tale for the Time Being is a brilliantly inventive, beguiling story of our shared humanity and the search for home.

📒My Year Of Meats ✍ Ruth Ozeki

✏Book Title : My Year of Meats
✏Author : Ruth Ozeki
✏Publisher : Penguin
✏Release Date : 1999-03-01
✏Pages : 400
✏ISBN : 1101141786
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏My Year of Meats Book Summary : A cross-cultural tale of two women brought together by the intersections of television and industrial agriculture, fertility and motherhood, life and love—the breakout hit by the celebrated author of A Tale for the Time Being Ruth Ozeki’s mesmerizing debut novel has captivated readers and reviewers worldwide. When documentarian Jane Takagi-Little finally lands a job producing a Japanese television show that just happens to be sponsored by an American meat-exporting business, she uncovers some unsavory truths about love, fertility, and a dangerous hormone called DES. Soon she will also cross paths with Akiko Ueno, a beleaguered Japanese housewife struggling to escape her overbearing husband. Hailed by USA Today as “rare and provocative” and awarded the Kirayama Prize for Literature of the Pacific Rim, My Year of Meats is a modern-day take on Upton Sinclair’s The Jungle for fans of Michael Pollan, Margaret Atwood, and Barbara Kingsolver.

✏Book Title : Minnie Herman Or the Curse of Rum a Tale for the Times
✏Author : Thurlow Weed Brown
✏Publisher : General Books LLC
✏Release Date : 2009-12
✏Pages : 446
✏ISBN : 1150684488
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Minnie Herman Or the Curse of Rum a Tale for the Times Book Summary : General Books publication date: 2009 Original publication date: 1878 Original Publisher: H. S. Goodspeed

📒All Over Creation ✍ Ruth Ozeki

✏Book Title : All Over Creation
✏Author : Ruth Ozeki
✏Publisher : Penguin
✏Release Date : 2004-03-30
✏Pages : 432
✏ISBN : 1440650047
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏All Over Creation Book Summary : A warm and witty saga about agribusiness, environmental activism, and community—from the celebrated author of My Year of Meats and A Tale for the Time Being Yumi Fuller hasn’t set foot in her hometown of Liberty Falls, Idaho—heart of the potato-farming industry—since she ran away at age fifteen. Twenty-five years later, the prodigal daughter returns to confront her dying parents, her best friend, and her conflicted past, and finds herself caught up in an altogether new drama. The post-millennial farming community has been invaded by Agribusiness forces at war with a posse of activists, the Seeds of Resistance, who travel the country in a camping car, “The Spudnick,” biofueled by pilfered McDonald’s french-fry oil. Following her widely hailed, award-winning debut novel, My Year of Meats, Ruth Ozeki returns here to deliver a quirky cast of characters and a wickedly humorous appreciation of the foibles of corporate life, globalization, political resistance, youth culture, and aging baby boomers. All Over Creation tells a celebratory tale of the beauty of seeds, roots, and growth—and the capacity for renewal that resides within us all.

✏Book Title : Clara Maynard The True and the False A Tale of the Times
✏Author : William Henry Giles Kingston
✏Publisher : Library of Alexandria
✏Release Date : 1890
✏Pages : 279
✏ISBN : 9781465522542
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Clara Maynard The True and the False A Tale of the Times Book Summary : The blue waters of the British Channel sparkled brightly in the rays of the sun, shining forth from a cloudless sky, as a light breeze from the northward filled the sails of a small yacht which glided smoothly along the southern coast of England. At the helm of the little vessel stood her owner, Captain Maynard, a retired naval officer. Next to his fair young daughter, Clara, the old sailor looked upon his yacht as one of the most beautiful things in existence. Though her crew consisted but of two men and a boy, and she measured scarcely five-and-twenty tons, he declared that if it were necessary he would sail round the world in her without the slightest hesitation. “Flatten in the jib, and take a pull at the main-sheet, my lads, and we shall run into the bay without a tack, if the wind holds as it does now,” he sang out. The men, as they came aft to execute the latter order, had to disturb some of the passengers, of whom there were several, seated on cloaks round the skylight, or standing up holding on to the weather rigging, or leaning against the main-boom. Clara Maynard, accustomed to yachting, promptly moved to windward, aided by Harry Caulfield, a young military officer, who had ridden over that morning to Luton, for the pleasure of making a trip on board the yacht; but her aunt, Miss Sarah Pemberton, looked somewhat annoyed at being asked to shift her seat. Harry, however, came to her assistance, and placed a camp-stool for her against the weather bulwarks. “I am sorry, Sarah, to inconvenience you,” said the captain, good-naturedly, “but we haven’t as much room on board the Ariadne as on the deck of a line-of-battle ship.” The captain had called his yacht after the first ship in which he went to sea. The cutter having rounded a lofty point, a small and beautiful bay opened out ahead; and the wind remaining steady, without making another tack, she stood in directly for it.

📒A Tale Of Time City ✍ Diana Wynne Jones

✏Book Title : A Tale of Time City
✏Author : Diana Wynne Jones
✏Publisher : Penguin
✏Release Date : 2012-04-12
✏Pages : 384
✏ISBN : 9781101567005
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏A Tale of Time City Book Summary : A thrilling story by the legendary Diana Wynne Jones—with an introduction by Ursula K. Le Guin. London, 1939. Vivian Smith thinks she is being evacuated to the countryside, because of the war. But she is being kidnapped - out of her own time. Her kidnappers are Jonathan and Sam, two boys her own age, from a place called Time City, designed especially to oversee history. But now history is going critical, and Jonathan and Sam are convinced that Time City's impending doom can only be averted by a twentieth-century girl named Vivian Smith. Too bad they have the wrong girl. . . . From the Trade Paperback edition.

📒The Recess Or A Tale Of Other Times Three Volumes In One ✍ Sophia LEE (Author of “The Chapter of Accidents”.)

✏Book Title : The Recess Or a Tale of Other Times Three Volumes in One
✏Author : Sophia LEE (Author of “The Chapter of Accidents”.)
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 1825*
✏Pages : 380
✏ISBN : BL:A0017520491
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Recess Or a Tale of Other Times Three Volumes in One Book Summary :

✏Book Title : The recess or A tale of other times by the author of The chapter of accidents
✏Author : Sophia Lee
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 1821
✏Pages :
✏ISBN : OXFORD:555044552
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The recess or A tale of other times by the author of The chapter of accidents Book Summary :

📒Lushington ✍ Pat English

✏Book Title : Lushington
✏Author : Pat English
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 1995
✏Pages : 118
✏ISBN : STANFORD:36105073425469
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Lushington Book Summary :

📒Experimental Fiction ✍ Julie Armstrong

✏Book Title : Experimental Fiction
✏Author : Julie Armstrong
✏Publisher : Bloomsbury Publishing
✏Release Date : 2014-08-28
✏Pages : 176
✏ISBN : 9781441107299
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Experimental Fiction Book Summary : Ever since Ezra Pound's exhortation to 'make it new', experimentation has been a hallmark of contemporary literature. Ranging from the modernists, through the Beats to postmodernism and contemporary 'hyperfiction', this is a unique introduction to experimental fiction. Creative exercises throughout the book help students grapple with the many varieties of experimental fiction for themselves, deepening their understanding of these many forms and developing their own writing skills. In addition, the book examines the historical contexts and major themes of 20th-century experimental fiction and new directions for the novel offered by writers such as David Shields and Zadie Smith. Making often difficult works accessible for the first time reader and with extensive further reading guides, Experimental Fiction is an essential practical guidebook for students of creative writing and contemporary fiction. Writers covered include: James Joyce, Virginia Woolf, Franz Kafka, Marcel Proust, Ralph Ellison, Allen Ginsberg, Jack Kerouac, William Gibson, Italo Calvino, Jeanette Winterson, Don Delillo, Caitlin Fisher, Geoff Ryeman, Xiaolu Guo, Tom McCarthy, James Frey and David Mitchell.