A Midwifes Tale

📒Catching Babies ✍ Sheena Byrom

✏Book Title : Catching Babies
✏Author : Sheena Byrom
✏Publisher : Hachette UK
✏Release Date : 2011-11-24
✏Pages : 340
✏ISBN : 9780755362738
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Catching Babies Book Summary : The inspirational story of life as a midwife. From her very first day as a nervous student nurse in Blackburn to the dedicated completion of her nursing qualifications and her training as a midwife in Burnley, Sheena Byrom has never once looked back, enjoying a thirty-five-year career with the NHS. Catching Babies is a moving account of an extraordinary career. It reveals the unique experiences that filled Sheena's days as she looked after overwhelmed mums and dads and helped to bring their precious babies into the world. At the forefront of evolving medical practices, she was the first midwife to oversee a home water birth in her area, but also found herself at the centre of a traumatic delivery that resulted in a nine-year litigation case and tested her to her limits. Yet, whatever has come Sheena's way, ultimately, there are the strong mothers who taught her so much and the little miracles who have made every single moment as a midwife truly magical.

📒A Midwife S Tale ✍ Laurel Thatcher Ulrich

✏Book Title : A Midwife s Tale
✏Author : Laurel Thatcher Ulrich
✏Publisher : Vintage
✏Release Date : 2010-12-22
✏Pages : 464
✏ISBN : 9780307772985
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏A Midwife s Tale Book Summary : WINNER OF THE PULITZER PRIZE Drawing on the diaries of one woman in eighteenth-century Maine, this intimate history illuminates the medical practices, household economies, religious rivalries, and sexual mores of the New England frontier. Between 1785 and 1812 a midwife and healer named Martha Ballard kept a diary that recorded her arduous work (in 27 years she attended 816 births) as well as her domestic life in Hallowell, Maine. On the basis of that diary, Laurel Thatcher Ulrich gives us an intimate and densely imagined portrait, not only of the industrious and reticent Martha Ballard but of her society. At once lively and impeccably scholarly, A Midwife's Tale is a triumph of history on a human scale. From the Trade Paperback edition.

📒The Midwife S Tale ✍ Gretchen Moran Laskas

✏Book Title : The Midwife s Tale
✏Author : Gretchen Moran Laskas
✏Publisher : Delta
✏Release Date : 2008-12-10
✏Pages : 256
✏ISBN : 0307488233
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Midwife s Tale Book Summary : “I come from a long line of midwives,” narrates Elizabeth Whitely. “I was expected to follow Mama, follow Granny, follow Great-granny. In the end, I didn’t disappoint them. Or perhaps I did. After all, there were no more midwives after me.”For generations, the women in Elizabeth’s family have brought life to Kettle Valley, West Virginia, heeding a destiny to tend its women with herbals, experience, and wisdom. But Elizabeth, who has comforted so many, has lost her heart to the one man who cannot reciprocate, even when she moves into his home to share his bed and raise his child. Then Lauren Denniker, Elizabeth’s adopted daughter, begins to display a miraculous gift--just as Elizabeth learns that she herself is unable to have a child. How Elizabeth comes to free herself from a loveless relationship, grapple with Lauren’s astonishing abilities, and come to terms with her own emptiness is the compelling heart of this remarkable tale. Incorporating the spirited mountain mythology of prewar Appalachia, Gretchen Laskas has crafted a story as true to our time as its own, and a cast of characters as poignant as they are entirely original. From the Hardcover edition.

📒The Midwife S Tale ✍ Nicky Leap

✏Book Title : The Midwife s Tale
✏Author : Nicky Leap
✏Publisher : Pen and Sword
✏Release Date : 2013-10-17
✏Pages : 256
✏ISBN : 9781473829985
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Midwife s Tale Book Summary : Mothers and midwives reveal the wonders and difficulties of early twentieth century childbirth in this informative and insightful healthcare history. Before the foundation of the United Kingdom’s National Health Service (NHS) in 1948, expectant mothers relied on midwives to help them through childbirth. Based on interviews conducted with dozens and mothers and retired midwives over several years, Billie Hunter and Nicky Leap’s The Midwife’s Tale shares the stories of these women in their own words, shedding light on their experiences and on the realities of childbirth in the first half of the twentieth century. Intriguing, poignant, and sometimes humorous, this oral history covers the experiences of women from the 1910s through the 1950s including accounts of the difficulties of rearing large families in poverty-stricken environments and the lack of information about contraception and abortion—even as midwifery changed from an unqualified “handywoman” skill to an actual profession.

📒The Midwife S Tale ✍ Sam Thomas

✏Book Title : The Midwife s Tale
✏Author : Sam Thomas
✏Publisher : Minotaur Books
✏Release Date : 2013-01-08
✏Pages : 320
✏ISBN : 9781250010773
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Midwife s Tale Book Summary : In the tradition of Arianna Franklin and C. J. Sansom comes Samuel Thomas's remarkable debut, The Midwife's Tale It is 1644, and Parliament's armies have risen against the King and laid siege to the city of York. Even as the city suffers at the rebels' hands, midwife Bridget Hodgson becomes embroiled in a different sort of rebellion. One of Bridget's friends, Esther Cooper, has been convicted of murdering her husband and sentenced to be burnt alive. Convinced that her friend is innocent, Bridget sets out to find the real killer. Bridget joins forces with Martha Hawkins, a servant who's far more skilled with a knife than any respectable woman ought to be. To save Esther from the stake, they must dodge rebel artillery, confront a murderous figure from Martha's past, and capture a brutal killer who will stop at nothing to cover his tracks. The investigation takes Bridget and Martha from the homes of the city's most powerful families to the alleyways of its poorest neighborhoods. As they delve into the life of Esther's murdered husband, they discover that his ostentatious Puritanism hid a deeply sinister secret life, and that far too often tyranny and treason go hand in hand.

✏Book Title : The Midwife s Tale and Other Christmas Stories
✏Author : W. Edward Harris
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 1993
✏Pages : 69
✏ISBN : 0963886428
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Midwife s Tale and Other Christmas Stories Book Summary :

✏Book Title : The Midwife s Tale At Home in Trinity Book 1
✏Author : Delia Parr
✏Publisher : Baker Books
✏Release Date : 2015-05-26
✏Pages : 336
✏ISBN : 9781441228512
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Midwife s Tale At Home in Trinity Book 1 Book Summary : Martha Cade comes from a long line of midwives who have served the families of Trinity, Pennsylvania, for generations. A widow with two grown children, she's hopeful that her daughter will follow in her footsteps, but when Victoria runs off, Martha's world is shattered. Worse, a new doctor has arrived in town, threatening her job, and she can't remember a time when her faith has been tested more. Still determined to do the work she knows God intended for her, Martha is unprepared for all that waits ahead. Whether it's trying to stop a town scandal, mending broken relationships, or feeling the first whispers of an unexpected romance, she faces every trial and every opportunity with hope and faith. Praise for The Midwife's Tale "Fans of Jan Karon's Mitford series should love Parr's work."--Philadelphia Inquirer "This story has every good thing--believably flawed characters, romance, humor, and even a bit of mystery."--Julie Klassen, bestselling author of The Secret of Pembrooke Park "I was reluctant to say farewell to my new friends from Trinity."--Bestselling author Robin Lee Hatcher "This book has plot twists that are rarely predictable and yet always plausible. Compelling."--Ft. Lauderdale Sun-Sentinel

📒Hannah ✍ Robina Salter

✏Book Title : Hannah
✏Author : Robina Salter
✏Publisher : St. John's, Nfld. : Breakwater
✏Release Date : 1998-04-01
✏Pages : 256
✏ISBN : 1550811371
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Hannah Book Summary : In the village of Steadman's Cove the tall, lithe, fair-haired Hannah stood out in her struggle to adapt to the traditional role of the women in northe Newfoundland. As the local Midwife, the comforter for the undoctored cove and the neighbouring hamlets along the coast, Hannah was accustomed to being called at all hours to travel by dog team and sled through the perilous night to deliver a baby, ease someone's pain, sooth someone's dying. The novel is sustained by a metaphysical magic as Hannah transcends the daring challenges of a northe outpost during the era when the island became Canada's tenth province in 1949. Tenderly women throughout the novel are sparkling threads of Hannah's love for an American surgeon with whom she closely shares the vigils with the sick. Playing over in the readers mind are the vivid images and the symbolism by which the author portrays her admiration for the outport people, whose courage she saw mirrored in the timeless tides of the sea and etched on the rock upon which they built their homes, staking their faith in themselves and each other. Robina Salter, who has served as a science writer at the University of Toronto, has written fiction for children and adults. Today, while continuing to write, she also teaches the art of creative writing"". During the two years that Salter worked in Northe Newfoundland, she came to respect and admire its people. It was here in Newfoundland that she was inspired to write Hannah a Midwife's Tale.

📒The Midwife S Tale ✍ Irene Zabytko

✏Book Title : The Midwife s Tale
✏Author : Irene Zabytko
✏Publisher : Independently Published
✏Release Date : 2018-12-10
✏Pages : 38
✏ISBN : 1790291135
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Midwife s Tale Book Summary : A retelling of the Christmas story as seen through the midwife, the first witness to the Nativity.

📒For Generations ✍ Mary Earhart

✏Book Title : For Generations
✏Author : Mary Earhart
✏Publisher : Createspace Independent Publishing Platform
✏Release Date : 2018-03-07
✏Pages : 122
✏ISBN : 198588643X
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏For Generations Book Summary : Stories of hope and help for drug addicted pregnant women and their families inspire those who need help and those who love them and don't know how to help. The combination of social model, 12-step based, peer oriented treatment and the midwifery model of care in pregnancy has made a difference in the lives of featured moms and babies.