A Midwifes Tale

📒A Midwife S Tale ✍ Laurel Thatcher Ulrich

✏Book Title : A Midwife s Tale
✏Author : Laurel Thatcher Ulrich
✏Publisher : Vintage
✏Release Date : 2010-12-22
✏Pages : 464
✏ISBN : 9780307772985
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏A Midwife s Tale Book Summary : WINNER OF THE PULITZER PRIZE Drawing on the diaries of one woman in eighteenth-century Maine, this intimate history illuminates the medical practices, household economies, religious rivalries, and sexual mores of the New England frontier. Between 1785 and 1812 a midwife and healer named Martha Ballard kept a diary that recorded her arduous work (in 27 years she attended 816 births) as well as her domestic life in Hallowell, Maine. On the basis of that diary, Laurel Thatcher Ulrich gives us an intimate and densely imagined portrait, not only of the industrious and reticent Martha Ballard but of her society. At once lively and impeccably scholarly, A Midwife's Tale is a triumph of history on a human scale.

📒The Midwife S Tale ✍ Nicky Leap

✏Book Title : The Midwife s Tale
✏Author : Nicky Leap
✏Publisher : Pen & Sword
✏Release Date : 2014-01-19
✏Pages : 214
✏ISBN : 1781593744
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Midwife s Tale Book Summary : Billie Hunter and Nicky Leap spent several years interviewing dozens of mothers and retired midwives about their experiences of childbirth before the NHS. The result was The Midwife's Tale, an oral history of midwifery from the 1910s to the 1950s. The authors explore the very real poverty of the time; how woman coped with rearing large families; and the lack of knowledge of contraception and abortion. Gripping accounts of women's experiences are set against an informative background of events in the midwifery profession, particularly the transition from unqualified 'handywoman' to professional midwife in the 1930s.

📒The Midwife S Tale ✍ Gretchen Moran Laskas

✏Book Title : The Midwife s Tale
✏Author : Gretchen Moran Laskas
✏Publisher : Delta
✏Release Date : 2008-12-10
✏Pages : 256
✏ISBN : 0307488233
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Midwife s Tale Book Summary : “I come from a long line of midwives,” narrates Elizabeth Whitely. “I was expected to follow Mama, follow Granny, follow Great-granny. In the end, I didn’t disappoint them. Or perhaps I did. After all, there were no more midwives after me.”For generations, the women in Elizabeth’s family have brought life to Kettle Valley, West Virginia, heeding a destiny to tend its women with herbals, experience, and wisdom. But Elizabeth, who has comforted so many, has lost her heart to the one man who cannot reciprocate, even when she moves into his home to share his bed and raise his child. Then Lauren Denniker, Elizabeth’s adopted daughter, begins to display a miraculous gift--just as Elizabeth learns that she herself is unable to have a child. How Elizabeth comes to free herself from a loveless relationship, grapple with Lauren’s astonishing abilities, and come to terms with her own emptiness is the compelling heart of this remarkable tale. Incorporating the spirited mountain mythology of prewar Appalachia, Gretchen Laskas has crafted a story as true to our time as its own, and a cast of characters as poignant as they are entirely original. From the Hardcover edition.

📒The Midwife S Tale ✍ Sam Thomas

✏Book Title : The Midwife s Tale
✏Author : Sam Thomas
✏Publisher : Minotaur Books
✏Release Date : 2013-01-08
✏Pages : 320
✏ISBN : 9781250010773
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Midwife s Tale Book Summary : In the tradition of Arianna Franklin and C. J. Sansom comes Samuel Thomas's remarkable debut, The Midwife's Tale It is 1644, and Parliament's armies have risen against the King and laid siege to the city of York. Even as the city suffers at the rebels' hands, midwife Bridget Hodgson becomes embroiled in a different sort of rebellion. One of Bridget's friends, Esther Cooper, has been convicted of murdering her husband and sentenced to be burnt alive. Convinced that her friend is innocent, Bridget sets out to find the real killer. Bridget joins forces with Martha Hawkins, a servant who's far more skilled with a knife than any respectable woman ought to be. To save Esther from the stake, they must dodge rebel artillery, confront a murderous figure from Martha's past, and capture a brutal killer who will stop at nothing to cover his tracks. The investigation takes Bridget and Martha from the homes of the city's most powerful families to the alleyways of its poorest neighborhoods. As they delve into the life of Esther's murdered husband, they discover that his ostentatious Puritanism hid a deeply sinister secret life, and that far too often tyranny and treason go hand in hand.

✏Book Title : The Midwife s Tale and Other Christmas Stories
✏Author : W. Edward Harris
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 1993
✏Pages : 69
✏ISBN : 0963886428
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Midwife s Tale and Other Christmas Stories Book Summary :

✏Book Title : The Midwife s Tale At Home in Trinity Book 1
✏Author : Delia Parr
✏Publisher : Baker Books
✏Release Date : 2015-05-26
✏Pages : 336
✏ISBN : 9781441228512
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Midwife s Tale At Home in Trinity Book 1 Book Summary : Martha Cade comes from a long line of midwives who have served the families of Trinity, Pennsylvania, for generations. A widow with two grown children, she's hopeful that her daughter will follow in her footsteps, but when Victoria runs off, Martha's world is shattered. Worse, a new doctor has arrived in town, threatening her job, and she can't remember a time when her faith has been tested more. Still determined to do the work she knows God intended for her, Martha is unprepared for all that waits ahead. Whether it's trying to stop a town scandal, mending broken relationships, or feeling the first whispers of an unexpected romance, she faces every trial and every opportunity with hope and faith. Praise for The Midwife's Tale "Fans of Jan Karon's Mitford series should love Parr's work."--Philadelphia Inquirer "This story has every good thing--believably flawed characters, romance, humor, and even a bit of mystery."--Julie Klassen, bestselling author of The Secret of Pembrooke Park "I was reluctant to say farewell to my new friends from Trinity."--Bestselling author Robin Lee Hatcher "This book has plot twists that are rarely predictable and yet always plausible. Compelling."--Ft. Lauderdale Sun-Sentinel

📒Catching Babies ✍ Sheena Byrom

✏Book Title : Catching Babies
✏Author : Sheena Byrom
✏Publisher : Hachette UK
✏Release Date : 2011-11-24
✏Pages : 340
✏ISBN : 9780755362738
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Catching Babies Book Summary : A midwife's heartwarming and inspirational true story Catching Babies is a moving account of an extraordinary career. It reveals the unique experiences that filled midwife Sheena Byrom's days as she looked after mums and dads and helped to bring their precious babies into the world. From her very first day as a nervous student nurse in Blackburn to the dedicated completion of her midwifery qualifications in Burnley, Sheena has never once looked back, enjoying a thirty-five-year career with the NHS. At the forefront of evolving medical practices, she was the first midwife to oversee a home water birth in her area, but also found herself at the centre of a traumatic delivery that tested her to her limits. Yet, whatever has come Sheena's way, ultimately, there are the strong mothers who taught her so much and the little miracles who have made every single moment as a midwife truly magical.

✏Book Title : The Archaeology of Mothering
✏Author : Laurie A. Wilkie
✏Publisher : Psychology Press
✏Release Date : 2003
✏Pages : 240
✏ISBN : 0415945704
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Archaeology of Mothering Book Summary : Using archaeological materials recovered from a housesite in Mobile, Alabama, Laurie Wilkie explores how one extended African-American family engaged with competing and conflicting mothering ideologies in the post-Emancipation South.

📒The Midwife S Tale ✍ Irene Zabytko

✏Book Title : The Midwife s Tale
✏Author : Irene Zabytko
✏Publisher : Independently Published
✏Release Date : 2018-12-10
✏Pages : 38
✏ISBN : 1790291135
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Midwife s Tale Book Summary : A retelling of the Christmas story as seen through the midwife, the first witness to the Nativity.

📒Essaying The Past ✍ Jim Cullen

✏Book Title : Essaying the Past
✏Author : Jim Cullen
✏Publisher : John Wiley & Sons
✏Release Date : 2011-09-13
✏Pages : 208
✏ISBN : 9781444356779
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Essaying the Past Book Summary : Part research manual, part study guide, and part introduction to the study of history, Essaying the Past is a complete resource for high school, college, and graduate level students. Jim Cullen guides the reader through the nuts and bolts of producing good historical prose, discussing key strategies such as framing questions, developing a strong introduction and topic sentences, choosing good evidence, and the important role of revision. Beginning with a survey of the field, this book offers useful insight into how to read and understand a wide variety of historical sources, as well as providing an introduction to historiography, helpful tips for conducting research, and a discussion of what it means to think and read analytically. Cullen also offers a set of appendices that cover the major issues facing students of history today, among them the dangers of plagiarism, the role of the Internet, and the need for correctly annotated and formatted footnotes and bibliographies.