A Discovery Of Witches Pdf

📒The Discovery Of Witches ✍ Matthew Hopkins

The Discovery Of Witches Book
✏Book Title : The Discovery of Witches
✏Author : Matthew Hopkins
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 2017-01-21
✏Pages : 24
✏ISBN : 1542666635
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Discovery of Witches Book Summary : Hopkins' witch-finding career began in March 1644 and lasted until his retirement in 1647. He and his associates were responsible for more people being hanged for witchcraft than in the previous 100 years, and were solely responsible for the increase in witch trials during those years. He is believed to have been responsible for the deaths of 300 women between the years 1644 and 1646. It has been estimated that all of the English witch trials between the early 15th and late 18th centuries resulted in fewer than 500 executions for witchcraft. Therefore, presuming the number executed as a result of "investigations" by Hopkins and his colleague John Stearne is at the lower end of the various estimates, their efforts accounted for about 60 per cent of the total; in the 14 months of their crusade Hopkins and Stearne sent to the gallows more people than all the other witch-hunters in England of the previous 160 years.

The Discovery Of Witches And Witchcraft Book
✏Book Title : The Discovery of Witches and Witchcraft
✏Author : Matthew Hopkins
✏Publisher : Puckrel Publishing
✏Release Date : 2007
✏Pages : 68
✏ISBN : 9780955635014
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Discovery of Witches and Witchcraft Book Summary : Scholarly reprint of the writings of the Witchfinder General and his accomplice.

Records Of Salem Witchcraft Book
✏Book Title : Records of Salem Witchcraft
✏Author :
✏Publisher :
✏Release Date : 1864
✏Pages :
✏ISBN : HARVARD:HNJR1B
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Records of Salem Witchcraft Book Summary :

📒The Jewel House ✍ Deborah E. Harkness

The Jewel House Book
✏Book Title : The Jewel House
✏Author : Deborah E. Harkness
✏Publisher : University Press of Kentucky
✏Release Date : 2007
✏Pages : 349
✏ISBN : 0300111967
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Jewel House Book Summary : Bestselling author Deborah Harkness (A Discovery of Witches, Shadow of Night) explores the streets, shops, back alleys, and gardens of Elizabethan London, where a boisterous and diverse group of men and women shared a keen interest in the study of nature. These assorted merchants, gardeners, barber-surgeons, midwives, instrument makers, mathematics teachers, engineers, alchemists, and other experimenters, she contends, formed a patchwork scientific community whose practices set the stage for the Scientific Revolution. While Francis Bacon has been widely regarded as the father of modern science, scores of his London contemporaries also deserve a share in this distinction. It was their collaborative, yet often contentious, ethos that helped to develop the ideals of modern scientific research. The book examines six particularly fascinating episodes of scientific inquiry and dispute in sixteenth-century London, bringing to life the individuals involved and the challenges they faced. These men and women experimented and invented, argued and competed, waged wars in the press, and struggled to understand the complexities of the natural world. Together their stories illuminate the blind alleys and surprising twists and turns taken as medieval philosophy gave way to the empirical, experimental culture that became a hallmark of the Scientific Revolution.

📒The Quick ✍ Lauren Owen

The Quick Book
✏Book Title : The Quick
✏Author : Lauren Owen
✏Publisher : Random House
✏Release Date : 2014-06-17
✏Pages : 560
✏ISBN : 9780679645054
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Quick Book Summary : NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY SLATE • Includes an exclusive conversation between Lev Grossman and Lauren Owen For fans of Anne Rice, The Historian, and The Night Circus, an astonishing debut, a novel of epic scope and suspense that conjures up all the magic and menace of Victorian London 1892: James Norbury, a shy would-be poet newly down from Oxford, finds lodging with a charming young aristocrat. Through this new friendship, he is introduced to the drawing-rooms of high society and finds love in an unexpected quarter. Then, suddenly, he vanishes without a trace. Alarmed, his sister, Charlotte, sets out from their crumbling country estate determined to find him. In the sinister, labyrinthine London that greets her, she uncovers a hidden, supernatural city populated by unforgettable characters: a female rope walker turned vigilante, a street urchin with a deadly secret, and the chilling “Doctor Knife.” But the answer to her brother’s disappearance ultimately lies within the doors of the exclusive, secretive Aegolius Club, whose predatory members include the most ambitious, and most bloodthirsty, men in England. In her first novel, Lauren Owen has created a fantastical world that is both beguiling and terrifying. The Quick will establish her as one of fiction’s most dazzling talents. Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader’s Circle for author chats and more. “A suspenseful, gloriously atmospheric first novel, and a feast of gothic storytelling that is impossible to resist.”—Kate Atkinson “A cracking good read . . . Owen takes the gothic conventions of the vampire novel in a refreshing new direction.”—Deborah Harkness, author of A Discovery of Witches and The Book of Life “A good old-fashioned vampire novel . . . What fun.”—The New York Times Book Review (Editor’s Choice) “The Quick is that rare book that reviewers and readers live for: both plot- and character-driven, a stay-up-all-night reading romp. . . . This is elegant, witty, force-of-nature writing.”—The Dallas Morning News “The book’s energy, its wide reach and rich detail make it a confident example of the ‘unputdownable’ novel.”—The Economist “A seamless blend of Victorian London and rich imagination.”—Tana French, author of In the Woods “A thrilling tale . . . This book will give you chills even on a hot day.”—Minneapolis Star Tribune “Stylishly sinister . . . will have you sleeping with the lights on.”—O: The Oprah Magazine “A sly and glittering addition to the literature of the macabre.”—Hilary Mantel, author of Wolf Hall “A big, sly bucketful of the most tremendous fun . . . [Owen] weaves what’s here with what’s beyond as easily as J. K. Rowling does.”—Slate “[An author of] prodigious gifts . . . Owen captures Dickens’s London with glee and produces a number of characters Dickens would be happy to call his own.”—Pittsburgh Post-Gazette

John Dee S Conversations With Angels Book
✏Book Title : John Dee s Conversations with Angels
✏Author : Deborah E. Harkness
✏Publisher : Cambridge University Press
✏Release Date : 1999-11-13
✏Pages : 252
✏ISBN : 052162228X
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏John Dee s Conversations with Angels Book Summary : This book is about Elizabethan England's most famous 'scientist' or natural philosopher John Dee and his 'conversations with angels'.

📒Night Of The Witches ✍ Linda Raedisch

Night Of The Witches Book
✏Book Title : Night of the Witches
✏Author : Linda Raedisch
✏Publisher : Llewellyn Worldwide
✏Release Date : 2011-01-08
✏Pages : 240
✏ISBN : 9780738728162
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Night of the Witches Book Summary : "Spring has come to the northern forest. The evening wind blows cold as the breath of the frost giants. Just overhead, there is a sound like the rushing of crows' wings. Can it be a coven of witches has flown over these woods? "On any other night, you would probably swear that there was no such thing as a witch—at least, not the kind that streaks through the sky on a broomstick with guttering taper and billowing cloak. But this is no ordinary night; it is the thirtieth of April, the eve of May. Tonight is Walpurgis Night." The roots of Walpurgis Night reach deep into the Pagan past, and modern Europeans celebrate it with as much abandon as their ancestors. Learn about the sacred rites of spring and the "lost" holiday has changed from a lusty fertility festival to a children's night of fun and treats. Learn about brooms and how to make one, and meet a collection of old-time witches, from Ash Wives to Wolf Crones. This charming, impeccably researched book features a wealth of folklore and herb lore, plus original and traditional recipes, crafts, and activities.

The Modern Witchcraft Book Of Tarot Book
✏Book Title : The Modern Witchcraft Book of Tarot
✏Author : Skye Alexander
✏Publisher : Simon and Schuster
✏Release Date : 2017-05-09
✏Pages : 288
✏ISBN : 9781507202630
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏The Modern Witchcraft Book of Tarot Book Summary : Learn how tarot cards can unlock the secrets of the past, present, and future in the latest book of the Modern Witchcraft series. For centuries, witches have used the tarot to seek insights into the past, present, and future. Today, a new generation is discovering the wonder of divining through the cards. Expert tarot reader Skye Alexander shares the many meanings of the cards within the Major and Minor Arcana. Featuring twelve of the most popular spreads and easy-to-follow explanations of how tarot readings can be interpreted, The Modern Witchcraft Book of Tarot is the essential guide for successful, insightful tarot readings.

Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder Book
✏Book Title : Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder
✏Author : Edward P. Riley
✏Publisher : John Wiley & Sons
✏Release Date : 2011-04-27
✏Pages : 482
✏ISBN : 9783527632565
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder Book Summary : Reflecting the recent increased public awareness of the topic, this is the first and most comprehensive resource for over a decade on the molecular basis, prevalence, treatment options, socioeconomic impact and prevention strategies of FADS. Edited by world-renowned experts, this compendium includes the latest research results to provide new insights and realistic estimations of FADS frequencies in Western communities. An invaluable resource for every professional dealing with the diagnosis, prevention and treatment of FADS, from researchers via health professionals to social workers.

📒Sanctuary ✍ V. V. James

Sanctuary Book
✏Book Title : Sanctuary
✏Author : V. V. James
✏Publisher : Gollancz
✏Release Date : 2019-08-06
✏Pages : 320
✏ISBN : 1473225736
✏Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

✏Sanctuary Book Summary : Every town has its secrets. Sanctuary is built on them. The small town of Sanctuary is rocked by the death of its star quarterback. It looked like an accident, but everyone knows Dan's ex-girlfriend Harper is the daughter of a witch - and she was there when he died. Then the rumours start. When Harper insists Dan was guilty of a terrible act, the town turns on her. So was his death an accident, revenge - or something even darker? As accusations fly, it's down to Detective Maggie Knight to prevent an investigation - and a town - from spiralling out of control.